You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: xiaojun Signed [Report This]
Date: 24/08/15 - 03:10 am Title: "Of Plant Pots, Siblings and Mad Uncle Tim" - Narya

20150824 junda
canada goose uk
jordan pas cher
fitflop uk
air max 95
tory burch outlet
michael kors outlet
replica watches cheap
burberry sale
cheap jordans
michael kors
ralph lauren outlet
ugg boots
kate spade handbags
nike air max
nike store uk
coach outlet
soccer shoes
mizuno running shoes
cheap jordans for sale
basket ball shoes
toms wedges
air max 90
hermes uk
ralph lauren
mont blanc pen
michael kors handbags
new balance outlet
gucci outlet
hollister uk sale
jordan shoes
ed hardy clothing
louboutin pas cher
michael kors
christian louboutin outlet
abercrombie
gucci
borse gucci
michael kors uk
fitflops outlet
ralph lauren uk
snabacks wholesale
kate spade handbags
barbour jackets
instyler max
burberry handbags
oakley sunglasses
nike free run 5.0
nike tn
michael kors uk
ugg australia
michael kors handbag
michael kors outlet
mulberry
ray ban outlet
ralph lauren
hermes bags
nike uk
hermes belt
air max 90
ray ban sunglass
michael kors outlet online
adidas gazelle
toms outlet
true religion outlet
cheap ray ban sunglasses
hollister
gucci uk
mcm outlet
coach factory outlet
ugg boots sale
coach outlet
pandora rings
coach outlet online
pandora jewelry
tory burch outlet online
louis vuitton
nike uk
burberry outlet
louboutin
louboutin
tory burch handbags
oakley store
michael kors outlet online
jorda femme pas cher
hollister clothing
jordan uk
soccer jerseys
instyler curling iron
longchamp pas cher
coach outlet online
christian louboutin
nike trainers
adidas uk
canada goose jackets
nike running shoes
mcm handbags
nike elite
true religion jeans
canada goose uk
mizuno shoes
nike roshe run mens
louis vuitton pas cher
air max 95
timberland uk
ray ban sunglasses
chaussure louboutin
nike air force 1
ugg outlet
prada outlet
adidas trainers
polo ralph lauren
michael kors
ralph lauren outlet
nike free runs
ralph lauren
ed hardy
toms shoes
ed hardy
pandora jewelry
north face jackets
toms outlet
coach outlet
chaussure louboutin
coach outlet online
christian louboutin
rolex watches
nike blazer
michael kors handbags
cheap oakleys
longchamp handbags
oakley sunglasses
michael kors handbag
adidas superstars
burberry scarf
nike huarache 2015
cheap jerseys
fitflop shoes
polo ralph lauren outlet
canada goose
ralph lauren homme
sac longchamp
ugg sale
borse louis vuitton
cheap soccer shoes
coach outlet store online
true religion
coach factory outlet
nike huarache
coach outlet online
pandora charms
air max 95
air force 1
michael kors handbags
adidas superstar
mulberry sale
nike elite socks
michael kors bag
pandora charms 2015
replica watches
ugg boots for women
nike tn pas cher
gucci outlet online
oakley sunglasses outlet
running shoes
adidas gazelle trainers
coach outlet store online
new balance shoes
soccer jerseys wholesale
kate spade
uggs outlet
burberry outlet online
true religion outlet
michael kors outlet
kate spade outlet online
hollister clothing store
cheap oakley sunglasses
michael kors bags
barbour uk
nike air max 90
ray ban sunglasses
north face uk
nike store
kate spade bags
pandora outlet
nike blazer low
michael kors
oakley sunglasses sale
polo ralph lauren
louis vuitton
toms shoes outlet
ed hardy clothing
hermes birkin bag
ray bans
coach factory outlet
kate spade outlet
true religion jeans
abercrombie outlet
longchamp soldes
adidas shoes
prada handbags
true religion sale
black timberland boots
nike roshe run women
nike cortez
kate spade uk
oakley sunglasses wholesale
michael kors outlet
cheap snapbacks hats
michael kors
adidas shoes
tory burch shoes
christian louboutin sale
cheap true religion jeans
cheap nike shoes
michael kors
cheap uggs
sac longchamp
mont blanc pens
cheap ray ban sunglasses
air jordan
gucci outlet
air max shoes
michael kors handbag
coach outlet
fitflops sale clearance
ray ban glasses
longchamp outlet

Reviewer: Elanor Fay Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/06/09 - 06:53 pm Title: Buildin' Middle-earth

This made me laugh and I thought this particular part was sweet:

When the dragon failed to explode, we explained to him Merry and Pippin must have stolen it. We even pointed out the small car they must be using as their getaway vehicle as we drove home afterwards. He couldn’t wait for next July to see Gandalf.

