You must login (register) to review.
Title: Chapter 10 Fangorn Reviewer: ebbingnight Signed
Legolas was flushed slightly, and Eomer had his hand on one of the white knives Legolas carried and was tracing the engraving on the blade, his eyes fast on Legolas. Aragorn supposed that Eomer, having never met elves before, was interested in the weapons of Mirkwood elves.

Of course! *smirks*
And all the "director's cut" additions you're making as you post here are much appreciated: wonderful story!

Author's Response: I am so glad you like the 'director's cut' -good term! I will add in a bit more in the next chapter just for you!
Date: Aug 27 2010 08:27 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 9 Eomer and Legolas Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous
All very tantalizing. A very good job of the entire thing. I love Legolas tenderness toward Eowen. Gimli is priceless and such a sweet gentleman. No wonder he and Legolas are friends. Gimli has a spirit more akin to Elves as you write him, and I am inclined to believe this. Wood Elves are Children of the trees, Dwarves Children of the earth, and Men Children of the sun. There is a bond between the races that you have captured perfectly, rather than dwell on the differences.
Eomer and Legolas are a good, steamy pair. I imagine as Melusine , what is next. It was Hot my dear and you so underrate yourself. You are a master and I can put this on equal footing with the best I have ever read.
Please tell me more about the tattoos. I have two Wood Elves to decorate myself. Seriously, e mail me.
I’ve said it before and will say again, I want to be like you when I grow up as a writer.

Author's Response: Thank you ladyjane! You are such a terrific reviewer, you and Lisse!! I love Gimli -I felt he got short shrift in the films and even in the books he is not developed nearly as much as he could be, Tolkien though was giving us the hObbits story and there is only so much you can write. I love filling in the gaps. Thank you so much for your very kind comments. It's hard ot desribe the tattoos- once on a beach in the Greek islands I saw a young man who had a tattoo - a bit like the pictures you get in the Tolkien bestiary- it was over his shoulder and down his arm, twisting around his arms. He was beautiful!! That is what i imagine but I dont like to be overly detailed because I like to give readers some room for their own imaginations. Look at the Tolkien bestiary if you have it- that is the best place for an idea like this. I also know some people really dont like the tattoos but Legolas just whispered that he had one just... there and I had to look!!!!
Date: Aug 22 2010 06:29 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 9 Eomer and Legolas Reviewer: Lisse Signed
Oh my! I very much enjoyed Eomer and Legolas! You doubt yourself? It was perfect. I'm shivering at the thoughts!

I had no idea wood elves stained their skin. This is such a revelation!

I dearly love your writing. All that you wrote surpassed the desired affect. Must take a cold shower now, or maybe I'll read it again instead!!

Author's Response: Sorry Lisse- mean to reply to this. There is no evidence that they tattoo- just my luird imagination. I may have emailed you about this actually?
Date: Aug 22 2010 05:29 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 9 Eomer and Legolas Reviewer: Lisse Signed
Eomer remembered the intimacy of the cell and the merry banter even when all seemed lost to him. He remembered the thrumming of his blood. He wanted that again. Just to be alive at the end of this dreadful slaughter, to remind himself that he had survived and so had those closest to him.

from one who has seen more of death than the average person (a nurse) I can so identify with this. One seems to need the varification of life after seening so much death, even the death of the orcs and other evil creatures.

Author's Response: That is a perceptive comment- I think that does happen, when you finally get away from killing or hurting or seeing anything bad, you just want lightness and warmth. You sound like you know.
Date: Aug 22 2010 05:05 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 9 Eomer and Legolas Reviewer: Lisse Signed
I am in heaven. Every word is magic. I'm listening to Loreena McKennit. The song is slow and sad. Matches Legolas comforting Eowen.

Author's Response: I will have to check her out- dont know her work at all. Glad you liked Legolas comforting Eowyn!!
Date: Aug 22 2010 04:56 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 9 Eomer and Legolas Reviewer: Melusine Signed
Guh *runs to find ice* That was quite hot, even if I have to imagine the rest(and don't worry, I will *g*). Had a giggle over this: "And as usual, Eomer felt like the elf had pulled the floor away from under his feet. The offer was to ride with him, not…oh Beama, what a fool. He squirmed inwardly and pulled back. 'Ah. Forgive me my lord, I…'"

The aftermath of battle was described well; the sights, the smells, the sounds. And Eowyn is brazen, isn't she--again, not that I can blame her. I'd throw myself at Legolas every chance I had.

Wonderful update!

Author's Response: Thank you - I added the last scene to the original - I really cant write slash like you do so best not to try. I dont want to descend into cliches and unlike you, feel I will. But I am practising and reading really good stuff (yours!) to help me learn how its done well... speaking of which ,I have read everything of yours at least twice now and run out. Please write more and quite quickly!
Date: Aug 21 2010 07:21 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 8 Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous
What bad manors, not to thank you for the dedication! I do thank you very much indeed! Also thank you for calling me a Wood Elven Soul. Could never recieve a greater compliment!

