Reviews For Second Chance
You must login (register) to review.
Title: Enigma Reviewer: Samara Signed
Yay! Things are moving right along! *dances*

I wonder what his problem is. Aiken. Something's up with him. Is he cheating on her or is there something else hiding up his sleeve? I can't wait.

Everything seems to be coming to a head, yet there are still so many questions to be answered. Amazing job. I can't wait to see what happens next. Please update soon!

Author's Response: Thank you Samara *blushes* I'll do my best to update again soon - I'll get everything cleared up soon enough! Thanks for reading and reviewing.
Date: Nov 17 2009 08:26 am [Report This]
Title: Enigma Reviewer: tinara Signed
This is getting very interesting. I'm glad Beomia finally found something nice and interesting in Aiken, even though she was rebuked at her attempt to talk to him. But I think she's stubborn enough not to give up on getting to know him better. I'm curious to see just what Aiken hides.
Tinara

Author's Response: Yep, stubborn's a good word for her :p everything will become clear in time - some things even in the next chapter, which is no longer so epically huge...thanks for reading and leaving your thoughts!
Date: Nov 12 2009 06:19 am [Report This]
Title: Enigma Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
Yay! Beomia again!

I’m glad she’s ok for physically – but sheesh, she must be so confused. I can’t imagine that longing she feels for Orvyn. It must be so frustrating not being able to communicate. How this all relates back to Anna, I’m still so curious to discover. :)

Awesome how the two scenes were so similar! “I could have, but I didn’t.” Really cool.

Aw, Aiken’s so sweet!

Oh, that’s true. It’s almost sad. Beomia knows nothing about Aiken. Was he ever married? Who’s his family? And whatever is he trying to hide???
I like that she’s giving him a second chance. ^^

Author's Response: Hehe, it'll be Beomia again next chapter too. As for Aiken - well, I don't want to give it away, but keep reading, all will be revealed. And yes, the reasoning behind the title is starting to show :) thanks for reading and reviewing!
Date: Nov 11 2009 01:39 pm [Report This]
Title: Enigma Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed
These have been great chapters.
I really love the way that you move so smoothly between this world and Middle-earth and make the characters so very believable in both.

Now what on Earth is it with Derry not wanting to go to the ball and Aiken off the chain? o_O Damn, I suppose I will just have to wait. XD Not that that was a subtle hint or anything, lol.

Author's Response: Off the chain? Lol not heard that before! I'm glad you're still enjoying it :) all will be revealed! Thanks for reading and reviewing :D
Date: Nov 11 2009 12:15 pm [Report This]
Title: The New Boy Reviewer: Mia Oria Signed
UGH!! I hate those kind of teachers! the matchmaker ones I mean. they're annoying!
It really sucks when you are family friends with the teacher too!

Author's Response: Ahh, there's more to Mr. Proust than matchmaking :) thanks for reading and reviewing!
Date: Nov 11 2009 11:53 am [Report This]
Title: "Come to the Prom with me?" Reviewer: tinara Signed
Oh, the little traps we all fall into while dealing with persons we really like. I'm curious if they will go to Prom or not - Derry has a really good cause not to, but I guess Anna will be sorely disappointed not going with him.
I hope more will come soon :-)
Tinara

Author's Response: More is on the way, don't worry - I'm at home this week and free of distractions, though the next chapter is epically long and will take a while to type up! Ah, to Prom or not to Prom...we'll see soon enough ;) thanks for reading and reviewing, as ever!
Date: Nov 11 2009 04:19 am [Report This]
Title: "Come to the Prom with me?" Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
I love hearing about the all-around reaction to Derry and Anna's relationship. Still, it's too bad that Nat has to take it so hard.

The truth behind Anna's irration to the hair-tugging was a jolt. I admire her for being so honest about it to Derry. It's a shame that she should feel so down while everyone else is excited.

Thanks for another lovely chapter! ^_^

Author's Response: You're welcome, Kitt - and thank YOU for reading and reviewing this story so faithfully! I do seem to like putting poor Anna through the mill, don't I? Never mind; there are some lighter moments along the way, though not for a couple of chapters.
Date: Nov 10 2009 11:01 pm [Report This]
Title: Prologue Reviewer: Samara Signed
*dances around like a right fool* Yaaaaaaaay!

