Reviews For Second Chance
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Pink Siamese Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/05/09 - 08:31 pm Title: Prologue

I really love what you're doing with this story. Another reason the Rohirrim may geld their horses would have to do with the organization of bloodlines---they'd be keeping some sort of breeding records, at the very least to prevent accidental inbreeding, and also to document exceptional lineage. Once a stallion has sired x-number of colts, snipetty-snip. I'm looking forward to the big climax, where people start to figure out what's going on. :)

Author's Response: Oooh, I never thought of that as a possibility - thanks, Pink! I'm glad you're enjoying it still; the lights are going to start witching on very soon! Thank you for the review :-)

Reviewer: Anwyn Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/05/09 - 11:52 pm Title: A Very Odd Dream

You will proably get tired of me saying this pretty much every review but I would not say it if I did not mean it but I freaking LOVE this story. Just when I think it could not pssibly get any more intriguing you somehow managed to kick it up another notch!

Though something leapt out at me, only a small thing but you mentioned that Brego was a gelding. It never really occured to me wether or not the Rohirrim would geld their horses but it certainly made sense that they would as it does change a horses temperment and makes them more docile and easier to work with...except for Brego of course ;)

Beomia is growing into quite an intresting character and I like how you are using Brego as a character of sorts as for a Horse he really does have abit of a rough story even if that is all the work of movie verse I liked him as he was portrayed be a georgeous stallion who does high level dressage and I believe Viggo Mortensen ended up buying him after filming was done. There, abit of useless trivia for you, LOL.

Beomia/Anna got off rather lightly with just a bruise, a kick that hard could have resulted in a crushed clavicle though that is perfectly intriguing!

As always, looking forward to more! :)

Author's Response: Hi Anwyn! Thank you so much :-) as I'm sure you know, no writer ever gets tired of hearing their work is appreciated - I write it for my own enjoyment, but if others like it too then that's just the icing on the cake! The reason I made Brego a gelding was because of an article I read somewhere on the internet not too long ago. It complained about how the heroes of fantasy stories always seemed to go charging around on their noble stallions, when in reality (according to the article) any sensible hero would geld their horses as it makes them more temperamentally reliable. I'm not a horsey person so I've been trying to read around about them, and I took the author of the article at their word - I don't think Theodred would have taken any unnecessary risks with his horse. The reason Brego is so wild now isn't because he's a gelding or stallion, it's because of how traumatised he was by the war. And as for the bruise thing...I think I can safely leave Anna with a bruise since she's almost getting the "echoes" of what happens to Beomia, but do you think I need to injure Beomia a bit more severely!? Thanks for reviewing, as ever :-)

Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/05/09 - 09:45 pm Title: A Very Odd Dream

Oh blimey...even though you've told me where you're going with this I still enjoy it. Wulf and Bee are cute together - reminds me of someone, somehow :p

Good last line.

Author's Response: Cheers! Glad you like it, thanks for reading :-) ps - what happened to my phone call!?

Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/05/09 - 04:54 pm Title: A Very Odd Dream

Very nice!!! I'm so anxious as to what happens next! When's the next update due? Awesome chapter!!!

Author's Response: Oh, thank you! :-) did you get my email? I'm really sorry, my account's playing up again and I can't access it, so if you've sent me anything and I haven't replied within 24 hours it's most likely because it hasn't come through, so you might want to try using my uni account again, if you still have that saved. Next chapter will be up tomorrow or the day after; it's written, it's just a case of typing up and editing. Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/05/09 - 03:21 pm Title: A Very Odd Dream

She actually was Beomia and has a bruise! Cool. Every chapter gets more interesting. I always love the descriptions of the little white foal… she sounds so adorably sweet. I really liked the whole tie-together of Beomia’s initial fear of death to risking herself for her brother. I can truly feel her sadness for Orvyn, especially after the flashback with him. He seemed like a nice guy, it’s really too bad. :(
Ha, so Brego isn’t a foal-killer? Nice reversal, that he and Annis are actually friends. :)

-Kitt

Author's Response: Thank you Kitt! There will be more twists and turns before this is out, believe me ;-) and nope, Brego is anything but a foal killer! Glad you're still reading and enjoying, thanks for the review.

