You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Dunedain ranger of the North Signed [Report This]
Date: 19/02/09 - 03:47 pm Title: Night Terrors

Now that would be scary, waking up in your own coffin, buried and to top that alive. Now that is scary as all get out. I got chills reading that part. I hope brandon stays in middle earth for good now, because if he goes back he will be dead. Good chapter, can't wait for the next one.

Dune

Author's Response:

Thanks! This chapter was brought to you by a pain-induced nightmare...got my braces tightened yesterday and OUUUUCH! I always have weird dreams when I'm in pain. I never had the chance to harness them for creative writing though.

I'm glad you liked the chapter. The next one will be out shortly.

Reviewer: Lira_of_Imladris Signed [Report This]
Date: 19/02/09 - 02:46 am Title: Small Talk

Yay! More! :p This was good... I'm kind of sad about the fact that I never considered something like this when I was writing LOTR fanfic but oh well, I have Without Frodo and when Lira was stalking Legolas during the war of the Ring (*whispers* She has problems ;)) Good job and I can't wait for more ^^ - Breia

Author's Response:

A Legostalker? *image of Aragorn, Gimli, and Legolas stalking Legos*

Haha...well, lego stalking aside, don't worry about ideas that did or did not come to you. Those two stories were absolutely wonderful, and if everyone had the same ideas, then creativity wouldn't exist! Your stories and ideas are wonderfully unique, and I'm glad you thought of them!

More is coming, I'm writing the next chapter as we speak.

Reviewer: Dunedain ranger of the North Signed [Report This]
Date: 19/02/09 - 01:55 am Title: Small Talk

That is good that Brandon is trying to get to know the rest of the fellowship. Now about Boromir, That must have been the quickest mood change I have ever seen, or read. But good job, Boromir has seen his error and he feels sorry for it. Of course he would get along with the hobbits, I mean who wouldn't! Keep up the good work!

Dune

Author's Response:

If you look at Boromir's behavior in the books, you see that his mood shifts easily. That, and after walking for over an hour (from Rivendell to the moor overlooking it, and onwards) he would have time to cool off. But yes, as the saying goes, praise in public...chastise in private. Boromir forgot that one.

I myself love the hobbits best in the books. Maybe I've put too much of that into Brandon? Oh well. It feels right! Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: ladygreensleeves Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/02/09 - 11:58 pm Title: Small Talk

OOH!!! This chapter is GREAT! You did an excellent job capturing the voices of all the members of the Fellowship... research pays off lol. By the by, nice cliif-hanger at the end. Keep up the amazing work!! :D

Author's Response: Thanks! Yes, Appendix B of Return of the King has been my BEST FRIEND. That, and different quotes from the books. I'm working on the next chapter right now, so you'll see where the cliff hanger leaves off...mwahahaha....

Reviewer: Narya Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/02/09 - 12:35 pm Title: Leaving Imladris

Haha yeah I caught the reference...nice little in-joke :) speak soon.

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you picked up on it. I felt silly putting that in there, but I figured it couldn't hurt. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Dunedain ranger of the North Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/02/09 - 10:23 am Title: The Journey Begins

Good for you Brandon! He is taking this like a man. I knew Boromir would object to a boy to join them, he is always like that! Good chapter and keep up the good work.

Dune

Author's Response:

Yeah, Boromir isn't exactly happy about Brandon joining. I mean, it's understandable. The fate of the world is in the hands of the Fellowship and now, they're essentially babysitting this strange teen-age boy in addition to saving Middle-earth. To add insult to injury, he isn't even going to Gondor. He's being taken to Edoras. Boromir probably doesn't like that at all either. But the fact that Boromir questioned Elrond's judgement is where things get dicey. You'd think that after thousands of years of dealing with the enemy, Elrond would know what he's doing. Well, he does. But Boromir doesn't think so.

Thanks for the review, and keep reading!

Reviewer: Lira_of_Imladris Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/02/09 - 02:37 am Title: The Journey Begins

YAY!!!! He's gone with the Fellowship! He is so totally lucky... He gets to hang out with Aragorn and *GANDALF*!! Good chapter too... I wonder how much trouble he'd get in for walking around Kansas City naked... :p Great job, very good to read too ^^ - Breia

Author's Response: Hmm...lucky? I don't know about that... he is trapped in a different world, and he's about to embark on a journey that will "kill" Gandalf and slay Boromir. Not to mention some possible temptation as the ring gets closer to Mordor...but I'll let you decide as I keep updating. I imagine he'd get in plenty of trouble for cruising around Kansas City without clothes. You know, disturbing the peace, lewdness, etc. Thank you for the reveiw!

Reviewer: Narya Signed [Report This]
Date: 13/02/09 - 11:05 am Title: Not in Kansas Anymore...

Hey again...sorry, I only just picked up on this, but I noticed this story is rated G. With the language Brandon's coming out with, I think it needs to be upped to either PG13 or R...I think I'd go with R, just to be on the safe side. I think Adora's general advice on this issue is to rate your story higher than it needs to be, rather than risk offending anyone.

This isn't to say I'm against strong language or anything - well, you're read my fics, you know I'm not! In fact, I think the story would be worse without it; it's in context and appropriate. You just need to warn people, that's all.

