Reviews For Second Chance
You must login (register) to review.
Title: Smokescreen Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
Nice glimpse into Derry's life!

I liked this - "cracks in the glaze of a china vase." I do feel for her. Yes, she's overbearing, but it's for Derry's sake. I hope he learns to appreciate it.

Thanks for the update! ^^

Author's Response: And thank you for following so patiently! Yes, their relationship is almost based on mutual misunderstanding - Derry just wants to be normal and independent, which she struggles to understand/allow after what's happened, and at the same time she's trying not to allow her relationship with her son to disintegrate completely. Thanks for the review, hope you're well! :)
Date: 06/01/10 - 04:45 pm [Report This]
Title: Smokescreen Reviewer: tinara Signed
It's surely hard for both Derry and his mom - I hope some time soon they can reach an agreement (perhaps when Derry's headache is not that prominent?).
I wonder if they will have some more visions, especially Anna, so that she knows her sister still is out there?

Author's Response: Yeah, there's more dreaming and visions to come - and a new development to them, or at least that's the plan at the moment. Every time I think I've got this story nailed, something else comes up that I just have to work in...all good fun :) thanks for following and leaving feedback, as ever!
Date: 06/01/10 - 07:23 am [Report This]
Title: A Light from the Shadows Reviewer: tinara Signed
The addition is great. Yeah, I think a new start is all they need to make their relationship work. And I'm sure they'll find a way to deal with Aiken's father - Beomia can stand her own, after all.
It's nice that they finally talked. Beomia has matured quite a bit while working things out for herself.

Author's Response: Indeed she has - but then again, she needed to :p I'm glad you like the addition - although nobody has picked up in the one thing in this chapter that I thought someone might notice. Ah well. Maybe it's my fault for leaving too long between posts :p thanks for reading and reviewing!
Date: 06/01/10 - 06:39 am [Report This]
Title: Smokescreen Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed

So sad. :(

Poor Derry's Mom.

Wonderful portrayal of emotions. This chapter made my heart ache for Derry and his broken family.

Author's Response: Ah, yet more angst... :p it isn't over yet, either. Thank you for your consistently lovely reviews :)
Date: 05/01/10 - 01:44 pm [Report This]
Title: A Light from the Shadows Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed
This was such a sweet chapter. I loved it. I'm impressed by how much Beomia's character has grown. The scene with Aiken and Beomia in the barn reminds me of a scene from Fiddler on the Roof, when Tevyeh asks Guldie if she loves him. Such a wonderful update! Now, onto the next chapter. Can't wait to read it!

Author's Response: She has come on a bit :) oh, I love Fiddler on the Roof! What a compliment :) thanks, caller!
Date: 05/01/10 - 01:41 pm [Report This]
Title: Smokescreen Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed
Both really excellent chapters, these last two, with a lot of depth an insights into people's emotions, which I always enjoy.

Aragorn is very insightful, and Beomia partly understands, and is making her peace with her future.

Derry seeing his mother as she really is beyond the facade is also insightful and poignant.

Well done. :)

Author's Response: Thank you! The "snapshot" of Derry's mother was a slightly unexpected moment that just kind of wrote itself in there. I'm glad you liked Aragorn; that scene's been in there since the very early planning stages of this story, but when it finally got to posting it I was a bit worried that it might feel gimmicky. Thanks for reading and reviewing, as always - it means a lot!
Date: 05/01/10 - 09:35 am [Report This]
Title: A Light from the Shadows Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
Oo! This is a major addition! And it is so sweet! “I think you’re the bravest, most selfless man I’ve ever met.” ^^

I really like Aiken now. Before I was so unhappy for Beomia - but then when he went into all this 'released' business I was upset. I'm so glad things are working out between them!
That was very wise of Beomia. Life can not be neat and tidy ever. (Though one can wish). :)

Happy Christmas, Narya!

Author's Response: Hi Kitt - sorry for not responding to your earlier review before I panicked and took down the chapter!! I'm glad you like the addition, and that Aiken is growing on you. Merry Christmas to you too, and a happy New Year!
Date: 22/12/09 - 10:58 pm [Report This]
Title: Sun Welcoming Reviewer: tinara Signed
It's nice to see Eothain again. It's great Beomia can talk to him and he listens and explains things a bit to her. I'm really looking forward to Beomia's and Aiken's next meeting - they should get to know each other a bit more.
I do wonder about Aiken's motives, though - does he want to marry Beomia or is he trying to buy her some time to get to know someone else (Eothain perhaps) through this arrangement...?
Please update soon, I'm curious how the strands will find together in the end.

Author's Response: Oh no, Aiken does want to marry her - that'll be made clear enough soon! Eothain is lovely, though :) I'm updating as fast as university commitments will allow, we're well over halfway through now, there's not a huge amount left. Thanks for being so patient, and for still leaving such lovely reviews, it's hugely appreciated! :)
Date: 25/11/09 - 03:15 pm [Report This]
Title: Sun Welcoming Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed
Loved this chapter - much was explained. I am sorry for Aiken, although Eothain is most appealing.
Very appealing. Yes, I'm shallow, lol, but he does not seem like a bad sort either.

. Perhaps it was simply that all the hunting and killing of Orcs had addled something in his brain, and he could no longer distinguish between those times when violence was a necessary evil and when it was simply an evil." His eyes aged beyond their years as he voiced this last thought. "That is a danger we all face, we men of the Riddermark."

Like Beomia, you are 'uncannily perceptive.' That is a very thought-provoking piece.

Author's Response: Thank you :) and yes, I like Eothain too, my sister keeps saying she wants Beomia to end up with him! Glad you're still reading and enjoying, thanks for the review.
Date: 25/11/09 - 09:29 am [Report This]
Title: Sun Welcoming Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
All the excitement and festivities were easy to relate to with our own holidays coming up. I wanted to hop around with Wulf.