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/05/09 - 12:45 pm Title: A Very Odd Dream

Oj wow! I could have been in Rohan then, feeling that bitter wind and drizzle - beautiful descriptions! At the end, I was just stunned! Everything is weaving together brilliantly. Anna might dismiss everything else, but not the hoof-shaped bruise. Can't wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: Thank you!! The next chapter will be up soon, it's written, I just need to type it up :-)

Reviewer: Dunedain ranger of the North Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/05/09 - 02:28 pm Title: Time Flies

Mysterious! That's the word I am seeing as describing this chapter! In her dreams she sees a white foal, but what she doesn't realize is that she is seeing her sister; alive and well! Very good chapter, and the truth is time does fly, and you can never get it back! What you should do is use the time you have now and live your life, somethings in the past are best forgotten; mostly bad memories not the good ones. Good chapter, again, keep up the good work.

Sincerely, your fellow fan fiction writer,
Dune

Author's Response: Hey Dune, thanks for the review! :-) I'm glad you enjoyed it. You're absolutely right that you should live your life while you have it; my little sister's motto is "If not now, when?" which I think is a great line to live by. Are you going to update some of your fics soon? I miss Mith especially! Have I somehow managed to miss an update? Take care and speak soon!

Reviewer: Anwyn Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/05/09 - 12:00 am Title: Time Flies

This chapter was gut wrenching in its honesty. What really leapt out at me was the description of the plump girl with the dark hair crying at one moment when it was right to do so and then playing silly games with her guy the next.

I have seen this many times before where someone cries and cries when it is 'right' to do so and then the next moment they are fine again and I can't help but feel they are doing it for show though grief also hits people at different times and it is the smaller things that leap at you and make you want to break down.

Another wonderful chapter, I must say I am looking foward to returning to Middle Earth in this story again but it is just as important for the reader to see how Anna is holding up.

Author's Response: When I had the original idea, this was going to be completely set in Middle-earth bar the opening two chapters, but I got attached to Anna as a character and didn't just want to leave her hanging there in her grief! It was only supposed to be short, as well - three or four chapters maximum! So much for that... :-) thank you so much for reviewing, we will be back to Middle-earth in the next chapter!

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 14/05/09 - 10:17 pm Title: Time Flies

I liked the scene-by-scene look of Anna's life. It was seamlessly put together, not at all jumpy. Her feelings are still so believable, I can't get over being impressed. :)
Oh, it's beautiful that she's dreaming of Izzy, yet she has no idea.
Um, literary reference... Harry Potter? Ok, I give up! (Do I still get to know the answer? *begs*)

Author's Response: It's slightly obscure, I'll message it to you! Thank you so much for reading and for your lovely comments, I'm glad you're still enjoying it :-)

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 14/05/09 - 07:02 pm Title: Time Flies

This was grueling - and very true to life. I think you caught the emotions perfectly. The dreams she is beginning to have provided the doorway into Middle-earth and a mystery and spark just where it was needed. No, I am not saying it was too melancholy, it was perfect, so many fanfic stories deal easily with subjects like death and the process of grief, which makes them shallow. The grieving process really is like slogging through a swamp, and you can't speed it, or make it better whatever you do (or what other people do) You have shown that with complete authenticity.

Although Anna does not know what the dreams mean, it made me feel in some way, more hopeful for her, and I hope this proves to be the case, in some way or another.

Super, gritty and realistic chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so pleased you think I caught the emotions; I did wonder as I was re-reading if it wasn't getting too bogged down in the mundane aspects of the grieving process, but I didn't want to compromise and rush through. "Slogging through a swamp" - that's a perfect way to put it. It will get happier - I know I keep saying that, but it will, honestly!!

Reviewer: Pink Siamese Signed [Report This]
Date: 13/05/09 - 01:56 am Title: Interlude

I patiently await the revelation. :)

Author's Response: Teehee :) won't be long! Thank you for R&Ring.

Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/05/09 - 04:58 pm Title: Interlude

OoOh! Intruiging! I'm so curious now, I wonder what/who Derry is? Please write more!

Author's Response: The next chapter is almost done and needs a little tweaking; it shouldn't be long before it's posted. Thank you for the review!!

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/05/09 - 04:52 pm Title: Interlude

And someone emailed me to ask if he'd died; the answer to that is no, but maybe I haven't made it clear enough. What do you think?


