Reviews For A Bit Of Advice
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: EmzLegolas Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/09/11 - 10:26 pm Title: A Bit Of Advice

All my favorite stories are made by you, so I'll just leave a note here ;) Keep on writing!

Author's Response: Wow, thanks! It's nice to have you along for the ride. I appreciate your kind words.

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/04/11 - 11:24 pm Title: A Bit Of Advice

Hear hear! L8Bleumr, your honesty and insight is spot on. I love reading your reviews (and all others) including the ones where you've kindly pointed out an error or two! I totally agree, it helps us as authors to grow and develope and encourages us, and us as reviewers to understand that authors are not fishing for compliments, but rather trying to get a feel for what readers like about our style/story etc. Very true and great advice here. - Iri

Author's Response: I'm glad you agree. Of course we would be lying if we said we didn't care about reviews, but you're right, they are about more than praise. I have learned quite a bit from some of my reviewers and it has helped me to improve. We're all in this together and we should help support one another.

Reviewer: Eldarwin Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/02/11 - 10:28 pm Title: A Bit Of Advice

I completely agree with this. There are authors out there who write fanfiction, post it, leave it for five months, get no reviews, then feel like the story stinks and they delete their work. I try to review everything I read, even if it is something as simple as, "I love your story." It all helps and is appreciated. This post should be on the front page of the site for everyone to see!

Author's Response: So glad you agree. If I read it, I try to review it. It's only fair, especially being on both ends of it. We know how it feels to recieve them and that's what makes it just as fun to give them.

Reviewer: EldarinPrincess Signed [Report This]
Date: 26/11/10 - 12:27 am Title: A Bit Of Advice

Thank you for posting this, on behalf of writers and reviewers, especially since you are both yourself! It is important for the reviewer to leave an objective commentary about what they just read, otherwise how else can the author know what they are writing is worth the while?

Author's Response: Everyone likes to know if they're doing a good job or not and reviews do just that. They boost our confidence and sometimes make us better writers. Sometimes friendships are born just because someone decided to leave feedback. You never know what will happen just by pressing that little button at the end of every story. Thank you for agreeing and for sharing your talent and your opinions. That's what it's all about.

Reviewer: Kaisaan Greenleaf Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/10/10 - 07:23 pm Title: A Bit Of Advice

Hiya L8Bleumr!

Just had to review this chapter..thingy and tell you I agree with you %100! I love getting reviews and I try to leave reviews to any story I really like.

I know how valuable they are and how much they mean to people.

Honestly, I would read and review your stories, but I don't read anything with graphic sex. I am not saying your stories are bad for being rated R or having graphic sex or anything like that, just that I don't read it. I is sorry. I really wish I could read your stuff and review like you do for me.

That's kinda why I wanted to review this - just to let you know that I really do appreciate your reviews to my story!

~ Kaisaan

Author's Response: No prob. I read your bio and knew these stories would not be for you. When I saw how much you have written and a big 0 in the reviews section, I was kind of surprised. I read all kinds of stories and yours is among some of the most interesting, meaning it's held my interest and I can hardly wait to read the next chapter. Like you said, I too try to review most of the stories I read. I think it is important even if some say it doesn't matter. It's just nice to know someone out there appreciates all your hard work. Thanks for the review. ***Moe***

Reviewer: Ria Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/09/10 - 02:55 pm Title: A Bit Of Advice

Very thoughtful and thought-provoking. I have not been quite the high-caliber reader that your essay calls us out to be. I will try to be more consistent about reviewing, and about responding to reviews (got me there, too, *sigh*).

Author's Response: If it changes just one person's view of reader review or author response, then it has done its job. That's all any of us can do is try. Thanks for this, Ria.

Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/08/10 - 07:01 am Title: A Bit Of Advice

Hi, L8Bluemr.

Re; your response to my review. I think I did delete my first review; I wanted to say something and had left it out - there is no way of editing a response, so I have to delete it and post another one when that happens - sorry about that.

Take care,

Siân

Author's Response: No problem. Thanks

Reviewer: ziggy Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/08/10 - 01:45 pm Title: A Bit Of Advice

I totally agree with everything you say here. It is depressing to see authors writing for nothing and then readers not even leaving a note...of course, I always feel though, best say nothing if you can't be constructive or appreciative. It costs us nothing.

Author's Response: Thanks for the feedback ziggy (love the name by the way). Insults cost us our self doubt. Constructive criticism pays us with knowledge to better ourselves. And appreciative reviewers like yourself are priceless. Glad you agree.

Reviewer: Iavalir Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/08/10 - 05:27 pm Title: A Bit Of Advice

This is very good advice. :) I admit I was someone who read a lot but never left reviews. Partly it's my shyness ("Will this person even like what I'm going to say?") but also because back when I began reading LOTR fanfiction I didn't have an account. But now I'm going to make the effort to leave reviews anywhere I go. I may not be the best in articulating words in a review, but authors love to know that someone's reading their stories, even if it's a little comment saying that they love it. A few words here and there can go a long way to make someone happy, and that's how everyone should feel!

Added this to my favorites so others can see this. :)

Author's Response: Thanks for your positive response and for listing it in your favorites. I too didn't have an account for a long time. I don't know why. Wasn't sure what would happen I guess, if that makes any sense. But I'm still here and my computer didn't explode or anything lol. Keep reviewing and thanks again lavalir.

Reviewer: Lisse Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/07/10 - 02:42 am Title: A Bit Of Advice

I could not agree with you more. I always review every story I read, knowing how much heart and soul goes into a piece of writing. It is sad that there may be hundreds of reads and the story is wonderful, but no one has taken the time to review. I came across that earlier today, and of course reviewed.

Author's Response: That's great. You no doubt brightened that persons day. Thanks for commenting.