Agreed. Eothain would be too easy to fall in love with. :P

Aw, that’s terrible way for Aiken to grow up. Ida being still alive definitely adds a twist here… at least it was not for a devious reason Aiken wouldn’t let Beomia in.

But Eothain’s so perceptive himself! It does make sense that Beomia might find the same kind of wordless solace from Aiken as she gets from the horses. And he’s really made me (and Beomia surely) see her and Aiken in a whole new light.

Um, if Eothain’s still in need of a wife, I think I can find a few volunteers. :D

Author's Response: Haha, by volunteers do you mean you? :p Yeah, Eothain's lovely, I'm rather attached to him myself. And yes, Beomia is going to start viewing herself and Aiken differently - but brace yourself, there's another revelation coming up (for the characters, at least; it's no big surprise for us) in the next couple of chapters! Thanks for reading and reviewing, as ever; I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving!
Date: 25/11/09 - 09:07 am [Report This]
Title: Prologue Reviewer: Samara Signed
Any time!
Date: 17/11/09 - 01:38 pm [Report This]
Title: Enigma Reviewer: Samara Signed
Yay! Things are moving right along! *dances*

I wonder what his problem is. Aiken. Something's up with him. Is he cheating on her or is there something else hiding up his sleeve? I can't wait.

Everything seems to be coming to a head, yet there are still so many questions to be answered. Amazing job. I can't wait to see what happens next. Please update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you Samara *blushes* I'll do my best to update again soon - I'll get everything cleared up soon enough! Thanks for reading and reviewing.
Date: 17/11/09 - 08:26 am [Report This]
Title: Enigma Reviewer: tinara Signed
This is getting very interesting. I'm glad Beomia finally found something nice and interesting in Aiken, even though she was rebuked at her attempt to talk to him. But I think she's stubborn enough not to give up on getting to know him better. I'm curious to see just what Aiken hides.

Author's Response: Yep, stubborn's a good word for her :p everything will become clear in time - some things even in the next chapter, which is no longer so epically huge...thanks for reading and leaving your thoughts!
Date: 12/11/09 - 06:19 am [Report This]
Title: Enigma Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
Yay! Beomia again!

I’m glad she’s ok for physically – but sheesh, she must be so confused. I can’t imagine that longing she feels for Orvyn. It must be so frustrating not being able to communicate. How this all relates back to Anna, I’m still so curious to discover. :)

Awesome how the two scenes were so similar! “I could have, but I didn’t.” Really cool.

Aw, Aiken’s so sweet!

Oh, that’s true. It’s almost sad. Beomia knows nothing about Aiken. Was he ever married? Who’s his family? And whatever is he trying to hide???
I like that she’s giving him a second chance. ^^

Author's Response: Hehe, it'll be Beomia again next chapter too. As for Aiken - well, I don't want to give it away, but keep reading, all will be revealed. And yes, the reasoning behind the title is starting to show :) thanks for reading and reviewing!
Date: 11/11/09 - 01:39 pm [Report This]
Title: Enigma Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed
These have been great chapters.
I really love the way that you move so smoothly between this world and Middle-earth and make the characters so very believable in both.

Now what on Earth is it with Derry not wanting to go to the ball and Aiken off the chain? o_O Damn, I suppose I will just have to wait. XD Not that that was a subtle hint or anything, lol.

Author's Response: Off the chain? Lol not heard that before! I'm glad you're still enjoying it :) all will be revealed! Thanks for reading and reviewing :D
Date: 11/11/09 - 12:15 pm [Report This]
Title: The New Boy Reviewer: Mia Oria Signed
UGH!! I hate those kind of teachers! the matchmaker ones I mean. they're annoying!
It really sucks when you are family friends with the teacher too!

Author's Response: Ahh, there's more to Mr. Proust than matchmaking :) thanks for reading and reviewing!
Date: 11/11/09 - 11:53 am [Report This]
Title: "Come to the Prom with me?" Reviewer: tinara Signed
Oh, the little traps we all fall into while dealing with persons we really like. I'm curious if they will go to Prom or not - Derry has a really good cause not to, but I guess Anna will be sorely disappointed not going with him.
I hope more will come soon :-)

Author's Response: More is on the way, don't worry - I'm at home this week and free of distractions, though the next chapter is epically long and will take a while to type up! Ah, to Prom or not to Prom...we'll see soon enough ;) thanks for reading and reviewing, as ever!
Date: 11/11/09 - 04:19 am [Report This]
Title: "Come to the Prom with me?" Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
I love hearing about the all-around reaction to Derry and Anna's relationship. Still, it's too bad that Nat has to take it so hard.

The truth behind Anna's irration to the hair-tugging was a jolt. I admire her for being so honest about it to Derry. It's a shame that she should feel so down while everyone else is excited.

Thanks for another lovely chapter! ^_^

Author's Response: You're welcome, Kitt - and thank YOU for reading and reviewing this story so faithfully! I do seem to like putting poor Anna through the mill, don't I? Never mind; there are some lighter moments along the way, though not for a couple of chapters.
Date: 10/11/09 - 11:01 pm [Report This]
Title: Prologue Reviewer: Samara Signed
*dances around like a right fool* Yaaaaaaaay!

Author's Response: LMAO I just hope it lives up to your expectations!!
Date: 04/11/09 - 06:56 am [Report This]
Title: Prologue Reviewer: Samara Signed
I can't wait! Don't let school kill you if that's at all possible. :D

Author's Response: Oh, it won't kill me :D I have a week off coming up, so stand by for updates!
Date: 03/11/09 - 07:47 am [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.