Reviews For Tainted Light
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Celebelleth Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/01/11 - 10:39 pm Title: Prologue

Hope you will update soon;
please, do not give up this fantastic story, now you made all the way to Beleriand, you cannot stop here... Galadriel would not forget about her cousin's notebook, let it linger...
Really, come on! Tell us more of what SilmŽ is living there!

Reviewer: Celebelleth Signed [Report This]
Date: 30/09/10 - 07:04 pm Title: Chapter 22: Himring

Thanks for updating!! I won't say I've been waiting for long, I swear :)
Yet like every time, it was worth!
Great chapter, I loved the rough texture you gave to Himring, and to their tainted love..
looking forward your next post

Author's Response: Thank you for your review! I am very glad you are liking the story, and hope future updates won't disappoint you. :)

Reviewer: Celebelleth Signed [Report This]
Date: 23/08/10 - 06:02 pm Title: Chapter 21: Healing

Thanks EldaliŽ, another great chapter! --long expected ;)
I don't think that SilmŽ shall find peace near the March of Maedhros... yet, the story is beautiful
I like the countenance you give to Artanis, just perfection
Can't wait to read the next chapter

Author's Response: Thank you very much! As I said, it was shameful to leave you waiting so long, but I am glad you are enjoying the story. :) Hope future updates won't disappoint you.

Reviewer: Celebelleth Signed [Report This]
Date: 16/08/10 - 08:21 pm Title: Chapter 14: Oath

Just a one word for all the beautiful ones you laid over this most terrible part of the Silmarillion: brilliant!

Author's Response: I am very, very glad you like it, and hope you'll enjoy the update, which should come along, hopefully, soon. ;)

Reviewer: Celebelleth Signed [Report This]
Date: 14/08/10 - 06:13 pm Title: Chapter 4: Ask

Eldalie, this is truly fantastic and beautiful! I
I am reading your text and my heart feels light...
Maedhros is such a terrible and difficult character and still everything feels so natural (I cannot say less for Galadriel)
thank you!!

Reviewer: Encairion Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/07/10 - 08:11 pm Title: Chapter 17: Ice

This was an intense chapter, and I absolutely loved it! The death scene of Feanor, the emptiness of Maedhros’s eyes it was all so powerful! Every sentence, every word you write grips me, and shakes my bones! It’s simply exquisite. This tale is truly epic, one not easily put down and certainly not forgotten.

I loved the interactions between Fingon and SilmŽ:

“You were not alone in being betrayed.”

His eyes met mine then; and hatred had disappeared from their depth. They were mirrors of my own; but lost in bitterness uncountable in disappointment and betrayal.


I am waiting for the moment when she realizes Fingon is in love with Maedhros, that his love is equal to her own. Love of Maedhros will be his doom; just as it will hers, and yet there is not even the bittersweet taste of honeyed memory’s the shield the pain. Oh, this is just tearing my heart out! And I love it.

Author's Response: Thank you dear! I am so very happy you liked this. I couldn't wait to have Fino back friendly myself. And poor him, indeed. :( (As for your first paragraph, now I'm blushing.)

Reviewer: Encairion Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/07/10 - 04:58 am Title: Chapter 16: Doom

Still she would not look at me. FŽanŠro had turned. His eyes met hers, they held her gaze for a long moment, as if he understood. As if he could have healed her, erased with a word, a glance the weight that had descended upon Artanis the Fearless, the guilt as heavy as lead upon her shoulders. As if he could have done all this; but wished it not. For he turned his back on her, and would not look at her again.

I am still loving how you write Galadriel. She’s not actually one of my favorite characters, though she is beyond complex, but I really enjoy seeing this power struggle between her and Feanor. Well done.

You really wrote the wrath of Užnen beautifully! It was stunning, though it left me fuming! Usually at this moment in the story I am raging at the Feaniorian’s (though I love them) but the injustice of their attack upon the Teleri usually guts me. But while reading this part this time I was struck with rage at Užnen. I felt the helplessness of the Noldor in the face of her power. They were defenseless, mere elves battling against a god. What Užnen did was so utterly wrong; she violated the power Eru had given her.

His eyes then sought mine, and the abyss I had guessed in that far day in the sea-cave, the abyss in which I had lived with him in the years of our exile, was open and bottomless; and it hit me hard and fast and sudden, full comprehension of what it was, now, to be FŽanŠro’s eldest; to be tied to his will, to bear his legacy in one’s blood. Part of his spirit, spark of his fire, until the world should end. No, he would do nothing; for nothing there was he could do.

