Reviews For The Ottyssey
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Ar-feiniel Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/02/09 - 11:09 pm Title: Raise Hands: Who Else Has Days Like This?

It’s okay, Kitt. Your secret is safe with me. *Winks knowingly*

Ah, yes, Anaikan. *Squeals girly, until she coughs* Sorry, I don’t do that often. (Actually, this is the first time I’ve done it since I last watched LotR. Elvish princes. *Grins sheepishly*) Wow. I just noticed something. It seems that I have a bit of a fancy for characters with one hand.

So Kitt,… I asked my German teacher what ‘doom’ was in German (To make sure we’re saying right and all of that) and, apparently, there is no such word as ‘doom’ in German. She even pulled out a German-English dictionary and still couldn’t find it. I don’t know what we’ve been saying…

Curiosity ruling me out, I went home and I retyped “SCHICKSAL” into the German-English translator and “SCHICKSAL” means “FATE”. Hmm…

Yeah, having color changing eyes would be amazing.

*Eyes turn red* I HAVE COME TO SUCK YOUR BLOOD!
*Eyes turn gold* I feel very…. protective, of you… Bella.
*Eyes turn black* GET BACK TO YOUR WORK! *Glares Kitt’s brothers down*
*Eyes turn silver* Tee hee! I’ma Feanorian now! *Gets glared down by the Feanorians*
*Eyes turn pink* Wtf?*
*Eyes turn purple* Ultraviolet!
*Eyes turn blue* Le ab-dollas.
*Eyes turn brown* Aw, I’m me again!

(*In my “Wtf” the “f” means, “freak”. I don’t curse.)

Elë! FANTASTICAL story Kitt! The only exciting thing that happened to me today adventure-wise was, uh, well, nothing. I got to play with fire in Science?

Nope, never seen it. I’ll keep an eye open for it, if I get a chance.

Yeah! I saw that movie! My Ada put it on and made Van and I guess who the Actor was way back when Van and I were first getting into Star Wars. I guessed right! Qui-Gon! I was like, “It’s – it’s – it’s – uh – uh – QUI-GON!” Liam is great in that! He gets to be, er, Batman’s mentor. He’s not in it for long, though…

Hey, hey, if Orli can fake an Irish accent in Ned Kelley (which is rather hilarious), Liam could TOTALLY bring on the Kentucky accent. Hands down.

Oh, wait, I just looked ‘doom’ up in a thesaurus and a synonym for it is FATE. Never mind then… we can keep saying SCHICKSAL!

SCHICKSAL!

Fei.

Author's Response: Oh my! My Ada did the same thing before we watched Les Miserables. We tried guessing the actor for about five minutes… Bro1: “Merry?” Bro3: “Anakin!” Me: “Boo!” Bro4: “C3PO!!!” Bro2: “Pippin.” Me: “Uh, Captain Picard?” Bro3: “I give UP!” Ada: “Qui-Gon.” Us: “Ohhhhh.” That shamed me. Well, I have some excuse - at the beginning thing of the DVD, Liam hadn’t a beard and his hair was short and wavy. Ok, yeah, Liam shouldn’t have trouble with the accent. *double takes* You’re right! There’s something with the one-handed fellows and you, Fei. (um, how’re you and Luke, then, then? Hey, Grant had an uber-wise saying about why he didn’t cuss and, and… I can’t remember it. I don’t either, really, I’ll say “bother” and “holy shoes”. Once we watched RotK, I interposed “Holy shoes” into somewhat inappropriate times, which was somehow funny. (Gandalf looking out from Minas Tirith wall: “Hoooly Shoes.” Frodo and Sam looking at Cirith Ungul: “Hoooly Shoes.” ) Ach, ja, I forgot the literal meaning of SCHICKSAL. But… no one’s gonna stop us from using it that way… *grinning in way that would have German teachers pulling out their hair* Schicksal, schicksal, SCHICKSAL… heehee… -Kitt

Reviewer: Ar-feiniel Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/02/09 - 08:34 pm Title: Raise Hands: Who Else Has Days Like This?

Okay, okay. *Hangs head* I’m won’t say, “I’m lame” ever again. Es tut mir leid. And if I do, slap me on the wrist.