Take care,
Narya

Author's Response: Thanks Narya! I forgot about the rating...thank you thank you thank you.

Reviewer: Narya Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/02/09 - 08:02 pm Title: Not in Kansas Anymore...

Loving this, callerofcrows - hilarious and touching, and Brandon's really easy to identify with. Poor guy, I feel so sorry for him!

I've sent you an email with more detailed thoughts on the story, but I thought I'd leave you a review too, since I know how nice it is to get them :) keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thanks! I'm actually checking my email right now...and making the corrections! Thanks so much for being a wonderful Beta reader.

Reviewer: Dunedain ranger of the North Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/02/09 - 03:02 am Title: Not in Kansas Anymore...

Hey, you arent the only one who is cold! I live here in florida and for once, it had gotten down in the twenties one night! But, you have my sympathy as well, and resentment! You get to see snow when it gets this cold, all we get is frost! keep up the good work on the story!

Dune

Author's Response:

Snow is pretty, but it isn't all it's cracked up to be. School goes into late (and I mean very late) June, and my school has no air conditioning. We'd get out earlier, but can't because of snow days. The twenties are balmy for New England this time of year. But I know how you feel about the cold. Brrr. Keep warm, and when all else fails, laugh at the frost because it isn't snow.

Reviewer: Lira_of_Imladris Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/02/09 - 02:49 am Title: Leaving Imladris

lol, I like the last line. This is such a good story to read after a hot day at school... I hate having to walk home but anyway. Good story still and I can't wait to see Brandon out in the wilderness *with* the books ^^ That'll be funny... Anyway, have fun writing and whatever else you're doing - Breia

Author's Response:

I keep forgetting you're from Australia...it's really warm there now, but here in New England, there's snow everywhere and it's the coldest it's been all winter, haha. I'm glad my story is refreshing! I don't like walking home either. It's freezing here. Brandon in the wilderness will be intersting. It'll be interesting writing about his interactions with the Fellowship as well. You have fun doing what you're doing as well!

Reviewer: Dunedain ranger of the North Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/02/09 - 12:17 am Title: Leaving Imladris

Poor, Brandon, he really liked staying in Rivendell! I hope he likes journeying with the Fellowship! keep up the good work, mellon nin!

Dune

Author's Response: I don't know who wouldn't like staying in Rivendell, I imagine it's absolutely b-e-a-utiful. Journeying with the Fellowship is bound to be exciting and scary. I'm already plotting...mwahaha....thank you for the review!

Reviewer: Midnight Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/02/09 - 06:47 pm Title: Concerning Hobbits

Leave it to Pippin to want to know where the food is! I can't wait for more.

-Midnight

Author's Response:

*laughs* Well, Pippin is a hobbit, so he would naturally want to know where to find stuff to eat, haha.

More is on the way. I've been really busy as of late, so I haven't had time to write much.

Reviewer: Dunedain ranger of the North Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/02/09 - 04:17 pm Title: Concerning Hobbits

Uh, oh! Does this sound like a friendship brewing between Brandon and Merry and Pippin, not good! Not good at all! (laughs) just kidding. So Brandon has a crush on Arwen, now that is funny! This story is coming along great and I would like to continue reading it when its updated!

Dune

Author's Response:

Thank you very much! The three of them like eating, so I'm sure they'll get along fine.

I'm glad the story has held your interest, and I hope you continue to read it! Thanks again for the review!

Reviewer: ladygreensleeves Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/02/09 - 01:09 am Title: Concerning Hobbits

GLEE!! WRITE MORE!!! This is AMAZING!! I'd say that it's either neck-in-neck or surpasses "Story of Seven" *which you need to start over again*.
Keep up the good work, and I'll see you soon!

Author's Response:

I don't think I'll be able to continue with "Story of Seven". I know that you and Dad liked it a lot, but now that it's been deleted, I really don't remember how I wrote it and I can't bring back the original sound of the story. Seven sounds very different from how I remember him each time I try to start over. It makes me sad, but I can't do anything aside from move on. Maybe I'll try again some time in the future. I'll let you know if I do.

Thanks for the praise. It takes about two days to write a chapter for this story since it's so hard to stop telling Brandon's story! I'm more excited about this story than I've ever been about any other thing I've ever written in my entire life.

Can't wait to see you! Yay February break! GLEE!

Reviewer: Lira_of_Imladris Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/02/09 - 11:47 pm Title: Concerning Hobbits

Hehe, Merry and Pippin... And who was the elf? I bet it was ... Lindir! Lindir's cool... Can't wait for more. Ooh, and I love the bit with Brandon and Arwen, that's funny ^^ - Breia

Author's Response:

*laughs*The elf was just kind hanging out...he was more of an extra...but he can be Lindir if you want. Merry and Pippin are great. I was worried about the dialogue between them because it's really hard to talk like a hobbit after you've been talking like an elf for most of the story. I hope I was accurate enough with how I made them talk.

The scene between Brandon and Arwen was fun to write. Hehe..."eat the tasty food"...that made me laugh. I had that scene between Harry and Cho in the fourth book in my head when I wrote that.

