You must login (register) to review.
Title: Chapter 1: Arrival Reviewer: Shadow Maiden Signed
Yeah, I live in New York. Br. I live it, though. I actually want to go to Norway, so I consider this my training for the cold:))

I can't believe we've been talking like this! It's so great! Have you talked any to Fei? If not, you should. She's great! (Ar-feiniel).

Florida! That would be kind of great right now. 20 degrees. I would take that over 8 below anyday, but I wouldn't change where I am. Not yet. I'm making that change where I want to stay but I want to go so badly. You know what I'm talking about. I'm so mixed up inside.

Author's Response: Wow, Norway, hmm, that is going to be alot colder than New York! Yes I do talk to Fei from time to time when she reviews my stories. She is planning on doing my challenge as well! I am really glad that we have had this conversation, it broadens your horizons, you know, talking to people from other states and countries! It's just so cool! Dune
Date: Feb 05 2009 01:34 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1: Arrival Reviewer: Shadow Maiden Signed
I seriously cannot wait until I get into college. I just don't have the money! It's so frustrating sometimes, because I know the only thing holding me back is that one thing. The thing is, my parents can't afford to send me. I wouldn't want a free ride anyway, but I'm not sure how much they can help me. So, I try to write. Not going very well, but I try.

Three guys being smelly? Nah :))

Are you looking forward to seeing the Hobbit? They're not even done with the script yet, and it's killing me to wait. I'm really hoping I can get into it. I'm doubtful, but I can't help hoping that I can do something for Tolkien's work. It would be great.

What do you miss most from home? I think I would miss the trees we have around our house. Or the quiet when you go outside. It's so quiet that when you go outside and it's snowing, you can hear the snow landing. It's something that's like magic, I think.

It's really cold where I live. I woke up this morning, and it was 8 degrees below zero! Br.

Author's Response: What I miss the most about home is my family and yes, my annoying little brother. I am looking forward to the Hobbit, I can't wait till it comes out! It is cold here to, in Florida, it got down to twenty degrees last night, now I know it is colder where you are but down here its freezing to us! (laughs) Dune
Date: Feb 05 2009 01:22 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1: Arrival Reviewer: Shadow Maiden Signed
Hm, I don't talk much on the phone. In fact, I just came off a phone conversation with my friend and she did most of the talking. I like to think that I'm like Viggo Mortensen in the way that he likes to be around trees instead of people most of the time. Me too. I just think more than I talk. Except for when I type. That's when I let myself come out. You just happen to be the recipient:))

I wasn't skinny in elementary school. I wasn't fat, but overweight would suffice. I'm small. 5'5" and 128 pounds. I'm trying to get down to 125 but I don't work out like I should.

I like your hair. I think it's kind of cute when that happens. Not that I . . . . okay, I tend to stick my foot in my mouth, so excuse me while I fix that problem . . .

Okay! I have a brother and sister, both younger than me, and yeah, they annoy. But I wouldn't trade them for anything . . . I think:))

We also have a dog, Peanut. She was the runt of the litter - small, like a peanut! She's black all over and has the softest fur. She loves people, but loves food way more. Dogs will love anyone who will give them somewhere warm to sleep, food, and love.

So, do you live in a dorm at the college you go to? If so, how's the roommate? I hope when I get into college that my roommate is a Ringer like we are. (LOTR fan).

Actually, since I met Ar-feiniel here, I thought it would be cool if we accidentally went to the same college and were roommates. That would be awesome in a strange kind of way.

Dae.

Author's Response: Yes, I do live in a college dorm and I actually have two roommates! Both are great and they are the best of friends. Though, it does stink in here with three guys once in a while ;). Neither of my roommates are Ringers, but we still get along. This is actually my second semester of my first year at college, and Ive got to tell you, the freedom is great, but the homework...well its hard as Crap! But don't worry as long as you choose the right college, I can say, truthfully, you will have a blast! Dune
Date: Feb 05 2009 12:54 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1: Arrival Reviewer: Shadow Maiden Signed
I will read your new story. I have the time, it's just I've been filling it with reading the Histories. It's confusing, but worth it, especially the tale of Alfwine or The New Shadow. I wish Tolkien had finished writing that. It's in the Peoples of Middle-earth.

