You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Narya Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/05/09 - 10:04 pm Title: Difficult

Yes, you have captured the characters perfectly, not just "alright" :-) I loved the Faramir/Eowyn moment (two of my favourite characters there!) and the part about Farmer Maggot giving the hobbits free carrots made me chuckle.

There are a couple of little spelling nitpicks, but they're few and very minor, more a job for a beta reader than a casual reviewer; overall this is a wonderful little one-shot, touching and sensitive. I think you've depicted Pippin's anxiety and the bond between the two hobbits in an extremely realistic way; Merry's fears for Pip brought a lump to my throat. I also think you've written the voices of all the characters accurately as well - they sound like they do in the book, whereas too many authors put modernisms and awkward phrasing into their mouths. You've avoided this trap and told a lovely story. Well done.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you for the review Narya! The constructive critisism is welcomed with open arms; and I'm glad you enjoyed it! Again, thanks for reviewing and I hope you enjoy my other stories!

Author's Response: Aw, thank you for the review Narya! The constructive critisism is welcomed with open arms; and I'm glad you enjoyed it! Again, thanks for reviewing and I hope you enjoy my other stories!

Reviewer: Traveller Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/02/09 - 07:41 pm Title: Misfortune and Mushrooms

Ok, it's time for me to give this amazing story the review it deserves.

Wow- this was your first story? Absolutely amazing... and I thought my stuff was angsty! I think I've read this story about four or five times now, and it never fails to move me to tears. I discover something new each time I read it- a sign of a truly well-written story.

Not to mention who it's about! I'm really sad that they both died in the end, but at least you had to heart to kill them both at once! I always imagine them dying together- I don't think they would be able to live if one was no longer there. To be honest (and this is just my opinion), I think that if Pippin died, Merry very well might take his own life, driven mad with grief. I tried not to hint at this too much in "Of Magic and Friendship", because that was not the picture of Merry that I wanted to paint. I really don't think I'd ever write that in a story- it's just the way I think it would happen. On the other hand, if Merry were to die, I think that Pippin would simply die of grief. It's possible to just become so depressed that one neglect's one's body to the point of death.
Anyway, that's my take.

Back to the story!

"Yes, Pippin. Everyone thinks you will die, but they love you... They do not want you to die, but I'm terribly scared that the arrow that pierced you was poisoned... Most of the orc-weapons that exist today are dipped in poison to assure death, and I'm scared, Pippin, I'm scared... I love you, and you don't deserve to die. I love you, Pip. I can't live knowing you're not breathing the same air as me. Don't leave me..." Perfect. Exactly what Merry would do, no deviation whatsoever from his character. He's completely lost in his grief and his love for Pippin, inconsolable but for the love his friend, whose ability to do so in life is quickly fleeting.

"Know this, Merry..." Pippin whispered. "I have always loved you as a friend, a cousin... And a brother... You have been my brother for years now, but my time had come... Sooner than you would like, I think, but it is time... Now, what would be the ultimate price to pay for some of Farmer Maggot's mushrooms right now?" Also perfectly Pippin. He's resigned to his fate (as he is to his fate in my story, much different but yet so alike in your story), but it pains him so incredibly to leave Merry. But then he changes the subject, in an effort to make his last moments as happy as possible for both him and his dear Merry.

I guess what I'm trying to say is, an amazing job and a story brilliant beyond words ! (I can only try!) You should write more like this (maybe you could let them live this time?-of course, you're the author, it's your choice, but I'm still crying). I am commanding my personal army of plot bunnies to go and invade your house at night and attack you while you sleep, lol!

Many hugs from your friend,

-Traveller

Author's Response: Aw, thank you so so so mch for this review! I have long awaited it and am left utterly speechless by the sheer niceness of it. I was really uncertain about posting it as you know that the first story is the hardest one to post, because you don't know what other authors will think. I was very nervous, too, that I was killing off two of the main and most cutest characters. I didn't know how people would take it. But yes, it is rather drastic, although, I thought, that if dear Pip was to die, then Merry couldn't bear to see that. I'm glad it moved you to tears and even more glad that you've read it several times through. Thnks again for the most beautiful review, and you know that I'll always be your friend! :) Thanks for the plot bunnies! - meerkatalex P.S. "It's possible to just become so depressed that one neglect's one's body to the point of death." - That is so true. You should put this in a story somewhere one day.

