You must login (register) to review.
Title: Chapter 19: Isengard Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
Probably wise of Fang to not want to return to Isengard. Besides the fear he'll wake his wargish self, memories there can't have been too nice.
*whispers* I have a guess: Fletcher! *whispers lower* sorry. I mean the guy who name starts with F.
*loud again* Well, Shawn's being in the middle of the Elf and Dwarf's bantering is fun.
Aragorn's right; it would not be enjoyable for Shawn or his canine companions to be cooped up behind walls. The intrigue for the city might be fun for a while, but to be there for life... That's very altruistic of Aragorn, just how I'd imagine he'd act.
Looking forward to the interview with Saruman!
-Kitt : )

Author's Response: Thanks and disregard what i said about the new Second Ranger chapter, this one was it! Sorry for the confusion. Can't wait to see if I don't mess up Saruman's interview! need incouragement here, but I am glad you like the other chapter's! (Whispers) I said not to tell, now every one is going to know the surprise! (Laughs) kidding, I knew you would figure it out! D.R.O.T.N.
Date: Jan 20 2009 09:23 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 18: Battle for Helm's deep 2 Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
Beautiful dream! I didn’t think we’d ever get to see these characters. I was a little teary-eyed when he saw his grandfather. That’s a teasing cliffy – so who’s supposed to be his next father? Or is the answer staring me in the face and I cannot see it? Ok, I’ll try to be patient. : )
(Suddenly I’ve had this vision of Darth Vader showing up in Edoras – “Shawn, I am your father…”) Ehem, yeah, I guess it won’t happen like that…
The dream chapter was needed as a break before these next chapters. They were intense! Tons of action. I think action is very hard to write – you have to keep tabs on your characters, describe it so it’s not rambling… you’re doing well with it. I don’t have trouble following. I even had Helm Deep music going through my head.
I love that the Legolas and Gimli’s contest extended to Shawn. That was always one of my favorite parts in the movie and book.
I’m happy to see Goldenfang and Silverfur make a good team. I was afraid they might have some tooth-and-claw rivalry.
At least I have Soldiers From Another Time to catch up on while I wait for this to update. : )
-Kitt

Author's Response: Thanks for your words. I thought that chapter 18 was to jumpy and I felt that I hadn't written it well, so thanks. I am going to be working on Soldiers from Another Time for awhile so, The second Ranger is on hold for a short time. I shouldn't have started this second story yet because now I can't concentrate on my first, happens to me alot! but any ways, glad you liked the dream sequence, and I already know who his new father will be (Hint you like this character's name) all I am going to tell you! D.R.O.T.N. P.S. Don't tell anyone else if you figure it out!
Date: Jan 17 2009 10:06 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 18: Battle for Helm's deep 2 Reviewer: Ar-feiniel Signed
---

Me: *Sticks head out from corner of the wall. Sees Fang chasing Shawn, throws head back and laughs* Ha ha!

Fang: *Hears and rears head to see the laughing girl, turns and charges back to the brick wall* ‘I see you…’

Me: Ha…. Ha…. Ha…. *Gulps*

Shawn: *Thinking quickly* Freda attack!

Freda: But I’m just a wittle girl… *Makes puppy face*

Shawn: Right… uh… Silverfur attack!

Sil: *Looks up from thick textbook* What?

Freda: Why does the doggy have glasses?

Shawn: Because his insurance doesn’t pay for contacts.

Freda: Right… *Runs away* I was SO right when I said dogs could read and write, Eothain!

Fang: *Pokes nose around wall and sniffs around for Ar-feiniel* ‘Where are you?’

Me: Um… Shawn? What’s the wolf think—

Fang: ‘There you are!’

Me: Ah! *Runs around the corner of the of the brick wall, Fang on her heels* SHAWN!!!

Shawn: *Reading book with Silverfur* Shush! Fingon’s about to die! *Tear*

Me: *Rolls eyes, turns around abruptly*

Fang: *Stops and snarls at Ar-feiniel, teeth close to her face*

Me: *Smells Fang’s breath* You might want to consider a Tic-Tac.

