You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/09/10 - 12:50 am Title: Chapter 14 The Palantir

I guess I hadn't realized before that everyone saw the vision of Mirkwood burning. What a horrible thing to have to witness. Your story is coming along nicely. I'm glad to see Legolas can still find comfort even after Saruman's cruel words. Nicely written, comforting scene in the woods. I think they both needed to soothe each others minds, among other things.

Author's Response: Yes, I still cringe when I think about this myself. I really didn't know that was going to happen before I wrote it but it had to be painful otherwise Saruman would not have had his revenge. I did wonder about making Saruman more discrete but it just couldn't happen...thank you for the review. I liked Eomer being so ready to help Legolas but feeling shut out, and then Legolas going to him.

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 13/09/10 - 01:11 am Title: Chapter 13 Saruman

What a heart-wrenching chapter! Poor Legolas to have to witness the destruction of his home and the deaths of his father and people, even if it was something conjured by Saruman.

And poor Eomer, to realize that maybe 'it is what it is and no more,' is suddenly not enough, but it will have to be. You can see that he feels used, and that is so sad.

Like the previous ones, this is a powerful chapter that leaves no emotion untouched.

Author's Response: Yes- but you know Legolas is not uncaring- he is on shock and distraught. He will be kind - I know you want him to be . Now, about YOUR next chapter... this weekend I hope??

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/09/10 - 10:37 pm Title: Chapter 13 Saruman

The end of this chapter left me heartbroken. Eomer has tried to leave it as it is but he is too deeply involve with his heart. I loved that Gimli was the one to intervene and how the fellowship gathered around Legolas to comfort him. Still, I am sad that Eomer got pushed aside once again. Every emotion, every description, every mental scene came across in true living color for me. It is not often that I read something that stays with me as if I just stepped from a movie theater. Your story is one of those rarities that has moved me with every chapter. Awesome!!!

Author's Response: Ah, Legolas is in shock but he is a very gentle soul and never forgets his lovers. Wait and see. Proise to update this weekend if I can.

Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 12/09/10 - 08:50 am Title: Chapter 13 Saruman

Just got done reading and I am stunned. You have done it again. You took me there. There was no escape from the deep anguish. I felt Legolas crushed. How very artisticly you gave us Eomers pov and yet we also saw through Legolas' eyes.

I will give this another few reads and then a real review. Now I must say this is so powerful. Every bit as tradgic as you warned and written with skill, such amazing skill. You are a weaver of tapestry with words.

And the last line was a knife through my heart. I could feel Eomer's heart breaking through out this chapter.

Thank You for sharing your gift. I knew from the begining you were awesome. This has left me shocked by the raw emotion, the graphic death. You involved all our sences and made it REAL.

Author's Response: Yes, poor eomer- he thinks he can cope with what this is, but he struggles really. It can only get worse for him if he doesn't let go...

Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 11/09/10 - 10:42 pm Title: Chapter 12 Pippin

OK! I can wait for slash.

Author's Response: Sorry- it didnt quite work- I couldn't face making it any worse for Legolas. Promise though more slashiness next time.

Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 11/09/10 - 08:29 am Title: Chapter 1

Hey, we want the next chapter!!!

Author's Response: Oh Lady Impatient! I am working on the sequel at the same time and have very demanding readers for that too you know!!! I will post this weekend- was going to but my Mac touchpad isnt working so everyhting is taking too long. I could either slash up the next chapter - which is quite harrowing- or just post it as it is... a choice for you.

Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 05/09/10 - 01:59 pm Title: Chapter 1

I’m not usually one to struggle for words at a review, but this was tough.I could say it was too good for words, but you would not be that lucky. I share the irritating quality of Legolas is this. I love your Legolas more with each chapter. He is perfectly done. You nail him (Wish I could nail him) each chapter each verse each emotion. You do this with all your characters. I know what each one is thinking. Can feel the night air. You are a master of description and emotion. You leave me breathless. What asthetic beauty start to finish, even though danger and death are themes they are so marvelously poetic and faced with such courage. I love you!

Author's Response: You just be as irritating as you like! It is so wonderful to have people who love Legolas as much as I do - I am so pleased you can enjoy the senses in this- I try quite hard to keep the description focused and sensuous , trying not just to rely on the visible.

