Reviews For Second Chance
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Samara Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/11/09 - 05:55 pm Title: A Voice Quiet And Brief

Wow. I love this story! It's so different. I love how you approach the idea of past lives on alternate plains and how it seems...two sided. I can't wait to see what happens next. Please update soon.

Author's Response: Thank you Samara! Nice to have a new reader :) I've been having a busy time with university, but will update as soon as I can.

Reviewer: tinara Signed [Report This]
Date: 23/10/09 - 08:15 am Title: A Voice Quiet And Brief

It's very interesting to see more from Annis. Whoever would be the other man, with the nice voice?
Tinara

Author's Response: Heh. That would be telling ;)

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/10/09 - 06:43 pm Title: A Voice Quiet And Brief

I was happy to see this little chapter. It was a nice snapshot of Annis' world - her like for the gelding, her fondness of Beomia, and her general astonishment at the strangeness of humans. :)
Oo, but this makes me worried for Beomia now. I hope she can be strong...

Author's Response: More Beomia coming up in either the next chapter or the one after it, depending which way round I decide to order them! Glad you liked it; thanks for following and leaving feedback :)

Reviewer: Pink Siamese Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/10/09 - 05:13 pm Title: A Voice Quiet And Brief

Oooh, change of perspective. I'm intrigued.

Author's Response: Good to hear! :D I've been messing with the perspective a lot in these last few chapters (Derry, Annis), simply because I felt those POVs were right for the action...ah well. As usual, story's in charge, not me. Thanks for R&Ring!

Reviewer: Pink Siamese Signed [Report This]
Date: 20/10/09 - 08:11 pm Title: Isabel Jane Murphy

This is a lovely chapter, full of nuanced character dynamics and thoughtful pacing.

You've wandered far and wide from the original premise, but you've done it in a way that brings unique depth and resonance to the original premise. This story is about so much more than reincarnation in Middle-earth as an animal; it's about grief, families, love, and the negotiation of human life from one moment to the next. I look forward to you conclusion because I know that it will be handled with grace and skill.

You just keep getting better and better! Brava, darling. :-)

Author's Response: Thank you so much! *Grins* yes, I have somewhat strayed from my original intentions...this was supposed to be two or three chapters long, a quick distraction while I was blocked on other stuff!! Ah well, nothing ever turns out as you mean it to, and I like it better this way. There's still more twisting and turning to be done yet; even though I wrote out a complete draft over summer, I keep on thinking of things that need to be added in. As for handling the conclusion, I only hope that it meets your expectations - you've given me a lot to live up to! Thanks for reading and reviewing, as always. It's much appreciated.

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 20/10/09 - 02:36 pm Title: Isabel Jane Murphy

A very gentle chapter, yet pulsating with emotions.
It’s good to finally learn about the real Isabel. That’s so true that remembering Izzy as someone she was not is worse than forgetting her – if some of the bad was part of her. And it was revealing to see the ‘real’ Anna as well through Derry’s eyes. I like how each of their rooms said something about them. Izzy’s so full of clothes and awards and Anna’s so simple and full of books.
I also can’t forget the nice glimpses we’ve gotten in Derry’s POV – great introspective stuff. And what an ending! :)

Author's Response: Derry's a loner - or he has been for some time, not so much now that he's got Anna - so yeah, introspective would be a good way to describe him :) I'm glad you liked the rooms, and the end of the chappie! More to follow. Thanks as ever for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: tinara Signed [Report This]
Date: 20/10/09 - 08:26 am Title: Isabel Jane Murphy

And with the last sentence you kind of put in a cliffhanger. I want to know more!
I like your description of Derry's and Anna's relationship very much. It's nice that you take time to explore Derry's feelings, his thoughts, the uncertainty of interpreting Anna's reaction.
Tinara

Author's Response: Well, these things aren't one-sided...it made a nice change to write from Derry's perspective, too. Glad you're still following; thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed [Report This]
Date: 20/10/09 - 04:21 am Title: Isabel Jane Murphy

A lovely chapter. I very much enjoyed the deepening between these two, and the closeness - and the final kiss. Very well done!

Author's Response: Glad you liked it :) thank you for reading and reviewing!

Reviewer: tinara Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/09/09 - 11:52 am Title: Night Time in the Stables

Mh, so Beomia dreams as well - until she understands what all this means, it must be really hard to see Orwin again. Just after she decided to begin life anew, she is reminded of him every night - not very fair.
But I agree with Annis - one cannot hope to really understand humans :-)
Tinara

Author's Response: "One cannot hope to really understand humans"...no, indeed :) as for Beomia, she hasn't completely realised yet that it's Orvyn, but she will. Thanks for reading and reviewing! :D

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/09/09 - 03:36 pm Title: Night Time in the Stables

Both Annis and Beomia's POVs were interesting. Supposing she's just 'mad' might be an understatement! I can't fathom how I'd feel in her place with those dreams. Funny about the talking 'little box'. (Though like Beomia, I don't quite them either...) Most telling was her thought that she knew Derry's smile.
Thanks for the update! :)

Author's Response: And thank you for reading it and being kind enough to leave feedback! :) I had quite a time trying to work out how to describe our world in the way Beomia would see it...in the end I settled for a couple of little details rather than going on for ages. This chapter was a lot longer in its draft form, but I think it's better this way!