You have until 5:45? I could talk your ear off by then!

Actually, by studying Tolkien and how he made things, has helped my to go deeper into my own series of books about another land. I'm not sure how it matches up with this world, if it does at all, I just use some of the tales already existing and mix them up to the way I would like them to be. It will take me years, I know, but I love doing it.

I still can't believe that I've made friends here and how the only thing we have in common sometimes are the stories of Tolkien, we can be so close. Like, I don't even know what you look like and it feels like I've known you for a long time. I'll describe myself as best I can.

I have gold hair (I say gold, because it's more of a red than blonde) and blue eyes with flecks of grey and silver and a ring of hazel around the pupil. I spend a lot of time in the mirror sometimes:)) I have high cheekbones and and fine features. My wrists are tiny! But my friend Lauren says I have the body of an athlete. Wouldn't know because I don't excersize as much as I should. *Shrugs* I'm about 5'5" and I wear small sizes.
I told you I'd talk your ear off:))

I'll be online for a few hours at least, so talk more if you want to! I always like talking to friends.

Author's Response: then you are like my mom! She knows I can't stand talking on the phone for very long, but she drags the conversation out for a half hour! Its madness! I will describe myself to you as well, you might recognize some features from Shawn in the second Ranger. I am 5'10", I have hazel colored eyes(more brown than green but still hazel), I have a partial goatee on my chin and a mustache. I have short brown hair that likes to stick up when I don't want it to. I am skinny(had alot of nicknames in elementary school, if you know what I mean), I aslo have long fingers. I wear size twelve shoes(As my old step dad used to call my feet"Hocking Big Feet" :)), I am active to a small extent: I like to go camping, hiking(Boy scout), I also enjoy a good game of football once and a while! I have one little brother(who gets on my nerves constantly) and a cocker spaniel named, Katie! Well, thats all me, I am not perfect but, hey what can you do?(laughs) Dune
Date: Feb 05 2009 10:18 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1: Arrival Reviewer: Shadow Maiden Signed
Definitely not Hans. I think of an almost jolly person when I think that name. Helda, though, it might work. Cool!

It's really nice talking to you again. I missed you.

Thanks for helping!

Author's Response: You are quite welcome, mellon nin! I will try to think of another name for the guy and for the other woman. Please let me know if you need help with any stories, for I will try to help as best as I can. Good luck on the story Dea, I will be here till 5:45pm! (I need to go to my last class then, it stinks having an evening class!)grrrr. Man! I sound just like Mith does in my new story(laughs)! Farewell, Dune
Date: Feb 05 2009 10:03 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1: Arrival Reviewer: Shadow Maiden Signed
Two names are female. One is male. I'm writing the story of Daewen (me in Middle-earth). The one woman is a witch, the other, a married woman (to the unnamed man) who's snobby. The man is a brute.

If you can help me, that would be great! I'm looking for names with a German feel for it to fit in Middle-earth.

Thanks! And I am most certainly not dead:))

Namarie.

Author's Response: Oi! I knew that, lassie! I was just joking! (laughs). Hmm so you need German names, now that is a toughy! Ah, I think I may have the man's name for you, how about Hans! It is only a suggestion but think about it. Now for the female names!(Laughs loudly) I don't know if you will want to use this one, but how about calling the witch, Helda! (probably spelled that wrong). Sorry but I can't think of any other names. Please let me know what you think about these two! Dune
Date: Feb 05 2009 09:53 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1: Arrival Reviewer: Shadow Maiden Signed
You've been busy! I need to get reading!

How are you? I'm good. I'm trying to write a new story but not succeeding. I need three names and can't find them! A writer's dilema, I guess:))

Talk later?

Dae.

