You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Ar-feiniel Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/01/09 - 06:59 pm Title: Chapter 14: the Wolfrider

I have three words for you, D. R. O. T. N: Goldenfang is AWESOME!!

Fei.

P.S. Thank you for clearing up the whole human qualities matter. I was beginning to worry that Shawn would sick Silverfur on me because I like Max better. *Hides behind a brick wall* Please don’t kill me! :P

Author's Response: (To Silverfur) Down, sit, heel, Good boy Don't worry I wouldn't have sicked him on you' But mabye Goldenfang (Ducks around corner and hides) (Peeks out, laughs weakly) just kidding Fang, cant you take a joke! He says hes glad you like him and that he would appreciate it if you would tell your friends about this story, for more reviews (Looks behind) Im going to shut up now, Fang is giving me a look that says 'he will kill me' (Runs out door) See yah, hey watch the teeth! D.R.O.T.N.

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/01/09 - 08:06 pm Title: Chapter 14: the Wolfrider

I read some last night, but when I tried to submit my review the site was down. (grr) So…
That was cool and unexpected – he got his sight back! I’m curious to see what his ring will do.
Good moment in the boat with Legolas and Gimli. : )
I admire how things work out. Shawn actually tried to stop Boromir and they parted close friends… and it was awesome how he tried to save Boromir.
I feel ecstatic for Shawn, now that both he and Aragorn realize their closeness is that of father-and-son.
I do like the way Max returned, especially the first scene where he gains a new body. It’s just as plausible as Gandalf’s return. Though Silverfur is more lovable than Gandalf the White… *grins* The telepathic communication of Shawn and Sil reminds me of a similar one in Angel’s Command by Brian Jacques. He’s a pretty good author; did you ever read his books? Your style reminds me of his.
I really liked the interaction between Sil, Shawn and Freda – kinda cute!
That was another unexpected happening: Shawn’s ring transformed the warg! It’s too early for me to judge Goldenfang. He was once a warg so that’s cool, but I wonder if it’ll give him aggressive traits. And how will Sil and Fang get along?
Well, I’m glad to see the story is moving along well!
-Kitt : )

Author's Response: As a matter of fact I have quite a few of Brian Jacques Red Wall series, actually the whole series. I have read all of his books and he is one of my favorite authors. My others are Michael and Jeff Sharra, Louis LaMour, and Clive Cussler. And don't worry about Goldenfang the ring has made him completely good, for he wasn't an evil wolf at heart before he was turned into a Warg, he was made evillish by the way he was treated. All he needed was a little bit of caring-( Reminds me of a song"All You Need is Love") Thanks for the review, you truly are the only one who makes me think more when I write and I thank you Mea Govenin (hope I spelled it right) D.R,O.T.N.

Reviewer: Ar-feiniel Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/01/09 - 11:31 pm Title: Chapter 13: Edoras

I absolutely loved the gifts, D.R.O.T.N! A looking-glass-eye-patch and talking animals ring! I thought they were extremely creative – very, very nice job! Yay, Max – oops, I mean Silverfur – gets to come back!! I was beginning to miss him! I really like how he can talk in Shawn’s mind now. But if you want me be to be honest, I find it a tad freaky that Sil now has human qualities now (i.e. walking, hugging, etc). But that is only my opinion; I honestly do not want to discourage you or anything. And if I have I am dreadfully sorry. But I really did like these last few chapters. Please keep up the good work!

Fei.

Author's Response: The only Human Qualities he has are Smiling and hugging, He still walks on all fours and runs like a dog. He bows like a dog, he can't stand on two feet, just wanted to clarify that he is still a dog, just silver fur and a few, count them, few human qualities. Sorry for the deception, should have explained it better Thanks for the Review! D.R.O.T.N.

Reviewer: Shadow Maiden Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/01/09 - 08:24 pm Title: Chapter 1: Arrival

I think you are going to be a very promising writer. You have me really interested. Please keep writing!

Reviewer: Archer31 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/01/09 - 09:03 pm Title: Chapter 10: Lothlorien

I like your storey I just joined. I wrote my first chapter you should read it sometime. I cant wait until your next chapter.

Reviewer: Ar-feiniel Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/01/09 - 10:46 pm Title: Chapter 10: Lothlorien

I really like the emotions and the friendship-bonds that are developing. Keep up the good work, Dunedain ranger of the North.

Fei.

Author's Response: Thanks, I appreciate it. Oh and by the way its D.R.O.T.N. for short (Dunedain Ranger of the North) D.R.O.T.N.

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/01/09 - 06:54 pm Title: Chapter 10: Lothlorien

I like the fighting team of Boromir and Max. And I am glad Shawn and Boromir made up.

“The elf turned toward the boy with a huge smile” – had to grin at that; I like imagining a hugely smiling Legolas.

But not Max!!! Yes, I am sad (not quite mad at you, though : )). Yet on the other hand it seemed to seal Boromir and Shawn’s new friendship.

Really, I thought this chapter was beautiful: How Shawn dealt with it, the interaction of the other Fellowship members, and Galadriel’s comfort (which I liked especially).

“He is too young to be burdened with the power of foresight, he knows what is to happen and that is too much for one so young” – now that sounds very like Legolas of the books and I am impressed how well you have his voice down.

