You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/08/11 - 07:44 pm Title: Chapter 35

I love this chapter! And the title works very well. So tense there on the walls of Osgiliath with Elrohir teetering, trying to reach Legolas, then falling over. But the scene with Elladan thinking about Elrohir and everything that's happened, and his thoughts growing darker and darker, then realizing they weren't his own, that was just brilliant. But I just love Pippin in this. So inquisitive and so right about Legolas' feelings for Elrohir. Then I loved his 'mixture of admiration and surprise' at the idea of Legolas up on the walls with both the brothers. That still makes me giggle. So again just a wonderful combination of tension and humor. :)

Author's Response: Thank you Melusine- but you had such a part in this too! Sorry - just relaised I forgot to add that to the notes. Going to do that now xx

Reviewer: Lisse Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/08/11 - 04:01 pm Title: Chapter 34 Yzira

Ziggy,

So sorry it has taken me so long to review, but I will review you a dozen times to keep you writing, and no matter the place you post I will read and review you. I just needed to say this and will read again and say more.

Legolas stronger than Elrohir? Of course! And oh what an image of your beautiful Legolas submitting yet remaining in control as he kneels for Elrohir. I can just see all that long blond hair spilling over his shoulders, fluttering in the breeze! And I love Legolas come back when Ro says he will destroy him… “You flatter yourself Noldor.” We know what Elrohir means of course.

If Elrohir was not possessed by the Nazgul he would not have treated Legolas so harshly. He will hate himself all the more now for his abuse of his beloved, and for failing to protect Legolas.

Thank you for another incomparable chapter or two. Love you Ziggy. So looking forward to more!

Love Candy

Author's Response: Hello my dear Candy! Thank you for the lovely support you always give-it's worht writing just for you! And there's a new chapter waiting for you when you look next. Love Ziggy

Reviewer: Mindirith Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/08/11 - 06:36 am Title: Chapter 34 Yzira

Legolas appears to be a perfect match to Elrohir. He also seems to have an instinctive dislike of Elrohir's blade. Wonderful. But... Please don't leave us hanging like this! You can't leave this story with a cliffhanger! I don't know why I didn't get an update this time, I accidentally figured out that you added 2 new chapters. I hope you will write, and either post the new chapters here or on Faerie. I will be waiting with baited breath. I enjoy your story too much not to.

Author's Response: I will be finishing it here but when I post on Faerie, I'll be redrafting it and adding spice etc. I didn't really know where this was going to end up so it's nice to be able to go back and take my time with it. Yes...Aicanaro is taking on a life of his own. I'm not sure what he's up to really...hm

Reviewer: elflove2011 Signed [Report This]
Date: 30/07/11 - 10:54 pm Title: Chapter 34 Yzira

Beautiful as always and thanks for the sex scene, we all appreciate it! As always I had to re-read this a few times as you pack your wonderful detail so tightly I am afraid that I will miss something... I really did feel for Elrohir during this chapter, can't wait for the next installment, come back from your holiday quickly!

Author's Response: Yes, I had so many people saying they were disappointed when Legolas woke up i really elt obliged! But it would have wronbg to have had it there and Elrohir needs to learn to give up control. Hope you like the next chapter as much.

Reviewer: ebbingnight Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/07/11 - 09:43 pm Title: Chapter 34 Yzira

Yzira

Oh, if this is the last, terrible memory that Elrohir has of our brave, beautiful Legolas, it is certain that he now will choose death, the gift of Men, in order to forget what his own Song has brought to his beloved: he won't want to survive.

Author's Response: Never fear my dear! I would not do that cruel thing to Elrohir. He has to be redeemed yet. But you are right, if anything happens to Legoals... or if he THINKS it has happened, he is in great danger of giving up everything. Hope you enjoy the next chapter.

Reviewer: Alpha Ori Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/07/11 - 01:02 pm Title: Chapter 1 Keeping Watch

I know what you mean, my beta is on holiday and I am just about holding back publishing my next story. However, I must say that I think the chapter is very challenging from a punctuation point of view, yet it would make all the difference - brilliant though it still is.

Reviewer: Alpha Ori Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/07/11 - 04:20 am Title: Chapter 34 Yzira

I am in Spain, it is 1 o'clock in the morning, and it is still 24C - however, the thermic sensation has risen to at least 40, if I am not mistaken.
I would say so much about this chapter, 99.9 % of it good - wonderful.
I found the first half of the story did not flow so well, partly due, I believe to a few punctuation issues. But your descriptive narrative, the gradual build up of suspense as Elrohir climbs the stairs, as he succumbs to the black voices, only to realize - too late, that it was not him - but his hunters. Your imagery is wonderful, evokes the scenes you describe almost visually - Another fantastic, enthralling and truly skillful piece of writing.