Author's Response: I am doing well, Dea, it is good to hear from you again. I was beginning to wonder if you were even still alive! (smirks) just kidding! Yes I have been busy and I have answered my own challenge by writing my new story called The Wolf, please read it and tell me what you think! Hmm, you need some names, are they for girls or boys? Because I could help you out if you want! Let me know! God bless, Dune
Date: Feb 05 2009 09:17 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 23: Osgiliath Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
Faramir and Shawn worked well together. Very like Faramir to "stand by his oath" though only he recalls it.
Yay! Anything to make Fletcher happy! Of course I'm glad that Shawn and his men came out alright - that in Denethor's face.
I shouldn't be so hard on Denethor. There's a big difference between his movie and book versions. At least in the book he had the Palantir, which explained his suicidal madness to a degree. Will you be combining the book and movie Denethors? *imagines a mutated, slimy Frankenstein-ish Steward... ew, where'd that come from?* : )
-Kitt

Author's Response: Don't know, maybe! I will have to see when I get there. So, how is your story coming along? Just thought I would ask! Thanks again! Dune
Date: Feb 04 2009 08:00 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 22: My Men? Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
I read the first chapter. You have my sympathy. I haven’t lost a grandfather, though the autumn and winter was full of close calls. I’m not a great consoler, but I know that it is tough, and I am impressed by your commitment in that time to writing. When my cat died, I felt utterly bottled up till I wrote, and I wrote like crazy and… that seemed to help. I hope you’re doing alright.

Katie, eh? That’s my name when I’m not Kitt. : ) Seriously, I am very fond of cocker spaniels. They have very compassionate eyes.

Now, on the latest chapter… So Shawn’s in charge of men; a moment for him to shine or fall (but I think he’s doing good so far). I should have suspected that Denethor would send him on a death mission! I like it when a “Thom” actually does have a twin. Silent is Michael is cool. Is there a special reason behind their Hebrew-ish names?

And no, you’re not pestering me! I like the distraction from essay writing and problem solving. Though I’ve taken courses here and there before, this is my first full semester in college. Freetime is scarcer and that’s taking some getting used to. I did, however, just finish a poem I had to write before Friday. Finally I can write fanfiction!: D

And God bless you, Dune!

-Kitt : )

Author's Response: Well met, Kitt, and don't worry I am dealing with my grandfather's death really well. I didn't know they were hebrew names, I just made them up! I am looking forward to your story and I am adding chapter 23 to the story now so please be ready. Dune
Date: Feb 03 2009 06:36 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 21: Minas Tirith Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
“Narmo!” laughed Gandalf, “A clue will be right under the enemies nose, and they will not see it!” - That is Gandalf all over. *shakes head* Never goes a day without thinking how he's going to pull a fast one on the Enemy...
I really, really liked Fletcher's protectiveness of Shawn. They are so sweet together!
Yay, Fang’s a stallion! I shouldn’t laugh, but that Fang can’t eat meat anymore is kind of funny. Poor wolf! And good old Max is his old self.
The end was intense, just walking out on the steward like that. Oh, but Shawn really DOES understand what Denethor is going through; will Denethor ever find that out? I hope they'll have a chance to talk to each other.
-Kitt : )

Author's Response: Yah, well, I couldn't think of a better name to give Fang as a stallion, I tried to look up the translation for golden One, but nothing came of it! So 'wolf' was better than nothing(and I thought it would be a good joke to have Fang be called wolf when he is a horse) Yah, of course Fletcher would be protective of Shawn, I mean just earlier he had became his new father! I am not going to say anything about Denethor talking to Shawn! Thanks for reading! Dune
Date: Jan 31 2009 09:14 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 21: Minas Tirith Reviewer: Ar-feiniel Signed
*Bites lip* Oh, thanks for the heads-up. I was going to ask which stories of mine you liked…

I like Shawn’s reaction when Pippin was holding the Palantir. I would have started hyperventilating too. If Pippin was dead like that, I would have pushed Gandalf out of the way and screamed something like, “I know CPR!”! Which, in real, I don’t really know it… (Isn’t it some # of chest compressions, then two rescue breaths, then more chest compressions, etc, etc?)

I also like Fletcher’s reactions and fatherly protection over Shawn when Gandalf suggest him go with him and Pip to Minas Tirith. Aw! The parting is so sweet! Fletcher is totally the best character.

Cool! Fang gets to be a stallion! That reminds me of when Donkey gets to be a stallion in Shrek 2.

---

Shrek: Donkey, you're a...
Donkey: A stallion, baby! I can whinny.
*Whinnies*
Donkey: I can count.
*Stomps his hoof*
Donkey: Look at me, Shrek! I'm trotting!

---

YAY! Max is back! *Claps hands together excitedly*

Where did Shawn learn the Elvish?

