Reviews For Second Chance
You must login (register) to review.
Title: Shift Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
Applause for putting together these emotion-high scenes! None of them at all corny, all perfectly natural.

The girls getting ready was fun to read; hard not to relate to it. ;) I could just feel Louisa’s huge inward grin.

And her dad was awesome… I think if my dad gave my fashion advise, I’d faint right there. Really, he did a good job at dispersing the awkwardness… anything to do with Izzy can’t be easy on him either.

I love how you handled the shift of Anna and Derry’s relationship. That’s a tightrope to walk between getting too sappy or too unreal. You walked right through without a wobble. ^^

Derry’s drink-spraying was classic.

I’m still dying to know who is using Proust as his secret identity… :)

Author's Response: Hey Kitt! Sorry about the long break between updates. Glad you like the chapter :) Derry's drink-spraying was a last minute addition but it seems to have made people chuckle, which I'm glad about! And Proust's identity is soon to be revealed. Thanks, as ever, for R&Ring :)
Date: 04/10/10 05:06 pm [Report This]
Title: Unexpected Conversations Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed

I really liked this chapter! It was a good look at a different side of Derry, and gave Louisa a chance to come into her own as a character as well. Hope he does go to prom with Anna!

I also love how you showed the vulnerability of all the characters in some way. It added another dimension to them. Can't wait for the next chapter to see what happens! Wonderful job, as always! 



Author's Response: Thank you, Caller :) I hadn't really thought of it as showing a different side of Derry (interesting what other people read in your own work that you as an author don't see) but I've had that scene pegged for Louisa for a long time. She and Proust are probably the characters that have grown on me the most as the story's progressed :)
Date: 02/14/10 07:01 am [Report This]
Title: Unexpected Conversations Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed
Two very satisfying chapters there, Narya, some really lovely interaction between all the characters, and again, the way you can switch back and forth between Middle-earth's mind-set and the modern-day is excellently done.
I am at a loss as what is to happen next, but am all agog!

Author's Response: Hehe, thank you!! :) I've had a really busy weekend but will get back to work this week, updates shouldn't be too long in coming.
Date: 02/13/10 01:34 pm [Report This]
Title: Unexpected Conversations Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
Louisa's awesome! I admit I had thought her the average giggling gossip too, but really, she is well-meaning and perceptive. I don't think anyone else could have pulled that off.
I feel so light-chested for Derry. Everything that was weighing him down seems to have gone, well, poof!
I love the mother-son moment! It felt so solid and natural... how Derry's reamerged affection flowed from his friends to his mom.
And I'm sure Proust will have a ticket lying around somewhere. ;)

Author's Response: Yeah, I've had that scene pegged for Louisa for a little while - she's not so bad really ;) and yes, there's light at the end of the tunnel now, both for the characters and for me as an author! Three more chapters left to post, in which we will find out if Proust really does have that spare ticket, among other things...thanks, as ever, for following and reviewing! Take care!
Date: 02/11/10 11:54 am [Report This]
Title: Unexpected Conversations Reviewer: tinara Signed
Very satisfying, very nice. Three cheers to Louisa for talking with Derry on Anna's behalf - she's a true friend.
So now the question is to go or not to go?
Tinara

Author's Response: Oh, I think we all know the answer to that one :) thanks, as always, Tinara - you guys really make this writing gig something else when you take the time to read and comment.
Date: 02/11/10 09:06 am [Report This]
Title: Handfasting Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed

A beautiful chapter! I really love how much Beomia has grown, even if a part of me did want her to somehow end up with Eothain. I think the way her character has developed is perfect for the story. I liked the allusion to the way Izzy used to tug Anna's hair at the end, too. Very clever!

That being said, I can't wait for the next time we go back to Derry and Anna. I really want to see how they handle the realization that they're in two worlds at once. 



Author's Response: Thank you!! :) funnily enough my sister was all for Beomia ending up with Eothain; I wasn't sure how popular I'd be, pairing her with Aiken, but it felt like the right thing to do in the context of the story. And I like to think they'll be happy. Anyway, thanks for R&Ring, as ever - we're heading back to our world for the next chapter!
Date: 02/09/10 06:14 pm [Report This]
Title: Handfasting Reviewer: tinara Signed
It's nice to see them finally settled, though I can't forget my concern about Eothain. He isn't entertaining any thoughts about Beomia, is he? It would be a shame if he couldn't find someone to love.
Tinara

Author's Response: Ah, Eothain...sorry about that, it's me leaving story threads open to work on in the sequel! It will be made clear eventually though :) thanks for R&Ring, as ever!
Date: 02/05/10 04:31 am [Report This]
Title: Handfasting Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
Ha – “perceptive old git” was one way of summing it up. You weren’t kidding when you said there was much more to Proust! I like the Narnia references in here… and it’s no coincidence that Lewis himself was heavily influenced by Tolkien.