Author's Response: LMAO I just hope it lives up to your expectations!!
Date: Nov 04 2009 06:56 am [Report This]
Title: Prologue Reviewer: Samara Signed
I can't wait! Don't let school kill you if that's at all possible. :D

Author's Response: Oh, it won't kill me :D I have a week off coming up, so stand by for updates!
Date: Nov 03 2009 07:47 am [Report This]
Title: A Voice Quiet And Brief Reviewer: Samara Signed
Wow. I love this story! It's so different. I love how you approach the idea of past lives on alternate plains and how it seems...two sided. I can't wait to see what happens next. Please update soon.

Author's Response: Thank you Samara! Nice to have a new reader :) I've been having a busy time with university, but will update as soon as I can.
Date: Nov 02 2009 12:55 pm [Report This]
Title: A Voice Quiet And Brief Reviewer: tinara Signed
It's very interesting to see more from Annis. Whoever would be the other man, with the nice voice?
Tinara

Author's Response: Heh. That would be telling ;)
Date: Oct 23 2009 04:15 am [Report This]
Title: A Voice Quiet And Brief Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
I was happy to see this little chapter. It was a nice snapshot of Annis' world - her like for the gelding, her fondness of Beomia, and her general astonishment at the strangeness of humans. :)
Oo, but this makes me worried for Beomia now. I hope she can be strong...

Author's Response: More Beomia coming up in either the next chapter or the one after it, depending which way round I decide to order them! Glad you liked it; thanks for following and leaving feedback :)
Date: Oct 22 2009 02:43 pm [Report This]
Title: A Voice Quiet And Brief Reviewer: Pink Siamese Signed
Oooh, change of perspective. I'm intrigued.

Author's Response: Good to hear! :D I've been messing with the perspective a lot in these last few chapters (Derry, Annis), simply because I felt those POVs were right for the action...ah well. As usual, story's in charge, not me. Thanks for R&Ring!
Date: Oct 22 2009 01:13 pm [Report This]
Title: Isabel Jane Murphy Reviewer: Pink Siamese Signed
This is a lovely chapter, full of nuanced character dynamics and thoughtful pacing.

You've wandered far and wide from the original premise, but you've done it in a way that brings unique depth and resonance to the original premise. This story is about so much more than reincarnation in Middle-earth as an animal; it's about grief, families, love, and the negotiation of human life from one moment to the next. I look forward to you conclusion because I know that it will be handled with grace and skill.

You just keep getting better and better! Brava, darling. :-)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! *Grins* yes, I have somewhat strayed from my original intentions...this was supposed to be two or three chapters long, a quick distraction while I was blocked on other stuff!! Ah well, nothing ever turns out as you mean it to, and I like it better this way. There's still more twisting and turning to be done yet; even though I wrote out a complete draft over summer, I keep on thinking of things that need to be added in. As for handling the conclusion, I only hope that it meets your expectations - you've given me a lot to live up to! Thanks for reading and reviewing, as always. It's much appreciated.

Date: Oct 20 2009 04:11 pm [Report This]
Title: Isabel Jane Murphy Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
A very gentle chapter, yet pulsating with emotions.
It’s good to finally learn about the real Isabel. That’s so true that remembering Izzy as someone she was not is worse than forgetting her – if some of the bad was part of her. And it was revealing to see the ‘real’ Anna as well through Derry’s eyes. I like how each of their rooms said something about them. Izzy’s so full of clothes and awards and Anna’s so simple and full of books.
I also can’t forget the nice glimpses we’ve gotten in Derry’s POV – great introspective stuff. And what an ending! :)

Author's Response: Derry's a loner - or he has been for some time, not so much now that he's got Anna - so yeah, introspective would be a good way to describe him :) I'm glad you liked the rooms, and the end of the chappie! More to follow. Thanks as ever for reading and reviewing!
Date: Oct 20 2009 10:36 am [Report This]
Title: Isabel Jane Murphy Reviewer: tinara Signed
And with the last sentence you kind of put in a cliffhanger. I want to know more!
I like your description of Derry's and Anna's relationship very much. It's nice that you take time to explore Derry's feelings, his thoughts, the uncertainty of interpreting Anna's reaction.
Tinara

Author's Response: Well, these things aren't one-sided...it made a nice change to write from Derry's perspective, too. Glad you're still following; thanks for the review!
Date: Oct 20 2009 04:26 am [Report This]
Title: Isabel Jane Murphy Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed
A lovely chapter. I very much enjoyed the deepening between these two, and the closeness - and the final kiss. Very well done!

