You must login (register) to review.
Title: Chapter 4 Lust Reviewer: Irial Signed
Wow. What a brawl! The tension and emotion and all this darkness! I'm on the edge of my seat! ~ Iri

Author's Response: Elrohir really loses it here and because Legolas won't back down they really do fight with intent to hurt. That just wrote itself - I felt like an observer writing that to be honest. Thank you for stopping and commenting- it makes my day!
Date: Apr 11 2012 06:06 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 3 The Black Ships Reviewer: Irial Signed
Your imagergy and the motion of your chapters flows beautifully. Wonderful work, Ziggy! ~ Iri

Author's Response: Ooh- what a lovely comment! Thank you, Irial.
Date: Apr 11 2012 05:53 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Keeping Watch Reviewer: Irial Signed
Hi ziggy. I'm new to your tale but not your works. I'm looking forward to reading this promisingly magnificent tale and I'm a little glad that I've found it late because it means there are endless chapters for me to immerse myself into. I admire your prose, structure, vocabulary and imagination. And I love your Gimli. There's just something about him :D ~ Iri

Author's Response: Hi Irial- great to hear from you! And thank you- no pressure then:) I have recently started reading it through again in preparation for re-posting it on Faerie (a newer site where lots of writers have migrated from here) and found lots of things that need tweaking. So I hope this will not be disappointing!
Date: Apr 11 2012 12:49 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 44 Distant Shores Reviewer: ebbingnight Signed
My stars, how did you do that?

I loved your Legolas just as he was, brave and charming and flirtatious and insouciant as can be, until I read this chapter and realized that until now, he has not been truly challenged during the Quest to behave like the prince he actually is. Seeing him beg Gandalf for Elrohir's life made me realize that he knows that without Elrohir his "song" will never be what it can and should be, and he's willing to give his own life in return. He needs Elrohir just as much as Elrohir needs him--- and now they both are fully aware of that fact, whether or not they survive.

And, miraculously, seeing how Aragorn and Gandalf finally attempt to rescue them both in this chapter, I forgive them for having used Legolas as bait and bribe as they did in the interests of defeating Sauron--- now that they realize that his role has been far more essential than they knew.

This was a complete and compelling reversal of almost everything I thought I felt about the story (with the exception of Gimli and Pippin, who I still love just the way they are!)

Brilliantly done, Ziggy!

Author's Response: Thank you my dear ebbingnight- making me blush. One of the really nice things about reviews is that reviewers point things out that the writer has no awareness of-and you always do this. I had no idea that Legolas would come across in a way that would remind you as his status in the Woods- as a prince. That is lovely to know so thank you for tellnig me. But you are so right that he now knows he needs Elrohir like Elrohir needs him. And I am relieved that Aragorn and Gandalf have been redeemed by their actions- Anar was most anxious that this should be the case and she practically co-wrote this story. Thank you again. Love ziggy
Date: Apr 07 2012 03:13 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 44 Distant Shores Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed
you know how you take a certain path and all other options close behind you and there is only one way.

Oh yes.
I did kind of suspect you were going to kill him off. Most people don't do that, but the way you write, the passion and power, I thought it possible. You don't skirt around pain and pathos. I am glad you didn't, though, since there would have been a gap in the world (and one immense s__t storm from your followers!
LIKE it? It's masterful, exquisite, powerful! everything I demand in fanfic!

I would love to see a Glorfindel/Legolas from you.

Author's Response: I like to think about those two just before I go to sleep! I think Glorfindel would approach Legolas in Minas Tirith and Legolas will be ashamed that he did not face the Balrog - and Glorfindel did. Some nice hurt/comfort ensues. Obviously outside the Sons AU.
Date: Apr 06 2012 09:58 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 44 Distant Shores Reviewer: Alpha Ori Signed
Well, now, I thought you were going to kill them, and I would never have forgiven you for that.