Author's Response: Ah- I need ot go back againt then- it was, like you, very late and I changed things after Anarithiline had beta'd. I spent sol ong reading and proof reading over and over I htink sometimes you lose sight of it. No time now- I'll do it when I come back. Thank you.

Reviewer: Alpha Ori Signed [Report This]
Date: 26/07/11 - 05:39 pm Title: Chapter 33

This is a particularly well-written chapter, in my humble opinion. I particularly like your descriptions of the ruined stonework - very effective. I also think this 'recovery' chapter is so very central to I assume lies ahead, and that will allow Legolas (I hope), to hava a hand in it.
This new twist, where Legolas believes his estrangement with Elrohir is his fault, promises much drama and angst.
I eagerly await the explicit sex, it is about time these two get their act together.
Great work!

Author's Response: Thank you, Alpha. That is always particualry nice to hear from a fellow writer. Yes- you can see now, having read the next chapter, how improtnat it was to have this slower pace adn gradual recovery.

Reviewer: Mindirith Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/07/11 - 06:48 am Title: Chapter 1 Keeping Watch

Thank you very much! I did not expect anywhere near so complete a response. I greatly appreciated. I wanted to pose the questions, but expected to just wait for the next chapters for the answers. I had not thought about the glamour, that makes a lot of sense. I did assume that loosing oneself in such a host was not too difficult, if it were not for this "sense" Legolas seems to have of feeling Elrohir. But of course the glamour takes care of that. And you are right, of course. Thank you for refreshing my memory. Remembering those things makes it much more logical, I apologize for forgetting. I found The sons of Thunder not that long ago, but it was quite a read all at once. I loved every minute of it though. I will probably go back to the beginning, and re-read, just so I will be ready, and completely caught up for the next chapter. Which I am looking forward to. Thank you for doing such a great job.

Author's Response: Well it was useful for me too to have those questions asked- it nudges me that I need o tremind readers what has gone on before and to expalin things again - I read very quickly too and sometimes miss details that make me question the story. I appreciate those questions. So you will see in the next chapter how you have helped me to make things clearer! And the next chapter is quite an importnat one in terms of Legolas' memory and Elrohir. Thank you again.

Reviewer: mientje Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/07/11 - 05:36 pm Title: Chapter 32 A Memory of Rohan

so beautiful , how not to fall in love with your characters !

Author's Response: well I am honoured to be the recipient of your first review on this site. Thank you.

Reviewer: Lisse Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/07/11 - 03:25 pm Title: Chapter 32 A Memory of Rohan

Again a very beautiful moving chapter. The fact that the horses were all overjoyed to when Legolas came into the stable was as charming as could be. I can just see Legolas walking briskly into the stable and whistling tunelessly as you say.

Legolas is so brave. I love what he said about impossible odds and great danger, that’s what wood elves are good at.

I was absolutely delighted when he smiled at the herald and made the poor lad forget his own name.

Oh and Zig, don’t tell me you were not trying to break my heart when Eomer told Legolas he would love him again if only the elf would let him. My goodness! Poor dear smitten Eomer. He seems so infatuated. I know what must happen. I also know Legolas lovers Elro, but Eomer love Legolas just the same. He is so tender and caring and I love that he tosses his pride away to sink to his knees and help Legolas with the army he commands streaming around them. Eomer is a beautiful soul, strong, strong enough to be gentle.

Many thanks for this!! I am endlessly glad you are still posting here for us. What a great loss to the site it would be if you were not here.

Author's Response: I am still posting here for the time being, Lisse, but I am also posting on ESteliel's new site- which is full of wonderful writers I have not read before and an easy site to use. I will give Keith a chance but to be honest, I like waht he has been saying on his blog less and less. I don't liek the veiled threats that say things like - nothing will change yet - and suggestions tha tthese things can be looked at again later. But give the guy a chance too. My suspicion is he has seen a chance with the new Hobbit film and expects a massive upturn- which will happen. And then seek to seel the site or sell advertising. Anyway- I could go on. Ah, Eomer. He just won't lie down, will he. And he is lovely in htis. And Legolas has to be very very gentle, doesnt he. And if Elrohir does reject Legolas, the last thing the lef should do is go and revive what eh had with Eomer on the rebound...isnt it? Well... you know...Legolas is unpredictable. So he could go one way or the other. LOve Zig

Reviewer: Mindirith Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/07/11 - 08:50 am Title: Chapter 32 A Memory of Rohan

Poor Legolas! I am not sure Gandalf is really doing him a favor by keeping all his memories locked up. I love the chapter, as I have enjoyed the rest of your story. I always look forward to the next chapter. "Legolas catches up with Elrohir and feels much, much better" I was going to ask what Elrohir thought he was doing, that his absence seems to be doing more harm then good to Legolas, but at least in the next chapter they seem to get together. I am curious as to how Elrohir manages to evade Legolas' eyes. Wouldn't Legolas have been able to describe Rvyon to Gimli, who should have been able to figure out that he meant at least one of the sons of Elrond? And shouldn't Legolas have seen Elladan and asked him? I am very much enjoying the story, and looking forward to the next chapter!

