Reviews For Second Chance
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: django Signed [Report This]
Date: 16/01/14 - 06:17 am Title: Prologue

FollowingCoach Outlet Online“The Big Short”, and again exercisingCoach Outlet his twin passions for high financeCoach Factory Outletand human folly, Michael Lewis Coach Factory Outletshifts his focus from America toCoach Outlet Storeis drawn to the surreal and uncanny,Coach Outlet Store Onlineblooming on the fringes of ordinaryCoach Outlet lives “like growths of mold”. HisCoach Factory Onlinetitle story is narrated by a ghost Coach Factory Outlet who, yearning for companionship, Coach Outletbreaks the heart of a lonely teacher.Coach Factory OutletAnother, the inspiration for the filmCoach Outlet“The Illusionist”, follows a magicianCoach Outlet Storeso good at creating illusions that Coach Outlet Store Onlinehe becomes, himself, illusory. In Coach Outlet Onlinea third, a giant shopping mallTrue Religion Jeans seduces, then enslaves, an entireTrue Religion Outlettown. Behind his courteous prose,True ReligionMillhauser seems to be holding somethingMichael Kors Outlet Onlineback, like a doctor soft-pedalling Michael Handbags Outleton grim FINANC Boomerang by MichaelMichael Kors Outlet Store OnlineLewis (Allen Lane, hardback, out now).Michael Kors Outlet StoresEurope on a hilarious journey of Chanel Outlet Online“financial-disaster tourism” throughLouis Vuitton Outletthe countries that gorged most grosslyLouis Vuitton Handbagsthrough the

Reviewer: Ndil Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/08/11 - 11:01 am Title: Epilogue

I've been out of fanfiction for a while, but I am so glad I found this story again! It's one of my all time favourites, but evenso I had forgotten how good it really was. Now I remember. Thank you for writing it.

Reviewer: Cluck Girl Signed [Report This]
Date: 26/04/10 - 06:54 pm Title: Prologue

An absolutely wonderful story. The way you write is breathtaking and, however cliche it sounds, leaves me longing for more. I'm looking forward to any future writing of yours.

Author's Response: *Blushes* thank you - I'm just glad you've enjoyed it! I have a drabble posted that also slots into this storyverse, and there's a fair bit more to come. Thanks again, take care!

Reviewer: tinara Signed [Report This]
Date: 19/04/10 - 07:11 am Title: Epilogue

A great story and a very satisfying ending in-between. It's good to see everything more or less sorted out.
I very much liked the changes Beomia went through, I'm sure the mature young woman she is now will live very happily together with Aiken (although I'm still regretting a little bit that there's no chance for Eothain and her ;-)).
Tinara

Author's Response: Ah, I'm planning a gapfiller about Eothain :-) I feel he deserves it! Thank you so much for following this all the way through; I've really appreciated the reviews and support. Take care.

Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/04/10 - 11:49 am Title: Epilogue

Wow...what a spectacular story this was. Can't wait until it picks up again! I really loved the description of the sunset. I could almost see the scene between Derry and Anna playing out, almost like it was a movie. You've got a powerful way with the english language.

To make a long story short, (no pun intended,) this entire story was awesome sauce. Congrats on finishing, and good luck with school, exams, and everything. You'll do amazing. :)



Author's Response: Oh, that's a review to die for!! Thank you so much, and thanks for following this story all the way through; couldn't have done it without you guys!

Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/04/10 - 11:45 am Title: A View From The Hill

Absolutely gorgeous. I loved seeing things from Annis's point of view. It was wonderful. And the fact that Aiken's father died brings a strange sort of closure. I'm glad that his dad is dead. He wasn't a nice guy. And I'm equally happy that Beomia is certain that her future is a happy one. A strangely optimistic chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you, caller! That was the idea, end on an optimistic note (well, not quite end, but it's an ending for these characters for the time being).

Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/04/10 - 05:26 am Title: Epilogue

Nice ending, Narya - with the promise of more to come. Congratulations on finishing. :)

Author's Response: Thank you!! And thanks again for all the feedback, support and encouragement - you've been truly fantastic :)

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 16/04/10 - 06:57 pm Title: Epilogue

It really is hard to be sad about Aiken's father's death. But it’s good to see that with or without the shadow of Aiken’s father, Beomia is truly determined to marry Aiken. I mean, at least her decision hadn’t just been her fancying becoming a martyr.
Aiken’s "Bee" was sweet... coming from him sounds right.

Ah, Eothain just never fails to be awesome. :)

Wonderful that we got to take a quick dip into Annis' head - and got a look at Anna and Derry as well before the end. I eagerly wait for more works from this storyverse.

Till then... Good luck on your exams! ^^

Author's Response: Thanks, Kitt :) I may well need it! Glad you've enjoyed it, and thank you so much for all your lovely reviews. Take care.

Reviewer: tinara Signed [Report This]
Date: 16/04/10 - 01:06 pm Title: Ages Old

Really nice - it just gives that warm feeling reading about how everything is now going well for Anna and Derry.
And yes, I had suspected that it might be Gandalf who is still meddling :-)But it's nice to see it confirmed.
So I hope there will be some kind of contact between Anna and Beomia before the end? Would be great to have an update soon!
Tinara

Author's Response: Before the end of the series, certainly...but not before the end of this book. Sorry!! Have to save some things for the sequel ;) thank you, as ever, for your continued support and feedback.

Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/04/10 - 10:50 pm Title: Ages Old

GAAAH! I KNEW IT WAS HIM! It was either that or Tom Bombadil, which would've been interesting too :)

Love this chapter. So. Much. Is Proust ever going to explain how he got here? That'd be super interesting! :D



Author's Response: Yes, you'll find out :) but not until the sequel! (I seem to be saying that in a lot of responses recently...) Thanks for R&Ring :) interesting that you thought Bombadil - that one never crossed my mind, though you're right, it would have been interesting!

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/04/10 - 06:49 pm Title: Ages Old

I agree with Derry's last statement there! How perfect! I liked the teasing quote.
I just wish he were my teacher.:P
Too bad Derry wouldn't stay... ah well. Oo! I wonder what the private lessons are going to consist of. :)

Author's Response: Hey Kitt! Sorry for the failure to respond earlier. Well, there's still plenty to find out - what Gandalf is doing still around, how and why souls from this world can move between here and Middle-earth...and a few other things. Proust, in true mentor style, is going to be prodding Anna and Derry in the right direction - but not until the sequel I'm afraid to say :D thanks for R&Ring, as always!

Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/04/10 - 12:59 pm Title: Ages Old

super couple of chapters, Narya.

The deepening relationship between Derry and Anna is beautifully and realistically written, and the end of this chapter; I had three people in mind, C.S Lewis, Tolkien himself (being some kind of Maia, which some people surely think he is when it comes to the canon, lol!) or Gandalf. :)

Author's Response: Thank you!! :) Yeah, a few people said he seemed Istari-like, but it's what I've had planned for ages and I wasn't about to start chopping and changing just to cause a shock. I know you're really busy right now, so I appreciate you taking the time to R&R!

Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/04/10 - 10:27 pm Title: Prologue

An absolutely wonderful chapter, as usual! Loved the ending with Derry spraying his drink, it was funny.

I have some theories as to who Proust is. I don't want to say who I think he is here...I'll shoot you another email with my guesses later, maybe. 

I also really like how Derry and Anna have developed throughout the course of the story. I took the time between various school assignments to read the entire story from beginning to end again, and I'm really impressed with how far they've come from the beginning. Wonderful job!



Author's Response: Hey hello there! Sorry I haven't responded to your last email; I went up to Northumberland for a week and didn't realise there would be no internet connection there. Sigh. I'm really glad you like Anna and Derry's development; I've become extremely attached to them :p I'm sure you can identify! Thanks, as always, for following and commenting; it means a lot.

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/04/10 - 09:06 pm Title: Shift

Applause for putting together these emotion-high scenes! None of them at all corny, all perfectly natural.

The girls getting ready was fun to read; hard not to relate to it. ;) I could just feel Louisa’s huge inward grin.

And her dad was awesome… I think if my dad gave my fashion advise, I’d faint right there. Really, he did a good job at dispersing the awkwardness… anything to do with Izzy can’t be easy on him either.

