Reviews For Protect and Serve
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Gilraen999 Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/10/12 - 04:53 am Title: Protect and Serve: To Honor

Amazing story! Simply beautiful!

Reviewer: Elbereth Signed [Report This]
Date: 20/10/12 - 01:32 pm Title: Protect and Serve: To Honor

A true, realistic ending if you ask me, though I'm certainly glad that you wrote a second "happily ever after ending" too, to make us all happy. ;)

Still, though that certainly wasn't the way I wanted it to end, I'm glad you finished it like that. An ace ending to an amazing story- I simply can't praise you enough.

Good luck with your future original works and I sincerely hope that they're as successful as this fanfiction has been.

Blessings,
Elbereth

Reviewer: Elbereth Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/10/12 - 03:28 pm Title: Protect and Serve: To Honor

Oh. My. Eru. Wow... As you say, I certainly wasn't expecting that, but in many ways I'm glad you ended the trilogy in that way- it's true to real-life, and makes everything seem so much more realistic, though I hate to say it.

Absolutely amazing, Lasarina, and thank you so much for sharing your talent here by posting this.

I await the epilogue with baited breath.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading! I'm glad you've liked it so much so far. I hope you like one or both of the different endings.

But enough with delays. Check out the endings!

 

Lasarina

Reviewer: Elbereth Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/09/12 - 12:47 pm Title: Protect and Serve: To Honor

You've almost finished?! Eru, now you've got me nervous... I have a hunch that it's not all going to end happily...

I enjoyed, as always, the appearance of the Valar, and particularly liked Lane's description of Mandos' voice- I can actually picture Mandos sounding like Darth Vader... Anyway, I digress.

I found Lane's thoughts interesting to read too, particularly the stuff about her connection with Legolas. All in all, an excellent chapter. :)

Author's Response:

Well, I've posted the final chapter! So go check it out.

 

Thanks so much for reading! I'm so thankful for you sticking with this story!

 

Lasarina

Reviewer: Elbereth Signed [Report This]
Date: 24/08/12 - 09:50 pm Title: Protect and Serve: To Honor

Lovely explanation of Legolas' name- I like that story a lot. Very creative, and certainly makes sense. Well done!

As to the chapter itself, I read the chapter title and could just tell that there'd be a bomb-shell at the end, and you didn't disappoint. It was certainly a nice touch, and true to Lane's character in the fact that she's not about to bow down to anyone's will- even if it's the will of the love of her life.

As to your horse-riding quam, I'm not a rider, so I make a point of not going into details about horse related stuff in stories and fan-fictions, but I will bear it in mind none-the-less.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much for the reivew. I'm glad you liked my own idea for how Legolas was named. Since we don't know, it was fun to come up with something.

 

Thanks again for reading, and check out the new chapter!

 

Lasarina

Reviewer: ToriLee Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/08/12 - 06:45 pm Title: Protect and Serve: To Honor

Okay. Here comes the lament. I've tried to refrain from doing a review for your series, because I felt like it would be weird to make a comment SO early on that I barely knew the characters. It's been an itch I've really been meaning to scratch and I can finally say, I absolutely adore every single moment of it. Your knowledge of Middle Earth as a whole is amazing let alone the superb character creation and further development of EACH ones feelings. In the first installment, your weaving of Boromir's untimely fate, made me want to crawl inside the story and just hug him because let's face it, it made me want to shout "NO DAMMIT!" Then again, I was so anxious to click to the next page BECAUSE I was so determined to find out what you were plotting next. Like I said, I had serious anxiety when it came to trying to read the series in one night THEN make a review. I must say my dear, your way with words is enthralling and I was so eager to learn from it and use that wisdom in my OWN stories, because just the amount of detail is enough to ensnare any reader of LOTR. I laughed my ass off when I saw "James Earl Jones" come into the picture, and even more so at the innuendos thrown out casually by Lane. I also have to try and relay this to you: Lane is by far the best developed character I've read in ANY fanfiction. You can just tell that she's really been there and seen it all, and that's what I love. Your adding in the Fae's by the way, I loved it, only because it shows the "real world" as also a place of enchantment, and you managed to do that without making it cheesy, and that's hard to do. Yes, I realize I'm rambling, but; every author needs to know when they've done a fine job at story-telling, and you my friend are a master of the craft. Job well done.

Author's Response:

Wow! Thanks for the wonderful review, my dear! I appreciate you taking the time to review and let me know what you thought.

I must admit, James Earl Jones I think was one of the funest ideas I came up with. And it was fun to write. 

 

But thanks again, it's one of the nicest reviews I've received!

 

And check out the new chapter!

 

Lasarina

Reviewer: Elbereth Signed [Report This]
Date: 13/08/12 - 03:36 pm Title: Protect and Serve: To Honor

I just realised reading your A/N that I said next to nothing on the edited version of Chapter 7! I am so sorry! Anyway, I can certainly imagine what happened, and I can tell you that I am SO grateful for you putting up the link to the edited chapter- I wouldn't have been able to skip a chapter otherwise!!

As to Chapter 8, I saw the chapter title, and I instantly had the song going round in my head, so you can imagine my delight at you finishing the chapter with some of the song. Wonderful song; true message.

Well done- great chapter/s.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much! I'm glad you were able to keep reading the edited version.

I must admit, I was humming the song as I wrote it, too!

 

But check out the new chapter, 

 

Lasarina

Reviewer: GloryBeeDeb Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/08/12 - 02:57 pm Title: Protect and Serve: To Honor

Well worth the wait Lasarina. :) This does your story and their relationship justice. Thanks for the link.

