Reviews For Day and Night
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Nieriel Raina Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 16/12/08 - 06:27 pm Title: The First Day of March

Saw this listed as the Story of the Moment and thought I should say once more how much I love this tale, especially how you write Glorfindel. :)

Reviewer: Elwyn Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/04/08 - 05:59 pm Title: Day and Night

Great ending. Shame the stories over, but it's nice to finnally find out what happens. I look forward to reading more of your work. I thought Glorfindels speech at the end was especially good and meningfull.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing Elwyn. There痴 more to come

Reviewer: Anwyn Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/04/08 - 03:09 pm Title: Day and Night

An excellent end to a fantastic story, I really enjoyed reading this, your writing is beatifully detailed and your potrayl of characters very realistic in that you capture not only their strengths but weaknesses and doubts as well which just adds to the realism in that "nobodys perfect" I am very much looking forward to your next story :)

Author's Response: Thanks Anwyn. I知 glad to know that you have enjoyed my characters. I do strive to create complex and multi-layered characters, for, as you say, nobody is perfect. Another story is coming soon.rnrn

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/04/08 - 07:12 am Title: Day and Night

A wonderful end chapter. I especially love Elladan and Glorfindel's conversation; it rings with such portents of the future and the sense of sorrow which is in the Elves of Middle-earth. I loved this story and think that the way it ends is perfect - to go on to other stories.

Author's Response: Thanks for your faithful reviews, Fanarix. There are more stories to come soon!

Reviewer: jouzinka Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/04/08 - 06:01 am Title: Day and Night

Great story, dear. Love the Elvish way you refer to the Sun as "she," which, along with lots of other details, finely shapes the story as a complex. =;) I'm looking forward to the other sequel. =:)

Author's Response: rnThanks, I知 glad to know that you enjoyed it!rn

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 20/04/08 - 06:57 am Title: A New Dawn

Great chapter. All the striving and worry and the the relief and Elladan's admittance to Elrohir he had been misguided. I am so relieved that they are rescued. Many thanks for that!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing, Fanarix. I知 glad to know that you enjoyed the chapter and that I could give you some relief! ;-)

Reviewer: Anwyn Signed [Report This]
Date: 16/04/08 - 07:35 pm Title: The First Day of March

Another fantastically exciting chapter! I have to agree with Fanari’s earlier compliment about just how well you capture the twin sons of Elrond in writing, I really cannot find the right words to praise your portrayal quite enough, Its absolutely brilliant and very inspired. I am not sure where this notion came from that the twins were perpetual pranksters and while I do confess I love a touch of humor in a story, I have seen one too many stories of “Elladan and Elrohir play yet ANOTHER nasty prank” and your story that portrays them as complex and interesting is like a breath of fresh air. I want to blame the Harry Potter books because the twins, Fred and George Weasley are huge pranksters and that has seemingly to migrated into our fandom somehow. Another thing I must say is that I love how you write the twins but they are not identical (Appearance aside of course) but they have distinct personalities as well as the bond between them, and they do react different in that Elladan comes of as quite stern, and Elrohir, well, I don’t want to say soft but he has a touch more “give” in his personality, though if duty calls to him of course he will step up as he did in this chapter. Another thing that stood out to me in this chapter in this chapter is Elrohir’s battle with the remaining Troll. Often when I read any piece where a character is engaging a foe, any foe, in battle there is not such great detail and thought given to the *why* as the attention is shifted completely to the main character, which in this instance would be Elrohir but you went even further to give some insight into the troll that he was fighting, that the trolls brother had just been slain and while I will not for a moment argue for a single moment that trolls are terribly intelligent I just want to say that this extra touch of insight, I personally felt, gave an even greater depth to the detail of your writing and really that is saying a lot because your writing is absolutely fantastic but I have to mention that as it stood out in my mind. Also, the way that Elrohir was moved to not allow the floundering troll to simply writhe in agony and quickly put an end to its suffering, was another touch of realism to the story as that felt very real and *right* and even more so for a moment he even felt empathy for the great brute. This chapter was simply thrilling, and I feel like I have latched onto the smaller details alone but I am at times the kind of person who could have a tremendous feast set before them and still just still there complimenting how pretty the silverware is, ha ha ha, so do not mind me. I am looking forward to reading the next chapter, I am hoping Estel and Elladan get out as I am feeling a touch breathless just thinking about it!