I think you misspelled “gets” in this sentence -- “Now wait here, I will return with Pippin and Fletcher. Fletcher will give you your cloak when he --gats-- down here” said Gandalf and he went back into the fortress.

Overall, very nice chapter! *Golf Claps*

Fei.

P.S. I am seriously considering responding to your challenge. But, I have to do some research for it and that might take a little while. So, I’m really sorry, don’t expect anything too soon. Goheno nin.

Author's Response: Yep, that is CPR, I am an Eagle scout so I would know( Even though I probably never get a chance to use it). (laughs) yep it is just like Donkey, though Fang hates being a horse(I think it is because he can't eat meat) and Max was already there, he just had a different name. And Shawn had spent enough time around Aragorn and Legolas to learn how to speak Elvish well enough. Narmo is Elvish for 'Wolf', I thought that would be appropriate. Thanks for reading! Can't wait for your story, but what do you need to research for? oh well, thanks again! Dune
Date: Jan 31 2009 08:26 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 20: Isengard and New Father Reviewer: Ar-feiniel Signed
I am dreadfully sorry that it took so long to respond. Honestly, I feel really bad. SORRY! Stupid homework. Thank you for clearing up the Fang-chasing-you and the sleeping-at-Helm's-Deep thing, I can be really stupid sometimes. *Slaps forehead* Wait, I shouldn't be doing that, I have a German Project to do after this. Can't give myself a headache, now can I?! Yes, I did like the Dream chapter very much, because I thought that Shawn seeing his family again was rather cute and it lightened the mood as well. I was like, "Awww!" when he got to talk to his Grandfather and all. Reminds me of this little skit this kid put on once... never mind. Ja, dream squences are always so much fun to write. :)

Moving on to Solders from another Time, the Civil War is one of my favorites as well and I'm glad someone made an LotR-Civil War crossover. YAY! Sorry again, I either read that part wrong or worded my question wrong, which, I am the master at doing both. Stupid Fei. Just curious, but which Valar did James see? Orome? AN ELF? Didn't see that coming! Aw, you ruined it for me... *Pouts*

Okay, moving on to the two chapters that I just read...
“Don’t make me dismount and come down there! Because I will!” -- Tee hee, I love that line. Very nice. Aw, *Pats Fangs head reasurringly* It's going to be okay. *Fang snarls at Fei* Yikes! I was just trying to help. Really, I think that Shawn and Fang have an interesting realationship.
“Well? Why must you disturb my rest? Will you give me no peace at all by night or day?” Said Saruman in a sweet voice *Laughs, then chokes* Sarumon... sweet? *Shivers* Nice line, though. Very funny. YAY! *Claps hands excitedly* Fletcher is back! YAY! I love Fletcher. Aw, that's soo adorable. *Joins group-hug*
Fei.
P.S. I just read your profile and I nearly choked when I saw my name on it! THANK YOU! I feel so honored! You have no idea how happy you just made my day! Thank you very, very much! :D

P.P.S. Sorry about all of the type-o's, I'm on my sister's computer and I'm typing in a Notepad (which doesn't have a SpellCheck) so, I'm sure that the many spelling mistakes. Sorry!

Author's Response: Its all right! I am glad you liked them both. And I don't know which Valar it was, I just made it up! I had to add you as one of my favorite authors and reviewers, because I like some of your stories, don't ask which ones because I can't remember, and your reviews are helpful. Hey I have a question, I have just placed a challenge on here and I was wondering if you would like to do it? If not I understand! I am adding another story called Riders of Arnor, its another Civil War Fic-LotR! I have also place a third story called a Slave no More, check it out! D.R.O.T.N.
Date: Jan 28 2009 12:26 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1: Arrival Reviewer: Shadow Maiden Signed
Don't hit yourself! I still want to review. I like your style and this story has me very interested. You have me interested. I mean, someone who can write a story with this interesting and have this many mistakes, and still have people reading, is worth the time. I mean, I make plenty of mistakes myself. Everybody has their strengths and weaknesses and not everybody has the same ones.

I can assume correctly that you're not in college for English right? *Laughs* okay, bad joke.

Just follow what you're good at and work on what you're not.

If you're feeling down about your writing, read my Breakfast for Ada and see how I have grown. I sucked when I first started and I've grown better.

