You must login (register) to review.
Title: Stuck Reviewer: ladygreensleeves Signed
... You took the whole sleep crossover from Everworld, didn't you?! Tricksy tricksy! But good! Bravo! I can't wait to see what else happens to poor Brandon... he's so confused... gotta feel sorry for the guy!

Author's Response:

Actually, that hadn't even crossed my mind. Everworld and L.O.T.R are two completely seperate pieces of my brain. Next time I get ideas, I'll cross-reference them with my library and see if they're too repetitive.

Poor Brandon, yes. He has no clue as to what's going on.

Date: Jan 27 2009 09:40 am [Report This]
Title: Stuck Reviewer: xFanarix Signed
Brandon is rather clever, although he is still very realistically written as young and overwhelmed.

I like the fact that he began to check things out, Googling Imladris and then looking for the books. He may be young but he can still think quite clearly.

He also has the typical rashness of a young person in taking four sleeping tablets! O_o. If any-one took for of mine they would be out a good long time!

This made me smile, with ( very old ) memories.

Brandon wasn't the smartest, but he did know that if Elrond read the trilogy, history in Middle Earth could change for the better or for the worse in the blink of an eye.

"Knowledge may be power, but it can destroy people too," Brandon thought to himself.

I attempted a Tolkien fanfic about 18 years ago, but set in the Elder Days where the character was supposed to go back to the First Age and live through until the War of the Ring knowing everything, but unable to change anything. The OC took back a copy of the Silmarillion which she kept referring to, but knew no-one must see. I would agree, Elrond reading LOTR ( let's assume in some way he could read English ) could cause a paradox, or actually cause a complete F.U.B.A.R situation. Tampering with events causes all sorts of problems.

I am still impressed with your portrayal of Elrond, he seems more like the Elrond of the book than of the films, and I appreciate that a great deal. He is acting in with wisdom, caution and the experience borne of his long life.

Author's Response:

I was actually thinking about what I would do once I stopped panicking/rejoicing that I was in Middle Earth when I slept. I once had an especially cryptic dream, so I googled some of the different symbols and things mentioned in the dream. Of course, I wasn't worrying about my sanity or dealing with mysterious rope burn around my wrists and ankles...

I'm glad that my portrayal of Brandon is realistic enough!

I do think Elrond would be able to read English...I think that English is the assumed common tongue in most stories including Tolkien's. Ah, I wish there was a way that I could ask Tolkien himself! Oh well. He'd probably flip out on reading some of these stories. I think if he read Arwen's diaries he'd yell at me, haha.

I agree whole-heartedly with you say about Elrond finding out all this. I love that word, F.U.B.A.R...tampering with time and outcomes seems to be a problem.

Thanks for the praise on my portrayal of Elrond. I'm trying to keep him closer to the original book-type Elrond, and I'm so glad to hear that I'm succeeding! Thanks!

Keep Reading!

Date: Jan 27 2009 05:30 am [Report This]
Title: Stuck Reviewer: Ar-feiniel Signed
Things are getting very interesting! Keep it up!


Author's Response: Thanks! I will!
Date: Jan 26 2009 02:18 pm [Report This]
Title: Elrond Reviewer: xFanarix Signed
I like your characterization of Elrond. I found this very authentic again. Elrond and Vilya kept Imladris a haven from evil for thousands of years, and would doubtless be cautious at some-one appearing unheralded on their borders. They did, of course, know the Dúnadain, who were Men.

Reflected in the mirror were signs of a rope burn around his wrists.

Oh pants, a cliffie!
Very good! :)

Author's Response: Thank you again for the praise! I hold your reviews in very very very high esteem :)
Date: Jan 26 2009 09:11 am [Report This]
Title: Elrond Reviewer: Dunedain ranger of the North Signed
I am interested, my friend. Please do continue!

Author's Response: I do plan to continue the story! Thank you for the review!
Date: Jan 26 2009 06:06 am [Report This]
Title: Not in Kansas Anymore... Reviewer: ladygreensleeves Signed

Author's Response: Ok!
Date: Jan 25 2009 01:43 pm [Report This]
Title: Not in Kansas Anymore... Reviewer: Ar-feiniel Signed
I think you should keep this story – it is a very good start.
I thought the beginning was well written. You gave the description of Brandon awaking this eerie effect – which was cool.
I liked his reactions -- and his fear is remarkable. I honestly felt scared with him and feared for him. Fear *is* a funny thing. I completely agree – “it dulls the mind, but sharpens the senses”. I wonder why… *shrugs*
I loved the encounter with Elves – I thought that was real, as opposed to other stories where the Tenth-walker is immediately accepted into Imladris. And I like how Brandon compares the Elf to an Alien. I would too if I had never seen LotR.
Overall, very, very good job; Keep writing!


Author's Response: Thanks, I will!
Date: Jan 25 2009 08:24 am [Report This]
Title: Not in Kansas Anymore... Reviewer: xFanarix Signed
Hmm, you know, I like this. Your writing style is also very good. :) I think the reaction of the Imladrian Elves is authentic, having looked at way too many stories where the girl who falls into Middle-earth is immediately accepted like the reincarnation of Lúthien.

I would like to read a mature, well written story of a guy in Middle-earth. ( Actually I'd like to read a story of a soldier in the SAS joining the Fellowship, but unless Andy McNab - Who was in the SAS and wrote Bravo Two Zero - writes it, I doubt I will see one d;-)

I wouldn't give up on it, although there are so many falls-into-Middle-earth - out there, that does not mean you cannot write a good one. In fact if there were more well written ones they wouldn't have such a bad name. Pink Siamese's, Hobbitland is the only one I have read which I like so far, but Pink could write about a teabag and make it enthralling.

So well done, if I were you, keep going, if you carry on this way it will be very good :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much!
Date: Jan 25 2009 08:13 am [Report This]
Title: Not in Kansas Anymore... Reviewer: Midnight Signed
This is really great! The fear from Brandon, reminds me of many dreams I have had of my own, only his is not a dream.
I wish you good writing.
-Midnight §

Author's Response: It may be a dream...or it may not. Thanks for the well wishing, and I hope you keep reading!
Date: Jan 24 2009 07:19 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.