Author's Response: Okay, Anwyn, are you and Fanarix down there competing to see who can leave the longest and most flattering reviews? Not that I知 complaining in the least! :-D And I知 with you, I think that we can all blame those Weasley brothers for the unfortunate reputation that has befallen OUR twins in fanon. Seriously, thank you so much! I知 so glad that you like my portrayal of Elladan and Elrohir, and that you can get a feel for them as the individuals they are, rather than just as 鍍he twins. And thank you too for your comments about the battle between Elrohir and the troll. I知 pleased that you enjoyed the details about their thoughts and actions. I agree, of course, that trolls are not terribly bright, but I wanted to show that there was just a little bit more to the creature that pure blind evil, and it seemed to me that a desire to avenge his dead brother seemed like a base enough emotion that it was at least somewhat realistic. I don稚 mind you commenting on particular details悠 like to see what parts of the story held the interest of different readers the most. Anyway, thank you again so much!

Reviewer: Elwyn Signed [Report This]
Date: 16/04/08 - 05:18 pm Title: Darkness Endures

Great chapter (as always) please post the next one soon. You have a real talent for writing and it's a pleasure to read your work.

Author's Response: Thanks, Elwyn. I知 glad to know that you enjoyed the chapter!rnrn

Reviewer: jouzinka Signed [Report This]
Date: 16/04/08 - 12:08 pm Title: Darkness Endures

As you write that you're not pleased with the chapter, I think that I can add my bit to it. =:))) I'd like to see more of an excursion into Elrohir's thoughts after they've left the cave and went to help to destroy the Troll. =;) In my opinion it could add some more depth and meaning to the whole scene. Also, I would have him receive the message about thin air in the cave earlier, during the fight with the Troll, because it actually seems too quick to me...

You see - from the moment Aragorn killed the first Troll who fell and imprisoned him and Elladan in the cave, Aragorn fell unconscious, woke up from that, healed Elladan, fell into hypovolemic shock (IMHO) and Elladan woke from unconsciousness. That's quite a lot of occasions when you compare that Elrohir and Glorfindel had to kill a Troll, rally their companions, shake off the battle events and get to the cave to start working on the stones before Elrohir received the thought from his brother.

There's a misbalance in time if you follow my strange flow of thoughts. =;) Even though I don't doubt that Elrohir and Glorfindel raised the spirits of their warriors, despite the thoughts of Elrohir and the Troll that you revealed, it seems to me that the last one was killed too quickly. =;)

Author's Response: Thanks a lot for your feedback, jouzinka. I understand what you mean about a 杜isbalance in time, and, believe me, I do notice that in a story, if events occurring within the timeframe of the story do not seem to make sense or 杜easure up. In fact, I did think about this very point when I was writing the chapter. As this chapter was meant to cover roughly the same span of time as the previous chapter, I did think it through to see if it made sense, or at least seemed reasonable, and it did to me. However, if it seemed to your that the last troll was killed too quickly, as I explained to Fanarix in the previous review, I wasn稚 terribly keen on having to write another battle scene at all, so perhaps your perceptions are correct! Thanks again for reviewing, it is always appreciated.rnrn

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 16/04/08 - 08:42 am Title: Darkness Endures

Hum,...you are not entirely pleased with it? I don't know why, unless it was that you wished to get back to Elladan and Estel? I do that sometimes and think perhaps I don't pay enough attention to a necessary interim chapter because I am already one ahead. But I think it's a great action chapter a very interesting - and logical - way of putting the troll down. And it has to be done before they can go back to those who are trapped. Elrohir's being torn by his fear for his brother and duty towards his comrades is so clear and Glorfindel's own feelings also, no more does he wish to leave them but the Elves under his command cannot be deserted. A horrible dilemma. Beautiful writing of Elrohir feeling that his twin lives, I always imagined they would have that sort of bond. No criticism from me -- only the air is still running out!