Talk later?

Dae.

Author's Response: Ok, thakns I needed that and no, I am not in college for english, I am majoring in Graphic Design! I am the only artist in my family, I have no idea where I got my talent. But thanks for the encouragement, I needed it! Thanks again! D.R.O.T.N. or if it is easier, call me Dune
Date: Jan 28 2009 06:06 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1: Arrival Reviewer: Shadow Maiden Signed
Um, actually, I'm out of High School. Okay, onto part 2 of my observations . . .

Paragraph 23 It (remove the then, you use one later and it makes it reduntant) licked the hand once (comma) and Aragorn patted the dog(appostraphe)s head, then (take out he - reduntant)

Paragraph 24 way lying on the ground, (unmovingly.) - it seems to flow better

Paragraph 25 a pulse, it was weak, but it was there. (this flows betters and gives it a little poetic feel to it.

Paragraph 28 angle not (normally possible) - obviously the arm is out of place. Therefore, it's not unpossible for it to be there.

Paragraph 31 (Aragorn's) eye - it switches from talking about the boy to Aragorn. There might be some confusion if you don't add Aragorn into the text.

Paragraph 32 he moaned, (then again fell silent) - it flows better

Paragraph 33 Hearing the boy(appostraphe)s moan (comma) the dog . . .

but as it dragged it(appostraphe)s hind legs on the ground (comma) it gave . .

Paragraph 34 (F)letcher - you're talking about a person. Needs to be capitalized.

unconscious dog (period) (B)oth of the dog(appostraphe)s . . .

Paragraph 36 for healing(comma)"

Paragraph 37 said this (comma) he picked up . . .

Paragraph 38 big dog (period)

Paragraph 39 heavy ones?" He (grunted?) - I don't know if that was the word you were looking for.

Paragraph 40 Aragorn(appostraphe)s arms . . .

Put a space here?

Paragraph 41 Aragorn's mind wondered (?) . . . and how he (got) . . .

Okay, I know that's a lot. Just ask for help if you need it.

Namarie,

Dae.

Author's Response: Ok, now I really want to hit myself, I can't believe I made that many mistakes! (Grumbles to self) and I am in College for pets sakes, maybe that's why I never do well on my essay's. Oh well, Thank you! And sorry but I have never heard of those bands. And also you don't have to do this anymore if, um, you don't want to(Blushes and looks down). Thank anyways!
Date: Jan 27 2009 06:40 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1: Arrival Reviewer: Shadow Maiden Signed
Okay, first thing, Evanescence and Within Temptation (If you thought they were the stories) are rock bands. Incredible.

Okay, things you could change here:

A lot of your paragraphs are broken in the middle and on other lines.

Two figures moved silently through the forest - you need a comma after forest.

I don't know how much longer I can stand it - again, it needs a comma before the last quotation marks.

Aragorn's lips curled into a small smile - you're missing your period. Or you can put in a ;

"I know (comma) it(appostraphe)s getting to me as well (comma) mellon nin, but we need to keep quiet and continue on our patrol (period)

Maybe you could add more descriptions of the scenery, what the people are thinking inside, what they feel. It creats and depth and it's easier for the reader to get a sense of depth and reality.

Paragraph 8 Fletcher inquired (period)

Paragraph 9 nodded (period)

Paragraph 10 continue on (comma) a bright . . .

Paragraph 11 Both men started(?) and drew their weapons (period?) Aragorn drew his sword and Fletcher drew his bow and arrow - I'm not sure about this sentance, it almost doesn't feel right. It doesn't really flow. I don't know, maybe you could think about it.

Paragraph 12 shock (period)

Paragraph 13 "What was that (add in an exclaimation point and a question mark. It gives it the feeling you want here)

Paragraph 15 greeted the Rangers (Tolkien always capitalized Rangers)

Paragraph 17 a body of a boy (period)

Paragraph 22 It leaned it(appostraphe)s head forward

I'll add more in a little while. I told you I'd read it:))

Dae.

Author's Response: Yah, I can see that. Whoo! Um, ok! looks like I have a lot of changes to make. So, thanks, a lot! It's just that that is the way I write and well if it will be easier for others to read, I will fix it. D.R.O.T.N.
Date: Jan 27 2009 06:12 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1: Arrival Reviewer: Shadow Maiden Signed
I can't pick my favorite Redwall book either, they're all good. I love the way you can practically taste and smell the food. I've cried over quite a few deaths. I did the same with the Lord of the Rings.

