Reviews For Crystal Green
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Vanime18431 Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 23/06/10 - 08:34 pm Title: Chapter 9

Wow! What an incredible turn of events...being that Laegnar reminds the twins of their nana, one wonders where Laegnar will truly belong or even be healed of all wounds...time cures all ills they say...will he have to go to Valinor?? And the allusion to how Celebrian was after the attack on her, I do accept as being the same for Laegnar...in his past world, he in a way, was Celebrian...an innocent however, forced to fight evil constantly with no let-up and now he needs to get that innocence that he deserves back and is now lost in the process...I know I am not saying it well, but I hope you know what I mean.

Very well written as usual. Wonder how all the elfs reacted to the news of Laegnar and how they will treat him in the morning. Hope it won't be bad for him.

Hugs,
Vanime

Reviewer: Vanime18431 Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 12/06/10 - 01:21 pm Title: Chapter 8

LOL I had to laugh at Erestor saying "Damage control" A true understatement if there ever was one! :D

Loving this even more than before. One wonders which path will be before Laegnar; which realm will he choose?

Hugs,
Vanime

Reviewer: Vanime18431 Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 08/06/10 - 10:52 pm Title: Chapter 7

Rey,

Loving this as usual! :D So happy that your story is up for nomination! :))
Is this where the reviews get seen for the MEFA's? Or do I go to another site to give accolades??

Hugs and Love,
Vanime

Author's Response:

You must go to the MEFAwards site and log in as a member of their Yahoo group in order to nominate and review stories. (The nomination period is still open until June 15, so you still have time to nominate stories you like/love, if you would. :)) When you are received into their Yahoo group, someone will help you create an account on the site, then you can begin to put up up to 20 nominations - till June 15.

 

There are some rules about reviewing there. (And yes, you must go there to review stories you like/love in order for the review(s) to be acknowledged for the awards. (The voting is review-based...)) I think it is judged by length and perhaps content. (Dunno. I only glimpsed into it. The real voting period is not until after June 21, I think.))

 

Hopefully I can post Chapter 8 in the near future. I do hope you will get to see Chapter 9 before I post Chapter 10 on FFN! :guilty: :sheepish: And sorry again for that... I am glad you still enjoy the story so far, even though it is no longer new to you.

 

Hugs,

Rey

Reviewer: Vanime18431 Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 01/06/10 - 08:51 pm Title: Chapter 6

Rey,

Welcome back! Hope all is well with you too. :D

I thoroughly enjoyed again this chapter to Crystal Green. Poor Gildor! Surrounded by Elrond and the others...lol one wonders how the interrogation will be going! :P

Hugs,
Vanime

Author's Response:

I think I will put up a one-shot about it... but not now. *grimace* More and more people hint about wanting to see the meeting in detail, although they would not outright say it so when I asked. :rueful: Hee. But that decided it.

 

I am glad you still like the chapters even after second (or more) reading, and after this long. Thank you. :)

 

- Rey

Reviewer: Vanime18431 Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 23/04/10 - 01:41 pm Title: Chapter 5

Happy Dancing! :) Getting closer to chapter 9! LOL :D

I think it cute that Gildor got caught "red handed" for having sung the Song of Power - he surely knew that there was no way that Gandalf wouldn't have noticed it. A being of Power is bound to recognize power being used, whether it dark or light.

I found it touching that he would think of having Wenlach and Laikanaro as his family. It really shows I think that despite his and Wenlachs' wanderings, (as well as the other elves, like the one that wanted to hold Harry in the beginning), what they are really looking for are lost pieces of themselves - whether it be family or things (like freedom of youth for Wenlach), in order to feel complete. LaikanaroLaegnarHarry really brings that home to everyone on so many levels.

I think you are fine with having the translations of names and meanings at the end of the story. Many folks are used to that in other stories, so I don't think it will hurt any to keep it the same...

Hugs,
Vanime

Author's Response:

Well. Yes. :shifty eyes: Closer to Chapter 9... I got to be quick in finishing it, yes? :sheepish: Bleh. My procrastination self...

 

LOL At least the other Elves did not find out about it; perhaps he thought so. It must be a little frustrating, having the famed Finrod Felagund as one's foster father. And it was also why he begged Gandalf not to leak that activity to anyone else. I wonder if the little one knew, or at least was aware of it... Hmm.

 

I would like to think that Eru did have a purpose for Harry to fulfill in Arda. Seeing that he was in the guise of a child, an Elven child no less, he must have a mission to do other than war (as some would think it), despite his background as a reluctant warrior. What could a child do? Soothe hurts just by being there, add hurts by unfulfilled yearning perhaps, cheer people up by fooling around or just laugh, and many more... I hope to touch those as best as I can. The whole project seems too ambitious, and I do not often achieve it, but... One might still dream, no? :rueful:

 

I think I just missed the name list when the person asked... :uncertain: Ow. Well, anyway, it seems that nothing else could be done to this problem. Thank you for your comments on it... and for the whole nice review.

 

Hugs,

Rey

Reviewer: Vanime18431 Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 20/04/10 - 11:28 pm Title: Chapter 4

I have to say, that I never mentioned it before, (at least, not as I recall), but you have a great grasp of Middle Earth History when you write your stories.

It is very apparent when one reads the end notes, and when I read them I am somewhat humbly reminded that I forgot more than I remember regarding several persons or incidents in the LOTR and Simillarion canon.