I think I may have blinked while reading this chapter, but I cannot be sure. This chapter was simply - intense, absolutely spellbinding, magical, and utterly - beautiful.


I started out angry at Galdalf and Aragorn, even at Elladan, before I realized his motivations for leaving the tent, and then I wondered if they would die. Then, I knew they would die, and just when I had lost hope... this is what art is about, I believe, provoking such an array of feelngs and emotions, and you, my friend, are an artist.

Author's Response: I'm blushing and pleased - all the better when it's from another writer I enjoy reading. Thank you. As I said to Sian, you have Anar to thank for my not killing Elrohir- I kept finding myself drifting that way and she kept telling me I would be cyber-murdered! But I just needed to find out what happened, and Gandalf happily supplied it.
Date: Apr 06 2012 07:22 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 44 Distant Shores Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed
I was going to bloody well find you and kill you near the end, when I thought Elrohir had gone, and Legolas would fade!
I am shaking, here.
That was so magnificent and painful to read, Ziggy. You have made these characters immense and real in a way that very few authors (and not excepting published author, either!) ever manage to do.

Everything was so glorious here, so magnificent, so I can only quite this, as it is triumphant.

For a moment, there was only the quietly guttering flame. And then, like a dragon awakening, Elrohir’s own crimson power surged, his fiery spirit kindled and he burned. Fire raged in him, crimson fury and power flooded him, poured like molten lava through his veins. The black threads caught alight and flames ignited in the suffocating web and it burst into flames.

A blazing soul, Elrohir turned and gazed and gazed at the strange Elf who ran towards him, a green-gold presence that reached out to him, that stretched out his hand and caught him in a hold that was stronger than he was himself. Legolas.

Olórin felt the Song soar, the huge notes spiraled and surged together...they melted one into another and built into a beautiful crescendo. He listened rapt, as Elrohir’s own Song lifted on the wind above the snow-clad peaks, and circled higher to where eagles soared in the cold blue skies....the wind lifting them so they could look down and see the jewel that was Arda.


Brava!!

Author's Response: I know- (evil cackle). Actually you have Anar to thank for Elrohir making it - I was always going to kill him off! At one point, I even though he would die and then seek his true self with Elladan! But that never felt right - you know how you take a certain path and all other options close behind you and there is only one way. And Elrohir's choice was still never certain so he might still go off on the path of Men and leave L heartbroken- its all there to be written! Glad you liked it- I just hopped over for a lustful look at the Theban band after our SHOUT conversation- nice one of the Twins there too. But you know, I quite fancy writing a Glorfindel /Legolas one now - and I still have the Council of Elrond in mind but its a short piece and has to be outsdie Sons or I will ahve to go back and amend everything to become even more complicated!!
Date: Apr 06 2012 06:47 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Keeping Watch Reviewer: Superpa Signed
My dear Ziggy,

I'm on chap. 25 right now and I had to stop reading and give you feedback. Hurray!!!! You made my day when Elladan rushed to help our dear elves, but before 'fished' Gimli to ride with him. Very few fanfiction authors had managed to do this. Excellent writting!!! Kudos to you and your beta! Now, just one more thing, you better finish this fic or I'll be forced to hunt you down and make you do it! :)

Peace!
Trish

Author's Response: Hi Trish- thank you for pausing- it always makes my day! Yes, these chapters are the crucial middle ones and I am pleased with the way they turned out actually. I like the bit with Elladan scopping up Gimli too- its a really indulgent old-fashioned hero shot! You've got some good ones ahead of you so keep reading and pelase do drop me a line. I'm almost finished with it now and its nice to think there are still new readers out there. Dont worry- it will be finished. I just get stuck sometimes and bit disheartened when there aren't reviews.
Date: Mar 24 2012 11:43 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 43 The Black Web Reviewer: ebbingnight Signed
And this is a wonderful reversal of the ship's cabin scene in Chapter 7 ("The Darkness Within") in that Elrohir wants nothing more than to heal Legolas this time, while before he wanted nothing more than to hurt him. The dark webs of desire and death are in both of them now, and I hope they will now be able to find and save each other somehow through that savage, sexual bondage. I'm not sure that Elladan, or athelas, or even Mithrandir can help them this time.