Proust’s secret identity is killing me. I was thinkin’ he’s rather Istari-like, but I’m open to anyone. (If he’s Eothain, I will be thrilled enough to burst).

It was lovely to see Beomia so happy! She’s changed so much; it’s been beautiful watching her come over her sorrow and stubbornness. As always, great job getting into her head. I could feel all her joy and relief; really, I had to sigh deeply once it was done Whew!. Beomia’s nerve-wracked mother and Eothain’s comeback to the solemn question were nice human touches.

Looking forward to the next installment, as ever. ^^

Author's Response: Hehe, thanks, Kitt! I'm glad you liked the handfasting - and Beomia's mother was based on how my auntie behaved at my cousin's wedding a couple of summers ago, fussing with everything and generally stressing out :D as for Proust...all will be revealed ;)
Date: 02/04/10 10:41 pm [Report This]
Title: The First Through The Wardrobe Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed
Ah, now I think I have ideas on Mr Proust.

I love the parallel universe(s) ideas and the way this is all beginning to come to the denouement.

Lol I remember when Edmund, Susan and Peter talked to Professor Kirk about Lucy's story. Gosh it has been some years since those books, but I read them a lot at one time.

Well done. :)

Author's Response: Ooh, what are your ideas? I want to see if your theory is the same as Callerofcrows :) and yeah, I loved the Narnia books as a kid, though the religious allegory went right over my head! Thanks, as ever, for reading and reviewing :)
Date: 02/04/10 05:22 am [Report This]
Title: The First Through The Wardrobe Reviewer: tinara Signed
Great how it's coming to some kind of conclusion. I'm quite excited after this chapter, but sadly I'll have to wait for your next update :-)
So Mr. Proust knows quite some things? His role is interesting, as in the beginning you showed him through the eyes of Anna and Derry. Though he seemed kind enough they mostly perceived him as annoying and mistrusted him. And now he presents himself as a totally different character.
Tinara

Author's Response: The next update shouldn't be tooooo long - I want to get this story finished before uni gets crazy again, so basically within the next few weeks. And yep, Proust is way in the know; there'll be a couple more clues about him in this story, and a proper explanation somewhere in the sequel. Anna and Derry's reaction to him in the beginning was, I suppose, the standard teenage reaction to any friendly teacher - "what are you trying to gain by being nice to us?" etc. As you say, though, now they'll have to look at him in a new light :) thanks, as ever, for following and reviewing!
Date: 02/02/10 03:54 am [Report This]
Title: The First Through The Wardrobe Reviewer: Pink Siamese Signed
YAY OMG LOVE! ::incoherent fangirl fluttering:: C.S Lewis reference for the win! Mr. Proust FOR THE WIN! (Someday I will be more coherent about this, I swear.)

Author's Response: Haha, incoherent is cool :D I'm glad people seem to like this chapter; this is one of the scenes that's been in the brewing for a long, long time! Thanks for reading and leaving feedback - I've got way behind on Dawn, I need to catch up. I think I might go back and reread from the start.
Date: 02/01/10 06:12 pm [Report This]
Title: The First Through The Wardrobe Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed

Loved this chapter. Your style of writing is very Rowling-esque. This scene reminded me of all of the various conversations between Harry and Dumbledore whenever Harry ended up in the hospital wing with Madam Pomfrey. The dialogue was really realistic and I could see this scene in my head as if I were watching a movie.

And I'm really excited, because I think I've figured out who Proust is. :D



Author's Response: :D message me and I'll let you know if you're right! I owe you a WTL email today anyway, so I'm sure we'll speak soon. And yes, I suppose there are some Dumbledore-ish elements to Proust; it wasn't something I did intentionally, but I read so much Harry Potter growing up that I suppose I can't help but be influenced by it. Thank you for R&Ring, as always :)
Date: 02/01/10 04:54 pm [Report This]
Title: Collapse Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed
AAAHHH!! Best/worst cliffhanger in the history of cliffhangers. Awesome because it's keeping me on the edge of my seat. Terrible because I really want to know what happens. Like, right now. I really hope he's okay. I thought it was going to be Anna passing out, what's with the jolt to ME and all. Amazing plot. Awesome.

