Reviews For The Lucky Arrow
You must login (register) to review.
Title: The Lucky Arrow Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed
I almost forgot. I read your bio and is it an Emperor Gum Moth?

Author's Response: It is the Imperial Moth (Iacles imperialis).
Date: Jan 19 2011 09:42 am [Report This]
Title: The Lucky Arrow Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed
You come highly recommended by a good friend of mine. I've been reading fanfic for quite sometime now and I think my taste has matured enough to where I can really appreciate work like yours. Your life experience shines through here. One thing is for sure, war never changes and neither do the habits of the soldiers. This was a great piece but you don't need me to tell you that. I just appreciate seeing Faramir and Pocosin in a realistic light.

Author's Response: Thank you very much. My character Pocosin appears in some of my other stories too, as well as his uncle Golek Dune.
Date: Jan 19 2011 09:37 am [Report This]
Title: The Lucky Arrow Reviewer: R o B x D Signed

Author's Response: Thanks for reading and reviewing. I hope you enjoy my other stories as well.
Date: Dec 03 2010 05:23 pm [Report This]
Title: The Lucky Arrow Reviewer: Lisse Signed
I'm reviewing for a young friend whom I shared this story with. She is a young teen, thus I could not recommend this site to her. She was very impressed and wants more Pocosin stories. I'd like that also!

Author's Response: Thanks for your interest, Lisse, and for introducing your young friend to my works. Pocosin the scout and ranger will appear in more of my stories later on. He will also appear in "Arwen's Journey." Although this story is rated NC-17, the chapters in which he appears may be rated G to R. You are welcome them, then print or download them at your discretion for your friend's perusal.
Date: May 11 2010 05:03 am [Report This]
Title: The Lucky Arrow Reviewer: Lisse Signed
So professional! I was drawn in right away. I'll read the sequel for sure.

Author's Response: I was motivated to write this story by a need to relate both a battlefield experience plus an anecdote of soldiers' peculiar habits of collecting war souvenirs. I'm glad you found it interesting. Thanks for reading and reviewing.
Date: Jan 31 2010 12:12 am [Report This]
Title: The Lucky Arrow Reviewer: Formegil Signed
This was a very good story, it was very authentic also. The rangers in your story resemble ther Reconnaissance platoon in my company, those were very stealthy boys. I like that you put Faramir in this, he's one of my favourite characters. As for the war souvenirs, it seems that almost anything goes. I have a box of my grandgrandfathers war trophies from 1941-44. There are even a Red Army commissar's sleeve star (a real rarity), but also some worn mantel buttons! As a last note, your description of forest guerrilla warfare is excellent. It is just like this, small patrols and ambushes. After this, I will definitely read your other stories as well.

Author's Response: Thanks very much. It takes a fellow soldier to fully understand the significance of war souvenirs picked up on the battlefield. I'm sure that most of Pocosin's comrades would have coveted Captain Faramir's lucky arrow through the Orc quiver. I served with the 101st Airborne in Vietnam as an infantryman and was quite familiar with the ranger companies. I imagined Faramir's ranger companies adopting similar guerrilla tactics and camouflage techniques, even though their fighting equipment was vastly different. Thanks again for your review.
Date: Apr 26 2008 12:25 pm [Report This]
Title: The Lucky Arrow Reviewer: oelberethgilthoniel Signed
I like the ending of this story, but I am not quite sure why an enemy arrow-case ( I'm drawing a blank for the proper name) would be such a trophy. I really enjoy reading these stories!

Author's Response: You have a valid question, OEG. Soldiers have a peculiar habit of picking up odd battlefield relics as souvenirs. The odder the better. An enemy quiver pierced by Captain Faramir's arrow would have been a sought-after prize to grace the mantlepiece of most Ithilien rangers' homes and would have been the source of many a tale in later years. One real example of such souvenir hunting took place during the American Civil War at Gettysburg. The bullet-riddled fences on the battlefield were quickly sawn up by locals and sold to tourists as souvenirs. When I first arrived in Vietnam I met a departing soldier who was attempting to bring a bullet-riddled human skull home in a plastic bag. Now that was macabre! Thanks for your review.
Date: Jan 30 2008 08:36 am [Report This]
Title: The Lucky Arrow Reviewer: belkar bitterleaf Signed
judging by the other comments i would say you have heard enough of this, but this is a good story, the only critisism I would give it is that the item given to Pocosin isn't clearly describe. I realise this has been done perposely but even at the end it is hard to figure out why it was seen as such a coveted prize.

Author's Response: Thanks for your review, Belkar. No, I never tire of getting reviews. Yes, Faramir's trophy isn't described until the end of the story because that would deflate the surprise. Pocosin's friends recognize the trophy's importance for two reasons. First, it serves as an award from a commanding officer to one of his deserving men--sort of like a medal. Secondly, soldiers often put a souvenir value on rare battlefield items. In this case, the scout walked away with two: an Orc's quiver and one of Captain Faramir's arrows. The two combined would be an odd battlefield relic, indeed.
Date: Dec 14 2007 03:58 pm [Report This]
Title: The Lucky Arrow Reviewer: xFanarix Signed
I enjoyed this so much, the comradeship, and the realism, I am not surprised it reads as authentically as it does if it is based on a true experience; and how marvellously you took that and set it into Middle-earth. Super. :)

Author's Response: Thanks for your most generous comments. My two characters have supporting roles in Arwen's Journey. I may include them in a couple of other short stories as well. My descriptions of the rangers' appearances and methods might differ from those of J.R.R. Tolkien and Peter Jackson, but I'm basing them on my personal military training and experiences. I see no reason why Ithilien rangers wouldn't, by the time of my stories, have evolved into something resembling contemporary army rangers. After all, Gondorian and Ithilien rangers had been fighting guerrilla campaigns against Orcs for centuries before Faramir or Aragorn took command of their own units.
Date: Dec 14 2007 03:14 am [Report This]
Title: The Lucky Arrow Reviewer: Gemini_Elf Signed
Great fic!

Author's Response: Thank you, Gemini_Elf. May your winter solstice be a happy one.
Date: Dec 13 2007 11:17 am [Report This]
Title: The Lucky Arrow Reviewer: Ria Signed
I liked it! You made the Rangers' life and comeraderie believable. Thinking about the events of the story happening in a Vietnam context as well increased the story's interest for me. I guess that Goleck Dune and Pocosin are names from the original story, since they don't sound Gondorian.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for the review, Ria. Your attention is truly appreciated. Pocosin and Goleck Dune hail from farming communities in Lebennin, but trace their ancestries back to Bree. I originally created these characters for Arwen’s Journey, in which they appear roughly two decades after the events in The Lucky Arrow. Pocosin will become a citizen soldier after the War of the Ring, but will still ply his considerable talents as a ranger. Dune will become a career soldier in the Gondorian cavalry. His first name is Orkish, but that’s another story.
Date: Dec 12 2007 06:07 pm [Report This]
Title: The Lucky Arrow Reviewer: Elvellon_en_Legolas Signed
Beautiful fic! I really like this one! It's quite realistic too. Perfect word choice.


Author's Response: Thanks very much. I will eventually have other short stories featuring characters I created for Arwen's Journey.
Date: Dec 12 2007 10:47 am [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.