You must login (register) to review.
Title: Beyond Reviewer: Lira_of_Imladris Signed
Yay! He's alive! You're writing seems to be improving with each chapter too which is totally awesome! And your ... what's that word ... depiction of Mandos is good as well. Keep up the good work ^^ - Breia

Author's Response:

I really have to credit the improvement in my writing to my absolutely amazing beta, Narya. She's an amazing author herself, you should check out her stories! I think you'd like them.

Thanks for the review!

Date: Apr 03 2009 02:57 am [Report This]
Title: Beyond Reviewer: Ar-feiniel Signed
Heehee. Hilarious situation with Mandos. It reminds me of a time…not to long ago when Van (my older brother) and I were talking about what we imagine we would do if we were to meet Jesus Christ. Van would be mesmerized, and humble, and blessed, and honored, and just plain *great* with Jesus.

As for me, let’s just say that I would have a reaction VERY similar to Brandon’s. I'd slipup and be like, “Uh, H-hey, Je—Mr. Christ. Mr. Christ. Can I call you that?” Van laughed and said that Jesus would want me to be causal with him. I would still call him Mr. Christ, though. And the same awkward, awe-ness goes for if I were to meet any of the Valar. Or anyone in Arda for that matter.

Impeccable job on Brandon’s reactions and describing the Halls of Mandos and the Valar dialogue (really, it seems difficult) and just excellent, remarkable, great job overall. It must have really fun to write this chapter. Go Caller!

Fei.

P.S. Hmm, if I got to go to the Hall of Mandos every time I slept, I would be sure to try to find Maedhros (or anyone from the House of Finwe) while I was in there. ;)

Author's Response:

This chapter gave me more trouble than any other chapter I've EVER written for ANYTHING. I was originally going to have Brandon talk to Eru Ilúvatar, but it didn't sound right so I re-wrote everything to make it fit so that he was talking to Mandos instead. And originally Brandon was going to be underneath Laurelin, talking to Eru. But then I looked up everything and changed it to Mandos under the tree, but that didn't make sense because Mandos would be in the halls of Mandos, (quite obviously, haha). It completely screwed up the entire chapter and took hours to fix. But I'm very happy with it now, even though I was kinda disappointed in myself after I published it :(

It was difficult, but listening to music really helped. I tried to steer away from the stero-typical death image. You know, the whole "I SEE THE LIGHT!" deal, and hearing voices. Nope. Not for Brandon. He gets classical elven architechture, and a disgruntled judge of the dead who gets rebuked by a God before deciding where his soul goes. I hope I did an alright job with that.

Thanks for the compliments, they mean a lot. Your reviews really do mean a lot for me.

P.S. If you did go to the Hall of Mandos every time you slept, you would have to find Maedhros everytime you went because there is no way that Mandos and Eru would let you remember. It'd be like "50 First Dates...Special Mandos Edition". I'd watch that....

Date: Apr 02 2009 03:22 pm [Report This]
Title: The Unexpected Reviewer: Ar-feiniel Signed
Suuuure. Thought-shot is a term we used to use in Language Arts. The definition is…*Flipping through Language Arts binder* Ah-ha!

Thought-shot: A writer’s ability to communicate what a character is thinking and feeling at a given moment.

Hmm…comparing darkness to syrup—never seen that before. I like it. As well as the Morse-code line. V. clever. I love Brandon’s reactions. Too true. If I were him, I would scared out of my mine. Actually, I’m scared *for* him. BRANDON DEAD?! Nooo! Eerie, mellon nin, eerie.

Fei.

Author's Response:

Thanks Fei! I'll have to use that in my creative writing class next year :)

Oh, he is scared out of his mind. But as I've said before, say much else because it would give too much away. But I will say this.

It isn't neccessarily what you think.

Mwahaha. Time for some over-analysis on what I just said.

I was hoping for eerie, I'm glad I achieved it! Thanks for the review!

 

Date: Apr 01 2009 02:09 pm [Report This]
Title: The Unexpected Reviewer: Dunedain ranger of the North Signed
I will say this in a few words:

HOLY CRAP!

Poor Brandon I hope He will be alright! Scary chapter, you might want to start lightening the mood just a tinsey bit, you know add some of the humor parts that Merry and Pippin do in the story.

"Merry?"
"what?"
'I'm hungry!"

Like that! Keep up the good work!

