You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Lisse Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/01/10 - 02:36 am Title: A Solstice for Andrea

How could anyone have turned this down? Beautiful.

Author's Response: I guess women of my generation are aloof to this sort of approach. Thanks for reviewing and taking the time to retrieve this poem from the musty archives of Minas Tirith. I'm glad that you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: Daewen Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/10/09 - 01:40 pm Title: A Solstice for Andrea

Not foolish, only hopeful.

Author's Response: Thanks for understanding. Now, if there were only some older women here who would respond to poetry...

Reviewer: Daewen Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/10/09 - 01:23 pm Title: A Solstice for Andrea

Very beautiful!

Author's Response: Thanks! There's nothing so foolish as a young man in love.

Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/01/09 - 11:33 pm Title: A Solstice for Andrea

Wow, that was beautiful.

And the message on the side is very sweet...I'm sorry that she didn't return your affections, that's sad :(



Author's Response: Like I told LadyWarrior, women of my generation didn't seem to appreciate the romance of poetry. During my high school and college years I wrote several poems of this genre for special ladies, only to be regarded for my efforts as some sort of eccentric, or worse a laughable nut case. Life's not easy for geeks. I hate to think what might have happened if I'd started writing LotR fan fiction back then. I'm finally glad to see that a few readers appreciate my poetry at last, even if it's 40+ years later.

Reviewer: LadyWarrior Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/01/09 - 02:24 am Title: A Solstice for Andrea

Oh My God. Now I'm not the best at figuring the deep meaning behind poems, but I saw the special message right away!

It would have won me over in an instant. The world needs more males like you!

Author's Response: Whether or not my special Elf noticed the special message is something I never knew, for she sailed off to Valinor (Florida) shortly afterwards and I never saw her again. Thanks for the compliment. It would appear that women of my generation are not as easily won over by poetry as are some of my readers. I'm still single at 60. That's life!

Reviewer: meerkatalex Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/12/08 - 08:27 pm Title: A Solstice for Andrea

Hello. Well I think this is quite good. I like the line about ash and oak, which is about trees, no? I wish that I could write as well as you. Well good luck with your writing!

Author's Response: There's also a hidden message that you will find if you read down the left hand column of letters.

Yes, the line about ash and oak is, indeed, about trees. Those two species make up about 2/3 of the trees on my property and are an important source of firewood.

Don't make the mistake of comparing your work to that of others. Learn to be satisfied by knowing you're bringing a smile to your readers' lips. Your stuff is already good. Your style and the way you express yourself will improve with time and practice.

Thanks for reviewing. I look forward to reading your next posting.

Reviewer: Pink Siamese Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/12/08 - 05:05 am Title: A Solstice for Andrea

That's beautiful. I'm of the firm opinion that it was her loss. ;-)

Author's Response: Thanks. You're sweet! I thought that this poem had, by now, been long buried and forgotten in one of Minas Tirith's dusty archive vaults. It's very gratifying to learn that someone has taken the time to look over some of my older stuff.

Reviewer: Dyubbuk Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/05/08 - 05:48 pm Title: A Solstice for Andrea

Your vocabulary confuses me a little, but I think the message is sweet.I write poetry for my girlfriend often.Check it out..

Author's Response: Thanks for your review. There are a few astronomical terms in my poem, because I'm addressing my lover at the time of the summer solstice. I understand that not everyone will picture what I'm trying to convey, but the poem was initially written for one person. I'll be sure to read and review your poetry.

Reviewer: Enigma Signed [Report This]
Date: 23/02/08 - 06:15 pm Title: A Solstice for Andrea

My God, if a guy wrote a poem that beautiful for me, I'd be so won. I'm such a sucker for poetry. I think I'd cry, actually. Congratulations on the superb work,

Author's Response: Gosh! Maybe I wrote the poem for the wrong woman. :) Anyway, glad you liked it. Thanks for reviewing.

Reviewer: owlett Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/01/08 - 12:57 am Title: A Solstice for Andrea

Thats sweet. I like to reference to the mossy knoll, it somehow makes the poem seem more real in a way

Author's Response: The mossy knoll (my Cerin Amroth) is a bit overgrown with oaks and hemlocks since those days. It still holds many pleasant memories for me, however. Your review is greatly appreciated.

Reviewer: Anwyn Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/01/08 - 10:09 pm Title: A Solstice for Andrea

Awww, that is very sweet! I am sorry that Andreea did not understand what you were trying to put fourth with the poem, It was quite lovely.

Author's Response: Thanks, Anwyn. I'm glad you liked it. Maybe if Andrea and I had both had an interest in LotR at the time, I could have made references to Cerin Amroth in the artwork included with the poem. Who knows what my special Elf's reaction would have been? (Sigh) Since then, she has sailed off to her own Valinor in Florida.

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/12/07 - 08:00 pm Title: A Solstice for Andrea

Oh, I do like that, very much! Now, gosh, it reminds me of something in a collection of poems which I wil have to find, the style I mean. I will have to find it and tell you.

Author's Response: Thanks again, xFanarix. I bet your poetry is good.

Reviewer: belkar bitterleaf Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/12/07 - 06:51 pm Title: A Solstice for Andrea

im not good at translating poetry but it sounds sad, is it based entirely on you and this other person or does it relate to lord of the rings?

Author's Response: Thanks for you comments, Belkar. The poem is based on my brief relationship with Andrea. It can only be linked to LotR in the romantic sense. Hence, my comparison of the mossy knoll near my house to Cerin Amroth, the hill where Arwen and Aragorn pledged their troth. Also, Andrea was Elvish in appearance.

You must login (register) to review.