Reviewer: faramiriel Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/09/09 - 01:44 pm Title: Night Time in the Stables

That's an interesting twist, I totally did not expect that at all. Great idea! And I loved the bit from Annis' POV, that was just cute. :D

Author's Response: Spiced Wine said she didn't see it coming either...I'm actually surprised people hadn't guessed, I foreshadowed it a couple of chapters ago, but never mind! Thanks for reading and reviewing :)

Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/09/09 - 09:52 am Title: Night Time in the Stables

Ojhhh! Beomia has been having dreams! Well wow - I did not see that coming, although it does make sense!

Behold - the mystery - it deepens!

Well, if this is procrastination, please keep going! :D

Author's Response: I don't think I can get away with much more procrastination today lol I have lots more chapters sitting handwritten in various notebooks, but I have to leave the computer alone at some point and get on with useful things...anyway, thank you for reading and reviewing, I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: faramiriel Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/09/09 - 03:13 pm Title: Brighter Shade

Wow - this story is awesome! It's really well written too! I can't wait for the next chapter!

~faramiriel

Author's Response: Thank you faramiriel - I'm glad you're enjoying it! Next chapter shouldn't be too long, so stay tuned :p

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/09/09 - 10:17 pm Title: Prologue

Sorry Narya! Looks like the site ate my review... there was more to it than that, really!

I mean that their comparing 'past-life' notes sounds like fun! ^^

I was again impressed by the emotional and descriptional depth here. Of course Anna would want to have this seperate world with Derry, where Izzy is not dead. But I'm glad she finally told him. Now I think she can start to heal.

Loved this line: "Trees with emerald leaves smiled down at them and sighed in gratitude at the slightest kiss of the wind; the underfoot crunch of gravel on the paths sounded cheerful and friendly; even the sky looked different."

Lovely that Derry and Anna's relationship is moving forward. The dream journal set suspense too... could Beomia be married now???

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/09/09 - 06:50 pm Title: Brighter Shade

Comparing their second life notes?

Author's Response: Sorry Kitt, maybe I'm being dense because it's kind of late here...but what do you mean!?

Reviewer: tinara Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/09/09 - 06:01 pm Title: Brighter Shade

A great chapter - and really a good place for a break, if there has to be one.
I liked the way you used Anna's journal to keep track of Beomia (in a way at least). And always Annis is present - it's nice to see Anna thinks it strange. I'm sure it's a bit difficult for Derry - he had some dreams and when he realizes this is "real" he cannot "visit" again.
I like the beginning relationship, you described very well, how much is conveyed by gestures, glances and feelings without any words.
Until you have time to continue,
Tinara

Author's Response: Hi Tinara! Thank you for reading and reviewing, as usual; I'm pleased you liked it. More lights will start flicking on in people's heads when the story returns - there'll be tears and drama before it's all over, and I may get slated for one of the decisions I've made, but we'll cross that bridge when we come to it. Many thanks once again; it shouldn't be too long before I can post more.

Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/09/09 - 10:52 am Title: Brighter Shade

Wonderful chapter! ~ I love the interaction between Anna and Derry here, it's so true to life. They are not your average *couple* that's for sure, and you did not make it a 'Love-at-first-sight' relationship. It's got thorns and difficulties.

I am glad she did tell him about Izzy, despite the pain. I think she needed to do that.
That was really well-written!

Sorry it is on hiatus for a while, but it's a brilliant idea to write gift-fics; they are the best presents I've ever had.

Author's Response: I've never actually given stories as presents before - I've written them for people if they've asked for them, but not for a birthday or Christmas or anything. I'm glad you liked the chapter; no, they aren't your average lovey-dovey couple, but then again how could they be, after what they've been through? Thanks for reading and leaving feedback; I'll post more ASAP.

Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/09/09 - 07:36 am Title: A Visitor

Could I truly spend the rest of my life with a man who looks like an egg?


LOL.
I actually don't mind bald men, but I completely understand Beomia's 'this is not going to work.'

I was going to say 'It could be worse. It could be raining.'

But it is. O_o.

Great atmosphere of gloom all through this chapter.

Author's Response: Hehe it's nothing personal against bald men, but she's only young, after all! Thanks for reading and reviewing, glad you still like it :-)

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/09/09 - 12:40 am Title: A Visitor

Oo, dreams "very strange indeed"! Cool.
I feel sorry for Beomia... her focus on his egg head and creaking feet isn't a great start. I'm curious about Aiken's character, really. With this being through Beomia's eyes, we don't see quite what the 'good' in him is.
I liked the ending. Moody. ^^

Author's Response: Thank you Kitt; you'll get to know Aiken a little better in time, but you aren't the only one who's said they're curious! Thanks for reading and reviewing, as always :-)

Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/09/09 - 11:12 pm Title: A Visitor

Wonderful imagery in this chapter, absolutely great. I could visualize the scenes in my head as if I was watching a movie. I can't wait for the next chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you! :-D it shouldn't be too long.

You must login (register) to review.