Dune

Author's Response: Thanks for the tip! I can't say anything about it other than thank you, since that would give away what's going to happen. But thanks!
Date: Mar 31 2009 07:21 am [Report This]
Title: The Unexpected Reviewer: ladygreensleeves Signed
What. The. Heck. I'd use stronger language, but then I might be kicked off the review site. But still... WHAT?!?!?!??!?!! GAH! There isn't enough room in these review boxes for the amount of question marks and exclamation points that I have for this latest plot development. Anyway... keep up the good work! I EXPECT AND DEMAND A NEW CHAPTER SOON. :P

Author's Response: I told you you'd freak out, haha. A new chapter is coming, don't worry!
Date: Mar 31 2009 04:56 am [Report This]
Title: The Unexpected Reviewer: Lira_of_Imladris Signed
Oh my Elbereth... He's dead... And he has the same last name as my main character! rofl =P I wanna read more! I wanna find out if he's dead in ME as well! I don't think he is though, nuh, he isn't *gets down knees and begs* - Breia

Author's Response: He may be dead, he may not be. A new chapter WILL be out before too long. I should have something out on or by Friday. If not Friday, Saturday.
Date: Mar 30 2009 11:25 pm [Report This]
Title: The West Gate Reviewer: ladygreensleeves Signed
GAAAAH. HOLY. CRAP. LAST LINE = EPIC!!!!!! Write more. Like, now. :P Keep up the amazing work!

Author's Response: I don't have time to write more right NOW. But I should have something by the end of this week. You're my sister. If you want plot spoilers all you have to do is ask, silly.
Date: Mar 30 2009 02:42 am [Report This]
Title: The West Gate Reviewer: Ar-feiniel Signed
Ooooo spooky. I’m trembling and shivering. Literally. I’m reading this on my computer in the basement at night, which really isn’t the best place for reading wolf attacks (Great-amazing-wonderful job on that, by the way. I’m really feeling bad for Brandon and the I’m-a-monster mania. I forgot about the wolf attack!) and Moria chapters. Really, I’m scared…and I know what happens! Reading at night in the basement does make Moria seem more…real, though. Ugh, I’m frustrated because I can’t find the right words to review with! It’s just so…so…spectacular! Book-verse but extremely entertaining—gotta love Brandon’s thought-shots. ;) Loved the “Her price was death” line, too. Keep up the GREAT work, Caller. I want mooooore!

Fei.

Author's Response:

I forgot about the wolf attack too, until I flipped to Appenix B and saw it on the timeline. :p. I agree with your whole basement thing. If I were to read a spooky/dark LOTR story in my living room (my basement is unfinished) at night, I would get freaked out.

I like writing in book-verse, at least for this story. It adds more structure. Though as far as events go, I'm going to section LOTR, (at least The Fellowship of the Ring), like Jackson did, with Boromir dying at the end of The Fellowship of the Ring instead of at the beginning of The Two Towers. I can't say anything else because it might give away some of the things at the end.

Thanks for all the compliments. I like that...'thought-shots'...can I use that?

More is coming. I should have a new chapter out by the end of this week, possibly.

Thanks!

Date: Mar 29 2009 06:03 pm [Report This]
Title: The West Gate Reviewer: Lira_of_Imladris Signed
Ooh, very intriguing. I love the line "Gandalf read the door". That's a good one, rather hilarious really. I know this fic is book-verse so I have to ask, is that line in the book or did you just write it? But yes, that last line "Her price was death." that is very ... threatening. I feel kinda sorry for Brandon, it'd be so hard to be going through Moria with the trilogy and not feeling able to read them to find out what happens in Moria, that would be very frustrating. Anyway, I better go, I have school *rolls eyes* =P Thanks for the great read - Breia

Author's Response:

Both "Gandalf read the door" and "Her price was death" are lines from me. I only look at the book for context and making sure I have certain events.

Appendix B=my best friend for life. I don't know where I would be without that timeline.

Date: Mar 29 2009 03:09 pm [Report This]
Title: The West Gate Reviewer: Dunedain ranger of the North Signed
Duna Duna Dundundundundun Duh! Spooky! This chapter is full of foreshadowing, I like that! Keep up the good work!

Dune

Author's Response: I adore foreshadowing. It's kinda cool, haha. Thanks for the review!
Date: Mar 29 2009 02:27 pm [Report This]
Title: First Blood Reviewer: Lira_of_Imladris Signed
Aww... Poor Brandon. I think something went wrong with the spacing when you posted this, it might pay to fix it up when you have a spare ten minutes. It happens to me and a whole heap of other people too so don't worry. Hope you've been well, it's been a while since I read any of this. I haven't been writing much, been busy with school and such but I only have one week left of term which is good. I might get a fair bit of writing done next week actually considering I have all combined classes... Can't wait for more as always and great job - Breia

Author's Response:

I think I've fixed the spacing, but I'll double check. Thanks for the notice!

