You must login (register) to review.
Title: Chapter 11 Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous
This is my second attempt at a review. I have such writers block I cannot make out a grocery list!

“The elf looked away but he remembered the feel of the heavy muscle and furred skin, the rasp of a beard against his cheek and although he had muffled the man's ecstatic shout with a deep kiss, he recalled too, the softness that came after the hard unyielding coupling, for he had not held back and neither had the man.”

Very erotic! Please delve a little deeper into this kind of writing.

As Eomer remembers their night together, you paint so many beautiful pictures, so many varied and rich emotions. A kaleidoscope of feelings and sensations is evoked.

How marvelous to give Legolas green and gold body art. (shivers at the thought). That certainly was not the only thing that made me shiver! How sexy to have Legolas take Eomers hand and put it on his lap. Daft Eomer! Take the hint dude!

I have long thought the transformation from Elf to Orc a fascinating subject. And I have always thought of it taking a very long time. Legolas gives indication that a darker side lays just below the surface and may be more easily accessed:

'Is it so hard to think?' said the elf softly. He laid his hand across Eomer's eyes briefly; the image frightened Eomer anew for the crazed lust for battle in the elf's eyes had been reflected in the eyes of orcs.
I could feel Eomer’s shock and dismay.

Legolas certainly is complex. He is capable of worry to the point of grief over a couple of hobbits and at the same time his fierce blood lust in battle shows his kinship with orcs? My how I love your characters! You have given them such depth. (Swoons) And once more the polarity of these two sides to Legolas is potentially within all Elves, sweet and gentle yet capable of barbarism. Their passion swings to extremes in both directions, and makes me love them as you portray them. (Eomer shares this feeling of course.)
Your writing of the way Legolas responds to Eomers fear is beautiful and I am so impressed with the way Legolas corrects Tolkien’s original description of wood elves as somewhat stupid and dangerous.

“ 'I am but a simple Woodelf. We are less dangerous and much, much more wise.' Then he had closed Eomer's mouth with his own, demanding and insistent.” When Legolas said this I stood and applaud. Then wished I could see all that came next!

I felt so bad for Legolas and Eomer when Gandolf interrupted them. And what a perfect way to vale the subject, horse breeding. Legolas is so lovably wicked!

Our poor Legolas does not get much peace does he? Gandolf must have had grave tidings to insist on talking with Legolas at that time.

Legolas’ conversation with Gimli was also disturbing,as he talked about death and abandoning the quest.

Cannot wait for the next. I am sorry. I’m sure you did not want someone to give you a review and retell your story, I just get carried away. And yet I feel I have come short of describing my admiration. I am so enjoying your work and thank you fore it!

Author's Response: I am really glad you liked that bit about Orcs- I think Legolas is better portrayed in this fic than the sequel as other - because the sequel involves other elves much more, he seems less alien. I am worried about losing that touch with him. I have to say I am pleased with this chapter and you are so gorgeously appreciative! Yes- I was always annoyed that Gandalf says that about Woodelves! I felt Legolas had to have the right to reply. Oh- you are so lovely for applauding! Legolas will love you! You can guess what tidings he will give Legolas. And it has such repercussions in the sequel. (shameless plug!!) I LOVE your reviews- dont worry . Please keep gushing all you like- its very good for my ego!!
Date: Aug 31 2010 02:51 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 11 Reviewer: Melusine Signed
Hmm, yes, Eomer now seems both besotted and put off by Legolas' 'otherness.' As you say he will be king and of course Legolas is wise enough to know that they can never have anything more than what they have.

Interesting chapter, and very well done, as usual. You have a way with descriptions that I can only wish to manage at this point. I can see Legolas stripping the bark off the twig, each jerky motion. Gimli seems quite unraveled by now, and Aragorn has so much on his mind you can't help but breathe a sigh of relief that he's getting some rest. Gandalf seems very grandfatherly here, but of the sort that will take no guff from anyone, and everyone knows it.

I'm looking forward to the next chapter, as always!