You say Max will return? *gleeful* I cannot wait to see how… a special grace of the Valar…?
-Kitt : )

Author's Response: Kit, think of when Gandalf the white comes...that is all I am going to tell you about that. But trust me he will be back, you will also be surprised a bit by him for he will be a little different D.R.O.T.N. (Dunedain ranger of the North)

Reviewer: Ar-feiniel Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/01/09 - 12:03 am Title: Chapter 8: A Quest begins

Happy New Year to you too!

I think this a very good story so far. I love how you brought a dog into Middle-Earth as well as in an interesting and different manner! I really like how you had Shawn teleport into a Dunedain camp and I also like his relationship with Aragorn and Legolas -- very nice! I also like your writing style. Keep up the good work!

Fei.

P.S. When is Fletcher coming back? I was beginning to like him. :P

Author's Response: Thank you its nice to see some one else reviewing my stories, because its been only Kit Otter and i would like some other feed back, so thanks. And don't worry Fletcher will come back, its Book-versed too Dunedain Ranger of the North

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/01/09 - 07:57 pm Title: Chapter 8: A Quest begins

And Happy New Year to you!
Hah! I enjoyed particularly the first scene. Gimli is *very* Gimli. His mode of speech is written well.
I did not think Shawn could long hide his secret from Legolas. I liked their budding friendship.
Does Frodo guess more about Shawn than he is letting on? Well, it’s good Shawn is not trying to make all his decisions, that he is giving Frodo space to grow. In Shawn’s place, I think I’d be tempted to be a *little* bossy. : )
“After yelling at Pippin for being himself…” – I like that line. Too true.
-Kitt

Author's Response: Thanks Next comes Moria and so on and so forth Thabks again Dunedain Ranger of the North

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 31/12/08 - 04:19 pm Title: Chapter 7: Council of Elrond

Oh, I didn’t expect he’d get two axes. It’s clever they’re made from his staff – so I guess that means he still has Fletcher’s gift, and more beside. I’m fond of Gimli and Gloin, so I enjoyed their part.
Ha! Shawn tried to strangle Boromir. I suppose it *would* be hard to hold back, knowing what he does. Really, that is wise to not have everyone know his past… now that would throw things out of balance!
I like that Shawn and Frodo shared that look before Frodo made his decision.
Wonderful! Max is included as a companion (a role Bill the Pony does not share, alas). I look forward to more. : )
-Kitt

Author's Response: Just wait for the ninth chapter when they go through Moria it will surprise you even more. But first we have to get there in chapter eight Thanks for the review Dunedain Ranger of the North

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 30/12/08 - 04:14 pm Title: Chapter 6: Rivendell at last

Again Shawn’s grief is convincingly written.
Glorfindel and Aragorn were wonderfully in-character. I find it hard to keep them from talking too modernly, but you’re getting their voices down pat. I liked Aragorn’s line: “we can only learn from mistakes if we make them”. And then he tried to put the blame on himself; really, I could just see him doing that. Very well done!
So Max is a German shepherd? All the better! That’s my favorite breed. IF I had a dog it would be a German shepherd mix.
“He looked more impressive in person than he did in the movie.” – I’ll bet. I think if I saw Elrond I’d pass out…
That really is too bad the staff broke, since Fletcher did give it to him. Hm, I'd like to see how he is at sword-fighting, if he takes up Aragorn's offer.
Good chapter! I'm curious to know how the Council will go.
-Kitt : )

Author's Response: Glad you liked it Kit You know you are the only one who has been reviewing my story so far. Wait till chapter 7, you are going to be surprised by Shawn's next weapons, yep I said it in plural form, two weapons. Thanks for your Review. Cunedain Ranger of the North

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/12/08 - 03:00 pm Title: Chapter 5: Blackriders and Weathertop

This was fun. The Hobbits think he had foresight! Haha! That'll make interesting conversations in the future.
I liked the description "just shrugged a dog shrug." I've not known many dogs but I can see what you mean. : )
Good job at placing Shawn in the battle, trying to protect the Hobbits and stop Frodo from putting on the Ring. He'll be kicking himself for not remembering sooner. I suppose he will feel a little guilty. It makes me wonder what else he may not remember... and will he remember before it is too late again?
-Kitt : )

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 26/12/08 - 07:48 pm Title: Chapter 2: The strange Tale

Ah, very sad. Shawn’s grief is expressed believably; his disability is a chance to see his character grow through the story… will he accept it or be bitter?
*laughs* I like the humor with the "son of" question. That, and Max, was needed to balance the mood.
I wonder about Shawn's past. I will keep an eye out for the next chapter!
-Kitt : )

Author's Response: Check out the next chapter you will find out Thanks again, Dunedain Ranger of the north

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 24/12/08 - 07:30 pm Title: Chapter 1: Arrival

This is interesting; I never see a story where a boy and dog land in middle-earth. You plow right into the story, and that is good. Too often one can be tempted to approach the story with caution. (It could bite!)
This is your first fanfic? I never posted any of my firsts, being a chicken, so I am impressed. Keep writing. I look forward to seeing your progress.
I see you have the story set as a Round Robin. You probably don't want that; it means any other member can add on a chapter.
By the way, I love the name "Fletcher." : )
Happy Christmas!
-Kitt

Author's Response: Thanks kit, Im glad you like it. And I was going to use Fletcher as the main characters nickname but decided to just use it as another character Thanks for your reveiw Dunedain Ranger of the North PS Merry Christmas to you too!

You must login (register) to review.