Reviews For What's In A Name?
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Nazgrrl Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/01/08 - 06:57 pm Title: What's In A Name?

Just out of curiosity . .. what was this idea that I gave you?

I was going back and reading my review ( I proof read them for rudeness, etc.) when I noticed that response.

Would you care to elaborate?
NZ

Author's Response: I think it was something about how people write their fics, what they believe, not sure now - Li

Reviewer: Karlmir Stonewain Signed [Report This]
Date: 20/01/08 - 07:09 pm Title: What's In A Name?

Thanks for the enjoyable story on the evolution of your pen name and for responding to the challenge. Thanks also for the correct pronunciation of your name. I've had it wrong all this time.

Author's Response: I just had a thought the other night . . . what if people are pronouncing my name wrong??rnrnWhen i saw the challenge i'm just like 'That'd be interesting considering mine's changed three times', it was very inspiring. Thanks for reviewing - Li

Reviewer: Nazgrrl Signed [Report This]
Date: 20/01/08 - 06:28 pm Title: What's In A Name?

No offense taken. The first elvish translation is "Read the books and learn them." The Second is " I can say whatever I want and you can't understand me." 8-)
I understand your view on writing the world, but I have to strongly disagree with you.

If you have read my bio, you will realize that I am a member of the canon police, and don't like uncanon stories.

Not saying that I won't read them, they just have to be very realistic to sell the story to me.

Keep on writing!
NZ/SMEE

Author's Response: Well, each to their own i guess, i just hope that this will not sabotage, could you say, our not exactly a relationship but something of a muchness. I shall keep on writing and hannon le for the encouragement - Li

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 20/01/08 - 03:03 pm Title: What's In A Name?

How are you getting on with the Silmarillion? I don't actually read your work, not because of you! I just find het romance boring not just in Tolkien ff but to read in general. I've OD'd on it after about * mumble-mumble * years, and it was either read and write slash and friendship or stick a bread-knife through my left eye out of terminal boredom. I don't read it at all now, so that is not personal, just my own taste, a lot of people don't read slash, which is entirely up to them ; I feel the same about het. I've found some fabulous friendship stories though, which surprised me, I initially thought they would not grab me, but some have.
The closer something is to canon the more I love it, although my own stuff is AU and I am not a canon nazi, as that would be really hypocritical, no? But I notice that my favorite stories are very canon oriented and written by people who obviously know it very well, so well that it rolls of their keyboards like silk. [ In the matter of LACE - I look at with some cynicism, rather like a marriage vow. Yes, I know it - I just don't believe it. ] I do think all writing is important, just to read and write as much as you can, and you are a very prolific writer, so you obviously love the act of creating '' new worlds '' [ within Tolkien's ] , which is great. Creativity is a Good Thing. Have you written any original stuff? I would encourage any-one to write. It's a good thing I don't have kids as I would be strapping them down in front of a pc and making them write. d;-) [ At age 3 ] The more you write, and read the better you become according to one of my favorite [ published ] author's. I hope that applies to me too, I've been reading til my eyes fall out the last few days. Take care.

Author's Response: I'm about a third of the way through the Silmarillion, i got it the day i went to NZ last year but i got some other books and i kinda dropped away from it but after i've finished Children of Hurin i might finish it. I don't write slash and i don't read it that often either, just the random occassion.rnrnI have a couple of original stories but they could be better than what they are. I've gained lots more experience since i joined this site so one day i shall rewrite my own stories but until then i think i'll stick to fanfiction until i'm ready to make the jump again. It's just that i have so many ideas for LOTRFF that i keep forgetting about my own stuff which i probably shouldn't do. If you wanna read one of my original stories, there's one i posted on here called 'iPod iDol' which is completely random, something i wrote for english. Thanks for reviewing - Li

Reviewer: Gemini_Elf Signed [Report This]
Date: 20/01/08 - 02:17 pm Title: What's In A Name?

Ahh, intriguing ^_^

Author's Response: Yeah. I miss you, i tried to catch you Saturday but Dad's internet wasn't working *scowls at dad* Did you get my email?? Please write back to that, i wanna hear from ya. Talk to ya soon - Li

Reviewer: Nazgrrl Signed [Report This]
Date: 20/01/08 - 02:10 am Title: What's In A Name?

I highly suggest you read the books.

I read part of your "the lies before the truth" and decided to weep for canon.

Edro i phairf a hain isto!

The books are the best way to write accurate fan fiction.

An interesting way to come up with a name.

Pedin i phith i anÝron, ar av-belich nin heniad

Nazgrrl

Author's Response: You've given me an idea and i thank you for it. I know you're a true Tolkien fan and i admire that but the way i write my fanfiction is my way. My belief about writing fanfic is that you should make the world your own, tkae the world and mold it to what you would like. I don't really like canon but i try to stay as true to the story as possible. I'm sorry if i sound a little angry but that's jsut the way the words came out, i'm not actually angry. I know i need to read TTT and ROTK but i just can't get into them as much as i did with FOTR. Could i have a translation of the elvish please?? I'm not that good with elvish . . . not translating it at least. Thanks for reviewing - Li

Reviewer: arulia34 Signed [Report This]
Date: 20/01/08 - 01:48 am Title: What's In A Name?

OMG THAT IS AMAZING!! Laughing?

Author's Response: Yeah, laughing's fun. What should i do tomorrow?? Email me about that please

Reviewer: arulia34 Signed [Report This]
Date: 20/01/08 - 01:35 am Title: What's In A Name?

Cool. Wanna know about how I got my name? Named myself after my current favourite character and then used 3 and 4 which make up my favourite number, 7.

Author's Response: I knew yours wouldn't be long, i would laugh so hard if you posted that and he said 'OH MY GOD THAT WAS AMAZING!!!!" that'd be the funniest thing i've seen all of my life. I've been reading about Lando, i haven't been ignoring you but there's year thirteen and stuff inolved. Talk to ya laterz - Li

You must login (register) to review.