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/09/10 - 02:13 am Title: Chapter 12 Pippin

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. I usually know what to say when I review but you have left me speechless. The interaction between all of the characters is so genuine. I find myself wishing that more of these moments between them all were in the books or in the movies. Legolas and Gimli are superb. Then you throw in the Hobbits and it is like the story within the story. I can't say enough. From one author to another... I bow with hand over heart. You are a true artist ziggy.

Author's Response: Well... that was so nice it left me a bit speechless. Thank you. I am flattered. I suppose Tolkien focused mostly on the hobbits and I always felt a bit starved for the others. I like the gap fillers and Pippin's voice is very strong in my head. A few more of those coming up but the next chapter is very hard for Legolas.

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/09/10 - 02:03 am Title: Chapter 12 Pippin

I kept expecting either Aragorn or Legolas to tell Pippin to get some sleep. :) A nice interlude, though there is uncertainty and darkness lurking.

Author's Response: Ah- perhaps I need to go back over this. Thanks. He is eavesdropping and they have not realised he is. Glad you liked it. As you say, darkness ahead and the next chapter is hard for Legolas.

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/09/10 - 12:45 am Title: Chapter 11

I am thoroughly enjoying this story. I am in love with your portrayal of Legolas. He is wild and unpredictable. It is a side of him I have not seen before and it makes perfect sense. I am so glad you decided to continue with your story and cannot wait to read more. You are a wonderful writer and I am hooked.

Author's Response: Thank you L8Bleumr -that view of Legolas comes from his irritating cheerfulness on Caradhras, and then he stops singing at Nimrodel and cannot translate the lament for Gandalf from sorrow, and then is so light hearted at other times. He changes quickly and of course Tolkien himself has Gandalf say the Mirkwood elves are 'more dangerous and less wise' than the Noldor Rivendell elves. As you say, it makes perfect sense!! You are very kind to say such nice things and I am flattered that another writer whose work I like, thinks so too.Just for you then. Next chapter.

Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 31/08/10 - 06:34 pm Title: Chapter 11

– he had said, that is all it is. And he, Eomer, had said it was enough. And so it must be.

X

That is so sad.

Author's Response: Yes, it is sad, but I have never planned for Legolas to be in love, but I think Eomer is just a tiny bit, don't you? But he will have Lothiriel to keep him company.

Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 31/08/10 - 07:51 am Title: Chapter 11

This is my second attempt at a review. I have such writers block I cannot make out a grocery list!

“The elf looked away but he remembered the feel of the heavy muscle and furred skin, the rasp of a beard against his cheek and although he had muffled the man's ecstatic shout with a deep kiss, he recalled too, the softness that came after the hard unyielding coupling, for he had not held back and neither had the man.”

Very erotic! Please delve a little deeper into this kind of writing.

As Eomer remembers their night together, you paint so many beautiful pictures, so many varied and rich emotions. A kaleidoscope of feelings and sensations is evoked.

How marvelous to give Legolas green and gold body art. (shivers at the thought). That certainly was not the only thing that made me shiver! How sexy to have Legolas take Eomers hand and put it on his lap. Daft Eomer! Take the hint dude!

I have long thought the transformation from Elf to Orc a fascinating subject. And I have always thought of it taking a very long time. Legolas gives indication that a darker side lays just below the surface and may be more easily accessed:

'Is it so hard to think?' said the elf softly. He laid his hand across Eomer's eyes briefly; the image frightened Eomer anew for the crazed lust for battle in the elf's eyes had been reflected in the eyes of orcs.
I could feel Eomer’s shock and dismay.

Legolas certainly is complex. He is capable of worry to the point of grief over a couple of hobbits and at the same time his fierce blood lust in battle shows his kinship with orcs? My how I love your characters! You have given them such depth. (Swoons) And once more the polarity of these two sides to Legolas is potentially within all Elves, sweet and gentle yet capable of barbarism. Their passion swings to extremes in both directions, and makes me love them as you portray them. (Eomer shares this feeling of course.)
Your writing of the way Legolas responds to Eomers fear is beautiful and I am so impressed with the way Legolas corrects Tolkien’s original description of wood elves as somewhat stupid and dangerous.

“ 'I am but a simple Woodelf. We are less dangerous and much, much more wise.' Then he had closed Eomer's mouth with his own, demanding and insistent.” When Legolas said this I stood and applaud. Then wished I could see all that came next!

I felt so bad for Legolas and Eomer when Gandolf interrupted them. And what a perfect way to vale the subject, horse breeding. Legolas is so lovably wicked!