Gods this is heartbreaking! I just love the way your write Maedhros: stunning, achingly magnificent.

as he advanced in the water, as clawing at the Sea he cried, and in his cry were anguish and wrath, and rejected love.

“FŽanŠro!”


Woman! I cannot barely take this! Feanor’s betrayal of Fingolfin always claws at my heart, and you wrote it so…I don’t even have words right now! This whole chapter was just magnificent!

Author's Response: Thank you dearest! Very glad you like it so. :)

Reviewer: Encairion Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/07/10 - 03:15 am Title: Chapter 14: Oath

This was a heavy chapter. I have read the Oath many times, and each time it shakes one to the bone. This chapter was chilling and dark, you captured the confusion, pain, and blackness of this day flawlessly.

Eating was another way of crying.

Wordlessly I sat beside her, a hunger that was an appeal for all we had lost awakening in the pit of my stomach, a greed for things that would be beautiful and kind burning my tongue, my throat. The butter was soft on my raw fingers as I spread it on a thick slice, the prosaicity of the gesture telling me of a time and place that did not belong to us anymore. One where light still existed, and FinwŽ was not dead. I bit into the bread, and chewed angrily. It was finished too soon, and I prepared myself another piece.


What a tough topic to engage in! You fit their grief alongside their need to fill the void with food, so perfectly. Here in a chapter stuffed full of powerful imagery, and dark issues, you have slid this one in as well, and I thank-you for writing on something as taboo as emotional eating.

Truly I knew now that his sons' fear had not been groundless, and that, first of the Elves to do it, he could have taken back by his own hand the life the One had given him, and slain himself.

I think you describe Feanor in this moment perfectly. The way you related his love for the Silmarils, and the fact that they held a part of him, and with these loss and his father’s the very real peril of him committing suicide was revealed. It was exactly how I see it, but could never put it half so elegantly as you did : D

"FŽanŠro! Brother of my father! Nothing we know of Middle-earth, here we were born far from it; but in your words I see the blazing splendour of its stars, the boundless extension of his plains; in your words I see the realms that there we would make! I shall follow you!"

The eyes of the King turned to her, and never would they, he and her, again be so alike;:their eyes twin gems, their wills twin iron. I understood then that all prudence was forgotten, and all hope lost.


All sanity lost indeed! But I loved how we painted Galadriel in this chapter especially. Masterfully done.

Author's Response: Thank you! I am very glad you like it. It was heavy to write, doubt it not. As for the emotional eating, I always thought that people as fond of eating as the Elves - as we are shown they are several times in LotR - might well be prone to it. Glad you thought it fit. :)

Reviewer: Encairion Signed [Report This]
Date: 30/06/10 - 04:40 pm Title: Chapter 13: In Evil Hour

Another splendid chapter! You captured the darkness and doom so beautifully!

I loved how you wrote Feanorian's grief here, On his face he fell, like wheat when the sickle reaps it in the field, and for a moment we feared that his heart had been broken, and he had fallen dead. NolofinwŽ bent upon him, concerned for his brother even as his face was twisted with pain upon hearing our news; and love and concern were written upon his brow. But FŽanŠro refused all help, and rising alone he cried against the Powers assembled: "What have you done to me, that you have held me here while it was slain and stolen the better part of myself?"

Very powerful! I think people often overlook how much he loved his father, and emphasis his lost jewels more, but I liked how you remind us of his great love for FinwŽ. And also that glimpse of Indis's grief.

And so now it begins, the doom. Great chapter!

Author's Response: Thank you! I was sure you would appreciate the half a ton of angst scattered through this...:D

Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed [Report This]
Date: 30/06/10 - 08:17 am Title: Chapter 8: Feanŗro

One felt he could have commanded one's heart, and have it pulsating in his hand. Such power not even the Valar possessed, for it came of a strength that they, too close to the matter of the One, could not fathom. In FŽanŠro what Ilývatar had conceived to be the majesty and the inner divinity of his Children, something not even the Ainur could foresee, was revealed full. And it hurt.

Oh, brave! That is FŽanŠro. *Round of applause* That is just how I envisage him: magnetic, dangerous, brilliant as the Silmarilli.

A wonderfully rich, poignant story with all the depth that is needed for bringing the Elder Days to life. Silmarillion-based stories should be written and read so much more than they are because for me, LOTR pales beside the Silmarillion.

I admire your SilmŽ. I am very pleased that wonderfully realized, beautifully and authentically portrayed OFC's are being written, because just one gives the lie to the belief that OFC's are all 'Sues'.

Your character feels Elvish, which may seem a strange thing to say, but very often people write Elves just like Mortals, and they cannot be, their mind set and soul must be different. All your Elves feel as if they were born Elves, think like them and act like them. Lovely, lush and wonderfully emotional writing. Well done!