I've been pretty well, and I hope school gets less busy for you. School is finally slowing down for me...the musical is over and I have SO much free time. It still takes me about two days to think/write up a new chapter for 'Walking the Line' though. During April Vacation, however, I'll probably have a creative overflow and you can probably look forward to about five new updates that week, haha.

I really hope you do write! I love your writing style and all your amazing stories!

Thanks for the review!

Date: Mar 27 2009 09:21 pm [Report This]
Title: Caradhras Reviewer: Dunedain ranger of the North Signed
Very, very, VERY, good chapter! The suspense is killing me (laughs) I like suspenseful stories! Nice chapter by the way, keep up the good work!

Dune

Author's Response: Thanks Dune! I'm glad you'll keep reading. Moria will be interesting.
Date: Mar 12 2009 10:58 pm [Report This]
Title: Lost Temper Reviewer: Lira_of_Imladris Signed
This is good! But what is Aragorn sensing?! 0.0 Magical bunny-rabbits with licorice whips and chocolate swords?! ... Where did that come from? Anyway, great job and I can't wait for more ^^ - Breia

Author's Response:

Well, if he sensed the bunny-rabbits with licorice whips and chocolate swords, then I'm not giving Aragorn's ranger senses enough credit. The bunny-rabbits are currently taking lessons from the Balrog on how to use swords and whips. Let's hope the Balrog doesn't eat them.

What Aragorn, and even Sam to some extent, are sensing is the crebain. I've been studying the first book intently, and throughout the part where the Fellowship is in Hollin, there is this sense of a choking silence that starts to creep all of them out. Turns out, the spies of Saruman have scared away most anything that would make noise. The crebain passing over Hollin alert the Fellowship that they are being watched. They make the deduction that they cannot take the route they had originally planned, and opt to go via the Redhorn gate--aka, Caradhras.

Stupid crebain! You're the real reason that Gandalf is dead!

Date: Mar 01 2009 03:16 pm [Report This]
Title: Lost Temper Reviewer: Dunedain ranger of the North Signed
I was wondering when Brandon would let his emotions explode. Poor Gimli, glad he didn't take it too hard, getting yelled at. Good chapter Keep up the good work!

Dune

Author's Response: Thanks!
Date: Feb 28 2009 03:56 pm [Report This]
Title: Not in Kansas Anymore... Reviewer: Dunedain ranger of the North Signed
Um, actually my story is called A Slave no More and the main character's name is big John. Please keep reading it and reviewing it. I also have another story you might like, its called the wolf, please check it out, I just updated it yesterday. Keep up the good work!

Dune

Author's Response: Oh, I'm sorry! I read the first chapter of 'A Slave no More' and then I got kicked off the computer...and when I wrote the review it was still early in the morning for me...sorry! I feel bad now. I'll make it up to you though, I'll read and review both stories! Sorry!
Date: Feb 21 2009 08:58 am [Report This]
Title: Discovered Reviewer: Lira_of_Imladris Signed
Question: How old is Brandon? I just randomly thought of that while I was reading... And I agree, it would be freaky to be able to read about the future, to see what happens to those around you... I love the authenticity in this too, if I tried, I could probably rewrite all of my stories and make it sound like this so good job and great chapter - Breia

Author's Response: Brandon is 17. There are hints to his age in the first few chapters, but really all that is said is that 'he is barely of age' (chapter 1) and some of the Fellowship call him 'boy' from time to time. Thanks for the review!
Date: Feb 20 2009 08:25 pm [Report This]
Title: Small Talk Reviewer: Ar-feiniel Signed
Whoa. Freakishly awesome nightmare/teleportation, I must say! Kudos for the creativity and cleverness on Brandon’s coffin nightmare, Caller! Honestly, you had me trembling. For a moment, I thought he was going to wake up a vampire or something. That would be random. This is getting *very* interesting. I CANNOT wait to see what happens when Brandon enters the realm of his dream/teleportations again!

Eagerly awaiting,

Fei.

Author's Response: Thanks Fei! I'm glad you liked this chapter. Judging by the feedback I've been getting, lots of people liked the 'buried alive' idea. I don't think Brandon will become a vampire, but something else that is pretty random WILL happen within the next couple of chapters...I'll let you keep reading to find out what it is. When you see it, you'll know.
Date: Feb 20 2009 06:25 pm [Report This]
Title: Discovered Reviewer: Dunedain ranger of the North Signed
Good job! Got to be careful with those books, can't let them fall into the wrong hands now can we! Keep up the good work and Keep updating! I will keep reading!

