You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Ritalder Signed [Report This]
Date: 26/08/11 - 08:35 am Title: Chapter 1

You are responsible for me to like Haldir's brothers now.
I read it all dear, really good and hot story. I read it all in 2 days. Couldn't wait to finish, it made me laugh a lot too.
So I'm reading other fanfics of yours now :D

Author's Response: Wow- so glad you enjoyed it so much! I do hope you like the otehr stuff as much too.Once I finish Sons of Thunder- should be about two more chapters to go - I iwll be reposting it over on Esteliel's site, Faerie. It will be better there because I know how it ends up now. (I am intrigued how I have made you like Rumil and Oropher now - I have not written about them yet.) Love Ziggy

Reviewer: Ritalder Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/08/11 - 09:17 am Title: Chapter 15 The Sons of Thunder

Awesome. I wondered why one of the twins tightened his hands on his sword...
I don't get bored ever, I think the next is the last chapter and I'm sad :D

Author's Response: Thank you Ritalder-nice to hear you are enjoying it still. You need to keep reading to get why Elrohir tightens his hand on his sword when he sees Legolas- the sequel will give you all the answers you want!! Ziggy

Reviewer: Ritalder Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/08/11 - 07:35 am Title: Chapter 9 Eomer and Legolas

I waited for this...The whole story is this amazing trip, I loved it. Great AU, it's like watching another version of the movie, a more mature one :D
Really loved it.

Author's Response: Thanks Ritalder- its always nice to get something old reviewed and know that folk are still reading and enjoying it. I have thought about taking this down from here but I'm glad I havent now.

Reviewer: Caelhir Signed [Report This]
Date: 19/10/10 - 11:03 pm Title: Chapter 1

Sweet. I can't wait to read this on here now. Legolas....mmmmmmm

Author's Response: Oh yes! This is a bit slashed up but just wait for sons of Thunder- the latest chapter is really really hot when I get to it!

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/10/10 - 01:20 pm Title: Chapter 16 The Choice

This is the end? No!!! Wants more! I know, I know, all good things must.

What a wonderful, well-written story you've shared with us. Your depiction of the characters was fantastic and very real, and I especially loved your Legolas. I always enjoy reading a strong Legolas. ;-)

As for the ending, it's haunting and sad. I can't blame Eomer for wishing that it was the beginning, but each must follow his duty, and he now sees that. Time for him to move on. And I definitely like the idea of Elladan being intrigued.

Well done, Ziggy!

Author's Response: Thank you my dear Melusine. I am so glad you enjoyed it. The end indeed, for Eomer and Legolas. Yes, you are right about the ending- time had come to an end for those two... but Legolas? Well, he cannot help himself realy, and as you say, Elladan is intrigued... adn Elrohir... well... that, my dear reader, is another story.

Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 04/10/10 - 10:29 am Title: Chapter 16 The Choice

You know how much I love this. I sat stunned in front of my lap top for several minutes after reading this. So many things that touched me. I think Tolkien was definitely biased against Wood Elves it seems. The Noldor calling him nothing made my blood boil. To counter that I thought of our dear Melusine’s Legolas and Elladan deeply in love. Our hobbit is such a brave hero. Applauded him for his loyalty and love as de defended Legolas!
Gimli is just so so lovable. I meant to mention this before, but the thought of him tucking in his companions. So sweet. Surely the dwarves have great big hearts and souls, though formed by a Valar, I am most certain Eru loves them and will welcome them along with 1st and second born. Had to wipe away tears as the Dwarf and Elf confessed their friendship.
OH MY! What a lovely exchange between Eomer and Legolas. No one could have been gentler in their let down than Legolas. I love that Eomer will lovingly keep his strand of hair. How could Eomer not be in love with your Legolas? I knew from the beginning Eomer would be deeply in love. I know he will be alright. But a part of his heart is gone now and I believe the wound from its tearing away will always be open.
This was thoroughly enjoyable. Thank you, thank you, and thank you again. Love you!

Author's Response: Yes he was. Remember in the Hobbit Gandalf says they are more dangerous and less wise? That always got to me. And Legolas of course has heard that many times in Rivendell ( I have an idea for the Council of Elrond that will make your hair curl!! Naughty Woodelves set loose amongst the stuffy Noldor!) But dont worry- elladan is a good sort really- you will see more of him in the next story. Yes, Gimli is the best of friends. I like the idea that they have big hearts and souls. Gimli is so easy to write- his voice is very strong. ANd Eomer, ah. Poor Eomer, lovely heartbroken Eomer. I need to write the chapters before ch 1 of this really- just to give me a bit more longing and confusion for him.But he will be alright- Legolas sees Lothiriel in the future for Eomer - and knows he will be safe. The fling with danger and wildness os over for Eomer, even though he wishes it were not. The next time they meet it will all be different- you'll see!! Enough teasers my dear. Wait for the weekend.