Author's Response: In answer to your very fair questions -Elrohir really thinks that he is destructive and will be bad for Legolas- he thinks he cannot control himself and so the best thing s to keep away. He also hates himself so much he beleives he does not deserve Legolas- he thinks he should have stayed away and let Elladan have him. The 'glamour' he puts on himself is easy for him. He is after all, Galadriel's grandson and Elrond's son- in the saemw ay the cloaks of Lorien have th epower to conceal in the weave, and the ropes come undone on their own. Also, it is easy to lose yourself amongst 7000 men and Elrohir wants to evade Legoals- Legoals is focused on looking for him and in the next chaper you wil lsee he finds a different way to find him, and is more successful. And your point about why Legolas doesnt just describe Raveyon to Gimli is a good one - but if you read it again, you will see that Gimli just nods and grutns whenever he mentions him, so Legolas assumes he knows whom he is talking about. Also no on e really want s to remind him of waht happened on the mountain in case it drives him back into the place -the memory of the Nazgul. Elladan is nowhere in sight at any time that Legolas is around- he had already left before Legolas arrives - I did that purposely. He does not ride up with Aragorn either. Gandalf has screened the memeories to give Legolas a chance to heal. Remember how he woke in the houses of Healing, screaming? He would not be able to ride with the Host if Gandalf had not done that and Gandaf knows Legolas should be there at the end - see earlier chapters. But Gandalf does not have limitless power anyway so already that wall is crumbling. Better for Legolas to be confused by Elrohir than to be stuck in that place screaming like he was in the Houses of Healing I htink. To some extent this chapter is about setting up the next stage and they still have a long way to go - dont worry. It will alll be resolved.

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/07/11 - 11:24 pm Title: Chapter 32 A Memory of Rohan

This is so, so brilliant! The tenderness between the Fellowship as they wait, the humor they display, along with the worry, it's so well done. So much tension between the brothers, understandable but painful too. And Elrohir's jealousy of Eomer, nice to see that. I can't wait to see how Legolas and Elrohir interact, especially if our dear Greenleaf re-gains some more of his memories.

Author's Response: Hello Mel- glad you have picked this up but I guess you are looking at Esteliel's new site. I am posting there now too so see you over there. THis was a bit of an in=between chapter really and setting up for the next leg, which is going to be rife with sexual tension!! Eomer still hankering after Legolas will simply complicate things further dont you think?!

Reviewer: Alpha Ori Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/07/11 - 07:42 pm Title: Chapter 32 A Memory of Rohan

oooo very very very nice. Lot's of tension with Eomer and Elrohir. Gandalph is a tad grumpy with Legolas, surprising after everything that has happened. The fact that Legolas is still sufferiing from his injury makes his record recovery much easier to assimilate. I loved this chapter, and as usual, will be impatient for more, soon.

Author's Response: I know- Gandalf is just grumpy when he is not being wose and serious, dont you think? I knew it was going to be a tough one to get credibity for Legolas going to Mordor but really, we couldn't leve him behind, could we. I hope I've done enough to make that beleivable with the bloodlessness of the wound, and it being more of a spiritual wound than physical. Let me know if it doesn't work though, won't you. Thank you, Alpha.

Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/07/11 - 03:05 pm Title: Chapter 32 A Memory of Rohan

This is immense and stupendous, Ziggy. The interaction of the characters, both friendship and unease, love and desire, care and agony; the marching of the host (it feels as if I were there with them) The life under that huge and epic backdrop. Aragorn's uncertainty, Elladan and Elrohir's schism, the Hobbits, Gimli, Eomer, and what tugged at the heartstrings, Legolas' trying to find Elrohit:

He could sense him, feel the air vibrate with his presence, the power of him...but whenever he looked in the direction of that sensation, his gaze slid off and around things...like he could not focus. And yet he felt the intensity of an elven gaze, so different from a Man’s gaze. He felt it linger on him but when he turned to look, he saw no one, just the ranks of marching men, or Aragorn, or Gandalf...