Reviewer: Traveller Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/02/09 - 12:03 am Title: Dreams, Difficulties and Darkness.

Oh, by the way... Legolast is a Wood Elf (of Mirkwood), and he is the Prince of Mirkwood. His father is King Thraundil (I think I spelled that right...)

Author's Response: YAY! Thanks for telling me! meerkatalex

Reviewer: Traveller Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/02/09 - 12:02 am Title: Dreams, Difficulties and Darkness.

Yay! You updated! I can most definitly see Pippin as a "Hobbit-sized snowball"! He just doesn't know when to stop, does he? One of the many reasons I love him! This was a really sweet scene between Merry and Pippin and more of how I imagine their relationship- Merry caring for Pippin. I also have in my version of Pippin's physical characteristics that he is very sensitive to cold, so this chapter definitly corresponded with my own opinions. I'm looking forward to Merry's inevitable confrontation with his father. Drama, drama, drama! I love drama! And angst... Lol, poor Eglantine!

Cute about the cooking thing! I love cute Frodo-Sam scenes.

I really want to know who those freaky people are that Legolas keeps dreaming about!

Lol! It is commonly assumed that elves do repel dirt and grime, but I guess it depends on who possesses the perception as to whether or not this is true!

Ambigious, kind of freaky ending. Cliff-hangers, duh, duh, dun...

Keep it up!

-Traveller

Author's Response: Thank you so much for the review! I really do appreciate it! :-) I always see Pippin as having a lower immune system than the rest of the Hobbits, meaning he gets ill more easily and catches colds a lot more; I know you agree with me from your story 'Of Magic ad Friendship' Anyone who is reading this review should definately go and read it! The confrontation with Merry's father is a very delicate situation in my opinion, so I'm trying to handle it carefully, so it becomes beautiful and brings Merry and Pippin closer together and Saradoc may be confronted by Pippin! You shall have to wait and see! ;-) Legolas's dreams will be explained further in due time, my friend! And he does not repel dirt and grime, but I wish that were true! lol! I like cliff-hangers, but I hope I'm upsetting anyone by them. Anyways, see you, and the next chapter is nearly finished! Thanks again, meerkatalex

Reviewer: Origo Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/02/09 - 11:58 am Title: Dreams, Difficulties and Darkness.

"People sometimes get a little homesick - and I still get ill every October"
what that in referance to bilbo's party?
if so, it was in September.. just wondering lol

anyway.. its good :)
although there could be a few less commers.. not much to change :)

Author's Response: No, people get homesick just in general and Frodo gets ill every October from when he was stabbed at Weathertop. (He is not yet cured of this wound, it's an AU story after all.) Sorry about my over-useness of commas; it's a weakness of mine. I will try to improve that! Thank you for reviewing! :-) meerkatalex

Reviewer: Traveller Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/02/09 - 05:20 pm Title: Dreams, Difficulties and Darkness.

Quite a cliffhanger! I want to know what Legolas was dreaming about! Awww... really sweet Frodo-Sam scence, definitely reflects Sam's character well. Cute Merry-Pippin scene, too, but I miss the angst! Write more angst please! :) The "where's the fire" part was funny, though. Totally in Merry's character to freak out like that when startled awake! Just a note: Pervinca is Pippin's youngest sister- Pearl is his eldest (and Pimpernel is in the middle!) Oh, by the way, have you read my response to your review of "Every Day"? Now that's an essay! Keep up the good work and please update frequently- I look forward to it!

-Traveller

Author's Response: Angst will be coming up, don't worry! Merry's confrontation with his father is pretty near too, but don't worry about that, I won't put them through too much trauma! Or maybe I will... *Insert Evil Cackle here* Anyway, yes, I will update as soon as possible. Sorry about the mix-up with Pip's sisters I will try to amend that mistake, it's just that Pervinca sounds like a very strict name! Yes, I've read your response - it was very interesting and I was reading for ages! Now that is an essay, and I love authors who respond enthusiastically to their reviews! Thank you for reviewing, meerkatalex

Reviewer: superweirdgirls12 Signed [Report This]
Date: 31/01/09 - 07:52 pm Title: Misfortune and Mushrooms

Oh my gosh that was so sad!!! I am crying! That has got to have been one of the saddest deaths I've read on this site...
I watched a movie called into the wild and a guy died from eating a poisonous plant. It was sad. Sorry if I just spoiled anything for you...
Anyways, Well done.