Author's Response: I am glad you picked up that detail- I was pleased with it too. You are right about them all feeling that stress. Legolas has even more to contend with in the next chapter- up next week probably. Until then, hope you get back to writing some longer pieces as well as your wonderful drabbles.
Date: Aug 29 2010 07:52 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 10 Fangorn Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous
Ziggy, funny you should say, but I was going to put this is my first review. I do feel as though you wrote this just for me. I know very well you did not. I smiled frquently over the weekend at work thinking of all this.

Forgot to mention how you enabled me to share Legolas free joy as he let his horse kick up his hooves and run wild with him and a frightened Gimli.

Thanks again!

Author's Response: You are such a lovely reviewer that the next chapter is especially for you!
Date: Aug 29 2010 09:42 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 10 Fangorn Reviewer: Melusine Signed
*snicker* Such a naughty Elf! Eomer seems quite besotted, stroking one of Legolas' knives. Enjoyable chapter!

Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed this. Yes, Eomer is really besotted as you say-but one day he will be king and Legolas is wiser than he looks, or sounds and certainly wiser than his songs suggest!
Date: Aug 27 2010 08:01 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 10 Fangorn Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous
This review is going to take some time. I want to give your superb work all the attention it deserves. You have made my week and once again leave me happier than Tolkien ever could! Once again Legolas is portrayed as a wood elf should be. The song he sings is the last thing you give us in this chapter and it leaves a wonderfully impish impression. His exuberance and honest expression of joy over his experience with Eomer is thrilling. I know if it were shared openly with all it would be a mortification for Eomer. As it would be if one’s mate sung praises to a lovely arse in say, the internet café I am in right now.
But imagine how Eomer would feel if Legolas sang for him privately then translated. Surely this is no one nighter.
Anyway I love Legolas’ playful, mischievous song. He must have received all the comforting we would want for him! He is just enjoying the hell out of tormenting Aragon with his flagrant verse!
Again, my over all impression in this chapter aside from Legolas’ morning after tribute is this;
Gimli , and Legolas to an even greater extent, seem to be in tune with the natural creation in a way humans do not quite understand, and cannot quite share.
It is indeed a good morning for Legolas. He is reminded of his childhood. The voice of the trees and the Ents have made him feel like an elfling. He seems lost in a place we can only visit but long to stay.
The deep bond with the natural world is one of the reasons slash seems so appropriate for an Elf. They are not as proper and cold as Tolkien portrays. You have portrayed that they have no reason or inclination to quell the love and attraction they may feel for another. And I think this much more Elvish than being in total control of one’s body and emotions at all times.
You have delighted thoroughly yet again.
Many hugs Ziggy!!
OMG I almost forgot. In that very last part did he really sing “Hold this for me?”
You are a naughty naughty Elf writer my Zig, and I love you for it!

Author's Response: Thank you as always, ladyjane- you are so appreciative. I am bowled over by your praise. I am glad you like the song- it isnt exactly a work of art but Legolas is no artist, he is a warrior and I think he would behave in that sort of way. Love the idea of you singing this in an internet cafe!!! Go on, try it. You never know. Yes- he is a terrible tease. Aragorn is sort of torn between delight and embarrassment. He gets on best with Pippin probably, apart from Gimli -I have always thought that Tolkien's Legolas is quite mischievous and irritating- look at how he teases them on Caradhras. You are as always, spot-on with dwarves and elves- they are not so dissimilar and I am glad that comes across. I make a point of writing those sorts of things into it and it is always satisfying when someone notices. And yes he did sing that! Not me, all Legolas. He just sang that at the top of his voice and the Rohirrim all march along to this jaunty little song, just for you! Love Ziggy
Date: Aug 27 2010 07:56 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 10 Fangorn Reviewer: ebbingnight Signed
Legolas was flushed slightly, and Eomer had his hand on one of the white knives Legolas carried and was tracing the engraving on the blade, his eyes fast on Legolas. Aragorn supposed that Eomer, having never met elves before, was interested in the weapons of Mirkwood elves.

Of course! *smirks*
And all the "director's cut" additions you're making as you post here are much appreciated: wonderful story!