RE 42, go head, Elf worship. I bow along side you. I also believe you are once again moer correct than cannon.

Rolling on floor begging for the next chapter. PLEEEEASE!

Author's Response: I should call you ladyimpatient! I will have to work on it a bit before posting so it may be after the weekend I am afraid, but because you are so nice and review and say nice things, OK. I'll see what I can do.
Date: Aug 19 2010 04:12 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 8 Reviewer: Melusine Signed
Mere words cannot express how much I enjoyed these last two chapters, but I'll try. The tension before battle was very well done. I loved the description of Legolas on the wall. And I enjoyed Gimli calling him "twitchy as a cat" while he himself chewing on his beard braids. ;-) Classic. As for the battle, all I can say is Wow. Excellent portrayal. There were so many good things going on, but in particular Legolas in battle lust was enjoyable, and I had a laugh over him scolding Eowyn. I join you in elf worship. :)

And thank you kindly for the dedication! Was very sweet, and what a chapter to have it given.

Author's Response: Entirely my pleasure! Glad you enjoyed it. Next chapter should be out next week.
Date: Aug 18 2010 04:24 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 8 Reviewer: Lisse Signed
Eomer swung upwards and blocked with his shield the blow that came plunging down on them. He was aware that Legolas had taken a deep breath, flashed his blade and then blood spurted from an orc's pulsing neck. Then, at the top of his voice and with violent joy the elf burst into a snatch of some elvish battle song. The notes were fierce and thrilling.

Ah yes, do I havew a song for you my dear. I will send you a link. If this is not an elvish battle song, we have nothing close. As always I love the phrase I pasted above. I hope all my comments do not bother you, but this chapter is thrilling. I wish slash did not put people off. This is magnificent!! I wnat to be like you when I grow up!

Author's Response: Yes please- do send a link. I really struggle with songs and have not the patience to translate - my sindarin is very poor! So a link to good songs would be most welcome. A couple of smutty ditties would come in handy too if you know where I can find some!! Your comments are like gold dust- you know how important reviews are. Made me laugh.
Date: Aug 18 2010 12:27 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 8 Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous
I've read out 1/4th of this, gotta go for now but it's like I'm there. You and Melusine are the reason I like fan fic better than Tolkien, there are others too of course.

Author's Response: blimey- that is praise indeed. I have to say, one of the reasons I like fanfic is because it gives Legolas far more of the action than in LOTR, in which his parts are thin on the ground - as is Gimli, and they never really become the rounded characters they deserve. But thank you (blush)
Date: Aug 18 2010 10:16 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 8 Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous
"The elf had closed his eyes briefly, as if it hurt, but then smiled, impossibly gentle. 'That would be to my honour, my lord.'"
You are a genius! How you can manage to make legolas better than new line legolas is a mystery. If I were Eomer those arrows would be all over the ground and legolas would be on his back for a quickie before death claimed me in battle.

Author's Response: You have the soul and heart of a woodelf my dear!
Date: Aug 18 2010 10:13 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 8 Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous
You master of teasery you. Just let legolas tell me the first time is difficult and raise an eye brow. I'll show him the meaning of hard, I mean difficult. more review to come. And yes again you show the sindar playfullness, not to be confused with stupidity.

Author's Response: I am so glad you picked that bit out- yes, I imagine those women giggling and thinking just the same as you!
Date: Aug 18 2010 10:07 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 7 Waiting Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous
Stared openly as if starving...a priceless beautiful line. I love that you drscribe the clouds as torn rags.

I get so upset when people describe wood Elves as second class Elves. They are not! The are wild beautiful deep creatures that love Eru's creation and are tuned to it and all creatures of it. You have portrayed Legolas perfectly and as a true representative of all that is Elvish, particularly wood Elvish and I can't say enough good about all of your story!
Date: Aug 15 2010 03:13 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 6 Gimli Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous
I have not read many accounts of Gimli and you have him down to a tee also.

Yes Legolas does need looking after. Nothing is sexier than an Elf unless it is a homesick, deeply introspective, loving, loyal elf who needs a shiver of cold warmed out of his soul. Such a build up. Again I say, If only Eomer knew.

Author's Response: Doesn't it just want to make you bundle him up and take him home, tuck him in nice and tight and put him to bed?
Date: Aug 15 2010 02:54 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 7 Waiting Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous
I love the phrase "mix of ancient and innocent". Again you have a very good scence of the Elvish! At least as I see them

Author's Response: It's so good to meet people who appreciate the silvan elves - the first real sense you get of Legolas in LOTR is the council where he is very distressed and the next time is when he is irritatingly bright on Caradhras. And of course in the hobbit, Gandalf describes the Mirkwood Elves as ' more dangerous and less wise' so I have always felt there is a bit of a Noldor bias in LOTR. It's good to know there are others who think this. Thank you for the reviews- I really do appreciate you taking the time to write.
Date: Aug 15 2010 02:45 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 5 Eomer Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous
Eomer would gladly ease Legolas' lonelyness and Cold if he only knew. You are such a tease!