Ja, my Ada said that too! That’s a nice quote; Lincoln really said that? *Eyes widen* You, Kitt Middle Name Otter, likes a man who drinks a little?! Whoa. Didn’t see that coming. Pinch me. I think I’m dreaming.

Nein, nein, thanks for the History Lesson. That saves me from the Wikipedia search that I was going to do on Grant. So, thank you. I don’t know much about U.S. Presidents’ other then a few fun facts on Hamilton (wait, I thought he wasn’t a president. Wasn’t he born on some island near, uh, … in the Caribbean? He went up against, Jefferson… and lost, right?) Well, anyway, my Fun Fact is that I remember, last year, from my “History Alive!” textbook, reading that whenever Hamilton was angry… his eyes turned black. But my Ada and Van doubt that. *Raises arms defensively* Hey, I didn’t write it – I read it. >_>

Oh, well, isn’t everything just dandy then? Liam gets to be Lincoln. Wow. Talk about sheer luck there, Kitt. I’ve always loved Qui-Gon, but, *grins sheepishly* I like me some Anikan in Revenge of the Sith. Tee hee.

*Chuckles* Yup. Jar Jar was a hoot!

*Serious hysterical laughter* Oh, Valar, Kitt. Dorey, singing, “Just Keep Swimming”, auf Deutsch, *Tries to imagine, falls out of her chair and rolls on the ground laughing, hits head on nearby laundry basket* MY HEAD! *Laughs more* OW, MY STOMACH HURTS NOOOOW!

Can’t promise anything on Grant and whiskey. *Grins devilishly*

Aw, I’ve done that! I can’t remember who I called power from, I just remember rubbing it in Van’s face when I *finally* outwitted him! I even did a victory dance! But, then again, every time I lose (when my Elves die), he says, “Not so immortal now, huh? MUAHAHAHA!” Brothers.

Huh, I never thought if Big Foot like that. I kinda categorized him as, “A being of his own”.

*Sees Kitt walking up, with her net threadbare, knees scraped, hair matted, face mud-caked, and clothes dripping wet* So…. was your tophant “Search Check” eventful?

SCHICKSAL!

Fei.

Author's Response: Did I say I like a man who DRinks a little… erm, I meant THinks a little, uh… *takes out big eraser and tries to rub it out* I just won’t let my Nana see that. Teehee… Revenge of Sith Anakin! Yes! I know, Fei! (When he had all his limbs still, anyway). Mmm, I remember, Hamilton fought some silly dual against some other important guy. I really don’t have a very good memory for history before 1850 or past 1870, unless it be in the 1st or 3rd Age. Well! I never heard that Hamilton had such gifted eyeballs. I think I believe it: he was impulsive and just may have perfected the Evil Eye. (I wish I could turn my eyes black. *pouts* How much easier it would be to coerce the boys to get their chores done! Ach, Brüder!) Right, my tophant quest. So, I thought the most obvious place to start was by water, since even tophants gotta drink. I didn’t walk far before I sunk waste-high in mud. Suddenly one, two, three, twelve figures emerged from the trees. I was so happy, I thought it was Thorin’s Company without Thorin coming to rescue me. But it wasn’t. Just 12 ravenous deer. I fought them back for a small while with the net, till the biggest one took a big bite out of it… I scrambled out of the mud, toward the nearest road. I just crossed it. They stood on the other side, glaring, I stuck out my tongue… and fell backwards into a ditch, which was about, oh, a 20 feet drop. I landed on something springy: a Giant Spider’s web, wouldn’t you believe it. Lucky I had bug spray – still it was a Mordorific time getting out of there. Then I was ambushed by chickens. Well, I made it back home, you see, but I never saw a single tophant. *sighs and chisels mud off glasses* Ooh, Liam’s… so cool. I saw him recently in “Les Miserables” and he was amazing. (Ever seen it, Fei? It’s a remake of some older version, which in turn was from a Victor Hugo novel, which I’ve sadly never read.) I only just heard from my nearest-to-my-age brother (and this shocked me because I thought he was even more ignorant in modern culture than I was) that he was in some Batman movie. Huh! I typically don’t like superheroes but if Liam was in it… *inches over to movie rental rack* We both agreed Liam’s got this gentle but powerful persona that would make him PERFECT for Lincoln, even if he’ll need a major makeup job to look him. And however he will pull off a Kentucky accent with his Irish one leaves me in suspense. Willst du SCHICKSAL mit das? ; )

Reviewer: Dunedain ranger of the North Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/02/09 - 05:01 pm Title: Raise Hands: Who Else Has Days Like This?