Author's Response: I am so glad you like the 'director's cut' -good term! I will add in a bit more in the next chapter just for you!
Date: Aug 27 2010 07:27 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 9 Eomer and Legolas Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous
All very tantalizing. A very good job of the entire thing. I love Legolas tenderness toward Eowen. Gimli is priceless and such a sweet gentleman. No wonder he and Legolas are friends. Gimli has a spirit more akin to Elves as you write him, and I am inclined to believe this. Wood Elves are Children of the trees, Dwarves Children of the earth, and Men Children of the sun. There is a bond between the races that you have captured perfectly, rather than dwell on the differences.
Eomer and Legolas are a good, steamy pair. I imagine as Melusine , what is next. It was Hot my dear and you so underrate yourself. You are a master and I can put this on equal footing with the best I have ever read.
Please tell me more about the tattoos. I have two Wood Elves to decorate myself. Seriously, e mail me.
I’ve said it before and will say again, I want to be like you when I grow up as a writer.

Author's Response: Thank you ladyjane! You are such a terrific reviewer, you and Lisse!! I love Gimli -I felt he got short shrift in the films and even in the books he is not developed nearly as much as he could be, Tolkien though was giving us the hObbits story and there is only so much you can write. I love filling in the gaps. Thank you so much for your very kind comments. It's hard ot desribe the tattoos- once on a beach in the Greek islands I saw a young man who had a tattoo - a bit like the pictures you get in the Tolkien bestiary- it was over his shoulder and down his arm, twisting around his arms. He was beautiful!! That is what i imagine but I dont like to be overly detailed because I like to give readers some room for their own imaginations. Look at the Tolkien bestiary if you have it- that is the best place for an idea like this. I also know some people really dont like the tattoos but Legolas just whispered that he had one just... there and I had to look!!!!
Date: Aug 22 2010 05:29 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 9 Eomer and Legolas Reviewer: Lisse Signed
Oh my! I very much enjoyed Eomer and Legolas! You doubt yourself? It was perfect. I'm shivering at the thoughts!

I had no idea wood elves stained their skin. This is such a revelation!

I dearly love your writing. All that you wrote surpassed the desired affect. Must take a cold shower now, or maybe I'll read it again instead!!

Author's Response: Sorry Lisse- mean to reply to this. There is no evidence that they tattoo- just my luird imagination. I may have emailed you about this actually?
Date: Aug 22 2010 04:29 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 9 Eomer and Legolas Reviewer: Lisse Signed
Eomer remembered the intimacy of the cell and the merry banter even when all seemed lost to him. He remembered the thrumming of his blood. He wanted that again. Just to be alive at the end of this dreadful slaughter, to remind himself that he had survived and so had those closest to him.

from one who has seen more of death than the average person (a nurse) I can so identify with this. One seems to need the varification of life after seening so much death, even the death of the orcs and other evil creatures.

Author's Response: That is a perceptive comment- I think that does happen, when you finally get away from killing or hurting or seeing anything bad, you just want lightness and warmth. You sound like you know.
Date: Aug 22 2010 04:05 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 9 Eomer and Legolas Reviewer: Lisse Signed
I am in heaven. Every word is magic. I'm listening to Loreena McKennit. The song is slow and sad. Matches Legolas comforting Eowen.

Author's Response: I will have to check her out- dont know her work at all. Glad you liked Legolas comforting Eowyn!!
Date: Aug 22 2010 03:56 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 9 Eomer and Legolas Reviewer: Melusine Signed
Guh *runs to find ice* That was quite hot, even if I have to imagine the rest(and don't worry, I will *g*). Had a giggle over this: "And as usual, Eomer felt like the elf had pulled the floor away from under his feet. The offer was to ride with him, not…oh Beama, what a fool. He squirmed inwardly and pulled back. 'Ah. Forgive me my lord, I…'"

The aftermath of battle was described well; the sights, the smells, the sounds. And Eowyn is brazen, isn't she--again, not that I can blame her. I'd throw myself at Legolas every chance I had.

Wonderful update!