You've nailed the relationship between the three as they conversed over food and drink. And once again I agree with and love your portrait of Legolas. Elves love deeply. So many wonderful emotions portrayed from his worry and love for the hobbits to his home sickness. Again I say you are a tease.

Legolas needs someone to load all those emotions on.

going to the next chapter. I read slowly, but I'm really enjoying this.

Author's Response: I know- you wait till you read the sequel! Legolas will get to offload around about Chapter 9 I think...but then there's a whole load more stuff to do before then and after...hope you enjoy it. I will get on with the next chapter just for you.
Date: Aug 15 2010 02:22 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 5 Eomer Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous
OK, just have to say, I'm just starting this chapter and like the warning already.

Author's Response: You are a sweetie to review every chater- next one will have to be just for you!!
Date: Aug 15 2010 01:48 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 4 Grima Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous
I just finished capter 4 and again your legolas is perfect. Your alteration of Legolas waking the king from Grima's spell is better than the original. I love the change from soft blue eyes of a healer to the steel green of a warrior. You really captured Grima's slimmyness also. Again. I'm not the best reviewer. It is sometimes hard for me to say why I like something unless I read it several times, but I am very impressed. Your writing is greatly enjoyable!

Author's Response: I am really pleased the changes worked- when I wrote this originally I didn't really know why or where it was going- it was all very instinctive. I tried to make this slashier and darker but although I love reading those sorts of fics it isnt really in me enough to write them.I always felt a little uneasy about legolas' reaction in the original to Grima- I think it made him too suseptible and I struggle with getting the balance right. Thank you for revieiwing- it's always so nice to know.
Date: Aug 10 2010 05:26 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous
I adore your Legolas. He is enchanting! I love Wood Elves and see them playful,as well as warriors. A life in Mirkwood seems to call for both. You are such a gifted story teller and I am reading and enjoying! And you are indeed a master of description.

Author's Response: Gosh- blush. You are very kind to say this. I keep cutting lots of what i think is quite good so I dont get too purple but it is hard sometimes- good to know it's working.
Date: Aug 09 2010 06:35 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 6 Gimli Reviewer: Melusine Signed
I think Gimli and Aragorn are right to keep an eye on Legolas. And maybe Legolas needs to find Eomer to help him wash away the taste of Grima. ;-) Looking forward to more!

Author's Response: Oh yes, Eomer is only too happy to help...but they have a few orcs to kill first I'm afraid. I am fan of yaoi ad yearning so like to string it out a bit I'm afraid.
Date: Aug 09 2010 12:47 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Reviewer: Lisse Signed
This chapter is wonderous. Love Legolas' moagical elvish fey and ability to heal the spirit with his song. You are truely masterful at description. Can't say enough good about this.

Author's Response: Thank you Lisse. You are too kind and I love hearing stuff like this- so good for my ego! (strokes) I have always thought legolas seemed to skip through parts of LOTR with a smile and a bit of mischief so couldn't resist that when writing this. I have changed bits from teh orginal though so thank you for letting me know it works.
Date: Aug 09 2010 11:04 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 5 Eomer Reviewer: Melusine Signed
Have I mentioned that I love Legolas in this? I'm glad Grima is dead, though he didn't really want to kill him. Wonderful two chapters! I'm eagerly awaiting more.

Author's Response: Thank you Melusine. Yes, Grima just had ot go, although there's a bit of me that wants ot write a really seedy, dark one shot of him in bad is that? Have you seen the picture of legolas on the Theban Band, just him and in the background a figure... that gives me all sorts of ideas.
Date: Aug 08 2010 07:20 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 2 Reviewer: ladyjane Anonymous
So glad beautiful Legolas was able to escape the worm with only this much loss. First of yours I've read and am very impressed. Welcoming slashy goodness.

Author's Response: Well thank you ladyjane- nice to be appreciated. Lots of angsty yaoi coming up. I love Legolas too much to really hurt him... might think about it but cant actually bring myself to do it. All very consenting.
Date: Aug 07 2010 04:10 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 3 Eowyn Reviewer: Melusine Signed
I love Legolas in this, so strong, so determined . . . Words fail me. And both Eomer and Eowyn having similar reactions to him. hehe Well, can't blame either one of them. Looking forward to more.

Author's Response: Ah, I know- I had real trouble deciding which way to go with this but readers seemed to want Eomer and my beta did too- so I went with Eomer. But I have another fic with just Eowyn, which I will get round to posting sometime. Thank you for kindly reviewing.
Date: Jul 27 2010 07:59 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 2 Reviewer: Melusine Signed
Oh, my, very intense! This story is a well-deserved MEFA.

Author's Response: Thanks again Melusine. One of the real reasons I am posting this here is because i want to post the sequel with added slashy goodness. But i ma enjoying revisiting this.
Date: Jul 25 2010 09:34 am [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.