Hey, I didn't know it was General Ulysses S Grants birthday! Oh yah, Kitt, when my dad was in the navy he was on a submarine, and-guess what-it was called the USS Grant! talk about coincidence! Keep up the good work on the story!

Dune

Author's Response: Awesome! He was on a submarine? My grandpa during WW2 was on the battleship Champaign, which isn’t quite as cool a name as USS Grant... I've been inside submarines in museums and in Charleston, SC. Talk about claustrophobic! But those were older types; I guess the more modern subs aren't as crowded as the WW2 ones? -Kitt : )

Reviewer: Ar-feiniel Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/02/09 - 03:43 pm Title: Raise Hands: Who Else Has Days Like This?

Well, of course it’s totally lame. I just learned what “Grüß Gott” means.

*Laughs* Watching LotR auf Deutsch would be hilariously interesting. I remember Van and my Ada watched SW I: The Phantom Menace in Spanish. The droid voice-over guy saying “Roger, roger” in Español was soooo funny! I laughed so hard, I fell off the couch. Oh no, Kitt, I would die of hysterical laughter of Elrond said, “SCHICKSAL!”

Uh, I asked my Ada if Grant was a good or bad president and he said that he didn’t really do anything and was a bit of a drunk. *Shrugs*

Yeah, you told me that your brothers had Grant doll vs. (I think) Lincoln doll face offs and I said I’m going to have my Will Turned and Legolas dolls beat each other down. Remember, when I got Will for Christmas as a joke from Melda?

Wow, that’s awesome! Maybe I should borrow your Grant doll to help with tactical moves when I play LotR Cards with Van and Ada later. ;)

You know, the world may never know what a ‘tophant’ is. Or, rather, *we* may never know.

Fei.

Author's Response: : Nein, no, not lame! Sagst du es nicht wieder, oder… I’ll, uh, make my chickens dance. Hehehe, yes Grant drunk some. My brothers said the same thing "he liked his whiskey too much" - well, I sniffed, he did have a stressful job. But the reports of his drunkeness were spread mainly by rival generals who tried to discredit him before Lincoln. There's a story that Lincoln replied to these rumors with (I don't have the exact quote with me and its cleverer than I can resay it) that Grant was the only one who was winning battles for the Union and "whatever whisky he has, let it be distributed to the other generals." *coughs and grins* I do like a man who drinks a little. Grant's accomplishments were overshadowed by the scandals of his appointed staff, who took advantage of his honesty and ignorance in politics. He did see the country through a rough time, the Reconstruction and all that. He just trusted too many people who took advantage of him for their own gain and, well, history makes his presidency look tainted because of that. Whew, sorry for a history lesson. Spanish Phantom Menace sounds hilarious! I gotta rent that. (I've had biggest crush on Qui-Gon Jinn for years. *sighs dreamily* Why, his actor is even going to play Lincoln in some upcoming movie appropriately titled "Lincoln"). Was Jar Jar, uh, really, really annoying? I watched some of Finding Nemo in German and their voices were so... throaty. I think my mouth was hanging open half the time. The best part was when Dory sung "just keep swimming...". Oh, yes, I remember Will and Legolas' standoff! : ) Go right ahead! Just don't let Grant anywhere near whiskey. Saturday we were playing poker (we don't really know the rules and we bet with Monopoly money, but its fun; we talk philosophy) and I called upon the power of Ulmo and won that round. Mwahaha! It was also that night that we all decided Big Foot is definitely a Mountain Troll. Most definitely. I've got a few LotR cards, but I don't play, I just like to look at them. By happy fortune, I've more Legolas ones than any other. Well, *checks clock and takes out a net* I'm going to go search for a tophant. If I see anything I will report back... -Kitt : )

Reviewer: Ar-feiniel Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/02/09 - 07:11 pm Title: Raise Hands: Who Else Has Days Like This?