Author's Response: Oh. Sorry you're crying, but I'm glad you enjoyed reading it! Thank you for reviewing my stories and you haven't spoiled it for me. This was just sudden flash, band, inspiration! Thanks again, meerkatalex

Author's Response: Oh. Sorry you're crying, but I'm glad you enjoyed reading it! Thank you for reviewing my stories and you haven't spoiled it for me. This was just sudden flash, band, inspiration! Thanks again, meerkatalex

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/01/09 - 08:06 pm Title: Difficult

"Which didn't make much difference but made him feel better all the same." I had to chuckle at that.
Yes, you got the characters down beautifully! I liked the brief time in Faramir's head as he beheld Eowyn. And I really could feel for Pippin, afraid for his greatest friend. After all, don't we all worry when our dear ones have even a scratch, and Merry had far worse than that!
The revelation that Merry looked into the mirror and what he saw, what Galadriel offered him, cast light strong onto his character. (Thinking about the mirror and Galadriel's choice is very useful when trying to write Fellowship members.)
Now through Merry's eyes, I *could* see how Pip had grown.
I was very touched throughout this.
-Kitt : )

Author's Response: Aw, thanks for such a long review, Kitt! And I'm sorry I haven't responded for ages; the schoolwork is dragging me doooown... Anyway, yes, it was quite hard writing from Faramir's point of view but I thought that I'd better start getting usesd to it. There's only so many things you can write about Merry and Pippin. You're right when you said that we all worry about our loved ones - it's terrible even when it's just a cut or bruise, and I was really trying to write about Merry as well as possible. Pip does grow up throughout the quest, I don't like it when people portray him as totally unreasonable and like a two-year-old when he's nearly of age. But he is that way, and I enjoyed writing this; I hope you enjoyed reading it! meerkatalex

Reviewer: Traveller Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/01/09 - 05:14 pm Title: Dreams, Difficulties and Darkness.

Good! A happy Merry-Pippin scene! That was so cute, and I'm glad that Merry finally feels at home. I always saw him as having blue eyes though, like in the movie. I love when you said that Sam spent a whole twenty minutes in a shop picking out the right color of fabric. To us girls, that doesn't seem long, but to a boy it would seem forever! *Laughs* Keep up the good work!

-Traveller

PS. In case you haven't seen it, I've posted the first chapter to the sequel of "Of Magic and Friendship", in case you're interested!

Author's Response: Thanks very much for reviewing the latest chapter! I liked writing this scene - I don't view all of the characters as they look in the movies. It seemed appropriate for Sam to take that long in shop - and you're right, it would seem like forever when he was picking it out! I will go and read the sequel now - if it matches up to the first story or better, then you're definatley onto something! I'm glad that Merry's happy now too - I suppose it would be quite hard in the beginning, but when he's been there for a while, he's sure to feel at home! Again. thanks for reviewing, and I'll look at the sequel asap! meerkatalex

Reviewer: Narya Signed [Report This]
Date: 14/01/09 - 02:38 pm Title: Dreams, Difficulties and Darkness.

I'm really enjoying this so far - I really like your writing style and I think you capture your characters perfectly. The only thing I would criticise is your summary; I think you're seriously underselling a well-written story by putting that it's "not as dramatic as it sounds"!!

Keep up the good work.

Author's Response: Ok then, thanks for the critisism! Looking back, it is really dramatic! I'm glad you've reviewed and that you think it's well-written! The new chapter is up as soon as I've applied the finishing touches! Thanks again, meerkatalex

Reviewer: Traveller Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/01/09 - 01:28 am Title: Dreams, Difficulties and Darkness.

Yay for Merry-Pippin angst! I almost feel as though I am reading something I have written when I read the angsty parts. You said in a review of my story that our writing styles were very similar, and now I see exactly what you mean! I don't think the angst was overdone at all, but then again I have the same concerns about my own story. I look forward to reading more!