Reviewer: NessaMahtar Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/07/10 - 04:46 pm Title: A Bit Of Advice

Yes, I really appreciate when you review mine =) it makes me feel like you care, and it honestly makes my day. You are the only one who has ever reviewed my story =)

Author's Response: I'm glad you agree. Hang in there. More will respond. Your story is out there now for anyone to read. As long as you are happy with it, that's all that matters.

Reviewer: luthien85 Signed [Report This]
Date: 30/06/10 - 07:05 pm Title: A Bit Of Advice

Hi! It's me again your review buddy lol. It's true. Every writer, good or bad, me being the latter, likes to read reviews about the story they wrote. Some of us are more experienced and some like me, are starting to write. Reviews help an author to know that their story is enjoyed by others.

Reviews work as a food source for me and my muse. When we get no feedback about our story, we tend to think people don't like it. Yes, the read count shows you how many people have read your story but with no or an abysmal amount of reviews, you will start to think that are they really reading it until the end or skipping through?

Reviews also help the said author interact with their readers. Sometimes and in this case with my story and you, i remembered a plot i had forgotten until you mentioned it. An author/reader relationship should always be a two way relationship. For that, i thank you for being my loyal reader and reviewer.

In the end, all us authors, amateur or professional would really love to hear some feedbacks about their story and like spiced wine said, some of the stories here can put published authors to shame. I believe those authors deserve some recognition in the form of a review.

Author's Response: I am glad you agree and personally I think you are a good writer. After I finished your story His Eyes, I went back and read the first chapter again. I could see how your writing improved. Do not doubt yourself. I am proud to be your review buddy and hope to be so as long as we are writing.

Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed [Report This]
Date: 30/06/10 - 06:35 pm Title: A Bit Of Advice

Hi there, L8Bleumr,

When I first discovered this site, I was terrified of posting, and probably even more afraid of reviewing.
I was very lucky to find, by chance, authors whose work completely enthralled me (and I still read them and re-read them.) But to me, they seemed so talented (better than 90% of published authors) that I thought they would ignore my reviews, or just say something to the effect: 'Oh, I know it's good, thanks.'

What actually happened was, when I read a Maedhros/Fingon story by Oshun, that I was so thrilled that I left a review, then went back to add to it, and then again to add more. And the author both responded and emailed me to thank me. She was not the only one. I felt that was immensely courteous and began to see that these wonderful authors were people just like me. They were not arrogant or rude, nor did they have any sense of entitlement. I have struck up online friendships via LiveJournal with many of the authors I review, both here and on the Silmarillion Writers Guild, and the longer I know them the more I respect and like them.
For me, reviewing brought me closer to authors I read and love. Reviews do mean a great deal, indeed. I expected none whatsoever; I didn't even *see* a review option when I joined the site, probably because I was new to fanfic and the idea of reviewing online stories just did not occur to me. I didn't see it because I did not expect to. I think my jaw hit the floor when I started to get reviews, and I am still thrilled to bits. I never expect reviews even after two years.

You are right that I tend to read people who review me simply because any-one who reads me is likely to write the themes I enjoy, but I also recommend and review people who as far as I know have never looked at my work. Being an avid reader, however, it does not trouble me, since I get more pleasure out of reading than writing and read more than I write.

It's also true an author should respond to their reviews. I do know a lady who is so busy that she sometimes does not get round to replying for weeks or months, but as I am aware of her busyness, I don't mind. In general, however, if some-one does not acknowledge a positive review I am unlikely to review again, as I can't help feeling they just cannot be bothered or think I don't merit an answer. Eventually, I will not read them; it behooves an author to appreciate and respect their reviewers, not take them for granted: some of them may follow an author for years. Yes, it is definitely a two-way street.

I am passionate about the authors I read and their stories. I recc' them wherever I can, make podcasts, vote on the MEFA's, anywhere public.. Some people have emailed me about my work, but won't publicly review because, I assume, they do not want to be known as slash-readers. I am grateful for their words, but as a very *out* slash-writer and a supporter of fanfiction in general, I wonder why they read but won't *admit* to reading. If I was reading something and felt ashamed of it, I would stop reading. As it is, if I read something and like it, I will review it, always. I would always review on an archive rather than via email and I deeply appreciate of my reviewers; they're wonderful ! I could hug them. They mean the world to me.

I don't understand the 'I can't be bothered to review,' although I can understand shyness. I can also understand being too busy to review, although I have been falling asleep at they keyboard with exhaustion and made sure I reviewed rather than say, have a cup of tv or watch tv. If you wantto review, you will do it. But then, to me, writing/reading is a way of life, not a hobby.

One comment that I have seen around, on forums and LJ (and I mean other peoples' LJ's not mine alone) is, I loved your story so much that I didn't know what to say.

From a non-writer, I will accept that. Some-one who does not write may not be able to use words well enough to express themselves. Sometimes I am squeeeing! and have difficulty myself, because a chapter may be so rich with imagery and emotion I don't know where to start. But when an author says it, and a good author at that, I do not buy it. They're writers, and they like reviews themselves. That's just a 'Can't be bothered.'

Authors deserve support. Fanfiction is real writing; some of the work I have read make published authors look shameful, and the reviewers are a huge part of this wonderfully rich, diverse and creative world.

Author's Response: I know I responded to this already. As I was looking for a certain author who reviewed this off topic of mine I reread yours again. Have you changed it because there are things you said before that are not there now? And my original response is gone. I will not have a review without a response from me. That's just how I am. Glad you agree with my thoughts on reviewing. Thank you for your 'original' words which inspired me to come out of my shell a little more. You'll notice it in my bio which I didn't have before.

You must login (register) to review.