I’m so lame… I had to type ‘doom’ into an English-German translator.

*Avoids randomly hurled rotten tomatoes*

Er… ‘doom’ auf deutsch ist ‘Schicksal’

*Hangs head in shame*

Oh, so your not drawing morbid suns burning people alive anymore? Well, I’d respond to your drawing dancing stick figures with tophants by saying “awesome!” but, uh, I don’t know what a ‘tophant’ is.

Shame on you, Nick! *Glares Kitt’s second-youngest-of-four-brothers down*

Hey, I’ve got a Fun Fact: Ulysses S. Grant has the same Birthday as me! That’s just about everything I know about him -- other than the fact that he was a president. Yup.

So, uh, SCHICKSAL!

Fei.

Author's Response: That’s not lame! *catches tomatoes and tosses them to chickens* I looked it up about 5 times and couldn’t remember it! SCHICKSAL is so not as catchy as DOOM, though. Hey, it would be fun to watch the Deutscher LotR and listen to Elrond’s schicksal’s; my cousin (who was conveniently in Germany at the time) saw RotK a few days after it first came out. Man, I was jealous. Even in English I hadn’t seen it yet. Awesome birthday! I like Grant. He was so modest but persistent. (That and Lincoln like him. Oh, and he promoted my other favorite Union general, Joshua Chamberlain, to generalhood. And he was born in Ohio like me. Wee!) I think I told you my 3rd-to-last youngest brother has a Grant doll, who has about 25 talking phrases. We were playing a casino computer game at our grandparents’ and before our every move, we asked for his advice. This consisted of “The Mexican War was a result of… something, something” or “I propose to fight it out on this line if it takes all summer”. And following his sage words we made 65 million out of our starting 100 dollars, heehee. Um, not that we plan on being professional gamblers… *ahems embarrassedly* I was a little too late for Lincoln’s and too early for Washington’s birthdays. Actually, I should have been born just about on Orli’s. Just ugh. I usually reserve the suns for when I’m waiting in restaurants. (I always wonder what the waitresses think of it. Hmm.) I WOULD like to know what a tophant is. : D -Kitt

Reviewer: Ar-feiniel Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/02/09 - 01:31 pm Title: Important Stuff Happens Here

*Laughs too hard to respond*

*Coughs laughter down* I know! I wrote Abe Lincoln’s Birthday down in my planer! Just for you, Kitt.

DOOM, DOOM, DOOM!

Fei.

Author's Response: *laughing crazily right back* COOL! I drew dancing stick figures with tophats in my planner. And then Harry and Don in 1800’s clothes with Don saying “I gonna be president.” *shrugs* I was bored. Heh, I asked Nick, (second youngest of four brothers) whose birthday it was next week. He thought it was mine! Supreme outrage, that was. I made him wash the chicky eggs. The other three knew, at least - though it was a group effort. *shakes head sadly* Was ist DOOM auf Deutsch? I can't remember. Ah, well. DOOM! :D -Kitt

Reviewer: Ar-feiniel Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/02/09 - 06:55 pm Title: Important Stuff Happens Here

Huh, I haven’t really given much thought on what Galdor might look like. I kinda pictured him as a blonde, but that’s just me. With your description he sounds hot. *Looks at keyboard* Okay, why have I begun to drool? *Shakes head*

If I were at the Council of Elrond, I would count how many times Elrond said DOOM!

Bilbo’s always talking about food, isn’t he?

*Hands Camera* This is for capturing the Fair Elvish Face in Distress!

Well, anyway, very nice! Very funny, can’t wait for the next chapter!

Fei.