I love Sahara too! It's so funny.

So, you're in college. I'm in the stage right before college, out of high school. It's just so hard to find the right college and find a way to pay for it, you know.

I want to go for filming movies. I'll be willing to do basically anything as long as I get to help a movie get made. A lot of hard work, but I've always loved a challenge.

I did look at your challenge. It's interesting. I'll definitely give it a thought, though I'm writing a story for Friday the 13th. It'll be like the history of Daewen (me) in Middle-earth, although it's not the beginning story. So much work, so little time!

Have you ever heard Evanescence? If not, it is so worth it! And Within Temptation while you're at it.

Can you tell I like to talk? Usually I'm not like this but there's just something about a listening ear that makes me want to not shut up.

To tell you the truth, I haven't gotten past the first chapter of your story. That will change tonight though.

Talk later?

Shadow Maiden (did I tell you to call me Dae? If not, you can.)

Namarie.

Author's Response: Yes, you did tell me that Dea, and when I am excited I also talk a lot and fast. So you are in High School, well, don't sweat it, you will find the right college for you. You just need to keep up your grades and do well on the test and you will be ok. No I have not heard of those two stories, I will read them though! I am adding a new chapter to Soldiers From another time tonight! And please spread the word about the challenge! Thanks, D.R.O.T.N.
Date: Jan 26 2009 02:06 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1: Arrival Reviewer: Shadow Maiden Signed
You read the Redwall series? I love that series! What one's your favorite?

Um, maybe you should look for another person to bio for you. I guess I didn't realize how busy I'd get. I'm really sorry. I will continue to read your stories, though. I can't express how sorry I am, but it's so hard to correct someone else's writing while I'm trying to edit my own . . .

Sorry. I will give you as many tips as I know in my reviews.

Sincerely, Shadow Maiden I hope that we can still talk and be friends here. In case, please call me Dae.

Author's Response: Dae, it is ok, I don't mind. I never knew you liked the Redwall Series! I like every single one of those books, I can't pick a favorite out of them. Hey I have a just put up a challenge, would you please look at it and see if it appeals to you? if not I will understand. Oh, and I have also added a third story called, A Slave no More, please read and see what you think. And again its ok, I understand that you are busy, so am I. I mean with College and Homework, I hardly have any time to write, so its ok. Thanks again, D.r.O.T.N.
Date: Jan 26 2009 11:23 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1: Arrival Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
If you've got the urge to write a story, write it! You don't have to finish a story in a certain timeframe (though doing so is a good discipline... ah, who wants discipline : P) Well, I like having several stories to work on at the same time - serious ones, silly ones, whatever suits mood I'm in. It's also nice if you're stuck on one you can work on another. But your fear you won't be able to finish the ones you already have is reasonable... sometimes I wonder that by own. Um, I don't know if that's much help. Just don't worry. Have fun with it. : )
-Kitt

Author's Response: Thanks for your help! D.R.O.T.N.
Date: Jan 22 2009 08:00 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 20: Isengard and New Father Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
I missed Halbarad sorely from the movie! An you've probably guessed... I'm overjoyed by Fletcher's arrival. More like ecstatic! Or bounce-off the walls happy! The whole scene was touching. Fletcher's a best friend and father rolled into one. Gimli's got to be right in saying Shawn now can be happy.
And yes I do read responses - one of my satisfactions out of reviewling is keeping in touch with authors.
-Kitt : )

Author's Response: Glad you liked it, I always try to put as much emotion as I can describe in my stories! I keep wanting to start a third story but, I am afraid I won't be able to finish the first two that I wrote. What should I do, write the third or not? Anyways thanks for the review D.R.O.T.N.
Date: Jan 22 2009 02:56 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1: Arrival Reviewer: Shadow Maiden Signed
Okay. I've never done the Beta thing before, so we'll have to see how this works. I have people telling me I need a Beta (which would be nice, just haven't found anyone yet.) I'll read your story and tell you what I think. I'm just too busy today - Tuesday, I hang out at the library and work on the novel I'm wrting. (It's not even close to being done.)