Author's Response: Anna's made of tougher stuff than that :) but then again, Derry has been through hell and back, so I think we can let him off! Next chapter will be up soon, the story's rolling on apace - I know I've said it before, but we really are nearly there now :) again, thanks for following and leaving feedback. I will now go and check out the WTL update :D
Date: 02/01/10 02:04 pm [Report This]
Title: End of an Era/Exams and Distractions Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed
Totally hooked on this. Can't wait for the next chapter! I was so engrossed that I completely forgot to review the last chapter. It was awesome, by the way! Great story, I'm really eager to see where you're going with the next couple of chapters!

Author's Response: Hey Caller! Long time no speak :) glad you're still enjoying, thanks for following - and really, don't worry about reviewing, I know everybody's busy. I'm just happy that people read it!
Date: 02/01/10 01:57 pm [Report This]
Title: Prologue Reviewer: Narya Signed
Oh, typo in my response to Tinara's review - should read "made me realise." Sorry! :)
Date: 02/01/10 09:23 am [Report This]
Title: An Idea Reviewer: tinara Signed
That's a clever girl - I hope the communication works in some way. I think it would be a great comfort to all of them to be thus assured of the reality of their visions.
Tinara

Author's Response: Ahh, the deliberate communication was a curved ball that got thrown in pretty late on in the story's development - it was that decision that finally tipped me over the edge and realise that a sequel was needed :) thanks for following, as always!
Date: 02/01/10 07:30 am [Report This]
Title: Collapse Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
Such a strange reversal! Beomia is now actually arguing for her marriage. :)

"the sun smiling lazily as it settled in the west..." Aw, that made me feel so warm for a blessed second...

Beomia's idea was so cool and sweet, but certainly was not at the best time. Hey, if Anna and Bee talked with each other, that'd be *the* coolest. :D

I liked the observation of end of exam 'anticlimate feeling.' That's the great mystery of every end of term.

I hope Derry's ok! Mr. Proust really is wonderful in a pinch.

Author's Response: More on Derry and Proust coming up in the next chapter...and as for Anna and Bee, well, there are still more developments to come there, but most of them will have to wait for the sequel. Glad you're still enjoying it; thank you for reading and reviewing, as ever!
Date: 01/31/10 06:02 pm [Report This]
Title: An Idea Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed
Love it! Love the way you so skillfully weave *now* into Middle-earth - people are people, yes, but their mindsets are so different that I really admire how you have given all the protagonists such vital characters and yet also pull the plot-strings together.

Author's Response: Thank you :) I'm glad you like it, you know I was worried! We're almost there now - I've just posted 24, then there are another 6 updates after that. The end is in sight...and I feel kind of sad about it...anyway, thanks for your consistent support and lovely reviews :)
Date: 01/31/10 12:30 pm [Report This]
Title: End of an Era/Exams and Distractions Reviewer: tinara Signed
Well, I hope Anna will not let Derry get away with his evasive and reclusive behaviour. I'm quite curious what's the matter with Derry - hopefully his health won't deteriorate, I don't think Anna would be able to deal with this.
Tinara

Author's Response: *Assumes shifty expression and says nothing* :p don't worry about Anna; she's a pretty tough cookie. Thank you for reading and reviewing, as ever!
Date: 01/12/10 01:32 am [Report This]
Title: End of an Era/Exams and Distractions Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
Aw, I wish Derry would talk again. :(

Proust is cool. His farewell speech almost had me teary too!

By coincidence, I just watched a Carl Sagan's Cosmos where he talked about parallel universes. What a headache! I love the parallel universe concept, though painful it is. (I spent hours trying to figure out the new Star Trek movie with my brothers and never did I have a greater brain-bog.) Anyway, I can understand Anna’s exclamation to her sister in the end.

Great job handling the sciene. :D

Author's Response: Haha, thank you...science isn't exactly my forte!! :p yeah, Proust is quite cool, but his crowning moment of awesome is yet to come. Thanks, as always, for reading and reviewing; take care!
Date: 01/11/10 10:00 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.