Reviewer: Lira_of_Imladris Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/01/09 - 12:40 am Title: The Houses of Healing

Oh. My. God. This is amazing! I jsut read the whole thing and loved it! The language is amazing and ... This soooooooo going on my faves so that I can keep up with it!! Great job! - Breia

Author's Response: I feel honored!!! Thanks! I'm glad you like it!

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/01/09 - 05:29 am Title: Stuck

I do think Elrond would be able to read English...I think that English is the assumed common tongue in most stories including Tolkien's. Ah, I wish there was a way that I could ask Tolkien himself! Oh well. He'd probably flip out on reading some of these stories.

Tolkien was a linguist, he invented languages, fortunately you don't need to ask him, as he left a lifetime of work on Middle-earth.
The Common Tongue of Middle-earth was Westron.

Elrond would have known Westron, Sindarin Elvish and also the High Tongue ( Quenya ) although that was like Latin today and rarely used save in Valinor.

The one thing many Falls-into-Middle-earth writers don't explain is how some-one can communicate. Pink Siamese in Hobbitland is writing that her character did not understand the Fellowship, but gradually learned it, as Westron words had roots which were similar to Anglo-Saxon ( unlike for instance Chinese ).

Tolkien wrote in a letter to Walt Whitman,

"I would draw some of the great tales in fullness,
and leave many only placed in the scheme, and sketched.
The cycles should be linked to a majestic whole,
and yet leave scope for other minds and hands,
wielding paint and music and drama..."
-- J. R. R. Tolkien.


That sounds like an invitation to write fanfic. :)
Of course, he was assuming that ' other minds and hands ' would have read his work and play within ' the majestic whole ', not completely change it, as some people do who have not read his books. I can tell if some-one has read the books within about two paragraphs - unless it's movie-verse which I don't like as I much prefer the books.

Good luck!

Author's Response:

Oh, I see! I completely forgot about Westron! Now I feel stupid, haha.

I agree with you on the movie verse. The one thing I did like about the movies, however, was that it helped me to "see" some characters that I was having a hard time visualizing. For instance, I had no idea how to picture Lord Denethor, or even Grima Wormtongue.

Though there were descriptions of Icthellion and The Paths of the Dead, I had a hard time visualising them as well.

But still, the books are better. Much better.

Reviewer: ladygreensleeves Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/01/09 - 02:40 pm Title: Stuck

... You took the whole sleep crossover from Everworld, didn't you?! Tricksy tricksy! But good! Bravo! I can't wait to see what else happens to poor Brandon... he's so confused... gotta feel sorry for the guy!

Author's Response:

Actually, that hadn't even crossed my mind. Everworld and L.O.T.R are two completely seperate pieces of my brain. Next time I get ideas, I'll cross-reference them with my library and see if they're too repetitive.

Poor Brandon, yes. He has no clue as to what's going on.

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/01/09 - 10:30 am Title: Stuck

Brandon is rather clever, although he is still very realistically written as young and overwhelmed.

I like the fact that he began to check things out, Googling Imladris and then looking for the books. He may be young but he can still think quite clearly.

He also has the typical rashness of a young person in taking four sleeping tablets! O_o. If any-one took for of mine they would be out a good long time!

This made me smile, with ( very old ) memories.

Brandon wasn't the smartest, but he did know that if Elrond read the trilogy, history in Middle Earth could change for the better or for the worse in the blink of an eye.

"Knowledge may be power, but it can destroy people too," Brandon thought to himself.


I attempted a Tolkien fanfic about 18 years ago, but set in the Elder Days where the character was supposed to go back to the First Age and live through until the War of the Ring knowing everything, but unable to change anything. The OC took back a copy of the Silmarillion which she kept referring to, but knew no-one must see. I would agree, Elrond reading LOTR ( let's assume in some way he could read English ) could cause a paradox, or actually cause a complete F.U.B.A.R situation. Tampering with events causes all sorts of problems.

I am still impressed with your portrayal of Elrond, he seems more like the Elrond of the book than of the films, and I appreciate that a great deal. He is acting in with wisdom, caution and the experience borne of his long life.

Author's Response:

I was actually thinking about what I would do once I stopped panicking/rejoicing that I was in Middle Earth when I slept. I once had an especially cryptic dream, so I googled some of the different symbols and things mentioned in the dream. Of course, I wasn't worrying about my sanity or dealing with mysterious rope burn around my wrists and ankles...

I'm glad that my portrayal of Brandon is realistic enough!

I do think Elrond would be able to read English...I think that English is the assumed common tongue in most stories including Tolkien's. Ah, I wish there was a way that I could ask Tolkien himself! Oh well. He'd probably flip out on reading some of these stories. I think if he read Arwen's diaries he'd yell at me, haha.

I agree whole-heartedly with you say about Elrond finding out all this. I love that word, F.U.B.A.R...tampering with time and outcomes seems to be a problem.

Thanks for the praise on my portrayal of Elrond. I'm trying to keep him closer to the original book-type Elrond, and I'm so glad to hear that I'm succeeding! Thanks!

Keep Reading!

You must login (register) to review.