Good job!

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/06/09 - 06:07 pm Title: A Young Romance

Very sweet essay! I loved this line: As we grow older we lose that part of ourselves and it makes me sad that I can't fully be convinced that the trees in my backyard are ents anymore.
So true.
I felt heartbroken for you about Gollum. I know that scene in RotK makes me teary as well. I grew up with the slightly sillier Gollum of The Hobbit, so the LotR Gollum always shakes me up.
Good luck with the reading and writing! :D

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/06/09 - 12:33 am Title: Chapter 6: Not all those who wander are lost; Some of us quite enjoy it!

Just with a dusty shelf? Cool! ;) I was moved by this line: to me there is truly not an end in sight and I would not have it any other way.
I used to skip the Hobbit pipeweed stuff too, but now I actually find it entertaining.
Glad ya got the Silm! :D

Reviewer: Anwyn Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/06/09 - 11:41 am Title: "Of Plant Pots, Siblings and Mad Uncle Tim" - Narya

Hey there Karlmir, that last essay was mine but I did forget to put my name anywhere on it as I finished it at quite late as I was determined to finish it but didn't sign it anywhere XD

Reviewer: Karlmir Stonewain Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/06/09 - 11:26 am Title: Chapter 6: Not all those who wander are lost; Some of us quite enjoy it!

This is a great essay, but I'd like to know who the author is.

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/06/09 - 09:13 am Title: Chapter 6: Not all those who wander are lost; Some of us quite enjoy it!

Lol, Anwyn, I remember the RPG boards very well, and the kerfuffle at anything slightly 'different', but as I put on my bio, I do not know another person beside you who came from play-by-post RPG to Fanfiction (apart from myself) I do think though, if I had never grown through RP and had places to write which were safe and allowed me to explore my characters, I would never have gone on to write stories. So, I do owe those sites that!

Reviewer: Ndil Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/06/09 - 07:44 am Title: "Of Plant Pots, Siblings and Mad Uncle Tim" - Narya

Thanks Narya!

I actually never got back to The Hobbit. Because I don't own a copy. I have started reading the Similarion a few times though. It's a bit hardcore. Do you think I should reread The Hobbit?

Reviewer: Narya Signed [Report This]
Date: 31/05/09 - 08:01 pm Title: Thank you, by Ndil

This was a lovely essay, Ndil - I totally agree that Tolkien reads like history! And I also agree that it's very unfair that nobody translated the appendices.

Did you ever re-read The Hobbit?

Thanks for adding to this! :-)

Reviewer: Ndil Signed [Report This]
Date: 31/05/09 - 09:21 am Title: "Of Plant Pots, Siblings and Mad Uncle Tim" - Narya

I don't think I can respond to a review directly, so I'll submit my thanks this way.

To Kitt Otter: It is hard isn't it? But at least now I finally can read the original English books, I love it. So much is often lost in translations. Like the songs and poems in LOTR, a translator can never get it completely right. Good luck writing to you too!

To: xFanarix. I guess we agree then that Middle Earth's history should be incorporated in high school history classes! ;) I feel too that he left us an invitation… so let’s write on…

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 31/05/09 - 12:44 am Title: Thank you, by Ndil

This was a really touching essay, Ndil! I read the Hobbit in German once and yeah, it's hard when looking up every other word...
I had to chuckle a bit on the only fantasy knowledge being from Disney. (Snow White - ew.)
I was pleasantly surprised too finding this site and seeing it so active.
Good luck writing… :)

Reviewer: Karlmir Stonewain Signed [Report This]
Date: 30/05/09 - 09:23 pm Title: "Of Plant Pots, Siblings and Mad Uncle Tim" - Narya

I loved your essay. I only wish that I had discovered Tolkien as early in life as you did. When I was in college during the late 60's I was totally clueless as to why some hippies were wearing "Frodo Lives!" lapel pins.