Dune

Author's Response: My updates will slow down significantly in the next few weeks...this week was February vacation so I had tons of spare time. I'll probably update once every three or four days now. I'm glad you'll keep reading! I've been reading your story about 'Big Jim' and I love it!
Date: Feb 20 2009 06:23 pm [Report This]
Title: Anxiety and Sword Lessons Reviewer: DarkDreamer Signed
I love this story so far! Hope you update soon! :]

Author's Response: Thanks! I'll update whenever I can
Date: Feb 20 2009 12:35 am [Report This]
Title: Anxiety and Sword Lessons Reviewer: Lira_of_Imladris Signed
It'd be fun staying up with Gandalf... And if I were being taught by Boromir, he'd be dead by now =p Pippin's joke was funny... I suppose it's a matter of perspective though, lol. Good job on writing all these chapters in such quick succession... It reminds of my younger days, lol. Good chapter, again ^L^ - Breia

Author's Response: Thanks! I kept writing in rapid succession because the ideas kept hitting me like a truck. Thousands of them keep flying in and out of my head. Sometimes this gets annoying. Other times, it's the best thing ever. Thanks for the review! I'm glad you like the story!
Date: Feb 19 2009 10:34 pm [Report This]
Title: Anxiety and Sword Lessons Reviewer: Dunedain ranger of the North Signed
Good chapter, hope Brandon sleeps well, and doesn't almost die this time.(Laughs)

Dune

Author's Response: Thank you!
Date: Feb 19 2009 10:32 pm [Report This]
Title: Night Terrors Reviewer: Lira_of_Imladris Signed
Ooh............... This is gonna get mega interesting now... I feel kinda sorry for Merry... Having to find Brandon like that but he's okay for now so it's all cool, can't wait for more but don't use up all your creativity at once, that's what happened to me :( It's sad and annoying, trust me. Good job though - Breia

Author's Response: That's why I have two stories going...when my creativity on one dies, I turn to the other and work on that one. It's like farming. One field is always lying fallow. Thanks for the advice though. I'm sure you haven't used up all your creativity. Someone as creative as you can't possibly be out of creativity. You just need time to "recharge" the creative part of your brain. Don't worry! Thanks for the praise and the review!
Date: Feb 19 2009 05:26 pm [Report This]
Title: Night Terrors Reviewer: Dunedain ranger of the North Signed
Now that would be scary, waking up in your own coffin, buried and to top that alive. Now that is scary as all get out. I got chills reading that part. I hope brandon stays in middle earth for good now, because if he goes back he will be dead. Good chapter, can't wait for the next one.

Dune

Author's Response:

Thanks! This chapter was brought to you by a pain-induced nightmare...got my braces tightened yesterday and OUUUUCH! I always have weird dreams when I'm in pain. I never had the chance to harness them for creative writing though.

I'm glad you liked the chapter. The next one will be out shortly.

Date: Feb 19 2009 10:47 am [Report This]
Title: Small Talk Reviewer: Lira_of_Imladris Signed
Yay! More! :p This was good... I'm kind of sad about the fact that I never considered something like this when I was writing LOTR fanfic but oh well, I have Without Frodo and when Lira was stalking Legolas during the war of the Ring (*whispers* She has problems ;)) Good job and I can't wait for more ^^ - Breia

Author's Response:

A Legostalker? *image of Aragorn, Gimli, and Legolas stalking Legos*

Haha...well, lego stalking aside, don't worry about ideas that did or did not come to you. Those two stories were absolutely wonderful, and if everyone had the same ideas, then creativity wouldn't exist! Your stories and ideas are wonderfully unique, and I'm glad you thought of them!

More is coming, I'm writing the next chapter as we speak.

Date: Feb 18 2009 09:46 pm [Report This]
Title: Small Talk Reviewer: Dunedain ranger of the North Signed
That is good that Brandon is trying to get to know the rest of the fellowship. Now about Boromir, That must have been the quickest mood change I have ever seen, or read. But good job, Boromir has seen his error and he feels sorry for it. Of course he would get along with the hobbits, I mean who wouldn't! Keep up the good work!

Dune

Author's Response:

If you look at Boromir's behavior in the books, you see that his mood shifts easily. That, and after walking for over an hour (from Rivendell to the moor overlooking it, and onwards) he would have time to cool off. But yes, as the saying goes, praise in public...chastise in private. Boromir forgot that one.

I myself love the hobbits best in the books. Maybe I've put too much of that into Brandon? Oh well. It feels right! Thanks for reviewing!

Date: Feb 18 2009 08:55 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.