You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: wind rider Signed [Report This]
Date: 19/09/09 - 04:45 am Title: iSTARi Testing

Hahahahaha! Oh how amusing it was, put into this situation... :D I love it! Admitedly, I did read this story once, but back then I could not review... sorry. This little crack deserves many, many reviews.

 

Hmm. Well, it is hell for the schoolers... but I think it is even more hellish for the test-makers... To think that you must put the questions and answers all through various tests of validity and reliability with their numerous branches and conflicting theories and all... *shudder* I wondered why our Lord of Mandos here took things so easily. :D Bless him. I took a compulsory class for that dratted subject, given my major in education, and am glad that it is now long behind. I will never, ever apply to be a test-maker! :P ;)

 

Heheh. That was my ranting... Sorry for the out-of-context-ness. Great job, Ria, and I simpathise with you who still have to take standardised tests... I have passed that section of my life, but I think I will still face one or two more... *wince*

 

Will you make something more out of the 'daily living' of the Ainur - or perhaps more than one? I love such stories... I haven't checked if you have any beside this. (Hee.) I'd definitely read and review if there is more in such theme. :)

 

- Rey

 



Author's Response: I will certainly try. My other two stories set in Valinor are "Family Court" and "Hiring Fair".

Reviewer: Bunny Plots Signed [Report This]
Date: 20/03/09 - 02:02 pm Title: iSTARi Testing

This makes me happier than you can know. :D Really. We hates standardized testing, we does. Great job!

Reviewer: Bunny Plots Signed [Report This]
Date: 20/03/09 - 12:34 am Title: Fire and Snow

An interesting viewpoint. I like it very much.

Author's Response: Thanks. After I reread the Silmarillion, I started thinking that there must have been a time when they knew eachother as equals.

Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/09/08 - 10:45 pm Title: iSTARi Testing

lol. I'm pretty sure that the middle schooler would take 'Woodcock Johnson' in an entirely different direction and either roll on the ground laughing or report the teacher.

Author's Response: Yes, it is funny how people who are allegedly experts on adolescents' cognition could give something that name without irony.

Reviewer: Nieriel Raina Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 25/06/08 - 04:00 pm Title: iSTARi Testing

Cute.

Author's Response: Thanks!

Reviewer: lindahoyland Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 25/07/07 - 01:37 am Title: Radagast Departs

Very enjoyable and a most plausible crossover and version of Radagast's fate.

Author's Response: Thanks. It seems that right now all my plot bunnies are hybrids.

Reviewer: Michelle Signed [Report This]
Date: 14/07/07 - 08:23 pm Title: The Problem of Robes

Found it again: For Istari White, check out this link http://www.tolkien.com.pl/elenai/details.php?image_id=60 and then visit your trusty supermarket and ask for it:)

Author's Response: Ooh, I want it.

Reviewer: Michelle Signed [Report This]
Date: 14/07/07 - 05:33 pm Title: The Problem of Robes

ROFTL, I always thought most of the stuff the characters are wearing in LOTR is MOST impractical - especially the wizards and the elves. All those hems and long sleeves, they just beg you to dip them in the food you meant to eat. That's probably why they're all immortal. It takes a few lifetimes to managed clothing like that elegantly!



Oh, and do you know the "Istari White" comic? Fits your ficlet perfectly...

Author's Response: I agree! I love long, flowing outfits myself, but as a rather clumsy person, I just don't have the time to check my every move for my hem. I don't know "Istari White" -- I'll check it out.

Author's Response: Oh, and it did seem suspicious that the Istari whose color would be difficult to keep dyed in wool were the ones that disappeared.

Reviewer: Elaura Signed [Report This]
Date: 14/07/07 - 08:44 am Title: The Problem of Robes

Nice explanation! I'll bet they ended up in Asia and just liked it so much they never left. I'd probably stay in Okinawa, if I could manage to learn Japanese . . . but I just can't wrap my brain around it. Good story!

Author's Response: Nihongo wa muzukashi desu yo. (And that's about all the Japanese I have, apologies if it's misspelled.) Tolkien was so comfortable himself in Western Europe, he probably just couldn't admit that they liked it better in the East.

Reviewer: Gemini_Elf Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/03/07 - 10:39 am Title: Fire and Snow

*Angry hiss* Fool! Never trust a Balrog!
;) Nice story Ria!

Author's Response: "Fly, you fool!" right? Thanks, Gemini!

Reviewer: Susan Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/03/07 - 05:31 am Title: Fire and Snow

Oh my goodness! Wow, what an idea to have them as lovers. I like it!

On a lighter note I must say I don't think much of their chances of getting back together. Homicide is never a good start to reconciliation. Hee.

Author's Response: Maybe with couples counseling? But no, probably not. They do say that similar values are vital to a successful relationship.

Reviewer: jules14 Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/03/07 - 03:00 pm Title: Gorgoroth Local 151: A Tale of Subtle Sabotage Starring Radagast the Brown

Ha! That WAS funny. Who'd have thought Radagast would be such an excellent spy?

Author's Response: He's a master of changes of hue, and almost completely Mary-Sue proof, you know.

Reviewer: Gemini_Elf Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/03/07 - 06:51 pm Title: Gorgoroth Local 151: A Tale of Subtle Sabotage Starring Radagast the Brown

Radagst the spy... Interesting idea ;)

Author's Response: He's certainly less obtrusive than some of the flashier wizards, and maybe he could stretch his friendship for wild things to Orcs if he needed to.

Reviewer: longitudeandlatitude Signed [Report This]
Date: 24/02/07 - 05:20 pm Title: Brown is my Lucky Color

Wow! I really like your writing, it flows so nicely. :) And you obviously have a big store of Tolkien knowledge. Very fun to read, I'm gonna read more of your stuff!

Author's Response: It's that Callimachus thing. When a plot bunny bites me, I can't write until I think I've read all the right bits. It means a lot that you enjoy it.

Reviewer: faramiriel Signed [Report This]
Date: 23/02/07 - 06:24 pm Title: Brown is my Lucky Color

Hedgehog? Why a hedgehog?
Um...badgers?
Spiders? *shudders*
This was funny.
:D

Author's Response: I think because they're lowly, but probably, deep in the back of my mind, because of the Hedgehog in The Once And Future King, when Wart becomes a badger.

No results found.
You must login (register) to review.