Reviews For Second Chance
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/09/09 - 11:06 pm Title: "I'll be a spinster first!"

"...there isn’t a woman in Edoras who believes your maidenhead to be intact, and trust me when I say that there aren’t many men will take soiled goods.”

Ouuch. Great chapter, I was outraged along with Beomia.



Author's Response: Yes, Eadwyn isn't the most sensitive of characters :p thanks for the review!

Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/09/09 - 11:02 pm Title: Dinner and a Discovery

Have me hooked once again! Must keep reading!

Author's Response: Oh, thanks!! :D hope you like it!

Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/09/09 - 10:58 pm Title: The New Boy

OoOoh, cute new boy! Gotta love it when that happens!

Sorry that I haven't reviewed this story very often; I just get so engrossed in the plot and keep reading and reading and reading...you get the idea. It's really wonderful and I love the depth that you keep adding to Anna. You switch really well between ME and Earth Earth (EE?) and that's something that's not easy to do at all! Great job, as usual :-)



Author's Response: Hey! Thanks for the review :-) don't worry about not leaving feedback, I know how hectic life can get, and I know you've been struggling for screen time. I'm just glad you're still enjoying it! I like EE, might have to adopt that :-) thanks again!!

Reviewer: tinara Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/09/09 - 08:26 pm Title: A Visitor

Yeah, well - if the ONLY thing you can say about Aiken is, that he's kind ... Honestly, I'm curious where this is leading - perhaps Aiken's not the ideal choice for Beomia, I will have to resign myself to patience and see how everything is developing.
But up to now I'm REALLY curious about Annis - does she remember who she was? Does she dream as well?
Please update soon!
Tinara

Author's Response: Argh, I don't want to give too much away about Annis either...but I feel really bad just saying "wait and see"! There'll be more of Aiken and Beomia, and more about Annis, I can promise that much. Thanks for reviewing :-)

Reviewer: Pink Siamese Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/09/09 - 07:42 pm Title: A Visitor

I went through and read other reviews of this chapter and the last chapter, and I'm so relieved to see that I'm not the only one wondering about Aiken. I'm not sure it's intended on your part, but I'm feeling kind of sympathetic toward him...wondering how he feels about Beomia, if he loves her or is attracted to her at all. His taciturn manner intrigues me, making me wonder what's going on in his head. Of course, this likely has more to do with me than with anything else; I'm intrigued by quiet men, and I'm old enough to find the right kind of fortyish balding man sexy. ;-)

Author's Response: Haha!! Actually, it wasn't my intention to have readers feeling sympathy for Aiken - yet. He comes more into his own further in, and it is made clear how he feels about Beomia. I'm glad I've got you wondering, though! Thank you so much for keeping with the story and leaving feedback :-)

Reviewer: tinara Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/09/09 - 01:03 pm Title: The Truth

Concerning Aiken's appearance - I don't feel like something is missing, it was just a thought I had and something I'm curious about - but I will wait patiently till you think it's possible to put in the story. As you focus mainly on Beomia it's not necessary, as Aiken's appearance will only give the reader another opinion, but to understand and get to know Beomia this is not needed. It will be interesting, though, to see if her different point of view now after her talk with Eothain will influence her opinion on Aiken (I have a feeling it might make a difference).
Tinara

Author's Response: "I have a feeling it might make a difference"...ah well, you'll just have to keep reading ;-) the next update shouldn't be too long. Thank you for your continued patience and support!!

Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/09/09 - 06:01 am Title: The Truth

Lovely absorption into Rohan; you make it feel incredibly real.
I am not sure if Aiken's POV prior to this would make a difference ~ maybe something from his POV after? I don't know, I like to head hop at different times and eventually find out what all the main protagonists think, so it would depend on whether Aiken is going to be one, or not.

Author's Response: I wasn't planning on actually getting inside Aiken's head - not the way I do with Bee and Wulf and Anna and Derry. What I am going to do is bring him in as a kind of "secondary" character, i.e. we meet him, but only through the eyes of the protaganists. A bit like Eothain and his mother - we meet them, but don't experience their thoughts and feelings. Thanks for reviewing, as always :-D

Reviewer: tinara Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/09/09 - 07:32 pm Title: The Truth

Interesting development. I like your thoughts on duty and choice. At the moment I'm not really feeling like I#m able to judge the situation. Aiken has only been introduced out of Beomia's point of view. Perhaps there are sides to him, she can learn to like? Even make friends with him?
And just what does Annis understand (or think about her own situation)?
Please update soon,
Tinara

