You must login (register) to review.
Title: Dreams Reviewer: CEShaughnessy Anonymous
Well, this story is off to a promising start, and you say it's your first? Do you mean first lotr or first foray into any fandom? Well done! Since you say you are trying to understand more about the fandom, and movie vs book verse, I wanted to extend an invitation to join us at the LOTR Community GFic Group! You will find many like-minded and excellent writers there and I think you may enjoy it. Here's the link - I am one of the mods there. Cathleen

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/LOTR_Community_GFIC/

Author's Response: This is my first fandom venture! I actually tried to write somewhat of a fanfic/novel when I was in sixth grade taht pertained to LOTR, but I sort of gave up on that idea, and began thinking on this one, which has been pending in my mind for about four years or so now. I recently went back and read some parts of my old (handwritten) manuscripts, and decided that my new stuff sounded much more mature and that I liked it better. I'm glad you liked it too, and thanks for the invitation (I have accepted, and it says my membership is pending. I have never joined a yahoo group before, so I hope it works. It seemed easy enough). Thanks for your comments and keep reading and reviewing! -Traveller
Date: Jan 03 2009 06:28 am [Report This]
Title: A Hound, a Beagle, and a Lad Reviewer: Midnight Signed
"Your father loves you, Faramir." Thoes are the words Gandalf spoke to Faramir (the human, not hobbit) before he left to retake the neighboring city under impossibe odds. Great job!

Author's Response: Yay!!!! Someone finally caught that (even though I had to physically tell you about it first... oh, well). Osgiliath, in case you were searching for the name of that city. This will come up again in a later stories (I am going to try and make this a series, by the way!) Keep reading and reviewing! -Traveller
Date: Jan 02 2009 07:54 pm [Report This]
Title: Thunder in the Distance Reviewer: Midnight Signed
I am glad that Frodo went home again! And, I love the ponies!!! Way to go ponies!

Author's Response: I was just so devastated when Frodo left Middle Earth (remember me crying when we went to see ROTK in the movie theater?) that I just had to bring him back, because the other Hobbits couldn't be truly happy without him. I love ponies, too. Maybe I'll name one Twinky, just for you.
Date: Jan 01 2009 02:38 pm [Report This]
Title: The Dinner-Party Reviewer: Midnight Signed
I really like the idea of hobbits going to school, and the cat and dogs.

Duh, duh, dun! I wonder what will happen with Pippin...

Author's Response: Angstishness (Iol) has its own theme music now, huh? Duh, duh, dun! I like that. I should get back to Hobbit-school in some later stories, eventually. Animals rule! Smoke-a-bunny, lol!
Date: Jan 01 2009 02:27 pm [Report This]
Title: What Had Been Before Reviewer: Merry Signed
Very good chapter. Do write more soon.

Author's Response: Thank you! I will try to keep them coming! Keep reading and reviewing!
Date: Dec 31 2008 07:15 am [Report This]
Title: What Had Been Before Reviewer: meerkatalex Signed
This is a brilliant story! You reviewed one of mine, and I'm glad you did, because now I've found this story, which has perfected angst and that little bit of trauma to keep you riveted! The cliffhangers are well written and the dialogue belonging to each character is individual. Overall this is a very skilled piece of writing and the plot is brilliant! I have one suggestion, though - Bilbo is actually Frodo's much older cousin, but you're right that Frodo preferes to call him Uncle. This story should definately be continued and you should continue writing about these length chapters, as they are just about right. Again, this is a very good story - how old are you, if you don't mind me asking, as this is a very skilled story for you to have written. Well done, and many hugs and good luck cards, from,

meerkatalex

Author's Response: Thank you for such a long and wonderful review- I love reading what other writers have to say about my work! I am aware that Bilbo is actually Frodo's cousin, but I feel that when Frodo calls him "Uncle", it suggests a more close and personal relationship between them, and Frodo's reliance on Bilbo was especially important to this particular scene. Good observation, though! I'm finding that my chapter lengths vary as I write them. I just sort of stop whenever I get to a good stopping point- often a cliffhanger, as I love suspense and I'm glad that you appreciate it, as well. In response to your question, I am sixteen years old. Thank you very much again for the compliments, and keep reading and reviewing!
Date: Dec 30 2008 11:11 am [Report This]
Title: A Hound, a Beagle, and a Lad Reviewer: Merry Signed
This is very good. Please write more soon.

Author's Response: I'm glad to hear that you liked it! From your penname, I can guess you are a Hobbit fan as well. Go Hobbits! Keep reading and reviewing!
Date: Dec 14 2008 02:25 pm [Report This]
Title: A Hound, a Beagle, and a Lad Reviewer: Ar-feiniel Signed
The emotions and characters are portrayed perfectly! Nothing slashy at all -- I love it! Keep up the good work!

-Fei.

P.S. Pippin is going to get better, right?

Author's Response: Thanks! This chapter in particular was difficult to write because I generally spend most of my time dwelling on Merry and Pippin when I'm planning out my strories, so I have to admit that a lot of this was spur-of-the-moment, but I think a lot of emotional stuff is that way. And about Pippin... I seem to have this odd obsession with making my favorite character in the whole world suffer horrendously. I'm really not a bad person, I promise! :) I really enjoy getting reviews, so please keep them coming!
Date: Dec 12 2008 12:59 pm [Report This]
Title: Dreams Reviewer: Midnight Signed
A good begining! Keep it up!

Author's Response: Thanks! Keep reading!
Date: Dec 05 2008 05:04 pm [Report This]
Title: The Dinner-Party Reviewer: Ar-feiniel Signed
I think this a great start for your first fanfic. I like your writing style and the dialogue is great. I like how you describe things. Such as movements, emotions, and thoughts. I also like how you included pets for the Hobbits in this story. I love Diamond and Pippin’s relationship – it’s cute.

Aw, what’s wrong with Pippin? Is he going to be okay?

Author's Response: Thanks for your great comments! I love delving into the relationship between Pippin and Diamond- they're two of my favorites! I thought that since Hobbits (I just realized that was supposed to be capitalized-thanks!) live so closely alongside nature, it would be only fitting for them to have pets (plus, I love animals!). As for Pippin...you'll have to wait and see! :)
Date: Nov 29 2008 04:19 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.