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/10/10 - 02:48 pm Title: Chapter 16 The Choice

First of all, love the way Elrohir fishes for information about Legolas and his intentions to follow Aragorn, and then Merry speaking up and defending him was most precious. But the best part by far was the exchange between Legolas and Gimli, the promise to revisit certain places, insuring their undying friendship. The other thing you touch upon that was never given much thought is Legolas' realization of what it is like to live a mortal life. We only ever think of Arwen and her choice. But for Legolas to struggle over the choice to heed Gladriel's words or honor an oath to Aragorn had to have been a very tough thing to swallow. I believe his choice was set from the moment the fellowship left Rivendell. He would follow Aragorn regardless. But to have glanced into his future would of course make him feel as though his days were numbered, hence making him closer to mortal men then elves once he heard the gulls call. This is by far the best, most honest depiction of not only Legolas but all the characters you have portrayed. I hope you will continue with writing more stories for I enjoy your work immensely. Your talent is truly a gift and thank you for sharing it. Always a fan, Moe.

Author's Response: As always, you pick up on all those little signals for the future! But I am so glad you picked up on Gimli and Legolas too- that is the most important and constant thing in Legolas' life right now with all the uncertainty. You are right of course, he is destined the moment he sets out from Rivendell, from Mirkwood almost- he cannot turn back, not in his character. You say such nice things, thank you. A new story up next week, just for you and Ladyjane and Melusine.

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/09/10 - 01:33 am Title: Chapter 1

*hehe* I feel like was just called upon to respond to the teachers question and got the answer right. Extra credit for figuring out Elrohir. LOL Love ya Ziggy.

Author's Response: gold star for you. And ht next chapter before the end of the weekend, I promise.

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/09/10 - 03:44 pm Title: Chapter 15 The Sons of Thunder

It's difficult to focus on any one thing to comment on, except perhaps for the mood, which is dark and dire, as the circumstances dictate. Very well done!

Author's Response: Thank you Melusine - yes, it gets darker and darker now as they approach Minas Tirith. One more chapter left.

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 26/09/10 - 11:37 am Title: Chapter 15 The Sons of Thunder

I love the way you describe the turmoil Aragorn is experiencing over the palantir and taking the Paths of the Dead. And also, Elrohir's reaction to Legolas. It seems only natural that he might be apprehensive about a Wood elf. I am curious to see where this leads. Will they have a confrontation? Will he see that Legolas is indeed a true friend and not the savage that he surely has been led to believe the silvan elves to be? I hope he brings word of Mirkwood which might ease Legolas' worried mind. Very interesting chapter. Leaves me wanting more as always.

Author's Response: I am so glad you picked up on that. Elrohir is very complex in this. There is only one chapter left in this and Elrohir remains suspicious I'm afraid. I have always felt that Tolkien neglected Legolas and Gimli rather- and when the Grey Company arrives, surely they would have had some news? So I wanted to highlight the sacrifice they both make to stay with Aragorn- there is only one small bit in the book where they even mention this but it hints at vast unspoken emotions. But you are spot on at identifying Elrohir as a key character in this- I spent some time refining his part in this chapter.

Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 26/09/10 - 09:59 am Title: Chapter 15 The Sons of Thunder

It took me a few hours to read this thru. My favorite time to read and write is 4:00 a.m. to 7:30 a.m.

Aragorn is brave and so glad to see him begin to accept his kingship.

So glad he stood up to his brothers.

Thank you so much Ziggy for sharing with us. Love you!!

Author's Response: Interesting that you like that time of the day to read/write- if I am not working I can do the same- is it something about the unconscious? What can I say to such a lovely reviewer? I will get on with the next chapter.

Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 26/09/10 - 09:07 am Title: Chapter 15 The Sons of Thunder

they who had turned aside from the Valar to live in Middle Earth, to tend the forests and to keep the earth's song alive in their hearts and who had deemed it a betrayal to sail across the Sundering Seas.


Again, a line that takes my breath away.

Author's Response: It's something I feel the woodelves had done very consciously- the were not the Sindar who turned aside to be with Thingol, and perhaps not quite the Avari - I am never entirely sure about that, but probably a mixture of the two by the time Legoals came along. It always seems odd that Legolas seems so unaware of the Noldor history, or of anything that is referred to in the Silmarillion. I have wondered if that was consciously done by the Prof or if he was preoccupied by the hobbits and Aragorn and just overlooked it- whatever the reason, it gives us such scope for our imaginings, dont you think?

Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 26/09/10 - 08:51 am Title: Chapter 15 The Sons of Thunder

As you have said, Tolkien tells us about the hobbits in his version of LotR. As I read how Legolas holds out his image of a kingly Aragorn to bolster failing confidence, I understand why Legolas is the Elven representative on the Quest. Would a Noldor, such as our beloved Glorfindel care for the spirit of his companions as well as he fought with his physical being? As much as I love Glorfindel, I think not. They are all fortunate “a humble wood Elf”, your Legolas was chosen.

