Reviews For The Awakening
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 13/04/08 - 01:29 pm Title: Chapter 8: The Parting

I truly enjoyed this, I don't think I have read anything like it before and it really made me think. I enjoy stories that seriously deal with the * other side * in Tolkien's works and from their viewpoint. It actually made me rather teary eyed and that is always the mark of a good story for me. I do wonder what happens to orcs after their deaths. They became a species and lived and bred like Men or Elves, but originally were not part of the design and were mutilated and used. This story - well, honestly it is incredibly good. You say it is your first attempt at fanfiction ? Well don't stop writing!

Author's Response: Thank you! The concept and origins of evil has always intrigued me, in real life as well as in fictional works like Tolkien's. He wrote an interesting statement in Elrond's comment: "Nothing is evil in the beginning. Even Sauron was not so." As this is also my belief, the Orcs just can't be irredeemable in my opinion. As for their fate after death, some people have speculated that Mandos calls the Orcs too, but most of them fear this, refuse and become evil spirits and wraiths. It is pity that Tolkien didn't make this clear, but it seems he himself had some trouble how to handle the concept of Orcs.

Reviewer: Katerinna Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/04/08 - 12:45 pm Title: Chapter 8: The Parting

I enjoyed your story very much. Your characters were well-done and Grishapat's life in his little cabin very interesting. Thank you so much for writing and sharing.

Author's Response: Thank you for your kind reviews. This was my very first attempt to write fanfiction, and the feedback was very welcome and encouraging.

Reviewer: Karlmir Stonewain Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/04/08 - 10:44 pm Title: Chapter 8: The Parting

A tragic ending, but an excellently written tale, nonetheless.

Author's Response: Thank you for reviewing! I'm glad you enjoyed it. From the start I thought that a "they-lived-happily-ever-after" ending would be quite out of place, so I settled on this instead.

Reviewer: jules14 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/04/08 - 06:41 pm Title: Chapter 8: The Parting

A very bittersweet ending. I am glad that Grishapat was redeemed. I wonder if his form will change now, like in his dream.

Author's Response: As for the ending, I thought this was the most logical way to handle it, sort of inevitable. When I got this idea for my story, I searched in several fanfic sites if anybody had already done it and if there was anything to say still. I found one story about an Orc renouncing evil and read it (I don't remember the site's name anymore). The Orc's name was something like Kalikali (I think), he was converted by Frodo and Radagast (!), and became the bodyguard of queen Arwen. After Arwen died in Lorien, the Orc married a stunted and tortured elf-girl and moved to the Shire. There he made friends with Sam's grandchildren and repelled the invasion of power-hungry elves. And then all lived hapily ever after. No kidding, this story really exists! After reading this, I decided that there definitely were still something to say (although I enjoyed the story in a twisted way). I almost wrote an epilogue to my story, where Carfin would stand at Grishapat's grave years afterwards, but decided to avoid any excessive cheese and decided to cut the narrative shorter.

Reviewer: Katerinna Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/04/08 - 11:55 am Title: Chapter 7: The Mending

I love your story! I have enjoyed every sentence and I am very anxious to read the next chapter. Thank you so much for writing and sharing.

Reviewer: jules14 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/04/08 - 07:32 pm Title: Chapter 6: Origins

Wow. This is really thought-provoking. I would never have thought of Eru speaking directly to an orc, but I like the idea. I also feel sorry for Grishapat. I never thought how the orcs would react if they ever learned the truth about their origins, but Grishapat's horror is quite understandable. I can't wait to read the rest.

Author's Response: Thanks for reading. I know that the dialogue in Chapter 2 is a bit far-fetched, but if you want an Orc to get "redeemed", something quite dramatic must happen. This idea has been in my mind quite a long time. I don't have any strictly canonical basis for this, but I thought it possible, if not probable. By the way, it's good to know I'm obviously not ending up in your Mystery Fanfic Theatre.

Reviewer: Katerinna Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/04/08 - 06:50 pm Title: Chapter 6: Origins

This is an excellent story. I am enjoying it and I hope poor Grishapat finds happiness. Thank you for writing and sharing.

Author's Response: Thank you very much!

Reviewer: Nazgrrl Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/04/08 - 10:45 pm Title: Chapter 1: Despair

This is such a beautifully written beginning. I found no grammar mistakes, this piece seems impeccable!


I look forward to an update!
Nazgrrl

Author's Response: Thank you! I hope you will enjoy the other chapters as well.

You must login (register) to review.