Author's Response: Neither did I think much about Galdor’s looks till… yesterday. And then… *shuts mouth before more drool can escape.* Cool! A camera! *Spins in chair with it on. Then watches the playback and starts to feel queasy.* Oh. I should have eaten that cake. Yeah, I’ll try to capture Leg’s Distress Face and send you copy. Counting the DOOMs! I should have thought of that! *sudden epiphany* Hey, Elrond does say that a lot, doesn’t he? It’s almost like a lisp. “Welcome DOOM to Rivendell Master DOOM Baggins.” Now I’ll probably think about that every time I watch LotR, instead of about his eyebrows. : ) There’s something else I needed to say. Right! I was going to tell everyone I meet that Abraham Lincoln’s birthday is Thursday! YAY!!!! Everyone’s gotta be happy (or else). *rounds on Círdan and pokes him into happiness* Dank schon! -Kitt : D

Reviewer: meerkatalex Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/02/09 - 11:49 am Title: Important Stuff Happens Here

Such a great start to your answering of the challenge! I love the way you were brought into Middle-Earth, and that Frodo found you. I also love it that you want to hang around with Legolas, (who wouldn't? *grins* ) but you're stuck with the Ring-Bearer! Tee hee! I think it's very, very, very, sad that Frodo sent Sam away - although I do love your frequent references to Gandalf's bad breath! It's brilliant! Anyways, brilliant story, please continue with it, as its' a wicked challenge and there are some great responses so far! Keep up the good work! :-)

meerkatalex

Author's Response: Thanks for taking a look at this! But yours is way nicer, though. So far no cruel Hobbits! : ) *sniffles* It is very sad about Sam. Stupid Frodo! I like Gandalf’s bad breath too. Uh, the mentioning of it, not the smell. Really, he never looked very hygienic to me, especially when nose-to-nose with Saruman the Prissy. *giggles tipsily* Ah, yes, Legolas… he doesn’t smell bad, at any rate… : D

Reviewer: Dunedain ranger of the North Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/02/09 - 11:46 am Title: Important Stuff Happens Here

Ok, when you said Humorous, I thought a little, but wow! This is alot! Poor Sam, I hope he still comes after Frodo! Nice job and keep up the good work

Dune

Author's Response: I do feel sooo guilty about Sam. (Heehee; yes, he may just come after Sam. But that’s supposed to be an unguessable secret). Wow, you still think it’s funny? *claps hands* Because I thought I was a little overblown. I’ll keep going to the end. It’s weird (for me), but I actually know how I’m going to end this… so filling in the blanks shouldn’t be TOO tough. Thanks again for the idea! : )

Reviewer: Narya Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/02/09 - 10:59 pm Title: Raise Hands: Who Else Has Days Like This?

Oh cute! Nice work; I love otters, and Frodo's temper tantrum was funny :)

Author's Response: Yay! More otter lovers exist in the world! Glad you liked it. That will not be Frodo's first tantrum, I'm afraid... : D -Kitt

Reviewer: Traveller Signed [Report This]
Date: 31/01/09 - 10:40 pm Title: Raise Hands: Who Else Has Days Like This?

Cute story! I really like the way you got turned into the otter. My chemistry teacher brought a voltometer to class one time and two of the more rambunctious boys in my class put their tongues on it repeatedly. It was absolutely HILARIOUS to watch, and my teacher probably laughed the hardest- he's pretty much the most awesome teacher ever! I should tell the boys to watch out, because they might get turned into small, fuzzy mammals! Also, I went with a summer academic program to Grandfather Mountain, and we got a behind-the-scenes tour of the zoo there, and we got to see the otters close up! They were SO cute. We wanted to pet them, but apparently they bite. Do you bite? :) I can't wait to read more!

-Traveller

Author's Response: Lucky! Man, I want so bad to see an otter... my parents think I'm crazy for it, I mean, it's a long jump from my old favorite animal, lions... The otters bite? But they ARE so cute on TV and in pictures. (Heh, I don't bite often.) That's funny about the voltmeter! And the boys didn't blow up? My physics professors are pretty cool, The one I wrote about here is real. Very smart and very nice, though with his chinese accent I can't always understand what he's saying. : ) Thanks your comments!!! -Kitt : D

Reviewer: Ar-feiniel Signed [Report This]
Date: 31/01/09 - 01:05 am Title: Raise Hands: Who Else Has Days Like This?

Hey, that just gave me an idea for the new title of “Broken”! “Alice in… Strangeland”, “Alice in Fifth-Age-Land”, “Alice in No-Hot-Elves-Land”, “Alice in Dwarfland”… (Wow those where terrible.)

