Reviews For Ever and Ever
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/01/11 - 01:37 am Title: SURPRISE!

Sounds interesting. I look forward to reading it.

Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 13/09/10 - 01:17 am Title: Chapter 40: Dawn

This was a really great ending. I understand your sadness at ending this story. You no doubt love your characters. Calahdra is strong like Lainloth! You haved a way wiyh stong female characters. Looking forward to all you do in the future.

Author's Response: I appreciate it, dear! I do love feisty women.

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 13/09/10 - 12:40 am Title: Chapter 40: Dawn

You ended this story beautifully. I am so happy to see she has not only the best of both worlds, but an eternity to spend with Legolas. You are a very talented writer and I look forward to more from you. You definitely have my support. Thank you for sharing this wonderful, emotional story.

Author's Response: Thank you so much! I was happy as well, and I'm quite proud of the finished piece. I'm hoping to come back to fanfiction in a short time, probably in December. I have a story beginning to create itself in my mind already. -Whisper

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 13/09/10 - 12:03 am Title: Chapter 40: Dawn

A satisfying and hopeful ending to an emotional roller-coaster of a tale. This was very enjoyable all around. Thanks for sharing!

Author's Response: Thank you Melusine. I was satisfied when I came to the end, and that was a feeling I feared I would never feel.

Reviewer: Naneth Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/09/10 - 09:15 pm Title: Chapter 39: Truth

Well, Whisper, after having been away for quite a while, what a treat it was to read 10 chapters of your wonderful story at once.
Well done!
You have come such a long way and this story has gained such depth since you began (though I loved even the first chapter)
The struggling between compassion and pettier emotions in your characters is such a refreshing shift on the classic good guy/bad guy -- there is light and dark in all of us and it's a far more authentic tale for delving into that basic fact of life. The ambivalence is so real in each chapter... and beautiful.

Lovely long awaited love scene. You captured it perfectly. Human and transcendant at the same time...

The foray into 3rd person was seamless, well-written, and the only way you could have bridged that gap. That chapter really added a level of enrichment the story would gave missed, otherwise.
Also, the theme of redemption is a welcome departure from the Hollywood mold. What is the point of being here after all if we can't fumble around, mess up royally, act like jerks and be forgiven, learn something from it, evolving into better people. Yes, even elves.
It was so nice to see Calahdra and Legolas pass through this fire and emerge better for it. And Lenwe-- I didn't think you could pull off redemption for him but you did. These were particularly sweet chapters.

Love that you gave your story a cake! Fun. That loyalty & dedication is reflected in the ever emerging quality of the tale. Richly deserved.

Life and work dictate now that I have less time than I used to for exploring the fanfiction world but I will definitely see this story through to the end, because as a reader I feel so much a part of it-- which means you've done your job as a writer amazingly well...

I am so looking forward to seeing how Calahdra and Legolas overcome their last hurdles -- they've come so far... they're almost there! No wonder you're feeling emotional.

Good luck!

Author's Response: NANETH! I have missed you indeed. I will admit that there were moments that I doubted you return to Ever and Ever, but I despise pestering people so I refrained from contacting you. I am SO overjoyed that I have your attention again :D I appreciate all that you have said quite dearly. I'm also glad that you picked up on some of the themes I've been attempting to weave into this: redemption, pride, and fate. Redemption has always been a point that I've been intrigued by. And you're absolutely right... Hollywood and the Media have lost all concept of those virtues like honor and duty. I wanted to portray those things here in a relatable way. I hope that I've succeeded. I apologize for your busy-ness. I too have just started work and school and my life is utter chaos. But I only have one chapter left to write, and soon it will be completed. When I've finished, I'm going to take a holiday for a while, for I think I deserve it. But it won't be a very long holiday... writing fanfiction has wound itself far too deeply into my heart for that. If you do have time, please read some of the pieces I've posted over your hiatus (chiefly 'Exceptions' and Wildflowers'. I'm hoping to continue both.). Thank you as always! -Whisper

Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 07/09/10 - 04:10 am Title: Chapter 39: Truth

Wow, so much happening in one chapter. The ending is very satisfactory. Fate is an interesting concept. It's good when you're fated to Legolas!