I love how you handled the shift of Anna and Derry’s relationship. That’s a tightrope to walk between getting too sappy or too unreal. You walked right through without a wobble. ^^

Derry’s drink-spraying was classic.

I’m still dying to know who is using Proust as his secret identity… :)

Author's Response: Hey Kitt! Sorry about the long break between updates. Glad you like the chapter :) Derry's drink-spraying was a last minute addition but it seems to have made people chuckle, which I'm glad about! And Proust's identity is soon to be revealed. Thanks, as ever, for R&Ring :)

Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed [Report This]
Date: 14/02/10 - 12:01 pm Title: Unexpected Conversations

I really liked this chapter! It was a good look at a different side of Derry, and gave Louisa a chance to come into her own as a character as well. Hope he does go to prom with Anna!

I also love how you showed the vulnerability of all the characters in some way. It added another dimension to them. Can't wait for the next chapter to see what happens! Wonderful job, as always! 



Author's Response: Thank you, Caller :) I hadn't really thought of it as showing a different side of Derry (interesting what other people read in your own work that you as an author don't see) but I've had that scene pegged for Louisa for a long time. She and Proust are probably the characters that have grown on me the most as the story's progressed :)

Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed [Report This]
Date: 13/02/10 - 06:34 pm Title: Unexpected Conversations

Two very satisfying chapters there, Narya, some really lovely interaction between all the characters, and again, the way you can switch back and forth between Middle-earth's mind-set and the modern-day is excellently done.
I am at a loss as what is to happen next, but am all agog!

Author's Response: Hehe, thank you!! :) I've had a really busy weekend but will get back to work this week, updates shouldn't be too long in coming.

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/02/10 - 04:54 pm Title: Unexpected Conversations

Louisa's awesome! I admit I had thought her the average giggling gossip too, but really, she is well-meaning and perceptive. I don't think anyone else could have pulled that off.
I feel so light-chested for Derry. Everything that was weighing him down seems to have gone, well, poof!
I love the mother-son moment! It felt so solid and natural... how Derry's reamerged affection flowed from his friends to his mom.
And I'm sure Proust will have a ticket lying around somewhere. ;)

Author's Response: Yeah, I've had that scene pegged for Louisa for a little while - she's not so bad really ;) and yes, there's light at the end of the tunnel now, both for the characters and for me as an author! Three more chapters left to post, in which we will find out if Proust really does have that spare ticket, among other things...thanks, as ever, for following and reviewing! Take care!

Reviewer: tinara Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/02/10 - 02:06 pm Title: Unexpected Conversations

Very satisfying, very nice. Three cheers to Louisa for talking with Derry on Anna's behalf - she's a true friend.
So now the question is to go or not to go?
Tinara

Author's Response: Oh, I think we all know the answer to that one :) thanks, as always, Tinara - you guys really make this writing gig something else when you take the time to read and comment.

Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/02/10 - 11:14 pm Title: Handfasting

A beautiful chapter! I really love how much Beomia has grown, even if a part of me did want her to somehow end up with Eothain. I think the way her character has developed is perfect for the story. I liked the allusion to the way Izzy used to tug Anna's hair at the end, too. Very clever!

That being said, I can't wait for the next time we go back to Derry and Anna. I really want to see how they handle the realization that they're in two worlds at once. 



Author's Response: Thank you!! :) funnily enough my sister was all for Beomia ending up with Eothain; I wasn't sure how popular I'd be, pairing her with Aiken, but it felt like the right thing to do in the context of the story. And I like to think they'll be happy. Anyway, thanks for R&Ring, as ever - we're heading back to our world for the next chapter!

Reviewer: tinara Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/02/10 - 09:31 am Title: Handfasting

It's nice to see them finally settled, though I can't forget my concern about Eothain. He isn't entertaining any thoughts about Beomia, is he? It would be a shame if he couldn't find someone to love.
Tinara

Author's Response: Ah, Eothain...sorry about that, it's me leaving story threads open to work on in the sequel! It will be made clear eventually though :) thanks for R&Ring, as ever!

You must login (register) to review.