Author's Response: Thanks again for another great review, Fanarix! Or is it xFanarix or Fanari or maybe I should just call you Fan ;-) I知 glad that you enjoyed it! When I said I wasn稚 completely happy with it, I wasn稚 displeased so much with the content of the chapter, but rather the quality of the writing and the writing style. Somehow, this chapter felt a little more awkward to me, and it didn稚 seem to flow as well as the other chapters, if that makes sense. However, I would say that you pretty much summed up my attitude toward this chapter when I first wrote it. Honestly, I don稚 really care to write action scenes, but rather I see them as a necessary evil to get to my beloved character development. I wanted to get back to Elrohir attempting to rescue Estel and Elladan, but my common sense wouldn稚 allow it. I kept thinking about how, realistically, they had to get rid of those other trolls first before they could mount any sort of effective rescue effort. So, I was faced with two more trolls that I had to figure out how to kill off, and I was feeling rather peeved about it! :-p Anyway, thanks again so much for your faithful reviews. I love them (but I知 a bit worried that you are going to give me a swelled head!)

Reviewer: Elwyn Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/04/08 - 04:38 pm Title: The Dark of Night

Loved this chapter, yey! they're going to be friends. Please don't leave me in suspense for too long!

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing, Elwyn. Don稚 worry, you won稚 be left in suspense for too long as the next chapter is coming right up!

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/04/08 - 04:30 pm Title: The Dark of Night

I have to comment that I almost experience a sense of relief at your portrayal of Elladan and Elrohir. I have read - started to read rather - so many * prankster * stories that I was beginning to despair of any-one writing them as I envisaged them myself. Not that I think of hem as humorless, miserable gits either! But I love this complex and very adult characterization. It is both so realistic and so refreshing. I don't know where this image of them pouring honey down peoples breeches or acting like perpetual fourteen year olds originated but I grew tired of it around about the sixth story and gave up.
It was never in book lore or even in the film, so it is a strange * fanon * idea which has seemed - horribly - to become * canon * ( I have read a couple of stories where they are part of the cast and much more serious and adult ) But fandom seemed to have claimed them as the * joker twins * . Possibly when young and before their mother died - but why any more or less than any other young Elves I do not know.

Anyway - I just need to say that your stories should be a * must read * for people who write Elladan and Elrohir ( and young Estel actually ) since you have hit the nail on the head, I believe. Apparently other people * claim * them as their Muses. I don't think so, I think they've chosen you as their voice.

Only one thing I feel I must mention ....



....



....



....


....


No. Joking!

;-P


Oh yes...... I hope you have many more stories bubbling away. I'd like to see sequels, prequels and expansions because I am just greedy like that. d;-)

Author's Response: All I can say is WOW, what a review! You better watch out, such reviews might start going straight to my head! But seriously, thanks so much Fanarix. I知 very touched, I really am. I知 thrilled you feel that way about my portrayal of the twins, because I値l tell you honestly that it was my dismay over the far too common portrayal of the sons of Elrond as juvenile delinquent pranksters that was the main motivator to convert me from a fanfiction reader to a fanfiction writer. Elladan and Elrohir have always fascinated me. From what little is said about them, they seem to be such tragic, complex and interesting characters, and in all honesty, I thought they deserved better than they were getting in many fanfictions. So I thought that I would set out to at least offer an alternative image of the sons of Elrond, and, hopefully, change some minds about how characters with the history that the twins have might behave. Thank you again so much. Words can not express how much I appreciate it, but I will say that thanks to this wonderful review, I am moved to post the next chapter tonight, so it will be coming along shortly!