Author's Response: Thank you - I added the last scene to the original - I really cant write slash like you do so best not to try. I dont want to descend into cliches and unlike you, feel I will. But I am practising and reading really good stuff (yours!) to help me learn how its done well... speaking of which ,I have read everything of yours at least twice now and run out. Please write more and quite quickly!
Date: Aug 21 2010 06:21 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 8 Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous
What bad manors, not to thank you for the dedication! I do thank you very much indeed! Also thank you for calling me a Wood Elven Soul. Could never recieve a greater compliment!

RE 42, go head, Elf worship. I bow along side you. I also believe you are once again moer correct than cannon.

Rolling on floor begging for the next chapter. PLEEEEASE!

Author's Response: I should call you ladyimpatient! I will have to work on it a bit before posting so it may be after the weekend I am afraid, but because you are so nice and review and say nice things, OK. I'll see what I can do.
Date: Aug 19 2010 03:12 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 8 Reviewer: Melusine Signed
Mere words cannot express how much I enjoyed these last two chapters, but I'll try. The tension before battle was very well done. I loved the description of Legolas on the wall. And I enjoyed Gimli calling him "twitchy as a cat" while he himself chewing on his beard braids. ;-) Classic. As for the battle, all I can say is Wow. Excellent portrayal. There were so many good things going on, but in particular Legolas in battle lust was enjoyable, and I had a laugh over him scolding Eowyn. I join you in elf worship. :)

And thank you kindly for the dedication! Was very sweet, and what a chapter to have it given.

Author's Response: Entirely my pleasure! Glad you enjoyed it. Next chapter should be out next week.
Date: Aug 18 2010 03:24 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 8 Reviewer: Lisse Signed
Eomer swung upwards and blocked with his shield the blow that came plunging down on them. He was aware that Legolas had taken a deep breath, flashed his blade and then blood spurted from an orc's pulsing neck. Then, at the top of his voice and with violent joy the elf burst into a snatch of some elvish battle song. The notes were fierce and thrilling.

Ah yes, do I havew a song for you my dear. I will send you a link. If this is not an elvish battle song, we have nothing close. As always I love the phrase I pasted above. I hope all my comments do not bother you, but this chapter is thrilling. I wish slash did not put people off. This is magnificent!! I wnat to be like you when I grow up!

Author's Response: Yes please- do send a link. I really struggle with songs and have not the patience to translate - my sindarin is very poor! So a link to good songs would be most welcome. A couple of smutty ditties would come in handy too if you know where I can find some!! Your comments are like gold dust- you know how important reviews are. Made me laugh.
Date: Aug 18 2010 11:27 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 8 Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous
I've read out 1/4th of this, gotta go for now but it's like I'm there. You and Melusine are the reason I like fan fic better than Tolkien, there are others too of course.

Author's Response: blimey- that is praise indeed. I have to say, one of the reasons I like fanfic is because it gives Legolas far more of the action than in LOTR, in which his parts are thin on the ground - as is Gimli, and they never really become the rounded characters they deserve. But thank you (blush)
Date: Aug 18 2010 09:16 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 8 Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous
"The elf had closed his eyes briefly, as if it hurt, but then smiled, impossibly gentle. 'That would be to my honour, my lord.'"
You are a genius! How you can manage to make legolas better than new line legolas is a mystery. If I were Eomer those arrows would be all over the ground and legolas would be on his back for a quickie before death claimed me in battle.

Author's Response: You have the soul and heart of a woodelf my dear!
Date: Aug 18 2010 09:13 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 8 Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous
You master of teasery you. Just let legolas tell me the first time is difficult and raise an eye brow. I'll show him the meaning of hard, I mean difficult. more review to come. And yes again you show the sindar playfullness, not to be confused with stupidity.

Author's Response: I am so glad you picked that bit out- yes, I imagine those women giggling and thinking just the same as you!
Date: Aug 18 2010 09:07 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 7 Waiting Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous
Stared openly as if starving...a priceless beautiful line. I love that you drscribe the clouds as torn rags.