Author's Response: There is still one more chapter, dear! I've not quite reached the ending that gives me that "Ahah" moment, but I'm sure it will emerge eventually. Thank you for continuing to read! -Whisper

Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 07/09/10 - 03:51 am Title: Chapter 38: Burning

A narrow escape! I can clearly visualize the terrifying scene. Yes it seems the enemy could not stand against the mention of the Valar.
Nice love scene. Lucky Legolas!
I will read this from the beginning some day, but for now could not resist just picking up as you post.

Author's Response: Thank you ladyjane!

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/09/10 - 01:55 am Title: Chapter 39: Truth

This was by far one of your most moving and emotional chapters. I am hoping she will fight for her right to become immortal. But I must say, Legolas' distance from her surprised me. I was wishing he would take her in his arms and... well, I'm sure you have your reasons. Great work.

Author's Response: Thank you L8Bleumr. My reason for Legolas' distance is this: he has been through just as much emotional trauma as she, and sometimes that simply becomes too much... even for an elf. But yes, there is another reason that I shall not reveal...yet. -Whisper

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/09/10 - 05:54 pm Title: Chapter 38: Burning

That was a close one. I hope she will be all right.

Tense chapter!

Author's Response: Thanks Melusine! Tense was what I was aiming for :)

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/09/10 - 10:15 am Title: Chapter 38: Burning

What will she choose? I just cannot wait. You have left me on the edge of my seat waiting for the next chapter. I understand your reserve about ending your story. I felt the same way about my first story. It is like a child that you have nurtured and watched it grow but eventually you must let it go. Then a new story is born and we do it all over again. Wonderful story, wonderful writing. When this tale is told in full, I cannot wait to see what else you will come up with.

Author's Response: Thanks L8Bleumr! And that is exactly the way I feel about ending this! It's going to be terrbily difficult to write that final sentence. And I do have a few ideas in mind for what I'll do next. I want to continue Wildflowers, but I also really want to write an Eomer and Lothiriel fic (with plenty of Cal/Lego references!) We'll see, I guess...

Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 05/09/10 - 10:57 pm Title: Chapter 38: Burning

I've just begun to read the chapter and will give a full review. Just wanted to remind you there is an Elf I'm longing to know more about. Has Teron been whispering in your ear? He seems to have so much life. You will miss your master work. Maybe something even better is waiting for you to bring it alive.

Author's Response: I absolutely have not forgotten about Teron! But my goal was to finish Ever and Ever before the end of summer, and until it's complete, everything else has been on hold. So as soon as I'm finished mourning the end of E+E, I'll start on Wildflowers' sequel. Thanks dear! -Whisper

Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 17/08/10 - 09:06 am Title: Chapter 37: Revelations

Impatient person that I am, I am reading your story back to front I think. That way I can read what you wrote and still keep up with the latest.

OK have I got this? Cal loves Legolas and he loves her. Eomer also loves Cal?

Lucky lady that Cal. This is good, I'm enjoying it.

Author's Response: Hahahah! I can't gaurantee that that system won't totally confuzzle you, but it should be pretty interesting :) Cal and Legolas have been together for a while and there's no doubt that they have always been fully committed to each other. But there were some hints that Eomer really did adore her a while back... and when Legolas realized this, well, he wasn't too happy. Honestly, the Cal/Eomer relationship probably would have been far more rational than the Cal/Lego situation. Thanks ladyjane!

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/08/10 - 01:37 am Title: Chapter 37: Revelations

Another beautiful chapter. Enjoy your trip and be prepared to give us an update upon your return. We are patiently waiting.

Author's Response: Thanks L8Bleumr :) I won't keep you waiting too long.

Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 15/08/10 - 05:43 pm Title: Chapter 1: Sighting

Oh those last few lines. 'Not an inch of him was more or less than it should have been.' Whisper, you little vixen, so many yummy connotations to that.

I get a pretty clear picture of your heroine from this first chapter. I think I'm going to enjoy this. Your writing is always so inspiring. Thanks for being who you are, one of the best!

Author's Response: Ahahah. Yes, I do enjoy that line quite a bit ;)
I'm glad you're enjoying yourself so far! I will warn you, though. I'm planning on rewriting a good portion of the first few chapters. For every person that loves Calahdra for being fierce, there is another that criticizes me for making her too Mary Sue-ish. I want to fix that.
Thank you, ladyjane. You're complimetns always make me blush(in a good way). -Whisper

Reviewer: Lisse Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/08/10 - 07:53 am Title: Preface

I will read the emotion and never judge. The heart of what you write is more important than a type-o. I am very reluctant to put myself out there, but I do and will the more so.