Reviewer: jouzinka Signed [Report This]
Date: 14/04/08 - 04:39 pm Title: The First Day of March

I honestly don't know what to say. I've been following this count from the very beginning and I really have to say that I like it very much. Your writing is literally "sucking" me into the story, which I find very pleasing. =:) Keep it up, I'm really worried about the two and I am very much looking forward to your description of the "big meeting" of Aragorn and Arwen. =;)

Author's Response: Thanks for leaving a review, jouzinka! I always like to know what people think of my writing. Honestly, if people don稚 review, then I assume that they didn稚 like it too much. It痴 nice to know that you are enjoying my writing and that you feel drawn into the story.

Reviewer: Haldirolorien Signed [Report This]
Date: 14/04/08 - 12:58 pm Title: The Dark of Night

You have a knack for writing fanfiction. I can't say too much. I have already said it before. Honestly, Keep up the good work. i look forward to reading the rest of this and your other stories if you will write anymore.

Author's Response: Thanks again, Holdirolorien! I appreciate your reviews!

Reviewer: Anwyn Signed [Report This]
Date: 14/04/08 - 11:00 am Title: The First Day of March

Wonderful! Another fantastic chapater! I really apprechiated Estel's cleverness in this chapter in looking after a wonded Elladan, and air is running out! Now THAT is scary, personally I would rather be out facing a cave troll once more than trapped in a tiny space with no air! Also, a very beatiful touch with the foreshadowing, that was very, very well written.

Author's Response: Thanks so much for reviewing, Anwyn! I知 glad to know that you enjoyed the chapter. I agree completely傭eing trapped in a tiny space and running out of air doesn稚 seem like much fun, does it?

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 14/04/08 - 04:16 am Title: The Dark of Night

This is a great chapter. I love Estel's healing of Elladan and this part, Elladan's vision: he saw on Estel’s head a magnificent white winged crown, bejeweled and glowing, and there before him in the image of a young man was a vision of the kingdoms of men restored to their former glory and of all that was pure and good in men.
I really loved that!
Now hurry up Elrohir and the others, the air is running out!!

Author's Response: Thanks Fanarix! Yep, for his brothers sake Elrohir better hurry up! But, unfortunately, he may have his hands full too! ;-)

Reviewer: Haldirolorien Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/04/08 - 11:00 am Title: Twilight

Alright! That was not fair. Update soon! I want to know what happens. As always you have seemed to hit the nail on the head with your stories. I look forward to reading more. I said it before but I'll say it again: You have an AMAZING ability to write and get the characters feelings and descriptions exact. Keep writing I love readin all of your stories. They are a welcome reprieve from my classes everyday.

Author's Response: I was sure that I responded to this review, but anyway, thanks again for your most flattering words! I知 glad that I can provide you with a reprieve from your classes!

Reviewer: Anwyn Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/04/08 - 11:59 pm Title: The First Day of March

Abseloutely fantastic! So thrilling! After a very busy couple of days at work I am finally finding chance to get caught up on some of my reading and this story was high on my list of things to read and I am so incredibly impressed once more with the depth and feel or your writing. Estel and Elladan facing a troll...so exciting to read! Yet such a cliffhanger! I am on pins and needles! Please update soon! :)

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing and for your very kind words, Anwyn! I知 pleased to know that you enjoy reading my stories so much. You値l get your wish soon葉he new chapter should be coming later today. Thanks again!

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/04/08 - 04:12 pm Title: Twilight

Oh yes, you can write action, alright, as well as wonderful dialogue, description and characters! But fancy leaving it like that O.o. I hate it when authors do that! Grrr! d;-)

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Fanarix! I知 so glad you enjoyed the chapter. As for leaving it like that, I知 testing the theory that cliffhangers really do get more reviews! :-p

Reviewer: Elwyn Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/04/08 - 12:43 pm Title: The First Day of March

Loved the new chapter, can't wait to read more

Author's Response: rnThanks for reviewing! You池e in luck, there is more to come soon!rnrn

You must login (register) to review.