You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Tricksy Signed [Report This]
Date: 16/09/12 - 06:56 am Title: All That Is Gold

A joy to read, especially with it being about Bilbo. Thanks!

Reviewer: lindahoyland Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 22/08/09 - 10:01 am Title: Beside the Well

I enjoyed this glimpse of life in Harad very much.

Author's Response: Thanks.

Reviewer: tinara Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/08/09 - 07:55 am Title: Beside the Well

Culture clash in middle-earth! It's a nice glimpse into Aragorn's travels. It's a good example how different backgrounds give totally different perceptions of the same situation. 'They had a ball game' - seems Aragorn has yet to learn a bit about the women of the desert.
Tinara

Author's Response: Thanks. I've wanted to delve into Harad ever since reading Nieriel Raina's "A Torturous Predicament Called 'Entertainment'," which I recommend highly.

Reviewer: Michelle Signed [Report This]
Date: 16/08/09 - 09:19 am Title: Beside the Well

As I said in my mail, I loved this. A wonderful story about Harad. Just what I always wished for - there is a lot of "colourful" tradition here, very good descriptions and already the opening paragraph had me in stitches. Aragorn is the proverbial tourist - totally useless on his own, because he doesn't know his way around (and doesn't know the dangers, or the language) and his guide takes blatant advantage of that:)

Author's Response: Thanks. I had a lot of fun writing this (and I was being a tourist myself at the time).

Reviewer: Dreamflower Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/03/09 - 06:52 pm Title: All That Is Gold

Oh, what a neat account of Aragorn's and Bilbo's first meeting!  To have them meet before Bilbo left the Shire never occurred to me!  And I loved the encounter with Lobelia.

Delightful!



Author's Response: Thank you. I really believe that Lobelia is underused in fanfiction: She's such a driven and entertaining character.

Reviewer: Ireth Celebrindal Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/11/08 - 12:25 am Title: Words of a Stranger

This is highly fascinating. I would encourage you to continue writing mysteries like this! You're almost as good as Arthur C. Doyle!

~Ireth Celebrindal

Author's Response: Wow, I'm flattered -- I'd love to write as entertainingly as he did. This was inspired by the Teitho challenge prompt "Whodunnit", and I bet you'd love the other stories written for it.

Reviewer: Nazgrrl Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/11/07 - 07:49 pm Title: All That Is Gold

Very Enjoyable! I like the POV from Bilbo, very hobbitish!

Author's Response: Thank you. I identify very much with a hero who stops to think about food in the midst of his adventures.

Reviewer: faramiriel Signed [Report This]
Date: 23/11/07 - 07:11 pm Title: All That Is Gold

lovely!!

Author's Response: Thanks =) . I appreciate your review.

Reviewer: lindahoyland Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 15/11/07 - 04:03 am Title: Words of a Stranger

I enjoyed this very much. It has a real Rohirric/Anglo Saxon flavour about it. Do you know Beowulf as I loved your use of Beowulf type language?

Author's Response: Tragically, I really don't know Beowulf -- I guess I'd better read it before I see the movie. I mostly followed Tolkien's language in this story. One of the things I love about his writing is that he uses a different register of language for each culture, so the Rohirrim have a very distinct voice.

Reviewer: neilia Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/11/07 - 01:19 am Title: Words of a Stranger

This is really good! A well-told story. A keeper.

Author's Response: Thank you -- I had a lot of fun writing it.

Reviewer: Nieriel Raina Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 15/11/07 - 12:54 am Title: Words of a Stranger

--…some towards THE crowd around the courier, others into the recesses of the hall.--

Add that THE in there.

--Theobrand of the Westfold is slain--

Later he is Theobald...misspelling.

--Elrohir had given him the beast already laden with the perverse name of Alqua--

Why does she have a Quenya name?

The horse info is great! Loved the story! Very well done.

NiRi

Author's Response: Thanks for the corrections . . . I can't believe that I let the corpse change his name. I'm guessing that she has an elegant Quenya name because Elrohir is expressing his sense of humor.