Author's Response: Hello ebbingnight! Thank you for this. How right you are, a mirror image of the Seasong and as you say in that astute phrase, a savage sexual bondage indeed. It is not clear at all if Elrohir now will survive - the web is suffocating him, drenchng him in its darkness and as you say, athelas is not going to be enough and Elladan could not heal Legolas. Next chapter is well on its way.
Date: Mar 24 2012 02:45 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 43 The Black Web Reviewer: Lisse Signed
Goddness, this last chapter has been up a while, and I missed it. Well it was so worth the wait. Elrohir is conducting an ME code!

He is giving all of himself. He finally has no dark motive at all.

It makes me wonder if he and legolas will ever be able to love each other or Eru forbid, will one or both not survive the ordeal. I am not surprised you gave us yet another cliff hanger. You tease! But we love you for it. Just prolongs the sweet agony for us and them. Good to spend my Sunday morning on the best reading fan fic offers. I just started reading a nice long story on the silm writers guild. Between that and yours, I'm in heaven!

Love, Candy

Author's Response: Hello Candy- what's an ME code? Sorry for my ignorance! But he is certainly not holding back and you'll see how it has to be him and Legolas rather than Elladan now. Do you think he deserves Legolas yet? Has he atoned sufficiently? I know another cliffhanger but it sort of stops where it wants to and I wasn't ready with the next chapter until now. About two more to go, at most three. Shouldn't be long now. love ziggy
Date: Mar 11 2012 11:06 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 43 The Black Web Reviewer: Alpha Ori Signed
Oh goodness, how intense this was. I must admit if I were Gimly, I would have some harsh words for the ones that left the poisoned elf alone, in a tent with a young boy who knows nothing of healing, or indeed elves. Grrrr... good job the boy found Elrohir otherwise the others would be on a serious guilt trip.
It was interesting to see Elrohir's non-sadistic side in that last scene and I wonder if he is going to be able to keep that up.
Now, love him he does, because to take that black, spindly, spidery thing himself is a great sacrifice - yet one that perhaps one such as he would be better able to endure - or not? Can't wait for the next chapter, which I hope is not the last!!

Author's Response: Thank you Alpha Ori - I love it that you are so cross about Legolas being left alone with only Beren to look after him! And Elrohir is seriously redeeming himself right now. He is sacrificing himself for Legolas and that shows his abolute unselfish love, as you say. And you are right that he is the one who would endure if anyone could. Two more chapters probalbty and then finally I can get back to reading fics for my own pleasure!
Date: Feb 28 2012 03:01 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 43 The Black Web Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed
Come, he invited and he pressed his skin against Legolas and felt the desire flare like wildfire. Come, he seduced the black web, called to it, cooled himself. I will give you myself if you leave him. Elrohir felt the nipples pebble beneath his hands and he wanted to lick and suck them to hardness, to let his tongue trail down the hard belly and he felt desire like a furnace in his loins. He was hard and needy.

This is amazing. In this chapter something has happened to Elrohir that is not dark, or that is not all it is. It is dangerous, and a challenge to the darkness, and it's beautiful and very, very deep.