I get so upset when people describe wood Elves as second class Elves. They are not! The are wild beautiful deep creatures that love Eru's creation and are tuned to it and all creatures of it. You have portrayed Legolas perfectly and as a true representative of all that is Elvish, particularly wood Elvish and I can't say enough good about all of your story!
Date: Aug 15 2010 02:13 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 6 Gimli Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous
I have not read many accounts of Gimli and you have him down to a tee also.

Yes Legolas does need looking after. Nothing is sexier than an Elf unless it is a homesick, deeply introspective, loving, loyal elf who needs a shiver of cold warmed out of his soul. Such a build up. Again I say, If only Eomer knew.

Author's Response: Doesn't it just want to make you bundle him up and take him home, tuck him in nice and tight and put him to bed?
Date: Aug 15 2010 01:54 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 7 Waiting Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous
I love the phrase "mix of ancient and innocent". Again you have a very good scence of the Elvish! At least as I see them

Author's Response: It's so good to meet people who appreciate the silvan elves - the first real sense you get of Legolas in LOTR is the council where he is very distressed and the next time is when he is irritatingly bright on Caradhras. And of course in the hobbit, Gandalf describes the Mirkwood Elves as ' more dangerous and less wise' so I have always felt there is a bit of a Noldor bias in LOTR. It's good to know there are others who think this. Thank you for the reviews- I really do appreciate you taking the time to write.
Date: Aug 15 2010 01:45 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 5 Eomer Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous
Eomer would gladly ease Legolas' lonelyness and Cold if he only knew. You are such a tease!

You've nailed the relationship between the three as they conversed over food and drink. And once again I agree with and love your portrait of Legolas. Elves love deeply. So many wonderful emotions portrayed from his worry and love for the hobbits to his home sickness. Again I say you are a tease.

Legolas needs someone to load all those emotions on.

going to the next chapter. I read slowly, but I'm really enjoying this.

Author's Response: I know- you wait till you read the sequel! Legolas will get to offload around about Chapter 9 I think...but then there's a whole load more stuff to do before then and after...hope you enjoy it. I will get on with the next chapter just for you.
Date: Aug 15 2010 01:22 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 5 Eomer Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous
OK, just have to say, I'm just starting this chapter and like the warning already.

Author's Response: You are a sweetie to review every chater- next one will have to be just for you!!
Date: Aug 15 2010 12:48 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 4 Grima Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous
I just finished capter 4 and again your legolas is perfect. Your alteration of Legolas waking the king from Grima's spell is better than the original. I love the change from soft blue eyes of a healer to the steel green of a warrior. You really captured Grima's slimmyness also. Again. I'm not the best reviewer. It is sometimes hard for me to say why I like something unless I read it several times, but I am very impressed. Your writing is greatly enjoyable!

Author's Response: I am really pleased the changes worked- when I wrote this originally I didn't really know why or where it was going- it was all very instinctive. I tried to make this slashier and darker but although I love reading those sorts of fics it isnt really in me enough to write them.I always felt a little uneasy about legolas' reaction in the original to Grima- I think it made him too suseptible and I struggle with getting the balance right. Thank you for revieiwing- it's always so nice to know.
Date: Aug 10 2010 04:26 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous
I adore your Legolas. He is enchanting! I love Wood Elves and see them playful,as well as warriors. A life in Mirkwood seems to call for both. You are such a gifted story teller and I am reading and enjoying! And you are indeed a master of description.

Author's Response: Gosh- blush. You are very kind to say this. I keep cutting lots of what i think is quite good so I dont get too purple but it is hard sometimes- good to know it's working.
Date: Aug 09 2010 05:35 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 6 Gimli Reviewer: Melusine Signed
I think Gimli and Aragorn are right to keep an eye on Legolas. And maybe Legolas needs to find Eomer to help him wash away the taste of Grima. ;-) Looking forward to more!

Author's Response: Oh yes, Eomer is only too happy to help...but they have a few orcs to kill first I'm afraid. I am fan of yaoi ad yearning so like to string it out a bit I'm afraid.
Date: Aug 09 2010 11:47 am [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.