Author's Response: Now I'll just blush. *does it* I'm so glad you liked Feanor! I completely agree with you, LotR disappears beside the Silm, and Feanor, with Turin, was the one I fell in love with head over heels when I was twelve. So I am glad that, when I finally got around to writing him, he came out well. :) I'm also very happy that Silme feels Elvish, as that was the great challenge, and the reason why my OFCs thus far have always been Elves, although very different between them. To see through their eyes it is truly to live in another skin, and to expand my mind and my style. Hope the rest of the story won't disappoint you! :)

Reviewer: Encairion Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/06/10 - 09:27 pm Title: Chapter 12: Exile

Wow girl! I swear every chapter gets better and better!

I loved how you described Celegorm, a caged spirit! That’s how I think they all must have been during the exile, the Valar really just didn’t get elves. They couldn’t understand such wild free spirits, and they understand human’s even less! –well that’s my Valar bashing for the day lol

I loved the interaction between Maedhros and Feanor. I like how hopeful you make Maedhros, he’s determined to see the bright side. I want him to stay like this forever!

I let my fingers find the edge of his shirt, I let my arms draw it high, over his head. A small gesture of their tips and it was cast aside, crumpled linen on the rug. I did not care. For the splendour of his body was all my eyes could perceive, the heat of his flesh all my skin would remember as his own fingers undid the laces of my nightgown. They trembled; even as I did.

There is a place where all words are lost; and it was in his arms in that night that I found it. Darkness was forgotten; and so was light. We were beyond them, for this night, for this borrowed silence, for the long drumming of our blood was all that existed. Lying awake in our embrace, skin against skin, gambling our promise on the sharp edge of the desire we tempered even as we resisted it. Learning patience for another ten years of wait. Dreaming not, sleeping not, until morning came.


Exquisite! I thought that maybe just maybe you were going to change it for a second there, and have them bind ;) I loved this part, such elegant beauty in your words.

Another outstanding chapter :D

Author's Response: Thank you, m'dear...glad you liked it! Ahah, definitely, even if I was tempted too for a moment - 0:) - I'm sticking by the idea you so heartily approved for the delicate matter of binding. ;) Poor Celegorm indeed! And here the carrier pigeons make their first appearance. ^^ Hope you'll keep liking future updates!

Reviewer: Anabella Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/06/10 - 07:40 pm Title: Chapter 11: Crossroads

I love your story!
please keep on!!

Author's Response: Ahah, just about to update....;) Thank! Hope you keep enjoying it. :)

Reviewer: Encairion Signed [Report This]
Date: 23/06/10 - 03:44 am Title: Chapter 11: Crossroads

:Shriek:

I absolutely loved this! Wow, just wow! Silme's last conversation with her mother was so heart shedding, but so revealing. And the way you described Formnos, the twins, Canarthir was perfect!

"Gray twist of time, black back of fate. Alone, listening to the madness that grew around him, for madness it was to forge weapons in the land the Powers had for so long held in peace. Listening to his brothers' voices grow darker. Forgetting who he had been, for every memory was a pain sharpened to wound his heart, until nothing was left of our ancient joy but unhealed scars."

I was tearing up! This chapter just left me speechless! It is gorgeous.

And Silme and Matmio. What can I say? Perfection. Absolutely beautiful.

Well done.

Author's Response: Well, I suppose then I can be at peace now. ;)

Reviewer: Encairion Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/06/10 - 04:04 am Title: Chapter 10: Dark

Oh man talk about angsty! This was a captivating chapter, one I devoured!

I am still enjoying your take on Feanor, mostly because its different from how I see him, so its refreshing. You make me want to shake some sense into his haughty tongue!

Oh Maedhros! *swoon* That was a lovely kiss, and he was so intense in this chapter, I loved it :hugs:

Cannot wait for more!

Author's Response: I knew you would like this....0:)

Reviewer: Encairion Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/06/10 - 04:25 pm Title: Chapter 9: Betrothal

Oh Fingon! I need to give him a hug! I was nearly crying over his pain, you wrote it so well. These were another two beautiful chapters, you write angst incredibly well! I still cannot help wishing it could go both ways for Maedhros, I wish he could be with Silme AND Fingon (what's wrong with a good old threesome? LOL). But happy endings, are not always possible :(

I liked how you wrote Galadriel like Feanor! Wonderful insight, and something we do not see enough. They were indeed of the some blood.

One thing I will say, is that I got a little confused when you switched from the betrothal night to jump ahead nine years. Maybe you might want to smooth that out a little, and make it a more followable transition? Even just a transition break * would probably work.