Fang: ‘Why you little!’ *Chases a laughing Ar-feiniel across Rohan*

---

Sorry about that… and sorry that it took so long for me to respond. But here are my comments: I liked the Dream chapter as well as the Helm’s Deep ones. I like how you have Shawn compete in the counting kills rivalry between Legolas and Gimli. It lightens the mood. I like how you had Shawn fall asleep. But I’m a bit confused, did Shawn sleep through the rest of the Battle and how? Did he just randomly lie down next to a wall and doze off or did he retreat into the actual building? How long was he sleep? And no Orcs noticed him? (Sorry, I’m a details freak)

Oh, and before I forget, I really like your new story. I love the Civil War and am glad someone has done a crossover. I really like the creativity in that one – where you have two fallen solders beam into Middle-earth differently and I like how you have (James, I think it is…?) wake up as a wolf. I always imagined what would happen if something where to go wrong in the warping time-traveling system. (Someone having two left hands perhaps?) I can’t wait to see what will happen next it that story. It really is very, very interesting.

Well, again sorry it took so long. I have been reading your stories, don’t think I forgot or anything. I’m forgetting something. Rats. Oh, well, I’ll respond again when I think of it. Keep up the great work!

Fei.

P.S. If I hurt your feeling is any way with my randomness in the beginning of my review, please let my know. I am terribly sorry. I have the outmost respect for your and your characters. I was only poking playful fun…

Author's Response: Actually its ok in the beginning, but I would like to clarify that it was me, D.R.O.T.N., that Fang chased, he has a bad temper, (hears step behind him and turns around) Oh, hey Shawn didn't see you there, (Shawn glares at me) ok, sorry I will move onto something else (Waits till Shawn leaves) whew, ok now, where was I! Oh yah, Shawn doesn't fall asleep during the battle, he falls asleep before the battle ever begins, Gimli is just shaking him awake because Aragorn doesn't want him out of his sight when the fighting begins. But did you really like the way I made him see his Grandpa again? And his family? I had to put a dream sequence in there somewhere! But anyways, I am glad you are liking my other story. The Civil War is my favorite subject. And James wasn't turned into a wolf by being brought there the Valar that he saw at the Battle, yes it was one of the valar, turned him into a wolf, for his old body was dying. But I am glad you like him and on top of that, Alex is turnning into an elf! please keep reviewing, I gotta go, cant stay and talk, got two wolf's after me now. See ya!!( Runs laughing as Fang and Mellon come running around the corner) come on Mellon, I didn't say anything about you, Hey! now you watch your teeth, yowch!!! why you little, yikes!!!
Date: Jan 17 2009 07:11 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 15: Helm's Deep Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
I guess the Rohirrim would not take to Goldenfang well... understandable but I hope it does not result in any bloodshed (with Gimli around, who can tell).
Goldenfang certainly has the right to be nervous. Old habits can be hard to break (i.e. eating people)... yet with his friend's help, Fang should be able to transfer into his new life well.
I liked Sil and Shawn's talk on the wall.
-Kitt : )

Author's Response: Wait till next chapter, you will like it. But I must tell you now, when you get to the second part of the Battle of Helm's Deep, its short and I jumped around a bit to much! i will rewrite it some other time. Thanks for the Review! D.R.O.T.N.
Date: Jan 16 2009 08:14 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 14: the Wolfrider Reviewer: Ar-feiniel Signed
I have three words for you, D. R. O. T. N: Goldenfang is AWESOME!!

Fei.

P.S. Thank you for clearing up the whole human qualities matter. I was beginning to worry that Shawn would sick Silverfur on me because I like Max better. *Hides behind a brick wall* Please don’t kill me! :P

Author's Response: (To Silverfur) Down, sit, heel, Good boy Don't worry I wouldn't have sicked him on you' But mabye Goldenfang (Ducks around corner and hides) (Peeks out, laughs weakly) just kidding Fang, cant you take a joke! He says hes glad you like him and that he would appreciate it if you would tell your friends about this story, for more reviews (Looks behind) Im going to shut up now, Fang is giving me a look that says 'he will kill me' (Runs out door) See yah, hey watch the teeth! D.R.O.T.N.
Date: Jan 10 2009 12:59 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 14: the Wolfrider Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
I read some last night, but when I tried to submit my review the site was down. (grr) So…
That was cool and unexpected – he got his sight back! I’m curious to see what his ring will do.
Good moment in the boat with Legolas and Gimli. : )
I admire how things work out. Shawn actually tried to stop Boromir and they parted close friends… and it was awesome how he tried to save Boromir.
I feel ecstatic for Shawn, now that both he and Aragorn realize their closeness is that of father-and-son.
I do like the way Max returned, especially the first scene where he gains a new body. It’s just as plausible as Gandalf’s return. Though Silverfur is more lovable than Gandalf the White… *grins* The telepathic communication of Shawn and Sil reminds me of a similar one in Angel’s Command by Brian Jacques. He’s a pretty good author; did you ever read his books? Your style reminds me of his.
I really liked the interaction between Sil, Shawn and Freda – kinda cute!
That was another unexpected happening: Shawn’s ring transformed the warg! It’s too early for me to judge Goldenfang. He was once a warg so that’s cool, but I wonder if it’ll give him aggressive traits. And how will Sil and Fang get along?
Well, I’m glad to see the story is moving along well!
-Kitt : )