Author's Response: Thank you my dear Sian. Yes, Elrohir really redeems himself in this act, which is why it needed to happen. I am cracking on with the last two chapters now which is why I am not reading anyhtig else at the moment- promise to catch up everything in a couple of weeks!
Date: Feb 26 2012 07:28 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 43 The Black Web Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed
Abruptly Elrohir gained his feet, smoothly as though he had never been afflicted, and his cloak flowed around him like a shadow. He looked at Elladan for a moment and then he turned and strode down the hillside as if he had taken no wound, as if the Nazgul had merely inconvenienced him. He raised one gauntletted hand as he walked. Some few Men lifted their heads as he passed. And, after a moment of hesitation, they rose and followed him as if summoned. These were the Men whose hearts had no peace, who still wanted vengeance and their blood was hot. Elladan watched them gather about Elrohir. Baelderon was amongst them, his grief for his brother still darkened his eyes. Elrohir spoke. They did not cheer but their faces were grim and determined as Elrohir moved between them and Elladan could not help but think of them as shadowed. Incredible piece, because it, and that which precedes it, paints a very vivid image of the differences between Elladan and Elrohir. Elrohir is dangerous, and dark indeed, but glorious too. Come then, he said and opened himself, pulled the linen shirt over his head and bundled it up, threw it from him and tenderly, lovingly, covered Legolas with his nakedness. There was almost a hiss from the dark web beneath Legolas' skin. Oh my gosh! This had my breath stopped. It's beautiful and terrible and very dark. He knew there were words but he could not distinguish them- he was slowly wrapped in black threads that skittered and wove about him...the web cocooned him...and he felt himself falling, his heart enveloped and his lungs furred with the black web Oh lord. Now what. Every time I think it cannot ratchet up any more tension it does, but written so amazingly! (Oh Dark God was something I took from the Silmarillion; Of the Rings of Power and the Third Age.
In the East and South well nigh all men were under his (Sauron's) dominion, and they grew strong in those days and built many towns and walls of stone, and they were numerous and fierce in war and armed with iron. To them Sauron was both king and god; and they feared him exceedingly for he surrounded his abode with fire.
These were the peoples Vanimórë had dealings with. And I am so flattered you would hint at his existence in this marvellous story!

Author's Response: Well as you know I have been reading all the DP and actualy it must have been in my ind anyway so it was inevitable. And I alway slike ot see references in other works of fanfic- makes me think its all really true!!
Date: Feb 26 2012 09:05 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 24Nine for Mortal Men Reviewer: peamaps Signed
So sad! Omg, I don't see they getting out of this. It was a magical moment, the light, Legolas' spirit, it was beautiful to "see" in my mind. Congratulations to author and co-writer ^_^

Author's Response: Thank you. I am particualry proud of this chapter- I have a really clear picture of it in my head, of the fireflies, and hte light shining up on their faces.
Date: Jan 25 2012 01:21 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 22 Obsession Reviewer: peamaps Signed
perfect! never imagined that he had a plan
when we think Elrohir is beyond salvation...
beautiful art!

Author's Response: Yes- Mienpies does these gorgeous pictures for me. Such a lovely gift. And Elrohir HAS to be saved... doesn't he?????
Date: Jan 25 2012 06:52 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 20 The Gift of Men Reviewer: peamaps Signed
So intense, I didint leave my eyes for a second!

Author's Response: Yes, this is Elrohir almost at his worst but it does come from feeling hurt and rejected- that moment when Legolas went after Eomer. It is not going to be easily resolved either. Thank you for leaving all these lovely reviews, Peamaps.
Date: Jan 25 2012 12:57 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 16 Awakening Reviewer: peamaps Signed
I'm thrilled!
I would never imagine …omer would come.

Author's Response: Oh- do you know I had to go back and read that. Yes- Poor Eomer! And stupid, stupid Legolas. It's all going to go horribly wrong now of course!!
Date: Jan 24 2012 06:17 pm [Report This]
Title: Rávëyon Reviewer: peamaps Signed
Beautiful! Perfect!
I see hope for Elrohir, sometimes can't even believe it's the same story. Poor …omer and Elladan.
Very creative, thousands of things happening, I don't know how you get so many ideas.
I'm in love to your Elrohir more and more, and Legolas of course. He's so strong and usually he's made a weak carachter.

