Reviews For Second Chance
You must login (register) to review.
Title: Time Flies Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
I liked the scene-by-scene look of Anna's life. It was seamlessly put together, not at all jumpy. Her feelings are still so believable, I can't get over being impressed. :)
Oh, it's beautiful that she's dreaming of Izzy, yet she has no idea.
Um, literary reference... Harry Potter? Ok, I give up! (Do I still get to know the answer? *begs*)

Author's Response: It's slightly obscure, I'll message it to you! Thank you so much for reading and for your lovely comments, I'm glad you're still enjoying it :-)
Date: May 14 2009 06:17 pm [Report This]
Title: Time Flies Reviewer: xFanarix Signed
This was grueling - and very true to life. I think you caught the emotions perfectly. The dreams she is beginning to have provided the doorway into Middle-earth and a mystery and spark just where it was needed. No, I am not saying it was too melancholy, it was perfect, so many fanfic stories deal easily with subjects like death and the process of grief, which makes them shallow. The grieving process really is like slogging through a swamp, and you can't speed it, or make it better whatever you do (or what other people do) You have shown that with complete authenticity.

Although Anna does not know what the dreams mean, it made me feel in some way, more hopeful for her, and I hope this proves to be the case, in some way or another.

Super, gritty and realistic chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so pleased you think I caught the emotions; I did wonder as I was re-reading if it wasn't getting too bogged down in the mundane aspects of the grieving process, but I didn't want to compromise and rush through. "Slogging through a swamp" - that's a perfect way to put it. It will get happier - I know I keep saying that, but it will, honestly!!
Date: May 14 2009 03:02 pm [Report This]
Title: Interlude Reviewer: Pink Siamese Signed
I patiently await the revelation. :)

Author's Response: Teehee :) won't be long! Thank you for R&Ring.
Date: May 12 2009 09:56 pm [Report This]
Title: Interlude Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed
OoOh! Intruiging! I'm so curious now, I wonder what/who Derry is? Please write more!

Author's Response: The next chapter is almost done and needs a little tweaking; it shouldn't be long before it's posted. Thank you for the review!!
Date: May 12 2009 12:58 pm [Report This]
Title: Interlude Reviewer: xFanarix Signed
And someone emailed me to ask if he'd died; the answer to that is no, but maybe I haven't made it clear enough. What do you think?


I didn't think he had died in the chapter, but *gone back under* - and it refers to his dreams, so I did not think he was dying in the hospital - I wondered if he had died in Middle-earth and was in hospital *now*. I thought it was clear :)

Author's Response: OK, brilliant, thank you! Things will be explained in subsequent chapters anyway, but I didn't want people thinking he was dead.
Date: May 12 2009 12:52 pm [Report This]
Title: Interlude Reviewer: xFanarix Signed
Oooh! Bum! That was something to throw in and then leave.
I was going to say is this Orvyn, because of the connection with the Rohirrim family - or some-one from Middle-earth, but I am waiting in my tip-toes for the revelation, whomever!

Author's Response: Like I said to Kitt, I don't want to give too much away...but Derry will be back. And someone emailed me to ask if he'd died; the answer to that is no, but maybe I haven't made it clear enough. What do you think? Anyway, thank you for the review!
Date: May 12 2009 12:11 pm [Report This]
Title: Interlude Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
Wow, this is intriguing. Yes, a little random, but I am dying to know about Derry. Is he too going to M-E?
Again, wonderful descriptions! :)

Author's Response: Oh, thank you, Kitt! I'm glad you're enjoying it. I don't want to give too much away about Derry as it will spoil later chapters, but you'll be seeing him again soon.
Date: May 12 2009 10:09 am [Report This]
Title: A Difficult Evening Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
This is so well-written, has such realistically portrayed emotions. I'm in awe, really.
I like all the characters. I feel so sad for Izzy's sister; I wonder if she'll ever get to know what has become of her?
It's rather creative that Izzy's actually been *born* a horse - no flash of light and poof she's in Middle-earth.
I've never seen a horse-birth, just goat-births and I guess that was somewhat similar!
Annis is a beautiful name. Certainly more original than Whitemist. ;)
Beomia and Wulf's sibling rivalry -Rohirrim style - is actually kinda fascinating. I feel very deep into their culture within just one and a half chapters. I liked the references to King Elessar.
Latin test? *shivers* I hope you did well... I can't get past the third declension. :)

-Kitt

Author's Response: Hey Kitt! Thank you for your review. I'm glad you feel for the characters - and as for if Anna finds out what's happened to Izzy, well, you'll just have to wait and see! Don't worry, she'll be back soon. I really enjoyed writing Beomia and Wulf; you'll be seeing more of their relationship before too long. Latin test was horrendous but I'm giving it up at the end of the year, so as long as I pass the module then I'm really not that bothered! Thanks for your review - and thank you for the sacks of Elf cookies, too! ;-)
Date: May 09 2009 09:41 pm [Report This]
Title: A Difficult Evening Reviewer: xFanarix Signed
Oh, wow! Sorry I have not reviewed this before.