Namarie,

Shadow Maiden (Oh, you can call me Dae. Ar-feiniel has been calling me that for months now:))

Author's Response: Well Met, Dae, its a pleasure to meet you. I to don't have a Beta, for I have just started writing this past christmas. Its hard to find the time to write when you have to do it around class times and homework of College. But I will look forward to working with you. Namarie, D.R.O.T.N.
Date: Jan 20 2009 09:48 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1: Arrival Reviewer: Shadow Maiden Signed
Hi. I've read this chapter and I'm going to read the others, I just have to find some time.

I can't believe you said that I was one of your favorites! I am so honored. Listen, if you need someone to help you, I could. I don't think I'm that very good (Because I'm still learning:)) but I'll help you if I can.

Namarie, and keep writing!

Author's Response: Thanks, I need the help, because I have found out...(Looks behind shoulder) I can't write battle scenes really well! I fear I jump from person to person and that I am confusing people, so your help would be great! Are you a Beta Reader? because I sure could use one! Thanks again, D.R.O.T.N.
Date: Jan 20 2009 09:30 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 19: Isengard Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
Probably wise of Fang to not want to return to Isengard. Besides the fear he'll wake his wargish self, memories there can't have been too nice.
*whispers* I have a guess: Fletcher! *whispers lower* sorry. I mean the guy who name starts with F.
*loud again* Well, Shawn's being in the middle of the Elf and Dwarf's bantering is fun.
Aragorn's right; it would not be enjoyable for Shawn or his canine companions to be cooped up behind walls. The intrigue for the city might be fun for a while, but to be there for life... That's very altruistic of Aragorn, just how I'd imagine he'd act.
Looking forward to the interview with Saruman!
-Kitt : )

Author's Response: Thanks and disregard what i said about the new Second Ranger chapter, this one was it! Sorry for the confusion. Can't wait to see if I don't mess up Saruman's interview! need incouragement here, but I am glad you like the other chapter's! (Whispers) I said not to tell, now every one is going to know the surprise! (Laughs) kidding, I knew you would figure it out! D.R.O.T.N.
Date: Jan 20 2009 09:23 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 18: Battle for Helm's deep 2 Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
Beautiful dream! I didn’t think we’d ever get to see these characters. I was a little teary-eyed when he saw his grandfather. That’s a teasing cliffy – so who’s supposed to be his next father? Or is the answer staring me in the face and I cannot see it? Ok, I’ll try to be patient. : )
(Suddenly I’ve had this vision of Darth Vader showing up in Edoras – “Shawn, I am your father…”) Ehem, yeah, I guess it won’t happen like that…
The dream chapter was needed as a break before these next chapters. They were intense! Tons of action. I think action is very hard to write – you have to keep tabs on your characters, describe it so it’s not rambling… you’re doing well with it. I don’t have trouble following. I even had Helm Deep music going through my head.
I love that the Legolas and Gimli’s contest extended to Shawn. That was always one of my favorite parts in the movie and book.
I’m happy to see Goldenfang and Silverfur make a good team. I was afraid they might have some tooth-and-claw rivalry.
At least I have Soldiers From Another Time to catch up on while I wait for this to update. : )
-Kitt

Author's Response: Thanks for your words. I thought that chapter 18 was to jumpy and I felt that I hadn't written it well, so thanks. I am going to be working on Soldiers from Another Time for awhile so, The second Ranger is on hold for a short time. I shouldn't have started this second story yet because now I can't concentrate on my first, happens to me alot! but any ways, glad you liked the dream sequence, and I already know who his new father will be (Hint you like this character's name) all I am going to tell you! D.R.O.T.N. P.S. Don't tell anyone else if you figure it out!
Date: Jan 17 2009 10:06 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 18: Battle for Helm's deep 2 Reviewer: Ar-feiniel Signed
---

Me: *Sticks head out from corner of the wall. Sees Fang chasing Shawn, throws head back and laughs* Ha ha!

Fang: *Hears and rears head to see the laughing girl, turns and charges back to the brick wall* ‘I see you…’

Me: Ha…. Ha…. Ha…. *Gulps*

Shawn: *Thinking quickly* Freda attack!

