Reviews For Second Chance
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/02/10 - 03:41 am Title: Handfasting

Ha – “perceptive old git” was one way of summing it up. You weren’t kidding when you said there was much more to Proust! I like the Narnia references in here… and it’s no coincidence that Lewis himself was heavily influenced by Tolkien.

Proust’s secret identity is killing me. I was thinkin’ he’s rather Istari-like, but I’m open to anyone. (If he’s Eothain, I will be thrilled enough to burst).

It was lovely to see Beomia so happy! She’s changed so much; it’s been beautiful watching her come over her sorrow and stubbornness. As always, great job getting into her head. I could feel all her joy and relief; really, I had to sigh deeply once it was done Whew!. Beomia’s nerve-wracked mother and Eothain’s comeback to the solemn question were nice human touches.

Looking forward to the next installment, as ever. ^^

Author's Response: Hehe, thanks, Kitt! I'm glad you liked the handfasting - and Beomia's mother was based on how my auntie behaved at my cousin's wedding a couple of summers ago, fussing with everything and generally stressing out :D as for Proust...all will be revealed ;)

Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/02/10 - 10:22 am Title: The First Through The Wardrobe

Ah, now I think I have ideas on Mr Proust.

I love the parallel universe(s) ideas and the way this is all beginning to come to the denouement.

Lol I remember when Edmund, Susan and Peter talked to Professor Kirk about Lucy's story. Gosh it has been some years since those books, but I read them a lot at one time.

Well done. :)

Author's Response: Ooh, what are your ideas? I want to see if your theory is the same as Callerofcrows :) and yeah, I loved the Narnia books as a kid, though the religious allegory went right over my head! Thanks, as ever, for reading and reviewing :)

Reviewer: tinara Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/02/10 - 08:54 am Title: The First Through The Wardrobe

Great how it's coming to some kind of conclusion. I'm quite excited after this chapter, but sadly I'll have to wait for your next update :-)
So Mr. Proust knows quite some things? His role is interesting, as in the beginning you showed him through the eyes of Anna and Derry. Though he seemed kind enough they mostly perceived him as annoying and mistrusted him. And now he presents himself as a totally different character.
Tinara

Author's Response: The next update shouldn't be tooooo long - I want to get this story finished before uni gets crazy again, so basically within the next few weeks. And yep, Proust is way in the know; there'll be a couple more clues about him in this story, and a proper explanation somewhere in the sequel. Anna and Derry's reaction to him in the beginning was, I suppose, the standard teenage reaction to any friendly teacher - "what are you trying to gain by being nice to us?" etc. As you say, though, now they'll have to look at him in a new light :) thanks, as ever, for following and reviewing!

Reviewer: Pink Siamese Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/02/10 - 11:12 pm Title: The First Through The Wardrobe

YAY OMG LOVE! ::incoherent fangirl fluttering:: C.S Lewis reference for the win! Mr. Proust FOR THE WIN! (Someday I will be more coherent about this, I swear.)

Author's Response: Haha, incoherent is cool :D I'm glad people seem to like this chapter; this is one of the scenes that's been in the brewing for a long, long time! Thanks for reading and leaving feedback - I've got way behind on Dawn, I need to catch up. I think I might go back and reread from the start.

Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/02/10 - 09:54 pm Title: The First Through The Wardrobe

Loved this chapter. Your style of writing is very Rowling-esque. This scene reminded me of all of the various conversations between Harry and Dumbledore whenever Harry ended up in the hospital wing with Madam Pomfrey. The dialogue was really realistic and I could see this scene in my head as if I were watching a movie.

And I'm really excited, because I think I've figured out who Proust is. :D



Author's Response: :D message me and I'll let you know if you're right! I owe you a WTL email today anyway, so I'm sure we'll speak soon. And yes, I suppose there are some Dumbledore-ish elements to Proust; it wasn't something I did intentionally, but I read so much Harry Potter growing up that I suppose I can't help but be influenced by it. Thank you for R&Ring, as always :)

Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/02/10 - 07:04 pm Title: Collapse

AAAHHH!! Best/worst cliffhanger in the history of cliffhangers. Awesome because it's keeping me on the edge of my seat. Terrible because I really want to know what happens. Like, right now. I really hope he's okay. I thought it was going to be Anna passing out, what's with the jolt to ME and all. Amazing plot. Awesome.

