Reviews For One Hundred Tales
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/05/09 - 12:56 pm Title: Chapter 9 "In the Storm"

I really liked this, Anwyn,
The fair green maiden that was the blessedly fertile lands Dol Amroth was transformed into something that wicked and wanton in the presence of the storm. lovely description there, comparing Dol Amroth's transformation from a maiden to a wanton.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I am really enjoying these challenges as not only am I given a prompt but they can be shorter like this one and give me a chance to experiment abit beyond the larger story. They are kind of space fillers to the bigger story where I am more commited to the plot. Thank you again so much on the description I must say that I love storms in that everything is so different during a good rain storm, nothing looks the same and I wanted to explore that a little bit here. Thanks again, Anwyn

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 24/01/09 - 06:50 am Title: Prompt Six "Love"

I love that interpretation, Anwyn. It reminds me that Tuor followed swans to Vinyamar, where he found the tokens Turgon left for him.

I also don't think that Mithrellas could have lived with and bore children to some-one who imprisoned or forced her. She would have died at the worse, and not conceived at the least.

Since Legolas saw the Elven blood in Imrahil in the book, I think it a true tale, not a myth, and this is an idea I like very much. :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much :) The story of Mithrellas and whatever became of her has always intrigued becuase it is really a snippet we are given of her and what Tolkien does give is that she was part of the party which was accompanying Nimrodel to the Grey Havens and she became lost in and evantually came across Imraz˘r and the wording if I rememeber correctly it said "He took her as his wife" but I do not think that the taking part is possesive in that he forced her to marry him as if he had she would not have been able to carry his children and she did on two seperate occassions but their union and the subsequent children born from it are never really accounted among the unions between Elf and Man and that the children born while having some Elvish blood which was carried on through the line of Princes but they were still counted amongst being mortal. Tolkien left Mithrellas's fate as very mysterious and left it that she simply seems to have vanished in the night and was never seen again but presuambly she went forth to seek out her own kin and take a ship from Middle Earth perhaps, maybe not immediately but Dol Amroth is very near to what was once considered an Elven Haven, perhaps she went there and left Middle Earth. It has been quite a while since I have read ROTK but I rememeber exactly what you mean and if my memory serves Imrahil replies that it is only a tale to some but at the same time Imrahil I think is too modest to carry on "I have Elvish blood in me, wooo, look at that!" but I agree that I think it is a true tale as well as I have not found anything which contradicts it and so I let it be part of history and not just a story though I think there are some who may have tried to dismiss it as sych. Thank you again for commenting, your reviews as always are very much apprechiated :)

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/01/09 - 06:45 am Title: Prompt Five "Do Not Disturb"

LOL. I loved that. I can sympathize with Alphros, since having caught my parents in a similar situation when I was very young, I did think they were fighting!

Author's Response: LOL, Thank you! While very bright I think Alphros is still too young in this to be told the truth though I imagine his parents don't talk down to him and that why he sometimes acts much older than he really is ;) So letting him believe what he think he saw was proably for the best..and it would have meant no more questions, lol. I never had this experience myself, proably just the way the house is laid out in that to the upstairs bedroom you can usually tell if someone is sneaking up the stairs as they creak. When I get back I want to start working on more serious fic but I wanted to finish off these two simpler ones before I went and thank you again for reading! :)

Reviewer: Karlmir Stonewain Signed [Report This]
Date: 19/12/08 - 11:49 am Title: Prompt Two "Breathe Again"

How do you know that there were no corsets in Middle Earth. I've always imagined Gondorian women wearing Medieval type clothing, including corsets and bodices. From your descriptions of Anwyn's reactions, I'd say the garment offered her was of the smoosh-and-squoosh variety. Ouch!

Author's Response: I do not know, lol, but I did some research on the intresting history of corsettes as personally I view them as more of a form of medieval torture and I used Wikipedia which I realize is not the most reliable source of information. Though my envisoment of the corset in Middle Earth hinges on the same way I feel when I read people mentioning that people at that time had bra's and boxers and all that modern kind of thing. I could not find a solid day on when the first corset was worn, invented but the best I could do is read that it was first used as an armor and there is biblical references to that so it had a functional purpose, and was not worn to change the shape of a womans figure and to give the "Hour glass" look I have always envisioned fashion in middle earth, lol, a fascinating subject there as I love clothes, espically dresses that yes Gondor would proably be where most fashions were started going into the fourth age as people could devote more thought to it and styles would start there. I do base some of my idea's of what people wore off the movie, and I did not notice alot of tight clothing and a corset is of course, very form fitting, that most of the clothes were just georgeous and flowing and gave a sense of movement. Those are more the clothes I could envision Anwyn wearing, not loose to the point of wearing a sack but more clothes that do not constict, as she would not like being constricted in any way hence why wearing a corset would have been such a horrible thing for her. LOL, yes, I enviosned this as more the "In and out" style anyways which I do not think most women would have bothered with in ME, personally. Thank for you for the thought provoking review! :)