I didn't think he had died in the chapter, but *gone back under* - and it refers to his dreams, so I did not think he was dying in the hospital - I wondered if he had died in Middle-earth and was in hospital *now*. I thought it was clear :)

Author's Response: OK, brilliant, thank you! Things will be explained in subsequent chapters anyway, but I didn't want people thinking he was dead.

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/05/09 - 04:11 pm Title: Interlude

Oooh! Bum! That was something to throw in and then leave.
I was going to say is this Orvyn, because of the connection with the Rohirrim family - or some-one from Middle-earth, but I am waiting in my tip-toes for the revelation, whomever!

Author's Response: Like I said to Kitt, I don't want to give too much away...but Derry will be back. And someone emailed me to ask if he'd died; the answer to that is no, but maybe I haven't made it clear enough. What do you think? Anyway, thank you for the review!

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/05/09 - 02:09 pm Title: Interlude

Wow, this is intriguing. Yes, a little random, but I am dying to know about Derry. Is he too going to M-E?
Again, wonderful descriptions! :)

Author's Response: Oh, thank you, Kitt! I'm glad you're enjoying it. I don't want to give too much away about Derry as it will spoil later chapters, but you'll be seeing him again soon.

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/05/09 - 01:41 am Title: A Difficult Evening

This is so well-written, has such realistically portrayed emotions. I'm in awe, really.
I like all the characters. I feel so sad for Izzy's sister; I wonder if she'll ever get to know what has become of her?
It's rather creative that Izzy's actually been *born* a horse - no flash of light and poof she's in Middle-earth.
I've never seen a horse-birth, just goat-births and I guess that was somewhat similar!
Annis is a beautiful name. Certainly more original than Whitemist. ;)
Beomia and Wulf's sibling rivalry -Rohirrim style - is actually kinda fascinating. I feel very deep into their culture within just one and a half chapters. I liked the references to King Elessar.
Latin test? *shivers* I hope you did well... I can't get past the third declension. :)

-Kitt

Author's Response: Hey Kitt! Thank you for your review. I'm glad you feel for the characters - and as for if Anna finds out what's happened to Izzy, well, you'll just have to wait and see! Don't worry, she'll be back soon. I really enjoyed writing Beomia and Wulf; you'll be seeing more of their relationship before too long. Latin test was horrendous but I'm giving it up at the end of the year, so as long as I pass the module then I'm really not that bothered! Thanks for your review - and thank you for the sacks of Elf cookies, too! ;-)

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/05/09 - 07:18 pm Title: A Difficult Evening

Oh, wow! Sorry I have not reviewed this before.

That first chapter was truly gut-wrenching, wonderfully written, as was the grief and that feeling that is it not - cannot be - real. So true. You ease it so smoothly to Middle-earth - truly marvelous!

Author's Response: Thanks, xFanarix, I'm glad you like it! Grief-wise, I was writing from experience, which was both tricky and oddly cathartic, so I'm happy you think I got it right. And don't apologise; as you're always saying to me, we lead busy lives! Thanks again for the review.

Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/05/09 - 07:16 pm Title: A Difficult Evening

Wonderful! Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thank you, Caller; I will do! :-D

Reviewer: Dunedain ranger of the North Signed [Report This]
Date: 23/04/09 - 01:19 pm Title: Blue Eyes

Reincarnated! Hmmm, not that bad of an idea, will she remember her old life? Or will she be that of a horse? And is this prior the war or after?

dune

Author's Response: Hi, Dune! Not seen you around in a while. This is after the war, hence Brego having returned from Dunharrow after months - and as for remembering her old life, you'll have to wait and see :-p thank you for the review!

Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed [Report This]
Date: 20/04/09 - 11:24 pm Title: Blue Eyes

The descriptive passage in the beginning was absolutely beautiful...it brought tears to my eyes. And I also really liked your description of Izzy in horse form. I don't know if you knew this, but only horses that are really truly white have blue eyes. Any "white" horse you see with brown eyes is really a light grey color.



Author's Response: The first time I read this review I didn't have my glasses on and I thought you said "it brought ears to my eyes" XD oh dear...anyway I'm glad you liked it. And yes I did know that, I'm not a horsey person myself but a lot of my close friends ride and/or keep horses; part of the idea came from the shocked reactions of one friend whose mare gave birth to a foal with blue eyes. Thanks for the review! :-D

You must login (register) to review.