Reviews For THE PROTEGE
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: ziggy Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/05/11 - 07:28 am Title: The Protege

Just thought I would re-read this.. for research of course, just to remind myself what happened, nothing to do with the steamy sex scenes - before reading the second and third parts, which have been posted without my catching. So a fab treat ahead.

Author's Response: He he, there is some of that towards the end of the tale, so please enjoy it.

Reviewer: EldarinPrincess Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/05/11 - 07:13 pm Title: The Protege

You have outdone yourself again. I can see Galadriel steeping quietly in misery, aching to know what the men are up to, yet restraining herself not to. And Celeborn, he seems a big goof to me, the sort of grandfather anyone would want. It must be tedious for Galadriel to maintain an air of "stiff upper lipness" when all she wants is to be "normal". The scene in the dying garden was wonderfully done, and Legolas' telling of part his tale leaves me hungry for more. Like Elrond, my curiosity has only been partially sated. I can't wait for the next installment.

Author's Response: You are most kind, I am glad that you interpret the story in the way it was meant. The next installment is The Protege: Training Day, when Melven will "instruct" the prince in the short swords - I hope you enjoy it!

Reviewer: EldarinPrincess Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/05/11 - 08:57 pm Title: The Protege

I've always coveted Lord Elrond, but after this chapter, tis a shame he does not really exist. This chapter was brilliant; the "nightcap" references were divine. I am quite thankful for cool breeze blowing in from the open window. :)

Reviewer: EldarinPrincess Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/05/11 - 08:28 pm Title: The Protege

For an unknown reason I thought of the natives of such places as the Amazon, or the South Asian islands from the description of Legolas. What a wonder to behold.

Author's Response: You would be right, to an extent - his culture is native, and you will perhaps see that later on, he and his will remind you of the New Zeland natives, the Maori - not in their style or fashion, but in some aspects of their warfare tactics. Thank you once more for your comments.

Reviewer: EldarinPrincess Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/05/11 - 06:31 pm Title: The Protege

Again, such wonderful writing. Your dialog is amazing--I wish to learn from you! You portrayal of Mithrandir, as the wise Istari, cheeky nonetheless, is so spot on of how Tolkien wrote him. One thing in particular I want to note:

“Well, well” he exclaimed, as he pushed a steaming cup towards his lord.” That was – interesting?”

“Indeed, snorted Celeborn at the gross understatement. Galadriel simply smiled as she sipped at her camomile tea. Celeborn new exactly what Galadriel had tried to do, and was actually enjoying the fact that she was failing miserably, but he was too intelligent to openly mock her for it, instead opting for patting her white hand in commiseration.


I often wondered how Celeborn felt in relation to his wife being a Noldo of such might, power, and lineage. I think I know how, now.

I am as anxious as Erestor now in finding out how the festivities will proceed.

Reviewer: EldarinPrincess Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/05/11 - 05:31 pm Title: The Protege

So it begins....sparks are flying...

Author's Response: Indeed, and there are a few more to come. Thank you for your generous remarks.

Reviewer: EldarinPrincess Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/05/11 - 04:57 pm Title: The Protege

Undoubtedly this Mirkwoodian Prince has charmed many in more than one manner. I like the fact that you point out the price he pays: “Beautiful is he not? I do not wonder that he kept his hood up on his arrival, he undoubtedly knows the effect he has on others, and I daresay I saw a little irritation on his face,” said Elrond.

“Aye,” replied Erestor. “I noticed as well. It must be annoying to not be able to go unnoticed. However, you do have the upper hand, curse you two, I only saw his face.”

Beauty is something we are all drawn to irrevocably, and your story is a work of said element.

Reviewer: EldarinPrincess Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/05/11 - 04:01 pm Title: The Protege

I am not a reader of slash normally, but your magic with story-telling has drawn me in. This picture of Legolas as a possible Vala with the command of Nature at his will is exciting. While personally I have considered the Silvans to be more in tune with nature, nothing of this grand extreme have I thought. But it is good. I like the interjections of humor, such as the mention of bets on Legolas, and Erestor's "piffle" remark.

Author's Response: I am glad you are enjoying the story. It is indeed, slash, however Legolas and Glorfindel are not in the slightest bit adverse to indulging in female company! Many thanks.

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/05/11 - 01:46 pm Title: The Protege

I'm just catching up on reading this. I do love a good Glorfindel/Legolas story, and I'm looking forward to seeing how this one plays out.

Author's Response: Well, only one chapter to go to this first installment, so I hope you enjoy the outcome. I would also like to congratulate you on your great stories!

Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/04/11 - 03:21 pm Title: The Protege

Elrond's vision is fascinating.

I did enjoy Legolas explaining the people of the forest to the others, and I am especially delighted at this,

“Well, yes, there is. There is the question of what we call carnal delight. The ceremony would traditionally be followed by indulging oneself in whatever form of sexual satisfaction that takes the fancy. And if I may be bold, it is rarely a question of two.”

This is very much how I envisage the Silvan Elves as celebrating certain days, and without any attached guilt at all. It does please me when I read other people with similar notions. That lack of *morning-after* guilt I feel is extremely Elven, as are beautifully orgiastic celebrations.

Author's Response: I totally agree, probably because I believe this is the most intelligent stance. I hope you enjoy the final three chapters in this first installment, especially chapter 7, where the real fun starts!! Kind regards

Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/04/11 - 03:22 pm Title: The Protege

Lol. People betting on Legolas! :)

There are undercurrents here, some (such as the antipathy of Melven) are more obvious than others. So Gandalf recognizes *what* he is, and Legolas is not inclined to reveal more. And he also seems rather enspelled by Glorfindel...:)

Author's Response: Um, enspelled is a nice word. Indeed he is, and will be even more enspelled as the story progresses. Thanks for the comments.

Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed [Report This]
Date: 14/04/11 - 04:17 pm Title: The Protege

Favorited. :) I want to get updates!

Author's Response: Thank you so much, I should be updating over the weekend.

Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed [Report This]
Date: 14/04/11 - 04:14 pm Title: The Protege

This is really...I am struggling to find a word; it reads almost more High Fantasy than Tolkien, like an earthy fairy-tale, and that is a compliment. It's enormously attractive, too, and wonderfully written.

The first coherent thought that came to his mind was ‘fey’

And there is a fey element about this story which is really gorgeous. :)

Reviewer: ziggy Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/04/11 - 05:44 am Title: The Protege

I think I have reviewed this at ffnet and am erally pleased ot see you posting it here. Looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response: You are quite right ziggy. I have always lurked here and like the site. Thanks!

Reviewer: elfenears Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/04/11 - 05:04 am Title: The Protege

I am intrigued, this is a very interesting beginning and a different view of legolas than normal, lovely descriptions and dialogue. x thanks for writing

Author's Response: thank you. I hope you continue to enjoy the story.

Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed [Report This]
Date: 31/03/11 - 07:06 am Title: The Protege

A very interesting and different take on Legolas' heritage, and many intriguing hints of Legolas himself. A nice *hook* of a first chapter! :)

No results found.
You must login (register) to review.