Author's Response: Thank you Lisse! I can't wait to hear more from you :) -Whisper

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/08/10 - 01:10 am Title: Chapter 36: Unbroken

I am overjoyed to see Caladhra and Legolas together again. Up until now, your story has felt so desolate (and I mean that in a good way). But the tides seem to be turning and hearts are singing. I'm almost afraid to let go and give in to the joy. Something is lurking just around the corner isn't it? Wait, don't tell me. I'd rather read it for myself.

Author's Response: I too am overjoyed at seeing them together again. But the war isn't over yet.
Thank you, dear! -Whisper

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/08/10 - 11:13 am Title: Chapter 35: Healer

I appreciate how you incorporate the different horses in this story. They are just as important as all the main characters. The scene with the Vala was wonderful and I cannot wait to see how our heroin will change from warrior to healer, if she should choose that path. Very cleverly written. I am enjoying it immensely.

Author's Response: Thanks L8Bleumr!
The horses are indeed important. Tolkien took a good bit of time describing the steeds of Middle Earth and their importance. I figured that if my focus was solely that of a rider of Rohan, than the horse-iness would have to be amplified quite a bit.
Calahdra's journey isn't over yet :)
-Love, Whisper

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/08/10 - 12:50 am Title: Chapter 35: Healer

I'm just catching up again. Powerful stuff. You see now the problem of writing in first person--if something happens to the pov character outside of her awareness, how do you handle it. I think you did well on that. So now she's healing, but not whole and on her way to battle. I wonder how Legolas will feel to see her there in that state. Looking forward to the next update!

Author's Response: Thanks Melusine!
Writing in 3rd person was tricky, but it was also refreshing. I was concerned that it would shock readers and prevent them from truly grasping the deeper content of the chapter, but so far it has been well recieved. For that, I am glad :)
I'll post again soon, I promise! -Whisper I

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/08/10 - 11:36 am Title: Chapter 34: Change

This was a wonderful chapter full of sorrow and hope for Caladhra's future. I enjoy your writing and hope you will not change a thing. It's funny, I somehow got onto your reviews and read a pretty criticizing one, about being more Tolkienish. I'm sure they meant well with their advice but it seemed like they wanted you to change your style more than anything. I am happy you changed nothing and stayed true to who you are and what you like to write. You can't please everyone all the time so don't even try. I love your story. I love your OC. Stay true and continue doing what you do.

Author's Response: Thank you :) I'll finish Ever and Ever in 1st person, but I think that 3rd person has really captured my heart.
Whenever I re-read those reviews, I feel that funky, uncomfortable weight in my stomach. I'll admit that when I first started writing Ever and Ever, I was naive and pretty ignorant of some rather crucial Tolkien-knowledge. But I've evolved, and I KNOW that I've become a better writer AND a better Tolkien lover because of it. I think that if had ever wavered, if I had ever doubted myself and changed Calahdra because of those comments, I wouldn't have reached the point I'm at now. Will I go back and tweak some of those less canonical parts of Ever and Ever's beginning? Absolutely. But I'm not going to sacrifice my style or my point of view just because a hardcore canon-lover doesn't like it.
Everyone's Valinor and Middle Earth is different. That's my opinion. Fanfiction is simply a way of sharing your personal view of Tolkien's (or any other author's) genius with other people. Not everyone is going to appreciate or share your views, but some people will connect with you and be able to nod their head and say 'Yeah. I understand that.' That's the beauty of fanfiction :)
Well look at that, I just got on my soapbox. I'm shaking my head at myself right now. I apologize, but this has been on my mind for a while, and I had to get it out there.
Thank you so much for your continued support. I really appreciate it :) -Whisper

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 31/07/10 - 09:55 pm Title: Chapter 28: Dance

This was absolutely one of my most favorite love scenes of all. You wrote it beautifully. I could picture the whole scene like a movie playing in my mind. Very, very good. It was nice to see Caladhra take a break from the doom and gloom of wartime.

Author's Response: Oh, thank you :) Writing that chapter was exhilirating...I'm glad everyone's been enjoying it so much, because I was really worried that it would come off too cliche. But apparently it's a hit! -Whisper

You must login (register) to review.