Author's Response: "At the moment I'm not really feeling like I#m able to judge the situation. Aiken has only been introduced out of Beomia's point of view"...actually, it's interesting you should say that. I had a draft chapter written out in which the reader was introduced to Aiken (it took place prior to this sequence of events), but it didn't really add much to the plot and it felt flat and wooden so I took it out. He appears again later, but I did wonder when I typed this up and posted it whether readers would resent not having "met" Aiken for themselves. Would you mind giving me your honest opinion - do you think it would add to the story if Aiken appeared earlier? Thanks, as ever, for the feedback :-)

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/09/09 - 11:27 pm Title: The Truth

I *loved* Eothain's mother. Sharp and understanding - she was perfect for Beomia. I'm glad too to know the truth about Orvyn. That's a an understandable conflict - how could she help it? - should he have died for those children and left her? It's still nice to know he died with honor.
I also liked your Eothain. 'Too big for his stirrups' - ha!
Aw, that's sweet of Wulf. :) First swearing he won't let Aiken marry her and second offering to give her Annis.
I wonder how much Annis knows. Does she see her sister in Bee?
I'm in suspense! Will she really marry Aiken...?

Author's Response: Eothain's mother appeared on the page completely of her own accord...as did Beomia, as a matter of fact. Can you believe that this was supposed to be a three-part ficlet about a boy and his horse!? It just took off in its own direction! Yes, I thought she (and the readers) deserved the truth about Orvyn. Well, actually, the reader knowing what he did is kind of necessary...but I don't want to give too much away ;)

Reviewer: tinara Signed [Report This]
Date: 30/08/09 - 06:17 pm Title: "I'll be a spinster first!"

Just what is this woman thinking! Surely things can't be that bad for Beomia and her family that her mother had to catch the first suitor? I hope she comes to her senses - remembering what it was at this age - obviously not, otherwise she wouldn't talk like this.
Please update soon, I'm looking forward to how Anna and Derry will solve this mystery!
Tinara

Author's Response: Well, it's a fairly primitive culture...it's not so long ago even in our world that sex before marriage was heavily frowned upon! The next chapter (which I plan to post tomorrow or the day after) is staying in Rohan, but we will be moving back to Derry and Anna soon. Thanks, as always, for reading and reviewing :-)

Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/08/09 - 07:34 pm Title: "I'll be a spinster first!"

This was a great, and highly believable conversation between Anna and Derry, and well worth waiting for, although their confusion is no less, in fact it is probably doubled! But at least they can talk and bounce ideas off one another.

Lovely transition to Rohan, and a great deal of tension within the family.
Oh dear, poor Beomia, in the marriage mart for a much older man because gossip has damaged her reputation. Ot did almost seem, that in a society where women were less emancipated than now, some of Anna was coming through Beomia in her last outburst!

Thank-you for the update. :)

Author's Response: Thank you!! :-D yes, they're going to be comparing notes and seeing how their stories/memories/dreams fit together. And Anna and Beomia are, in some ways, very similar...Beomia is perhaps more openly emotional, but they share quite a few character traits, as we shall see later ;-)

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/08/09 - 12:32 pm Title: "I'll be a spinster first!"

I am glad to see an update! How understandable was Derry’s anger here. Seriously, Anna’s story would have sounded insane, even mocking. But at least they still remained friends at the end. Now what can they do… ah, nothing, I guess. This is a strange thing they share.

Poor Beomia. :( So the whole town think she’s disgraced? Can she ever prove her honor now, I wonder. That’s not a happy situation: marry an old bald man or be a spinster. I can see where her mother is coming from, though – it’s hard to find a good man.

Ah, the little foal is unlocking the stable! With her intelligence, who knows what else she’ll get into... Can’t wait to find out! ^_^

Author's Response: Hey Kitt! Thanks for the review :-) yeah, I did think it would be ridiculous to expect Derry to believe Anna, but like you say, at least they're still friends! And as for Beomia, her honour and the foal...you'll just have to keep reading :p

Reviewer: tinara Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/07/09 - 02:22 pm Title: Dinner and a Discovery

I#m really drawn into it - and then this! Please update soon, I would like to know, how these two sort everything out.
Tinara

Author's Response: I'll do my best to update soon! I'm so glad you're enjoying it; it's great to have a new reader :-) thanks for the review.