-Traveller

Author's Response: Merry-Pippin angst really gets to me as it's really emotional and beautiful to read about. I hope you add another chapter to your story soon, and am glad that you like most of the reading and writing styles that I like. In addition, you should not be concerned about the amount of angst in your story. Some people will love it, some people won't, but it's up to you what you write! I'm glad you love this story, and I'm happy that you leave so many long reviews! The next chapter will be up soooon! meerkatalex

Reviewer: Traveller Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/01/09 - 01:18 am Title: Moonlight

Wow! This is like totally, one hundred percent how I view my two favorite characters. I actually like it with no dialogue. You do a really great job of taking a moment in time and just bringing forth all of the emotion and beauty of it possible.

"...and his breathing was uneven and ragged, although he seemed peaceful in sleep." Why is this?

Keep up your wonderful portrayals of the two little Hobbits. I love them!

-Traveller

Author's Response: I enjoy writing stories with no dialogue. It gives a better air of angst and mystery, whilst I get to describe lots of people and surroundings! I think it's one of my more emotional stories and about Pip's breathing - I always think that when he has nightmares, he'd go straight to Merry instead of his parents or anyone else, so he's breathing strangely because he's been running to Merry and he's only just fallen asleep after having bad dreams. I am glad you like my stories and even happier that you leave long reviews! Your fellow angst-writer, meerkatalex

Reviewer: Merry Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/01/09 - 08:31 pm Title: Moonlight

Very well done. I like it!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviweing; I thrive on your feedback! Judging by your name and review I think that you liked reading it!

Reviewer: Merry Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/01/09 - 08:21 pm Title: Thunder

Very well written! I like this short little piece!

Author's Response: Wow. You write really short reviews, but manage to say what you want in them. I'm glad you've reviewed, though. Keep up writing your own brill stories! meerkatalex

Reviewer: Merry Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/01/09 - 08:13 pm Title: Difficult

You did an excellent job on this piece! I love it!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing lots of my stories! I hope you've enjoyed them and am glad that you like reading about Hobbits! Good luck with your writing!

Reviewer: Karlmir Stonewain Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/01/09 - 07:50 pm Title: Moonlight

Short, but heartwarming. It partly explains why they were such close chums during the War of the Ring and afterwards.

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! I'm glad that you like this piece, and it does explain a lot about them, I think.

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/01/09 - 05:01 pm Title: Thunder

"he would always be, as long as Merry was there to comfort him."
- A perfect ending. It's always so hard to end short stories, but you always do it brilliantly.
I've heard writing a scene from several POVs is a good exercise, so if you've the urge to write from Pip's, go for it! It would be a good contrast for Pip to comfort the "so much more mature" Merry from a fear (like, uh, squirrels? :P).
Altogether, another cute display of their affection!
-Kitt : )

Author's Response: Hehe! Squirrels! I'm trying to think of a good but not too silly fear for Merry, and may write from other people's POVs. I hope that you enjoyed reading my stories!

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/01/09 - 04:39 pm Title: Thunder

Actually, I think it is lovely and charming just the way it is. You could add on a chapter from Pippins POV is you wished, but just as a one shot it is warmly and sweetly written on it's own.

Author's Response: I suppose I could write a seperate story, but I do intend to write another chapter from Pippin's POV when I have the chance. Thank you for reviewing!

Reviewer: Midnight Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/01/09 - 03:38 pm Title: Thunder

That was really good! It shows just how close Merry and Pippin are.

Author's Response: Aw, thank you! That was the idea - to show that their friendship is very strong!

Reviewer: Traveller Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/01/09 - 12:20 am Title: Dreams, Difficulties and Darkness.

Ohmygosh, poor Merry! And poor Pippin, to have to see his best friend like that. I really like Frodo and Sam's relationship- although Sam still wants to serve Frodo, he is not so adamant about it as he once was, and Frodo is ready to just have Sam's friendship rather than service. Keep it up, I'm really intrigued, especially to see what happens with Merry and Pippin (of course)!

Author's Response: Yep yep yep! I love this story and am so glad that you are reviewing frequently! You must really like it - I love writing cliffhangers but I'm not too keen on putting them both (Merry and Pippin,) through too much trauma, although it is nice to write about them being together with that special brotherly bond that they cherish. Thanks for reviewing - another chapter coming up soooon! meerkatalex

No results found.
You must login (register) to review.