Nice drawings! I remember, last year in school, I used a black marker to draw an evil vampire smiley face (which I called George) on my right pointer finger. Then, after touching a few pieces of paper with the wet ink, I realized that “George” was appearing on corners my classwork and test papers. Fascinated, I re-drew George over himself and pressed my finger to my wrist. When the faded imprint on an evil smiley face flashing his fangs grinned back at me, I knew that I started a trend for the next two days among my fellow classmates. A girl who sat near me saw this and made a “George” of her own. We started stamping our wrists and forearms with “Georges”. Soon this spread to others, for we stared stamping them. Since “George” was a vampire-smiley, even time we stamped someone else, we would exclaim, “Ha! George bit you!” And when people in different classes asked me why my arms were covered by evil vampire-smiles… I shrugged and said, “George was thirsty.”…

Actually, I am seriously considering doing a response to this challenge… I just have to do a bit of researching before I start writing it (Grr…). So, don’t expect anything too soon.

Fei.

Reviewer: MorGwir Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/01/09 - 07:37 pm Title: Raise Hands: Who Else Has Days Like This?

lol very weird but yet amusing at the same time. well done I look forward to reading the next chapter.

Author's Response: Glad you think it’s weird (and amusing)! I hope I’ll get around to finishing the next chapter soon, but with homework to deal with, only the Valar know. : )

Reviewer: Ar-feiniel Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/01/09 - 06:51 pm Title: Raise Hands: Who Else Has Days Like This?

Ausgezeichnet start, Kitt! I loved these lines – “I had succeeded in drawing an evil smiley face and writing Maedhros Fëanorion fifteen times.” - (I’ve done that before) and, “A-n otter. So…So… CUTE!” (That sounds like something a comatose Frodo would say) *Laughs* I was going to respond to this challenge, but you bet me to it! I’m glad you did, because I wouldn’t have come up with anything as brilliant and humorous as this.

Fei.

P.S. Nice title!

Author's Response: Title came from five nights of too little sleep. Ich dachte auch an “The Otter who Could” oder “Otter in Wonderland” all kind very lame, I won’t deny… *nods, trying to hide laugh* Definitely Frodo can’t be as cured as he has convinced himself he is. I don’t write Maedhros Feanorian *quite* as much as I doodle evil smiley faces. Well, actually, they’re evil smiley sun faces, with sunglasses and horrible spouts of fire that rain down on people. Morbid, I know! You could still respond, Fei. You’re always so original and *nudge, nudge*I’d love to see what you’d come up with! Danke, danke, danke!

Reviewer: Dunedain ranger of the North Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/01/09 - 02:18 pm Title: Raise Hands: Who Else Has Days Like This?

Oh, hey, I also forgot to mention that I have seen a real live, wild, river otter! No lie! I was boating with my grandparents down a canal in Florida, and an otter jumped and dove back into the water, I wont lie and say it didn't surprise me, I screamed(Kinda wierd for a guy, but, hey, I was freaked out!), it then came back to the surface and swam with its head above the water! I really like it that you decided to use your favorite animal character in this story!
Thanks again for accepting my challenge!

D.R.O.T.N.

P.S.: if it is easier, call me Dune

Author's Response: : Oh my gosh, Dune! I'm so jealous! All the times I ever went to a zoo, they either had no otters or the otter exhibit was closed. I live by a creek and my brothers were swearing they saw some sort of mammal in it. I was so excited... I went out every day looking for it... if it was an otter, I was just going to die. And then what? I finally caught a glimpse of it: brown, furry, but the tail... was a rat's. It was a water rat. MAJOR disappointment. Where I live all otters are supposedly wiped out since the 1800's. Hmm. Well, thanks so much for reading – and coming up with the idea in the first place! : D

Reviewer: Karlmir Stonewain Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/01/09 - 01:03 pm Title: Raise Hands: Who Else Has Days Like This?

This is great! At first, I thought you misspelled odyssey, then I got to the part about your being transformed into an otter and also your pen name. Good one, Kitt!

Author's Response: Ah, I can spel. : P I like puns almost as much as water-weasels; I couldn’t pass the title up. Thank-you!

Reviewer: Dunedain ranger of the North Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/01/09 - 12:37 pm Title: Raise Hands: Who Else Has Days Like This?

Good! I like it, Kitt. I can't wait to read more! Thanks for doing my challenge!
D.R.O.T.N.

You must login (register) to review.