Reviewer: Narya Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/06/09 - 07:49 pm Title: Dinner and a Discovery

Oooops - typo in my response to Spiced Wine's review. "Unwillingly" was supposed to read "willingly." Temporary brain meltdown :p anyway this was the only way to correct it without deleting the review - and I don't want to do that :-)

Reviewer: Pink Siamese Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/06/09 - 07:07 pm Title: Dinner and a Discovery

I could really just hijack most of Spiced Wine's review...the dialogue in this chapter is superb: natural rhythm, lovely pacing, and a deepening level of intimacy that is skillfully handled and believably presented. I love how you're revealing the story to us a little bit at a time, creating a little bit of that same intimacy between the story and the reader, which of course draws us in ever tighter. And the cliffie is great! Lovely work, as usual. ;)

Author's Response: I could really just hijack most of Spiced Wine's review...woot! Thank you so much *glows* when I get a nice review from you, SW or both, it's like a teacher putting a gold star on my work - makes my day! Like I was saying to Kitt, I have to pace myself in terms of how quickly I reveal the info - now I know where I'm going (and it's not where I thought I was going originally, but then again it never is) I can't wait to share it with the readers. Glad you enjoyed the dialogue, too; I enjoyed writing it. Thank you for reading and reviewing, as ever!

Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/06/09 - 04:18 pm Title: Dinner and a Discovery

Wonderful chapter. I love the developing empathy in the dialogue between Derry and Anna, and her sympathy for his needing to talk and not to reveal her own sorrow is delicate and shows much about her personality.

Oh wow, you had to leave it at this cliffy! O_o Damn!

Super chapter!

Author's Response: Yay, thank you!!! Yeah, there had to be a cliffhanger...at the rate I'm updating, I'd lose my readers if I didn't give them something to come back for! XD Yes, Anna's definitely a thoughtful, sensitive type. *SPOILER* In later chapters, we'll see how she spent a lot of her childhood in her sister's shadow - albeit unwillingly - which has had a huge influence on how she interacts with her peers now. She's used to having to be quiet and listen.

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/06/09 - 03:47 pm Title: Dinner and a Discovery

OH! Shocking revelation! He was actually Beomia's fiance? This just keeps spiraling into more and more fascinating stuff… I guess I said that before but it's true. :)
Derry's becoming far more complex than I would have guessed - ya know, beyond the piercing. ;) When Anna is talking with him, I feel very much in her head. Their evolution from shyness to ease was believable.

Author's Response: Yep, he's Orvyn...kind of... :p I'm glad you're still enjoying it, that you can identify with the characters and that you find it interesting. I have to try and keep myself from info-dumping; I have the whole plot pretty much settled (and a lot of it already written out longhand) but now I know where I'm going I kind of want to write it all in at once! I'm doing my best to take things at a steady pace and let the readers digest things, so let me know if I start moving too fast. Thanks for the review! :-D

Reviewer: Ndil Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/06/09 - 12:52 pm Title: The New Boy

Well written! I am enjoying this story too. I hope you get the screen time anytime soon! Keep updating...

Author's Response: Hi Ndil! Sorry I didn't get back to you earlier, I'm usually much quicker than this *slaps wrists* thank you for the compliments...and, by way of apology, the next chapter is now up ;-) so feel free to read on!

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/06/09 - 06:01 am Title: The New Boy

Oooh, who is he? intrigue! I love it. Love the pacing, the characters and that thread of mystery and links to Middle-earth you weave in, that is so irresistible, and so well written!

Author's Response: Thanks, xFanarix! *Grins* I'll do my best to get another chapter uploaded this weekend, and put out an LJ post etc. Now I can't have the computer whenever I want, it feels like my left arm's been cut off! Thank you for reviewing, as ever.

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/06/09 - 11:03 pm Title: The New Boy

Ah, yeah, that's a pretty typical teacher scheme... Ooh, but Derry does sound nice (excepting that mom would kill me for marrying a guy with piercings, so that’s as far as it goes for me ;)). So he's got a situation like Anna's; maybe something to do with the fellow from ch. 4??? I think I feel excited for Anna, anyway, for getting to know him. It is nice for her that he does not look at her always in sympathy.
*nods* Ever since getting back from the Uni its been a struggle to squeeze in computer time. Brothers and their comp games. Sigh.
Really enjoying this, once again! :D

Author's Response: Thanks, Kitt! As for what Derry has to do with the guy from c4, read on...and yeah, I'm in a similar situation to you computer-wise, though in my case it's my sister revising for exams. Don't think I take priority over that :p

You must login (register) to review.