Reviewer: lindahoyland Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 29/10/07 - 05:20 am Title: All That Is Gold

What a delightful and original story! I loved it!

Author's Response: Thanks! I really enjoyed the first person challenge on Teitho.

Reviewer: neilia Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/10/07 - 06:32 pm Title: All That Is Gold

This is a lovely tale of Aragorn's and Bilbo's first meeting...Lobelia included.

I especially like the poem. This is a keeper.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I've always loved that poem in the Fellowship and am glad to get to borrow it here.

Reviewer: Michelle Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/10/07 - 04:09 pm Title: All That Is Gold

Aragorn/Bilbo fics are my little guilty pleasure - I just enjoy them immensely. This was no different. It was funny, light-hearted and still had a lot of insight on the characters, they were spot on! Additionally, you chose to tell the story from Bilbo's POV, which was very convincing in my opinion. He came across very hobbity, and very Bilbo-like. All the talk about food, about Lobelia, the little mischief he draws Aragorn into; that was pure Bilbo in my opinion. And Aragorn is awefully quiet throughout, I can definitely see him observe everything and stash it away for further use. He does what Gandalf told him to do: He learns everything he can about hobbits. And I bet silently he terribly amused by it!

Author's Response: I hope so. I appreciate your comments. In particular, you put your finger on the thing that I'm still thinking of editing.

Reviewer: lindahoyland Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 30/09/07 - 04:04 am Title: How the Gaffer Came to Gondor

What a delightful story.I loved this especially the ending !

Author's Response: Thanks. I wanted to focus on a non-martial skill. I really loved the warm family scene you wrote for the Skills prompt too.

Reviewer: faramiriel Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/09/07 - 09:42 pm Title: How the Gaffer Came to Gondor

hehehehehehehehee...

Author's Response: Thank you, faramiriel. It's nice to see you around the site more again.

Reviewer: Michelle Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/09/07 - 06:41 pm Title: How the Gaffer Came to Gondor

Cheers! Ha, I like the contrast between wine and ale here. You always have those pretentious wine drinkers that try stuff and gurgle and spit it out and tell sagas about the taste and the colour and whatever. And then you have ale which you simply drink. Basta. Yes, I can definitely see Aragorn as more of the beer type. Short and to the point!

Author's Response: I was thinking about the lore-master guy from "In the Houses of Healing". I thought Gondor might have a lot of fantastically learned, not very down-to-earth types: exactly the kind to swish and spit rather than just hoisting a tankard.

Reviewer: Gemini_Elf Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/09/07 - 05:08 pm Title: How the Gaffer Came to Gondor

:D Very nice!

Author's Response: Glad you liked it.

Reviewer: Michelle Signed [Report This]
Date: 20/04/07 - 06:03 pm Title: The Face of Hope

Amazing. First - I never saw the connection before, but the beginning sounds a lot like Moses leading the Jews out of Egypt. That thought never occured to me while reading the Silmarillion (okay, I'm excused since I'm an atheist, but still), so your story helped me see a new aspect of Tolkien's writing. If that isn't what fanfic is for, then I don't know:)

Then, having grown up with fantasy, esoterics and fortunetelling, I liked the twisted way the palantir worked. Elendil wasn't quite accurate enough in his command to the seeing stone, so the palantir showed him what he wanted to know - but by taking a few turns and bends. Exactly how I would imagine seeing the future works - if it works at all:)

Author's Response: Thanks, Michelle. You know, I didn't think of that connection explicitly while I was writing the story, but Tolkien must have. On my most recent rereading of the Silmarillion, I was really struck by how little encouragement the Faithful must have had.

Reviewer: lindahoyland Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 18/04/07 - 05:08 am Title: The Face of Hope

haunting and original

Author's Response: Thanks. I'm really hooked on the Teitho Contest right now, and much of the credit goes to them for the story topic.

No results found.
You must login (register) to review.