Author's Response: As a matter of fact I have quite a few of Brian Jacques Red Wall series, actually the whole series. I have read all of his books and he is one of my favorite authors. My others are Michael and Jeff Sharra, Louis LaMour, and Clive Cussler. And don't worry about Goldenfang the ring has made him completely good, for he wasn't an evil wolf at heart before he was turned into a Warg, he was made evillish by the way he was treated. All he needed was a little bit of caring-( Reminds me of a song"All You Need is Love") Thanks for the review, you truly are the only one who makes me think more when I write and I thank you Mea Govenin (hope I spelled it right) D.R,O.T.N.
Date: Jan 09 2009 02:06 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 13: Edoras Reviewer: Ar-feiniel Signed
I absolutely loved the gifts, D.R.O.T.N! A looking-glass-eye-patch and talking animals ring! I thought they were extremely creative – very, very nice job! Yay, Max – oops, I mean Silverfur – gets to come back!! I was beginning to miss him! I really like how he can talk in Shawn’s mind now. But if you want me be to be honest, I find it a tad freaky that Sil now has human qualities now (i.e. walking, hugging, etc). But that is only my opinion; I honestly do not want to discourage you or anything. And if I have I am dreadfully sorry. But I really did like these last few chapters. Please keep up the good work!

Fei.

Author's Response: The only Human Qualities he has are Smiling and hugging, He still walks on all fours and runs like a dog. He bows like a dog, he can't stand on two feet, just wanted to clarify that he is still a dog, just silver fur and a few, count them, few human qualities. Sorry for the deception, should have explained it better Thanks for the Review! D.R.O.T.N.
Date: Jan 08 2009 05:31 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1: Arrival Reviewer: Shadow Maiden Signed
I think you are going to be a very promising writer. You have me really interested. Please keep writing!
Date: Jan 08 2009 02:24 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 10: Lothlorien Reviewer: Archer31 Signed
I like your storey I just joined. I wrote my first chapter you should read it sometime. I cant wait until your next chapter.
Date: Jan 07 2009 03:03 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 10: Lothlorien Reviewer: Ar-feiniel Signed
I really like the emotions and the friendship-bonds that are developing. Keep up the good work, Dunedain ranger of the North.

Fei.

Author's Response: Thanks, I appreciate it. Oh and by the way its D.R.O.T.N. for short (Dunedain Ranger of the North) D.R.O.T.N.
Date: Jan 06 2009 04:46 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 10: Lothlorien Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
I like the fighting team of Boromir and Max. And I am glad Shawn and Boromir made up.

“The elf turned toward the boy with a huge smile” – had to grin at that; I like imagining a hugely smiling Legolas.

But not Max!!! Yes, I am sad (not quite mad at you, though : )). Yet on the other hand it seemed to seal Boromir and Shawn’s new friendship.

Really, I thought this chapter was beautiful: How Shawn dealt with it, the interaction of the other Fellowship members, and Galadriel’s comfort (which I liked especially).

“He is too young to be burdened with the power of foresight, he knows what is to happen and that is too much for one so young” – now that sounds very like Legolas of the books and I am impressed how well you have his voice down.

You say Max will return? *gleeful* I cannot wait to see how… a special grace of the Valar…?
-Kitt : )

Author's Response: Kit, think of when Gandalf the white comes...that is all I am going to tell you about that. But trust me he will be back, you will also be surprised a bit by him for he will be a little different D.R.O.T.N. (Dunedain ranger of the North)
Date: Jan 05 2009 12:54 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 8: A Quest begins Reviewer: Ar-feiniel Signed
Happy New Year to you too!

I think this a very good story so far. I love how you brought a dog into Middle-Earth as well as in an interesting and different manner! I really like how you had Shawn teleport into a Dunedain camp and I also like his relationship with Aragorn and Legolas -- very nice! I also like your writing style. Keep up the good work!

Fei.