Author's Response: Anna's made of tougher stuff than that :) but then again, Derry has been through hell and back, so I think we can let him off! Next chapter will be up soon, the story's rolling on apace - I know I've said it before, but we really are nearly there now :) again, thanks for following and leaving feedback. I will now go and check out the WTL update :D

Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/02/10 - 06:57 pm Title: End of an Era/Exams and Distractions

Totally hooked on this. Can't wait for the next chapter! I was so engrossed that I completely forgot to review the last chapter. It was awesome, by the way! Great story, I'm really eager to see where you're going with the next couple of chapters!

Author's Response: Hey Caller! Long time no speak :) glad you're still enjoying, thanks for following - and really, don't worry about reviewing, I know everybody's busy. I'm just happy that people read it!

Reviewer: Narya Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/02/10 - 02:23 pm Title: Prologue

Oh, typo in my response to Tinara's review - should read "made me realise." Sorry! :)

Reviewer: tinara Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/02/10 - 12:30 pm Title: An Idea

That's a clever girl - I hope the communication works in some way. I think it would be a great comfort to all of them to be thus assured of the reality of their visions.
Tinara

Author's Response: Ahh, the deliberate communication was a curved ball that got thrown in pretty late on in the story's development - it was that decision that finally tipped me over the edge and realise that a sequel was needed :) thanks for following, as always!

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 31/01/10 - 11:02 pm Title: Collapse

Such a strange reversal! Beomia is now actually arguing for her marriage. :)

"the sun smiling lazily as it settled in the west..." Aw, that made me feel so warm for a blessed second...

Beomia's idea was so cool and sweet, but certainly was not at the best time. Hey, if Anna and Bee talked with each other, that'd be *the* coolest. :D

I liked the observation of end of exam 'anticlimate feeling.' That's the great mystery of every end of term.

I hope Derry's ok! Mr. Proust really is wonderful in a pinch.

Author's Response: More on Derry and Proust coming up in the next chapter...and as for Anna and Bee, well, there are still more developments to come there, but most of them will have to wait for the sequel. Glad you're still enjoying it; thank you for reading and reviewing, as ever!

Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed [Report This]
Date: 31/01/10 - 05:30 pm Title: An Idea

Love it! Love the way you so skillfully weave *now* into Middle-earth - people are people, yes, but their mindsets are so different that I really admire how you have given all the protagonists such vital characters and yet also pull the plot-strings together.

Author's Response: Thank you :) I'm glad you like it, you know I was worried! We're almost there now - I've just posted 24, then there are another 6 updates after that. The end is in sight...and I feel kind of sad about it...anyway, thanks for your consistent support and lovely reviews :)

Reviewer: tinara Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/01/10 - 06:32 am Title: End of an Era/Exams and Distractions

Well, I hope Anna will not let Derry get away with his evasive and reclusive behaviour. I'm quite curious what's the matter with Derry - hopefully his health won't deteriorate, I don't think Anna would be able to deal with this.
Tinara

Author's Response: *Assumes shifty expression and says nothing* :p don't worry about Anna; she's a pretty tough cookie. Thank you for reading and reviewing, as ever!

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/01/10 - 03:00 am Title: End of an Era/Exams and Distractions

Aw, I wish Derry would talk again. :(

Proust is cool. His farewell speech almost had me teary too!

By coincidence, I just watched a Carl Sagan's Cosmos where he talked about parallel universes. What a headache! I love the parallel universe concept, though painful it is. (I spent hours trying to figure out the new Star Trek movie with my brothers and never did I have a greater brain-bog.) Anyway, I can understand Anna’s exclamation to her sister in the end.

Great job handling the sciene. :D

Author's Response: Haha, thank you...science isn't exactly my forte!! :p yeah, Proust is quite cool, but his crowning moment of awesome is yet to come. Thanks, as always, for reading and reviewing; take care!

Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/01/10 - 09:21 am Title: Realisation

Oh, the tension...

Miss you, sis x

Author's Response: Oh, hey there stranger, who are you again? :p not seen you on here in a while. Procrastination, much? x

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/01/10 - 01:06 am Title: Realisation

I'm excited that Anna's seen her sister in Annis! But Derry's comeback really dampened it - I mean, here she has this one hope that Izzy is alive, but that the world is Tolkien's makes it seem more like a hallucination. I don’t know what to think of that myself. I can’t wait to see how they work this realization out. :)

Author's Response: Teehee *snickers* don't worry, everything's in order...although you may or may not be pleased to hear that I've decided to write a sequel :p thank you for reading and reviewing, as always!!