Author's Response: Oh, I've heard about the "Frodo Lives" pins (from Uncle Tim, surprise surprise)! I'm really glad you enjoyed the essay; thanks for your review :-)

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 30/05/09 - 05:28 pm Title: Thank you, by Ndil

I read all three books in two days. I forgot about trivial things like eating and sleeping. Tolkien captured me, with maps and vivid descriptions of his world. I didn’t even realize I was reading and appreciating fantasy. It didn’t feel like fantasy. It read as history, ancient history. He shaped my imagination like few others have.


I absolutely agree with you there. I think what sets Tolkien completely apart is that his is a fully realized universe with an underpinning of immense and complex history and that, to me, is an irresistible invitation to write within it, just as *real* history is an invitation.

Reviewer: callerofcrows Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/05/09 - 07:59 pm Title: Chapter 3 ~ And the doors in my mind swung open...

xFanarix, that was such a wonderful essay. I loved it! I also read the Appendices and cry, especially over Aragorn and Arwen.

Reviewer: Esteliel Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/05/09 - 11:30 am Title: Chapter 3 ~ And the doors in my mind swung open...

I'm so glad that somehow you wound up finding my story and this site through this - I couldn't imagine any higher praise than knowing that someone whose stories and characters I love and admire found her way to fanfic through me!

Despite the troubles one can sometimes find in fandom, for me the positive experiences vastly outnumber the negative ones - reading (and writig) fanfic or just talking about Tolkien's work is something that gives me a lot of pleasure and joy, more than any other fandom I've ever been in, and I hope that will never stop. (I can't imagine it will - there is somehow *more* to Tolkien than there ever was in any other fandoms I've been in. :))

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 13/05/09 - 11:39 pm Title: Chapter 3 ~ And the doors in my mind swung open...

Beautiful addition to this round robin.
I know! If I feel like having a good cry, I read the Appendices.
"This SHOULD be real" - definitely; and it is, so far as my siblings and I have ever been concerned. :D

Reviewer: Kitt Otter Signed [Report This]
Date: 13/05/09 - 11:30 pm Title: An Unexpected Journey

"demonic apple trees from the Wizard of Oz..." Wow! Me too!!!
The songs were hilarious. I'm still laughing. :D
Thanks for sharing this, Caller!

Reviewer: TomBombadil Signed [Report This]
Date: 13/05/09 - 12:29 pm Title: "Of Plant Pots, Siblings and Mad Uncle Tim" - Narya

Good times, dude.

I still maintain that our Quest was all you're idea.

Author's Response: Yeah? You're the oldest - it's your fault, all your fault! Joke ;-) I miss you!

Reviewer: Narya Signed [Report This]
Date: 13/05/09 - 09:19 am Title: Chapter 3 ~ And the doors in my mind swung open...

Oh, thank you so much for adding to this! I can just picture you lying in the hammock and being engrossed in The Hobbit...and I also type out massive long quotes and pin them to my noticeboard at uni!

Tolkien is timeless for many reasons, but his use of folklore speaks to something deep within our race memory, Elves, sorcery, artifacts of Power, the death of hero's and tragic last stands (which is very Anglo-Saxon, and if any-one has a chance to read Esteliel's superb essays, please do.) hence that feeling of familiarity, or that is what I believe.

I think that's absolutely spot on; it speaks to us on a very primal, basic level. And I will have to look at Esteliel's essays!

By the way, since your essays were pretty much all Tolkien-related, I think you'd be safe to put them back up - I loved them, so please think about it!!

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 13/05/09 - 09:06 am Title: "Of Plant Pots, Siblings and Mad Uncle Tim" - Narya

Tom’s was Watership Down, two of my other all-time favourites

Oh, I have to comment that I read Watership Down so many times it fell apart. I have always loved it, and the way Richard Adam's wrote of nature enchanted me, as I still lived in the country when I first read it, and his descriptions were so familiar to me.

Author's Response: The main thing I loved about Watership Down was the same as one of the reasons I love LOTR - the complete immersion in another culture. Well, in Tolkien's case it's multiple cultures...but yes, my copy of Watership Down is very dog-eared too!

You must login (register) to review.