Author's Response:

So glad the link worked well! Thanks for your patience and I'm glad you liked it!

 

Check out the new chapter, 

 

Lasarina

Reviewer: CrystalDragonClaw Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/08/12 - 08:10 am Title: Protect and Serve: To Honor

This is a rather good series. I hope to see you update this one soon.

Keep up the great work.

Author's Response:

Glad you like it! It's been a fun series to write.

Thanks for reading, and check out the new chapter!

 

Lasarina

Reviewer: gypsyblue Signed [Report This]
Date: 31/07/12 - 04:45 am Title: Protect and Serve: To Honor

lol, I loved the banter on the field between Aragorn and Lane. It was fun to read. And Legolas is back, yeay! Nice to see that he's ok. Will be looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response:

Lol, it was fun to write too! I knew everyone would be happy to have Legolas back, it was a hard wait.

 

Thanks for reading, and check out the new chapter!

 

Lasarina

Reviewer: Elbereth Signed [Report This]
Date: 30/07/12 - 01:02 pm Title: Protect and Serve: To Honor

Wow, that really turned the tide! I was expecting Legolas to propose to her, not the other way round! But still, I think I like it that way. ;)

I'm glad that Lane saved Halbarad, but I can't help but wonder the consequences of such an action...?

Will look forward to reading the next few chapters- as always. :)

Author's Response:

Glad you like it that way, Lane's not really the kind to wait around! ;)

Thanks for the review! And check out the new chapter!

 

Lasarina

Reviewer: crazzymonkey Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/07/12 - 06:26 am Title: Protect and Serve: To Honor

This series has been a pleasure to read. It's very rare to see an OC story written this well. Thank you for this. ^.^

Author's Response:

Thanks so much! Lane's a fun character to write.

Check out the new chapter!

 

Lasarina

Reviewer: gypsyblue Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/07/12 - 04:20 am Title: Protect and Serve: To Honor

Oh, and Happy Birthday to you, by the way. : )

Author's Response: Lol, thanks!

Reviewer: gypsyblue Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/07/12 - 04:19 am Title: Protect and Serve: To Honor

Just wanted to write and let you know that I'm really enjoying the "Protect and Serve" series and I can't wait to see what will happen next. : )

Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading. Glad you're liking it!

Check out the new chapter!

 

Lasarina

Reviewer: Elbereth Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/07/12 - 12:59 am Title: Protect and Serve: To Honor

Happy 27th Birthday!! Many happy returns!

Once again, a very good chapter. It was nice to see Imrahil- there was very little of him in ROTK, I thought.

And Lane seems to be adopting the native way of speaking...?


Well done. :)

Author's Response:

Thanks so much!

Glad you liked Imrahil, I've always thought he was a bit underbilled myself. 

And I love that you caught the change in her syntax, as with anyone her speech is starting to mimic her surroundings, and I've been trying to very carefully change hers over time. 

 

Thanks again, and check out the next chapter!

 

Lasarina

Reviewer: Elbereth Signed [Report This]
Date: 24/07/12 - 01:30 pm Title: Protect and Serve: To Honor

Another good ol' cliff-hanger, and another good ol' chapter. :)

It was very clever of you to have Lane in a dress when she went to go and see Denethor- I certainly didn't expect that.

Again, I have to admit that you have a talent for portraying Denethor; it was superb.

Well done.

Author's Response:

So glad you like Denethor, he's still the character I feel sorriest for in their portrayals in the movies.

 

Thanks so much for reviewing and check out the new chapter, 

 

Lasarina

Reviewer: Elbereth Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/07/12 - 11:09 pm Title: Protect and Serve: To Honor

Good old cliff-hanger. I like it. ;)

There was a good amount of humour in this particular chapter- which I enjoyed very much, particularly the "bonus for gender identification" comment.

Well done. :)

Author's Response:

Lol, I'm glad you like the cliff-hanger because I've left another!

 

And I'm glad you liked the humor, mine's kinda dry so I worry that other's won't always get it. 

 

Thanks so much, and check out the new chapter!

 

Lasarina

Reviewer: harleyhop22435 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/07/12 - 10:22 pm Title: Protect and Serve: To Protect

Hahahaha Goldilocks. I love the story. Man she's rough on Legolas xD

Reviewer: Elbereth Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/07/12 - 10:19 pm Title: Protect and Serve: To Honor

A lot of things stuck out for me in this particular chapter, but I shall select a few, and list them in no particular order...

- Geography. Your knowledge of Rohan and Gondor is AMAZING, and this really shone through.
- Your portrayl of Denethor, which definitely does justice to his character.

There were one or two typos which I did notice, but hey, you're human too. :)

Overall- great!

Author's Response:

*blushes*

Awww, thanks so much! I've been trying to study the geography and such a bit more so I'm not screwing that up, but I'm not surprised there are some typos, I always notice a lot after I've stepped back from something for a sufficient amount of time (like a month!) so that's no shocker there are some in this one. I'm sure there will be more! It's so hard for me to catch my own. I can professionally edit other people's stuff for publication all the time, but that's why we never do the final edit of our own work, the brain has the tendency to correct things as you read it to the way you meant it to be. If you ever see anything glaring, feel free to shout it out, I'm not easily embarrassed, the mistakes are worse!

 

Thanks again and check out the new chapter!

 

Lasarina

 

Reviewer: Elbereth Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/06/12 - 10:08 pm Title: Protect and Serve: To Honor

I'm so glad you've begun the third book! A superb start, and I'm looking forward to the rest.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much!

I'm getting on a roll again, I've got the next chapter up!

 

Thanks so much, 

 

Lasarina

No results found.
You must login (register) to review.