P.S. When is Fletcher coming back? I was beginning to like him. :P

Author's Response: Thank you its nice to see some one else reviewing my stories, because its been only Kit Otter and i would like some other feed back, so thanks. And don't worry Fletcher will come back, its Book-versed too Dunedain Ranger of the North
Date: Jan 01 2009 06:03 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 8: A Quest begins Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
And Happy New Year to you!
Hah! I enjoyed particularly the first scene. Gimli is *very* Gimli. His mode of speech is written well.
I did not think Shawn could long hide his secret from Legolas. I liked their budding friendship.
Does Frodo guess more about Shawn than he is letting on? Well, it’s good Shawn is not trying to make all his decisions, that he is giving Frodo space to grow. In Shawn’s place, I think I’d be tempted to be a *little* bossy. : )
“After yelling at Pippin for being himself…” – I like that line. Too true.
-Kitt

Author's Response: Thanks Next comes Moria and so on and so forth Thabks again Dunedain Ranger of the North
Date: Jan 01 2009 01:57 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 7: Council of Elrond Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
Oh, I didn’t expect he’d get two axes. It’s clever they’re made from his staff – so I guess that means he still has Fletcher’s gift, and more beside. I’m fond of Gimli and Gloin, so I enjoyed their part.
Ha! Shawn tried to strangle Boromir. I suppose it *would* be hard to hold back, knowing what he does. Really, that is wise to not have everyone know his past… now that would throw things out of balance!
I like that Shawn and Frodo shared that look before Frodo made his decision.
Wonderful! Max is included as a companion (a role Bill the Pony does not share, alas). I look forward to more. : )
-Kitt

Author's Response: Just wait for the ninth chapter when they go through Moria it will surprise you even more. But first we have to get there in chapter eight Thanks for the review Dunedain Ranger of the North
Date: Dec 31 2008 10:19 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 6: Rivendell at last Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
Again Shawn’s grief is convincingly written.
Glorfindel and Aragorn were wonderfully in-character. I find it hard to keep them from talking too modernly, but you’re getting their voices down pat. I liked Aragorn’s line: “we can only learn from mistakes if we make them”. And then he tried to put the blame on himself; really, I could just see him doing that. Very well done!
So Max is a German shepherd? All the better! That’s my favorite breed. IF I had a dog it would be a German shepherd mix.
“He looked more impressive in person than he did in the movie.” – I’ll bet. I think if I saw Elrond I’d pass out…
That really is too bad the staff broke, since Fletcher did give it to him. Hm, I'd like to see how he is at sword-fighting, if he takes up Aragorn's offer.
Good chapter! I'm curious to know how the Council will go.
-Kitt : )

Author's Response: Glad you liked it Kit You know you are the only one who has been reviewing my story so far. Wait till chapter 7, you are going to be surprised by Shawn's next weapons, yep I said it in plural form, two weapons. Thanks for your Review. Cunedain Ranger of the North
Date: Dec 30 2008 10:14 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 5: Blackriders and Weathertop Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
This was fun. The Hobbits think he had foresight! Haha! That'll make interesting conversations in the future.
I liked the description "just shrugged a dog shrug." I've not known many dogs but I can see what you mean. : )
Good job at placing Shawn in the battle, trying to protect the Hobbits and stop Frodo from putting on the Ring. He'll be kicking himself for not remembering sooner. I suppose he will feel a little guilty. It makes me wonder what else he may not remember... and will he remember before it is too late again?
-Kitt : )
Date: Dec 29 2008 09:00 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 2: The strange Tale Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
Ah, very sad. Shawn’s grief is expressed believably; his disability is a chance to see his character grow through the story… will he accept it or be bitter?
*laughs* I like the humor with the "son of" question. That, and Max, was needed to balance the mood.
I wonder about Shawn's past. I will keep an eye out for the next chapter!
-Kitt : )

Author's Response: Check out the next chapter you will find out Thanks again, Dunedain Ranger of the north
Date: Dec 26 2008 01:48 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1: Arrival Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
This is interesting; I never see a story where a boy and dog land in middle-earth. You plow right into the story, and that is good. Too often one can be tempted to approach the story with caution. (It could bite!)
This is your first fanfic? I never posted any of my firsts, being a chicken, so I am impressed. Keep writing. I look forward to seeing your progress.
I see you have the story set as a Round Robin. You probably don't want that; it means any other member can add on a chapter.
By the way, I love the name "Fletcher." : )
Happy Christmas!
-Kitt

Author's Response: Thanks kit, Im glad you like it. And I was going to use Fletcher as the main characters nickname but decided to just use it as another character Thanks for your reveiw Dunedain Ranger of the North PS Merry Christmas to you too!
Date: Dec 24 2008 01:30 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.