Reviewer: Los Gloriol Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/01/10 - 05:00 pm Title: A Difficult Evening

Sitting in a Latin test yesterday, the rest of this story attacked me and demanded to be written; it hasn't ended up going in the direction I thought it would but then that's half the fun of writing! Hope you like it.

LoL! I keep seeing on your LJ that is a recurring problem for you. Can't blame you. Latin ewwww.

I kept laughing at the discussion the parents were having about the forty year old man interested in their daughter. Mid-life crisis? The balding part was genius.

The family dynamic was wonderfully done. It felt like a real family, one I've been privy to many times.

Author's Response: Oh, that's not the last you'll hear of Aiken :) and yes, I do have an issue with stories taking off in their own directions! I started this thinking it was going to be about 5000 words long...ah well. And I've dropped Latin now, thank goodness - it was killing me! :p thank you so much for reading and reviewing, take care!

Reviewer: Los Gloriol Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/01/10 - 04:47 pm Title: Blue Eyes

Poor Anna. It is just heartbreaking what she is going through, but it is really well done. I love it when I can feel for a character.

I feel like Anna is almost being haunted by Izzy. But I loved how you described her grief, though I know that sounds morbid. It felt real and not soppy like I read so many times in other stories.

Suddenly, Anna was seized by an urge to see her sister again – even if it was just in a photograph, she had to see her face. She switched on her lamp and sat up. Her hair, salty and damp from tears, clung in tendrils to her cheek as she scrabbled about in the bedside drawer for one of the few family pictures she kept in her bedroom, a snap of her, Izzy and their cousin on a beach in Spain. Having found it, she gazed hungrily at the scene, her eyes devouring the flawless blue sky and the sugar-soft sand and the smiles on everybody’s faces, but most of all they feasted on the girl in the middle, tall and slender, tanned and truly beautiful in her white bikini. And yet...something wasn’t right. Izzy. That was it. Izzy didn’t look right. Her nose was a little longer than that, surely? And her legs a little slimmer? Or maybe the picture was right, maybe Izzy had looked that way. Maybe Anna’s mind was already playing tricks on her, even after a mere matter of days, warping the image of the sister she had loved more than anybody or anything else in the world. Feeling cheated, she flung the photograph to the floor, jabbed at the switch of her lamp until it turned off and lay back down.

The description was beautiful and the need to hold onto the sister just heartbreaking. I loved that part.

Strangely I like Aldhem's imperfection. It was realistic.

Is this based on the LOTR movie plot or Tolkien's original?

I'm not sure about them leaving the mare to foal alone?

Now I'm intrigued about the blue eyes!

Loved it!

Author's Response: Thank you again! There are elements of this story that are movieverse, but I use material from the books too, so it's kind of both. And as for the foaling, I'm not a horsey person myself, so I did some reading around, but if it's not accurately written then I apologise. Any suggestions for improving it would be greatly appreciated :)

Reviewer: Los Gloriol Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/01/10 - 04:30 pm Title: Prologue

Nice introduction! It leaves me wanting more. I had meant, for some time to read this.

I like solitairy verbs describing what Izzy is feeling really put me in her frame of mind.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you! :) I'm glad you like the intro, hope you continue to enjoy it.

Reviewer: tinara Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/01/10 - 09:57 am Title: Realisation

It sure must sound completly insane to Derry, especially in his mood.
I'm glad to see Anna figured things out - I hope she will not let go just because Derry's not believing her. She'll just have to find some kind of proof.
Tinara

Author's Response: Oh, don't worry, Anna won't give up on her theory - she's made of tougher stuff than that! Thank you, as always, for reading and reviewing :)

Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/01/10 - 05:28 pm Title: Realisation

Derry frowned again. “’Renewed shall be blade that was broken,’” he finished. “’The crownless again shall be King.’” He shook his head. “That can’t be right – you’re imagining things.”

“I know what I heard! What’s it from?”
...

He licked his lips. “Anna, it’s Tolkien.”


Great! way to end. Brilliant! :DD

Author's Response: Thank you! :)

You must login (register) to review.