Reviews For The Hand of Silver
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: django Signed [Report This]
Date: 16/01/14 - 06:15 am Title: The Son of Curufin

FollowingCoach Outlet Online“The Big Short”, and again exercisingCoach Outlet his twin passions for high financeCoach Factory Outletand human folly, Michael Lewis Coach Factory Outletshifts his focus from America toCoach Outlet Storeis drawn to the surreal and uncanny,Coach Outlet Store Onlineblooming on the fringes of ordinaryCoach Outlet lives “like growths of mold”. HisCoach Factory Onlinetitle story is narrated by a ghost Coach Factory Outlet who, yearning for companionship, Coach Outletbreaks the heart of a lonely teacher.Coach Factory OutletAnother, the inspiration for the filmCoach Outlet“The Illusionist”, follows a magicianCoach Outlet Storeso good at creating illusions that Coach Outlet Store Onlinehe becomes, himself, illusory. In Coach Outlet Onlinea third, a giant shopping mallTrue Religion Jeans seduces, then enslaves, an entireTrue Religion Outlettown. Behind his courteous prose,True ReligionMillhauser seems to be holding somethingMichael Kors Outlet Onlineback, like a doctor soft-pedalling Michael Handbags Outleton grim FINANC Boomerang by MichaelMichael Kors Outlet Store OnlineLewis (Allen Lane, hardback, out now).Michael Kors Outlet StoresEurope on a hilarious journey of Chanel Outlet Online“financial-disaster tourism” throughLouis Vuitton Outletthe countries that gorged most grosslyLouis Vuitton Handbagsthrough the

Reviewer: Ria Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/07/08 - 04:19 am Title: The Son of Curufin

Great dramatic ending.

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

Reviewer: Ria Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/07/08 - 04:06 am Title: The Son of Curufin

I really like how you continue the theme of oaths here, and the depiction of Curufin's torment because of his oath.

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing. The Oath of Fëanor was so grave and unbreakable besides, that it surely must have caused constant suffering to those who took it, while it still was unfulfilled.

Reviewer: Karlmir Stonewain Signed [Report This]
Date: 30/06/08 - 10:50 pm Title: The Son of Curufin

The political intrigue is very credible and well-written. Good job!

Author's Response: Thank you! At first I planned the story to be only four chapters long, but the political stuff began to interest me and so I wrote more of it.

Reviewer: Ria Signed [Report This]
Date: 25/06/08 - 05:32 pm Title: The Son of Curufin

I like your emphasis on the oaths in this chapter. It develops a theme that appeared in your first chapter and I like how it illuminates Celebrimbor's character versus his father's and uncles.

In Luthien's first speech, it should be agreed or something similar (maybe even promised?) rather than "accepted".

Author's Response: Thanks again! I tried to make a clear difference between Celebrimbor and his relatives. As for the error, I will correct it. I sporadically reread my stories and try to correct typos etc. but there always remain some.

Reviewer: Ria Signed [Report This]
Date: 25/06/08 - 05:20 pm Title: The Son of Curufin

This is very movingly written, and I'm impressed at your facility in English.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! I studied English for nine years in school, but it naturally isn't the same as to be a native speaker.

Reviewer: Lira_of_Imladris Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/06/08 - 01:44 am Title: The Son of Curufin

Hmm, when was the last time you updated? Not that i'm impatient or anything, and i'm not trying to drop hints, i just really like this story, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really, really like it. Please update soon - Li

Author's Response: It is indeed a few weeks since the last update. Be patient, I try to make some time soon to finish the story, maybe even this week.

Reviewer: Karlmir Stonewain Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/05/08 - 10:32 pm Title: The Son of Curufin

This story has a good plot which moves along well. I especially liked the brief scenes involving the technology of that period in Middle Earth history.

Author's Response: Thank you! As for the plot, I have relied heavily on Silmarillion. I thought it would be intriguing to write the events desribed in the chapter Beren and Lúthien through the eyes of an outsider, Celebrimbor in this case. The gradually breaking relations of him and Curufin interested me also greatly. The technology parts were a bit tricky. The Noldor were very advanced in it but how to describe their craft without resorting to anachronisms? I am glad you liked the story. I will finish it as soon as possible, but teaching still takes most of my time.

Reviewer: Lira_of_Imladris Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/05/08 - 05:56 am Title: The Son of Curufin

Why don't i like Luthien? Not sure, i just don't like her, don't like Arwen either. Sorry about the high-shoolers, we can be evil at times. It'll be alright, history is good - Li

Author's Response: Yes, it is. Well, I have been in teaching in that school last November and they weren't very evil.

Reviewer: Lira_of_Imladris Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/05/08 - 11:51 pm Title: The Son of Curufin

Hmm, don't know what to say this time. It's taken me two hours to read this. so many interruptions and my dang cold isn't helping either. I suddenly don't like Luthien but it doesn't really matter, she's gone for now *rejoices with victory dance* I can't wait to read what happens when Celebrimbor wakes up, that could be quite amusing. can't wait to read more - Li

Author's Response: Thanks! The spring flus are irritating, I hope it will heal soon. There will be a new chapter for this story in a few days at most. As much as would like just write and relax, I must go and teach history to high school brats for a week, so my free time is pretty limited for the next days. By the way, why don't you like Lúthien?

Reviewer: Lira_of_Imladris Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/05/08 - 09:40 am Title: The Son of Curufin

Once again, woah. Once again, got me talking like the elves of the 1st Age. Woah. I kind of feel sorry for Luthien, being left in the dark like that. I've known for ages that the Noldor were crafty but i must admit, i'd never thought of them drawing and poor Celebrimbor, his pretty picture got ruined :( Too bad he doesn't have Photoshop or can erase the ink. Can't wait to read more - Li

Author's Response: Thanks, Lira! Maybe Celebrimbor invented the pencil and eraser after this. Judging from the pictures in the West-Gate of Moria, for instance, he must have been artistically gifted, and it would be hard to carve something without a prior sketch (or so I think, I am no artist). The next chapter will be posted maybe even today.

Reviewer: Lira_of_Imladris Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/05/08 - 07:56 pm Title: The Son of Curufin

This was like . . . woah. I love the First Age but i barely read about it anymore, my own writing and school is leaving little time for much else but i can't wait to read more of this, it might have to go to my favourites. This also qualifies for my . . . what was it? Oh, First Age Fic challenge if you're interested. Thanks for the awesome start, can't wait to read more - Li

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! I try to finish my story during this weekend since I have work starting in Monday. I am glad that you liked my story. I'll put this in the challenge.

Reviewer: Karlmir Stonewain Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/05/08 - 10:10 am Title: The Betrayal

Your poem excellently captures Celebrimbor's outrage and disappointment over Sauron's intrigues. I found it especially interesting, because this was a part of Middle Earth history I had yet to explore.

Author's Response: Thank you! Celebrimbor's life began to interest me just a few days ago. He lived so long and saw and did so much that there are possibilities for several stories.

No results found.
You must login (register) to review.