Author's Response: Ah, well you know I like a strong Legolas too. I am so glad you are growing to love Elrohir- stick with him! He has some dark times ahead and needs your love!!! Love Ziggy
Date: Jan 24 2012 01:12 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 11 The Hunger Reviewer: peamaps Signed
I was thrilled through the whole chapter. Your creativeness knows no limit ^_^
Maybe Legolas can cure Elrohir, his secret is sooo terrible. Can't wait to read next chapter.

Author's Response: I'm sp glad you are enjoying this. I have to go back and see what I was writing and that's nice too. I was pleased with this chapter- I like the way it moves from one person to another and looking at Elrohir from these differrent perspectives.
Date: Jan 24 2012 02:33 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 8 Aftermath Reviewer: peamaps Signed
Legolas is interested in Elladan, you are so creative. Thousands of things happening at the same time, so exciting.
I loved the twins talk, the comfort, I still feel for Elrohir and his older twin is just wonderful. Who wouldn't need someone that promised never let go?

Author's Response: It's so nice to read this- Elladan just gets nicer, better, more noble the more I write him. I will probably have to give him his own story sometime- maybe with Legolas. No spoilers!!
Date: Jan 23 2012 01:19 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 7 The Darkness Within Reviewer: peamaps Signed
It could not been more perfect, I waited for this. You described his darkness so well. Poor Elrohir, I still have hopes for the good in him.
But he is scarring. I would never imagine he would do something like this!
Wonderful chapter, very shashy!

Author's Response: Keep hoping! Elrohir needs all the help he can get- he has some very dark places to go before he comes out into the light!!
Date: Jan 23 2012 01:18 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 5 Reviewer: peamaps Signed
Amazing! What a complicated but stunning Elrohir you created. I feel so much for him, he suffers, maybe that's the way he finds to easy his pain. Loved this chapter.

Author's Response: I liked writing this chapter- it was in the days when I had more time and I think that shows in the writing if that does not sound too arrogant. You are absolutely right about Elrohir suffering to ease his pain- he punishes himself.
Date: Jan 23 2012 04:19 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 4 Lust Reviewer: peamaps Signed
Talk about longing! It was fun indeed although I can't wait!
This Legolas is one of the strongest ever, I'm in love with him. I can't expect he to meet …omer again can I? It was so beautiful, I'll never forget that story as well.
Thanks for sharing such a wonder with us.

Author's Response: It's so lovely to get all these reviews in one go! Thank you for the lovely comment about Legolas-but he DOES meet Eomer again but it's never going to be the same. Poor Eomer.
Date: Jan 23 2012 03:09 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1 Keeping Watch Reviewer: peamaps Signed
I can't believe you made a sequel, I'm so happy.
I absolutely loved how strong Legolas was and the story with …omer, can't wait for what you hold to us in this one.
I'm sure I reviwed that one as well, maybe in other site but didn't hear from you ^_^
Going to next chapter.

Author's Response: How lovely to hear from you again, Peamaps! I think you reviewed on Adult Fanfiction but I had so few reviews I did not post this one there. I think you will like this- there is a bit where Eomer appears but the plot is about Elrohir and Legolas in this one. I hope you enjoy it! Love Ziggy.
Date: Jan 22 2012 02:37 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 42 Reviewer: Lisse Signed
This review is being done on my I pod so it will be brief with another to follow. First, please prolong the sweet agony. Write as much as you want because I do not think it you could possibly write until I have had my fill of reading. Second, this is saying a lot but this is your best chapter. I was almost too much for my heart to take. There are only a few authors who can break open my chest, extract a beating heart, break it, return it, and expect me to go on with my day. You are one. Your writing leaves me changed.

Once again, love and graditude

Author's Response: You are an angst queen, Lisse! I'll see how it goes although I am not sure if they can hang on any longer! Poor Legolas- would you have him endure poison AND heartbreak? Hm- yes, I htought you would! xx
Date: Jan 16 2012 12:42 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.