Author's Response: Glad you liked it :) thank you for reading and reviewing!
Date: Oct 20 2009 12:21 am [Report This]
Title: Night Time in the Stables Reviewer: tinara Signed
Mh, so Beomia dreams as well - until she understands what all this means, it must be really hard to see Orwin again. Just after she decided to begin life anew, she is reminded of him every night - not very fair.
But I agree with Annis - one cannot hope to really understand humans :-)
Tinara

Author's Response: "One cannot hope to really understand humans"...no, indeed :) as for Beomia, she hasn't completely realised yet that it's Orvyn, but she will. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :D
Date: Sep 21 2009 07:52 am [Report This]
Title: Night Time in the Stables Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
Both Annis and Beomia's POVs were interesting. Supposing she's just 'mad' might be an understatement! I can't fathom how I'd feel in her place with those dreams. Funny about the talking 'little box'. (Though like Beomia, I don't quite them either...) Most telling was her thought that she knew Derry's smile.
Thanks for the update! :)

Author's Response: And thank you for reading it and being kind enough to leave feedback! :) I had quite a time trying to work out how to describe our world in the way Beomia would see it...in the end I settled for a couple of little details rather than going on for ages. This chapter was a lot longer in its draft form, but I think it's better this way!
Date: Sep 17 2009 11:36 am [Report This]
Title: Night Time in the Stables Reviewer: faramiriel Signed
That's an interesting twist, I totally did not expect that at all. Great idea! And I loved the bit from Annis' POV, that was just cute. :D

Author's Response: Spiced Wine said she didn't see it coming either...I'm actually surprised people hadn't guessed, I foreshadowed it a couple of chapters ago, but never mind! Thanks for reading and reviewing :)
Date: Sep 17 2009 09:44 am [Report This]
Title: Night Time in the Stables Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed
Ojhhh! Beomia has been having dreams! Well wow - I did not see that coming, although it does make sense!

Behold - the mystery - it deepens!

Well, if this is procrastination, please keep going! :D

Author's Response: I don't think I can get away with much more procrastination today lol I have lots more chapters sitting handwritten in various notebooks, but I have to leave the computer alone at some point and get on with useful things...anyway, thank you for reading and reviewing, I'm glad you enjoyed it!
Date: Sep 17 2009 05:52 am [Report This]
Title: Brighter Shade Reviewer: faramiriel Signed
Wow - this story is awesome! It's really well written too! I can't wait for the next chapter!

~faramiriel

Author's Response: Thank you faramiriel - I'm glad you're enjoying it! Next chapter shouldn't be too long, so stay tuned :p
Date: Sep 12 2009 11:13 am [Report This]
Title: Prologue Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
Sorry Narya! Looks like the site ate my review... there was more to it than that, really!

I mean that their comparing 'past-life' notes sounds like fun! ^^

I was again impressed by the emotional and descriptional depth here. Of course Anna would want to have this seperate world with Derry, where Izzy is not dead. But I'm glad she finally told him. Now I think she can start to heal.

Loved this line: "Trees with emerald leaves smiled down at them and sighed in gratitude at the slightest kiss of the wind; the underfoot crunch of gravel on the paths sounded cheerful and friendly; even the sky looked different."

Lovely that Derry and Anna's relationship is moving forward. The dream journal set suspense too... could Beomia be married now???
Date: Sep 10 2009 06:17 pm [Report This]
Title: Brighter Shade Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed
Comparing their second life notes?

Author's Response: Sorry Kitt, maybe I'm being dense because it's kind of late here...but what do you mean!?
Date: Sep 10 2009 02:50 pm [Report This]
Title: Brighter Shade Reviewer: tinara Signed
A great chapter - and really a good place for a break, if there has to be one.
I liked the way you used Anna's journal to keep track of Beomia (in a way at least). And always Annis is present - it's nice to see Anna thinks it strange. I'm sure it's a bit difficult for Derry - he had some dreams and when he realizes this is "real" he cannot "visit" again.
I like the beginning relationship, you described very well, how much is conveyed by gestures, glances and feelings without any words.
Until you have time to continue,
Tinara

Author's Response: Hi Tinara! Thank you for reading and reviewing, as usual; I'm pleased you liked it. More lights will start flicking on in people's heads when the story returns - there'll be tears and drama before it's all over, and I may get slated for one of the decisions I've made, but we'll cross that bridge when we come to it. Many thanks once again; it shouldn't be too long before I can post more.
Date: Sep 10 2009 02:01 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.