Author's Response: I do not know, lol, but I did some research on the intresting history of corsettes as personally I view them as more of a form of medieval torture and I used Wikipedia which I realize is not the most reliable source of information. Though my envisoment of the corset in Middle Earth hinges on the same way I feel when I read people mentioning that people at that time had bra's and boxers and all that modern kind of thing. I could not find a solid day on when the first corset was worn, invented but the best I could do is read that it was first used as an armor and there is biblical references to that so it had a functional purpose, and was not worn to change the shape of a womans figure and to give the "Hour glass" look I have always envisioned fashion in middle earth, lol, a fascinating subject there as I love clothes, espically dresses that yes Gondor would proably be where most fashions were started going into the fourth age as people could devote more thought to it and styles would start there. I do base some of my idea's of what people wore off the movie, and I did not notice alot of tight clothing and a corset is of course, very form fitting, that most of the clothes were just georgeous and flowing and gave a sense of movement. Those are more the clothes I could envision Anwyn wearing, not loose to the point of wearing a sack but more clothes that do not constict, as she would not like being constricted in any way hence why wearing a corset would have been such a horrible thing for her. LOL, yes, I enviosned this as more the "In and out" style anyways which I do not think most women would have bothered with in ME, personally. Thank for you for the thought provoking review! :)

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/12/08 - 06:54 am Title: Prompt Three "Cat"

Lol, a lovely story, Anwyn! I truly enjoyed that.
A dead mouse on her pillow - :DDD

“You may now wish to give King another name”

Awww!

Author's Response: Thank you, I am so glad to hear you liked it :) Fern brings me dead voles/mice/birds/rats all the time, anything she can catch and kill and then brings them to me, It is abseloutely revolting but I know in her mind she is giving me a great gift and she always looks so abseloutely pleased with herself. The last part was inspired by a true story about when my dad was a boy they got a dog, a Cocker Spaniel who they called "Pal" until one day Pal laid down on the couch and proceeded to give birth to several puppies so then "Pal" became "Palina" lol. Thanks for the review! :D

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/12/08 - 04:32 am Title: Prompt Two "Breathe Again"

* Snort * That is so funny. I can just imagine. I would certainly have the same reaction as I was slowly squeezed and could not breathe. There is some costume drama on at the moment where on of the actresses wears one all day. She said some of them take it off to eat dinner, but she keeps it on, and just has to eat a lot less. XD

Author's Response: Thanks! I am glad you liked it! To be fair I did abit of reading on corsets and apperantly if fitted and worn correctly they can help with posture but worn incorrectly they can put too much pressure on the abdomen and cause the bowels to shift and also cause havoc with the ribs, which makes alot of sense. Also that if you want to wear one, you have to pretty much have it custom made for your body and then pratice wearing it, with breathing and such. I could not handle it and I could see Anwyn not having a clue "Thank for the nice, uh, fishing...net...cheese strainer?" o_O It would definately make one want to eat less, If you would want to eat at all, it would be good for diets!

Reviewer: Shadow Maiden Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/12/08 - 12:55 am Title: Prelude

This is an interesting concept. Really interesting.

Author's Response: Thank you! Though I cannot really take any credit for the concept of the promptys as Chaotic Demon issued the challenge and I am just answearing it :)

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/12/08 - 03:45 am Title: Prompt One "Introduction"

Lol, very nice Anwyn. I've frequently come across pompous people who need to be relieved of their sense of self importance.

( I think you meant exertion where it says it was utterly spent and trembling from its great excretion but Thiamas gave this no thought. )
I did something similar the other day, chose a wrong word from spellchecker )

Author's Response: Oh my god, what a HORRIBLE mistake to make! I totally missed that but yes, it was the spellchcker, oh that is awful! XD I did read this over a few times but I guess I was too stressed about that other thing and missed it, eeep. I certainly know one or two people I would like to see come down from their high horse a notch, but I rank technically below them so it will never happen, lol, but I am glad you enjoy the first story :) Thank you for catching that, eeek!

You must login (register) to review.