Our poor Legolas does not get much peace does he? Gandolf must have had grave tidings to insist on talking with Legolas at that time.

Legolas’ conversation with Gimli was also disturbing,as he talked about death and abandoning the quest.

Cannot wait for the next. I am sorry. I’m sure you did not want someone to give you a review and retell your story, I just get carried away. And yet I feel I have come short of describing my admiration. I am so enjoying your work and thank you fore it!

Author's Response: I am really glad you liked that bit about Orcs- I think Legolas is better portrayed in this fic than the sequel as other - because the sequel involves other elves much more, he seems less alien. I am worried about losing that touch with him. I have to say I am pleased with this chapter and you are so gorgeously appreciative! Yes- I was always annoyed that Gandalf says that about Woodelves! I felt Legolas had to have the right to reply. Oh- you are so lovely for applauding! Legolas will love you! You can guess what tidings he will give Legolas. And it has such repercussions in the sequel. (shameless plug!!) I LOVE your reviews- dont worry . Please keep gushing all you like- its very good for my ego!!

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 30/08/10 - 12:52 am Title: Chapter 11

Hmm, yes, Eomer now seems both besotted and put off by Legolas' 'otherness.' As you say he will be king and of course Legolas is wise enough to know that they can never have anything more than what they have.

Interesting chapter, and very well done, as usual. You have a way with descriptions that I can only wish to manage at this point. I can see Legolas stripping the bark off the twig, each jerky motion. Gimli seems quite unraveled by now, and Aragorn has so much on his mind you can't help but breathe a sigh of relief that he's getting some rest. Gandalf seems very grandfatherly here, but of the sort that will take no guff from anyone, and everyone knows it.

I'm looking forward to the next chapter, as always!

Author's Response: I am glad you picked up that detail- I was pleased with it too. You are right about them all feeling that stress. Legolas has even more to contend with in the next chapter- up next week probably. Until then, hope you get back to writing some longer pieces as well as your wonderful drabbles.

Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 29/08/10 - 02:42 pm Title: Chapter 10 Fangorn

Ziggy, funny you should say, but I was going to put this is my first review. I do feel as though you wrote this just for me. I know very well you did not. I smiled frquently over the weekend at work thinking of all this.

Forgot to mention how you enabled me to share Legolas free joy as he let his horse kick up his hooves and run wild with him and a frightened Gimli.

Thanks again!

Author's Response: You are such a lovely reviewer that the next chapter is especially for you!

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/08/10 - 01:01 pm Title: Chapter 10 Fangorn

*snicker* Such a naughty Elf! Eomer seems quite besotted, stroking one of Legolas' knives. Enjoyable chapter!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed this. Yes, Eomer is really besotted as you say-but one day he will be king and Legolas is wiser than he looks, or sounds and certainly wiser than his songs suggest!

Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 27/08/10 - 12:56 pm Title: Chapter 10 Fangorn

This review is going to take some time. I want to give your superb work all the attention it deserves. You have made my week and once again leave me happier than Tolkien ever could! Once again Legolas is portrayed as a wood elf should be. The song he sings is the last thing you give us in this chapter and it leaves a wonderfully impish impression. His exuberance and honest expression of joy over his experience with Eomer is thrilling. I know if it were shared openly with all it would be a mortification for Eomer. As it would be if one’s mate sung praises to a lovely arse in say, the internet café I am in right now.
But imagine how Eomer would feel if Legolas sang for him privately then translated. Surely this is no one nighter.
Anyway I love Legolas’ playful, mischievous song. He must have received all the comforting we would want for him! He is just enjoying the hell out of tormenting Aragon with his flagrant verse!
Again, my over all impression in this chapter aside from Legolas’ morning after tribute is this;
Gimli , and Legolas to an even greater extent, seem to be in tune with the natural creation in a way humans do not quite understand, and cannot quite share.
It is indeed a good morning for Legolas. He is reminded of his childhood. The voice of the trees and the Ents have made him feel like an elfling. He seems lost in a place we can only visit but long to stay.
The deep bond with the natural world is one of the reasons slash seems so appropriate for an Elf. They are not as proper and cold as Tolkien portrays. You have portrayed that they have no reason or inclination to quell the love and attraction they may feel for another. And I think this much more Elvish than being in total control of one’s body and emotions at all times.
You have delighted thoroughly yet again.
Many hugs Ziggy!!
OMG I almost forgot. In that very last part did he really sing “Hold this for me?”
You are a naughty naughty Elf writer my Zig, and I love you for it!