That first chapter was truly gut-wrenching, wonderfully written, as was the grief and that feeling that is it not - cannot be - real. So true. You ease it so smoothly to Middle-earth - truly marvelous!

Author's Response: Thanks, xFanarix, I'm glad you like it! Grief-wise, I was writing from experience, which was both tricky and oddly cathartic, so I'm happy you think I got it right. And don't apologise; as you're always saying to me, we lead busy lives! Thanks again for the review.
Date: May 09 2009 03:18 pm [Report This]
Title: A Difficult Evening Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed
Wonderful! Keep writing!

Author's Response: Thank you, Caller; I will do! :-D
Date: May 09 2009 03:16 pm [Report This]
Title: Blue Eyes Reviewer: Dunedain ranger of the North Signed
Reincarnated! Hmmm, not that bad of an idea, will she remember her old life? Or will she be that of a horse? And is this prior the war or after?

dune

Author's Response: Hi, Dune! Not seen you around in a while. This is after the war, hence Brego having returned from Dunharrow after months - and as for remembering her old life, you'll have to wait and see :-p thank you for the review!
Date: Apr 23 2009 09:19 am [Report This]
Title: Blue Eyes Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed

The descriptive passage in the beginning was absolutely beautiful...it brought tears to my eyes. And I also really liked your description of Izzy in horse form. I don't know if you knew this, but only horses that are really truly white have blue eyes. Any "white" horse you see with brown eyes is really a light grey color.



Author's Response: The first time I read this review I didn't have my glasses on and I thought you said "it brought ears to my eyes" XD oh dear...anyway I'm glad you liked it. And yes I did know that, I'm not a horsey person myself but a lot of my close friends ride and/or keep horses; part of the idea came from the shocked reactions of one friend whose mare gave birth to a foal with blue eyes. Thanks for the review! :-D
Date: Apr 20 2009 07:24 pm [Report This]
Title: Blue Eyes Reviewer: Anwyn Signed
I have find the animal transformations challenge extremely intriguing and I really love the way you have run with the idea as this is so beatifully written that I am very glad you are continuing on with it. The way you wrote of the foal's birth was so magical and I am really looking forward to seeing where you take this story as it is beatifully written.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you, Anwyn! I did get slightly worried about the foal's birth, since I'm not a "horsey" person myself, so I had to do my research, and I'm glad you think I've got it right. I'll try and update soon, but as you know I have several stories on the go at once! Thank you for your lovely review.
Date: Apr 16 2009 10:38 pm [Report This]
Title: Prologue Reviewer: hannahgreenleaf88 Signed
trust me. i will be keeping tabs of this. read mine if you get time. it is an actor fic.

Author's Response: OK, will do :) thanks again
Date: Feb 22 2009 11:34 pm [Report This]
Title: Prologue Reviewer: hannahgreenleaf88 Signed
wow.. that was amazing.

Author's Response: Thank you Hannah! Glad you enjoyed it; I plan to update soon, so please keep letting me know what you think.
Date: Feb 22 2009 04:58 pm [Report This]
Title: Prologue Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed
Oh, I cried because it was touching. Don't worry. It really spoke to me.

Author's Response: I'm glad; I thought I might have written it a bit too simplistically, but then again I didn't want to be over-sentimental about it that I made people feel ill! Thanks for the review.
Date: Feb 13 2009 05:11 pm [Report This]
Title: Prologue Reviewer: superweirdgirls12 Signed
So. Sad. But so GOOD at the same time!!! Update soon I am eager to read more!!!

Author's Response: Oh thank you :) ike I was saying to Pink Siamese, I have several things on the go at once, but I'll try and update quite often.
Date: Feb 12 2009 07:37 pm [Report This]
Title: Prologue Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed
I cried.

Author's Response: :o well, I'm glad you found it touching - at least, I hope that's why you were crying, and not because you didn't like it!!
Date: Feb 12 2009 07:20 pm [Report This]
Title: Prologue Reviewer: Dunedain ranger of the North Signed
Not a bad start! I wonder what animal she is going to change into!
Dune

Author's Response: Have a guess...:p keep letting me know what you think!
Date: Feb 12 2009 06:47 pm [Report This]
Title: Prologue Reviewer: Pink Siamese Signed
I write several stories at once, too. I know how it is. ;-)

Author's Response: Hehe even so I think with this one and the other two fanfics I have on the go, plus my original stuff, I have enough to work on for now!!
Date: Feb 12 2009 06:42 pm [Report This]
Title: Prologue Reviewer: Pink Siamese Signed
Is this going to be in parts?

Author's Response: Yeah, I tend to write several stories at once...this one isn't going to be long, though. Two or three chapters plus the prologue, I reckon.
Date: Feb 12 2009 06:11 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.