Author's Response: AH, I have never thought of that quite as consciously as you have articulated here. What a brilliant idea! I intend, at some point, to write about the Council of Elrond.

Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 26/09/10 - 08:50 am Title: Chapter 15 The Sons of Thunder

“ He caught a whisper of a different song amongst them, it puzzled him, like the cry of an eagle on the high mountains”
A phrase like this is what makes the difference between a story teller and a skilled wordsmith, an artist. I have the deepest admiration for you dearest Ziggy!

Author's Response: I'm glad you liked that bit- it is an addition to the original, and shaped by the sequel actually. No more- spoilers!

Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 26/09/10 - 08:23 am Title: Chapter 15 The Sons of Thunder

8000 beautifully crafted words. Where to start? Legolas saves them from the flying monster. As Melusine says, part of his charm is the fact that he is so dangerous, all that controlled, harnessed deadliness. Couple that with is ability to become one with, to sense the soul of his surroundings, and you have the essence of Elven allure. Eomers feelings are so understandable. Your description of the moment between Legolas and Eomer as Legolas places his hand on the other’s heart is so stirring!

Author's Response: You so get Legolas! Yes, I like that moment too, it is tender and not too sentimental. How could anyone not fall for that combination of deadly allure, as you say!!

Reviewer: ebbingnight Signed [Report This]
Date: 26/09/10 - 12:12 am Title: Chapter 15 The Sons of Thunder

Ah, I've been anxiously awaiting the arrival of the sons of Elrond: and here they are! Now the plot will really thicken.(Poor Eómer!)

Author's Response: Yes, me too. I wanted to slash it up a bit more but actually, it doesn't quite work - or I am not quite confident enough, I dont know. But I have added a bit more to indicate what's coming- its a delicate balance to not give too much away and make it heavy handed. Thank you as always for reviewing.

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 19/09/10 - 05:03 pm Title: Chapter 14 The Palantir

Oh my, just when I think this story can't get any more intense, it does. I'm glad Eomer was there to comfort Legolas when he needed it most, and in a way none of the others could.

Nice to see Aragorn feeling guilty about getting his promise to go on with him. It's never explored in the books, but to go on with one path while your home is under siege must be difficult indeed. And poor, poor, well-meaning Pippin.

Looking forward to the next part!

Author's Response: Ah yes, that comfort... hmmmm. Eomer is just so earthy and straight really- Legolas just confuses him! Yes, Aragorn gets away with an awful lot in the books but Tolkien was interested in the hobbits really and I always feel he lost interest a bit in Legolas and Gimli. Don't worry- he gets to feel even guiltier in the sequel!! Yes, Pippin. He just wrote that bit himself. WIll post this weekend.

Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 18/09/10 - 05:58 am Title: Chapter 14 The Palantir

“… Eomer had been nothing but honourable.
. He was forgiven, he was innocent. He had no part in the elf's pain. He had given and received. He was loved.”
It was all so terrible for Legolas and my heart breaks for him. But my heart breaks for Eomer also. Of course he had been feeling superfluous, I am so glad Legolas went to him. You did such a fine job with the moments between them. I am amazed once again at your true portrayal of Legolas. As a magical creature in tune with the emotions of others, and of the very earth and stars, I can see how he would want to comfort Eomer. He is marvelous to put aside his pain and take care of Eomer that way. Makes me love him even more.
You did your usual magic thru out this chapter and you get another standing ovation from me! I could praise every syllable, but I will spare you the tedium of reading 500 words. Just know that I think you are a most talented writer and a deep thinking admirable person to have produced all of this great work.
Thank you so much for this!

Author's Response: Ah, my dear ladyjane! As always you write such nice comments. Yes, it is terrible for Legolas - but he will survive. Eomer is lovely too, isn't he- the way he just takes Legolas in and comforts him? I like that scene. Isn't Legolas just gorgeously wonderful. Just love him. Feel free to write 500 words anytime!!!

Author's Response: Ah, my dear ladyjane! As always you write such nice comments. Yes, it is terrible for Legolas - but he will survive. Eomer is lovely too, isn't he- the way he just takes Legolas in and comforts him? I like that scene. Isn't Legolas just gorgeously wonderful. Just love him. Feel free to write 500 words anytime!!!

Reviewer: Aelinmir Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/09/10 - 03:35 am Title: Chapter 14 The Palantir

that is not right to stop there, continue soon please. Love you rendition of Legolas.

Author's Response: Thank you Aelinmir! I will post this weekend - had no laptop as it needed repairing but catching up now.

Reviewer: Aelinmir Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/09/10 - 02:26 am Title: Chapter 12 Pippin

'Go not to wizards for counsel for they will say both yea and nay. And go not to Mithrandir at all, for he will look at you and grunt. That is what my father says.' very funny

You must login (register) to review.