Freda: But I’m just a wittle girl… *Makes puppy face*

Shawn: Right… uh… Silverfur attack!

Sil: *Looks up from thick textbook* What?

Freda: Why does the doggy have glasses?

Shawn: Because his insurance doesn’t pay for contacts.

Freda: Right… *Runs away* I was SO right when I said dogs could read and write, Eothain!

Fang: *Pokes nose around wall and sniffs around for Ar-feiniel* ‘Where are you?’

Me: Um… Shawn? What’s the wolf think—

Fang: ‘There you are!’

Me: Ah! *Runs around the corner of the of the brick wall, Fang on her heels* SHAWN!!!

Shawn: *Reading book with Silverfur* Shush! Fingon’s about to die! *Tear*

Me: *Rolls eyes, turns around abruptly*

Fang: *Stops and snarls at Ar-feiniel, teeth close to her face*

Me: *Smells Fang’s breath* You might want to consider a Tic-Tac.

Fang: ‘Why you little!’ *Chases a laughing Ar-feiniel across Rohan*

---

Sorry about that… and sorry that it took so long for me to respond. But here are my comments: I liked the Dream chapter as well as the Helm’s Deep ones. I like how you have Shawn compete in the counting kills rivalry between Legolas and Gimli. It lightens the mood. I like how you had Shawn fall asleep. But I’m a bit confused, did Shawn sleep through the rest of the Battle and how? Did he just randomly lie down next to a wall and doze off or did he retreat into the actual building? How long was he sleep? And no Orcs noticed him? (Sorry, I’m a details freak)

Oh, and before I forget, I really like your new story. I love the Civil War and am glad someone has done a crossover. I really like the creativity in that one – where you have two fallen solders beam into Middle-earth differently and I like how you have (James, I think it is…?) wake up as a wolf. I always imagined what would happen if something where to go wrong in the warping time-traveling system. (Someone having two left hands perhaps?) I can’t wait to see what will happen next it that story. It really is very, very interesting.

Well, again sorry it took so long. I have been reading your stories, don’t think I forgot or anything. I’m forgetting something. Rats. Oh, well, I’ll respond again when I think of it. Keep up the great work!

Fei.

P.S. If I hurt your feeling is any way with my randomness in the beginning of my review, please let my know. I am terribly sorry. I have the outmost respect for your and your characters. I was only poking playful fun…

Author's Response: Actually its ok in the beginning, but I would like to clarify that it was me, D.R.O.T.N., that Fang chased, he has a bad temper, (hears step behind him and turns around) Oh, hey Shawn didn't see you there, (Shawn glares at me) ok, sorry I will move onto something else (Waits till Shawn leaves) whew, ok now, where was I! Oh yah, Shawn doesn't fall asleep during the battle, he falls asleep before the battle ever begins, Gimli is just shaking him awake because Aragorn doesn't want him out of his sight when the fighting begins. But did you really like the way I made him see his Grandpa again? And his family? I had to put a dream sequence in there somewhere! But anyways, I am glad you are liking my other story. The Civil War is my favorite subject. And James wasn't turned into a wolf by being brought there the Valar that he saw at the Battle, yes it was one of the valar, turned him into a wolf, for his old body was dying. But I am glad you like him and on top of that, Alex is turnning into an elf! please keep reviewing, I gotta go, cant stay and talk, got two wolf's after me now. See ya!!( Runs laughing as Fang and Mellon come running around the corner) come on Mellon, I didn't say anything about you, Hey! now you watch your teeth, yowch!!! why you little, yikes!!!
Date: Jan 17 2009 07:11 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 15: Helm's Deep Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
I guess the Rohirrim would not take to Goldenfang well... understandable but I hope it does not result in any bloodshed (with Gimli around, who can tell).
Goldenfang certainly has the right to be nervous. Old habits can be hard to break (i.e. eating people)... yet with his friend's help, Fang should be able to transfer into his new life well.
I liked Sil and Shawn's talk on the wall.
-Kitt : )

Author's Response: Wait till next chapter, you will like it. But I must tell you now, when you get to the second part of the Battle of Helm's Deep, its short and I jumped around a bit to much! i will rewrite it some other time. Thanks for the Review! D.R.O.T.N.
Date: Jan 16 2009 08:14 am [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.