Author's Response: Thank you as always, ladyjane- you are so appreciative. I am bowled over by your praise. I am glad you like the song- it isnt exactly a work of art but Legolas is no artist, he is a warrior and I think he would behave in that sort of way. Love the idea of you singing this in an internet cafe!!! Go on, try it. You never know. Yes- he is a terrible tease. Aragorn is sort of torn between delight and embarrassment. He gets on best with Pippin probably, apart from Gimli -I have always thought that Tolkien's Legolas is quite mischievous and irritating- look at how he teases them on Caradhras. You are as always, spot-on with dwarves and elves- they are not so dissimilar and I am glad that comes across. I make a point of writing those sorts of things into it and it is always satisfying when someone notices. And yes he did sing that! Not me, all Legolas. He just sang that at the top of his voice and the Rohirrim all march along to this jaunty little song, just for you! Love Ziggy

Reviewer: ebbingnight Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/08/10 - 12:27 pm Title: Chapter 10 Fangorn

Legolas was flushed slightly, and Eomer had his hand on one of the white knives Legolas carried and was tracing the engraving on the blade, his eyes fast on Legolas. Aragorn supposed that Eomer, having never met elves before, was interested in the weapons of Mirkwood elves.

Of course! *smirks*
And all the "director's cut" additions you're making as you post here are much appreciated: wonderful story!

Author's Response: I am so glad you like the 'director's cut' -good term! I will add in a bit more in the next chapter just for you!

Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 22/08/10 - 10:29 am Title: Chapter 9 Eomer and Legolas

All very tantalizing. A very good job of the entire thing. I love Legolas tenderness toward Eowen. Gimli is priceless and such a sweet gentleman. No wonder he and Legolas are friends. Gimli has a spirit more akin to Elves as you write him, and I am inclined to believe this. Wood Elves are Children of the trees, Dwarves Children of the earth, and Men Children of the sun. There is a bond between the races that you have captured perfectly, rather than dwell on the differences.
Eomer and Legolas are a good, steamy pair. I imagine as Melusine , what is next. It was Hot my dear and you so underrate yourself. You are a master and I can put this on equal footing with the best I have ever read.
Please tell me more about the tattoos. I have two Wood Elves to decorate myself. Seriously, e mail me.
I’ve said it before and will say again, I want to be like you when I grow up as a writer.

Author's Response: Thank you ladyjane! You are such a terrific reviewer, you and Lisse!! I love Gimli -I felt he got short shrift in the films and even in the books he is not developed nearly as much as he could be, Tolkien though was giving us the hObbits story and there is only so much you can write. I love filling in the gaps. Thank you so much for your very kind comments. It's hard ot desribe the tattoos- once on a beach in the Greek islands I saw a young man who had a tattoo - a bit like the pictures you get in the Tolkien bestiary- it was over his shoulder and down his arm, twisting around his arms. He was beautiful!! That is what i imagine but I dont like to be overly detailed because I like to give readers some room for their own imaginations. Look at the Tolkien bestiary if you have it- that is the best place for an idea like this. I also know some people really dont like the tattoos but Legolas just whispered that he had one just... there and I had to look!!!!

Reviewer: Lisse Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/08/10 - 09:29 am Title: Chapter 9 Eomer and Legolas

Oh my! I very much enjoyed Eomer and Legolas! You doubt yourself? It was perfect. I'm shivering at the thoughts!

I had no idea wood elves stained their skin. This is such a revelation!

I dearly love your writing. All that you wrote surpassed the desired affect. Must take a cold shower now, or maybe I'll read it again instead!!

Author's Response: Sorry Lisse- mean to reply to this. There is no evidence that they tattoo- just my luird imagination. I may have emailed you about this actually?

Reviewer: Lisse Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/08/10 - 09:05 am Title: Chapter 9 Eomer and Legolas

Eomer remembered the intimacy of the cell and the merry banter even when all seemed lost to him. He remembered the thrumming of his blood. He wanted that again. Just to be alive at the end of this dreadful slaughter, to remind himself that he had survived and so had those closest to him.

from one who has seen more of death than the average person (a nurse) I can so identify with this. One seems to need the varification of life after seening so much death, even the death of the orcs and other evil creatures.

Author's Response: That is a perceptive comment- I think that does happen, when you finally get away from killing or hurting or seeing anything bad, you just want lightness and warmth. You sound like you know.

You must login (register) to review.