What sources do you use? Is it the HOME (History of Middle Earth) series? or the works of the Master himself?

Incidently, I ask that you don't change that aspect of your writings....I find it adds flavor to the overall dish! :D

Hugs,
Vanime

Author's Response:

Whoa. I am very flattered... I guess there are some (if not many) writers doing what I do, though...

 

No. I long to read HoMe, but never get a chance for it. :rueful: I would really like to see what Professor Tolkien has written for the Ainur! There are interesting things there, according to the rumors and snippets I have 'heard' so far... Someone promised to give me an E-book version of all twelve volumes, but he has not yet given me that; perhaps too busy with real life. But have I not referenced it - The Silmarillion - when writing the footnotes? Uh-oh... Got to do it, then, at least as a note in the story notes section...

 

LOL Well, the references to Arda's earlier time might diminish alongside the progression of the story, but I do not really know about that. Do not see that far...

 

Some find the changes of names and terms baffling, though, but I do not see how to make them less baffling. Do you? (Please?) I both hope my readers would have a good time reading my story, and wish for the atmosphere to be somehow tangible. (I could do the latter mainly just by fitting most names to the callers and the language she/he uses; that goes the same with the terms...)

 

Huh. Now I am preening like a winning peacock. Bad, bad...

 

Well, I had better work on Chapter 9 now... and hopefully I will do it good. :uncertain: 

 

- Rey

Reviewer: Vanime18431 Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 18/04/10 - 05:39 pm Title: Chapter 3 Part 2

Forgot to mention by happy dance that chapter 9 is almost done! You'll never know how grateful I am that you are posting here for me to read, and hopefully get more of a following! You are very deserving of it. :))

And you are right -just like a mouse looking out for the cat! lol

Hugs,
Vanime

Author's Response: Well, I do not know about following. People read my stories here, without leaving reviews. I am used to it. I am so grateful that you would leave reviews to me, even though you did in FFN. I think we are both so grateful for each other. LOL But really. You deserve it, after being so devoted a reader. I never got one such as you before. :) Hugs, Rey PS: LOL Heh... He brought Jerry - from Tom and Jerry - in my mind when I was writing that particular part, and I was remembering my own childhood playing with my little brother and little cousins.

Reviewer: Vanime18431 Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 18/04/10 - 05:37 pm Title: Chapter 3 Part 2

So glad you are getting up to speed with the chapters! :) You do know that there is no rush right?? LOL

I just so love this part, poor Gandalf, squirming under the elves' attention! LOL

Hugs,
Vanime

Author's Response:

Umm. But I do wish to get all done before I post Chapter 9, which will hopefully be soon. It did not take me too long to tidy things a bit and post the chapter... I spent more time feedling with the formatting and all *roll eyes* and editting the chapter parts when they were copied to this... site *sigh* That was how I found that the no-more-than-6000-words rule still works on me here. :rueful: It happened with Seedlings: Ties.

 

LOL Heh. Gandalf is not all-powerful in Middle-Earth. Plus, he must not antagonise the people there... so he cannot strike back anyway. And who says that an Ainu cannot be afraid with Elves or Men? Hee. Morgoth was. But admittedly, he started it all himself.

 

I am glad you still like it, despite having read this for the second - or third? Or more? - time.

 

- Rey

Reviewer: Vanime18431 Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 17/04/10 - 01:17 pm Title: Chapter 2

I still laugh at Harry's head coming up through the batch of pillows! :) Just like a little chick in the nest...

Hugs,
Vanime

Author's Response:

...Or a house mouse peeping out for any cat, eh? LOL

 

I am glad I got through with the formatting. But now I am too sleepy. Hopefully I can post the third chapter tomorrow evening. Thank you for the review, Vanime! *huggle* Oh, and for your information, Chapter 9 (the update) is about halfway finished. Way shorter than the others so far, though, as far as I can see... sadly. :) ;)

 

- Rey

Reviewer: Vanime18431 Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 15/04/10 - 09:42 pm Title: Chapter 1

Just love this story! :) LOL @ Harry being fed buttered milk. I could just see his face too!

Hugs,
Vanime

Author's Response:

Sorry for the lateness. The format would not want to mold into what I want it to be. Perhaps I will get more success now? Anyway, thank you for the review, and thank you for rereading it... Thank you for your patience.

 

- Rey

Reviewer: Vanime18431 Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 10/04/10 - 05:27 pm Title: Prologue

Rey,

So happy that you got these up! I am now registered so I can leave you reviews! :))

Not sure if you are aware, but there are no clear delinations of paragraphs for this chapter. Just thought you should know this as it is hard to read the story in its current form. Hate to bother you with that!

It's a joy to be able to read Crystal Green from the beginning, and see everything "new" again.

I also favorited Brother Mine and Seedlings and the one with the Valar (the title escapes me at the moment).

Hugs,
Vanime

Author's Response:

Whoa. Vanime - thank you very much! But, as I said in my latest E-mail to you, I might bring down Seedlings: Ties for rewriting... Well, I could just replace the chapters, I guess... Let us just see what comes later. That is the same to Brother Mine.

 

I am not sure if you would like to see things again right from the start. I mean, it is not that different from the FFN version; perhaps a bit neater, but not so much. And thank you for alerting me to the paragraphing issue! *grimace* I will correct that as soon as I can. Thank you.

 

- Rey

You must login (register) to review.