All this foresight, and premonition is getting to me! Even though I know what's coming you are still getting me worked up, and knotted with worry! Ah Feanor! I usually like him, but your writing just makes me want to just hit him! I loved how he complemented Nerdanel on her work though, he still loves her, I know it!

Cannot wait for more, even if I am dreading the future, I know your writing will swore with all that angst :D

Author's Response: Hi there! Ghgh, told you, angsty Fingon. No, afraid this can't go both ways. I'll be sincere, I was sorry too. :( Grrr, the transition break was there when I pasted. Thanks for pointing out it got erased. Off to editing. :D

Reviewer: tinara Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/06/10 - 09:02 am Title: Chapter 1: Wine

This beginning is very intriguing and beautifully written. I can actually taste the tense atmosphere, all the underlying emotions you hint at.
Tinara

Author's Response: Thank you! Glad you like it. Hope you keep enjoying. :)

Reviewer: tinara Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/06/10 - 05:54 am Title: Prologue

The is a wonderful beginning - you write beautifully! I'm really curious what will follow.
Tinara

Reviewer: Encairion Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/05/10 - 11:51 pm Title: Chapter 7: Consent

OMG! You cannot leave us like that! Its just so unfair *g*

Another stunning chapter. I know I've said this many a time, but your word choice weaves the most fantistic pictures!

"But now each of his caresses was a new birth, and the world was revealed in different and novel colours; not all of them pleasant, not all of them kind; but all of them real. I had opened my eyes. And if a day should come when a price should be demanded for this knowledge, for this intensity bordering on pain, I would pay it without regret.

It is a promise I have kept. Now I know love can flay you, forcing you to live without skin in a world that is harsh and raw."


You have a talent for tearing my heart out with with the beauty and doom dripping from your every line, and I love it!

Author's Response: And I feared doom was coming in too thick...:P Thank you!

Reviewer: Encairion Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/05/10 - 04:47 am Title: Chapter 5: Tell

You just broke my heart! I seriously teared up a bit on this chapter, and its only the beginning! It's Fingon's fault, you wrote that scene so beautifully I couldn't help it!

Holding my breath, I watched the cousin I had known and loved all my life, and I could not recognize him in the distorted features on his face. FindekŠno battled to contain himself, rage and something I could not name lighting his eyes with a maddened fire. Maitimo looked at him as if he could not understand; and my voice was frail when I said:

"All that I can do to help divisions, Fino, I shall do…"

He turned on me with a fury that I never saw in him again; and his words were harsh, as alien to his usual self as to seem to belong to a different Elf.

"Be silent! Why did you ever come to Tirion? Why did you not leave before?"

Many things he could have added; many things he wanted to, and his eyes were ablaze. But shaking his head again, as if his emotion was too much even to speak, he turned and strode away; his steps purposeful with a decision that would allow no pardon. Maitimo looked at me, and nodding I let him go; he chased after him, and the two disappeared into the house.


Oh, I cannot bear it! Now you have to write me a Fingon/Meadhors story after this story -pretty please :D You write Maedhors so gorgeously, I want him to end up with Silme, but poor Fingon, he needs Meadhros too!

You have succeeded in working me into a frenzy over this story! My hands are shaking from excitement at this moment!

Author's Response: Thank you! To tell the truth, it wasn't an easy scene to write... so glad it came out well. :D

Reviewer: Encairion Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/05/10 - 06:00 am Title: Chapter 4: Ask

WOW! That was intense, and wonderfully so! You wield words like few other authors can, and it is a privilege to read.

This is my favorite chapter so far! Painfully passionate and desperate, simply exquisite in the emotions you brought up in me:

"Can't you guess that for me it is the same? And yet I look at you, SilmŽ, and see a light that I do not wish to blight, that I cannot bear to dim. It was sweet to see by it for a while; but what my blood touches, it ruins."

"I do not care!" The words cut my mouth, my controlled despair broke its dam: "Look at me, Maitimo! Mine is the choice. Look at me, and forget the rest. Look at me, and tell me what is it that you ask of me now."

Words like knives, words like wind. Eyes that sought mine, and a hand that rose to touch my face. Reluctantly, until my fingers found it, and entwined with its own.

"AlcŠniel…"

Reasoned choices, choices unthought of. And the truth that slips off the tongue, as simple as the light.

"Remain. Not for a day, not for a season. For the eternity of the Eldar, remain with me."

Broken paths that eventually meet.

I let him embrace me, and his fire did not burn.



Well done, so very very well done!

You must login (register) to review.