He would search, scan the faces and see the long, sleek fall of black hair tied severely back, the sharp grey eyes sweep over him, the sculpted lips pressed together...and when he swung round to face Rvyon, he was gone...


This is beautiful as only something so profound can be. I desperately needed to immerse myself in this, to get away from all the stress that has erupted. Thank-you so much for posting it. I am longing for Legolas to find Elrohir!

Author's Response: Wow- that was quick! I have just posted it and am trying to catch up with reading fics I am following!! And don't worry- Legolas WILL catch up with Elrohir next chapter!

Reviewer: Lisse Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/06/11 - 10:22 pm Title: Chapter 31 Confession

“Elrohir felt suddenly envious that Mirkwood's children were so free, so unashamed, unlike the Noldor for whom sex was about wedlock and binding and for whom desire was supposed to fade. It had never been so for him and he wondered if he might have been happier had he been born in Mirkwood.”
L8bleumer (Melissa)and I were just talking about this quote from your chapter 14.

There are a few things I forgot to mention. First, as others have mentioned, I appreciate the insight into Gandalf and enjoyed reading it.
Second, I noticed your mention of our dear Melusine. She is working on her lovely het right now. Those that love slash are in for a real treat in reading her. It was Melusine’s exquisite slash that prompted a change of heart for me. Now I LOVE it.

Author's Response: I love that you and L8 were talking about this- how intensely flattering. Yes- thank you for finding it - it takes me ages to remember where things are. AH- interesting that Melusine inspired your het fics. When I was writing the prequel to Sons, I started off wanting Legolas ot be with Eowyn- but Eomer was very insistent and even though I really wanted Eowyn most readers wanted slash- isnt it funny. I think slash is ..I was just going to say uncomplicated and then I remebered what I was writing! And what Spiced is writing and thought what nonsense!

Reviewer: Lisse Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/06/11 - 10:17 am Title: Chapter 31 Confession

Most of us would prefer that sex be about love, but that is not always the case. At times it is about dominance or instinct, or something we cannot understand. It is about raw emotions we are not in touch with. It is about survival, just like eating or breathing. There are people who are going to gasp and say I am horrible for saying this, but Elrohir did not commit the terrible crime he has been carrying the guilt of. He almost raped his mother. But he did not. He watched. He was aroused. It was a visceral, gut level reaction, coming from a place too deep and primal for his cultures mores to reach, yet he himself pulled himself back from the edge of the unforgivable. This took self control, for which he should be commended. Elladan is guilty of breaking his traditional morals as well, if in their culture sex is about bonding and wedlock, for he wants Legolas. (Who wouldn’t want Legolas?) I feel sorry for both of the brothers, they both need comforting. But my heart goes out to Elrohir because he is only guilty of a thought, a touch, not rape. He has been flogged with a rod of morality for an evil he did not commit. And unless every other intelligent being has complete thought and impulse control at all times they are in no position to judge him.
Written to twist our hearts out of our chest, this chapter is perfect in its anguish!

With all my ardent devotion, yours, Candy.

Author's Response: Well wonderful Candy- you expressed that perfectly. It is what I have been trying to express and grapple with myself actually- I have taken out that particualr line on ffnet because it is les mature and open minded, but here I can explore htat more fully. I hate that Elrohir did waht he did, and it cannot be excused BUT. as you say, he did not do anything and I hope at some time, someone wil lsay that tohim. But he did stand by and do nothing when the outlaws he rode with 'punished the vanquished' as they would see it and I did not want to shy away from that- the truth about war. I am sure that men are not all honourable as the Dunedain or elves, and that event he elves knew rape (Maglor for example) so I wanted to acknolwedge that hidden side of Tolkien's elves... but as you say, Elrohir did nothing.And you have to wonder if Elladan would be as horrified if it had been some orc-female.The truth is Elrohir likes domination and is probably repressed because hte Noldor were repesssive about sex. He wonders at some earleir point if he would have been happier had he been born in Mirkwood and the truth is, he proably would be! Thank you for understadning that. Love Ziggy

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/06/11 - 05:12 pm Title: Chapter 31 Confession

What a powerful, powerful, chapter! The beginning with Gandalf feeling old and worn in his mortal body was very well done. Loved the way he chewed on his thoughts and figured out Elrohir's plans, or close to. I could just see his face as he worked on it. The brethren seemed destined to be parted forever, but who could blame Elladan for his repulsion over Elrohir's confession. That Elrohir wants to get himself killed is also understandable. Very, very sad. But amazingly well done, as always!

Author's Response: Thank you my dear! I am increasingly pleased with Gandalf as this seems to be the thing that worked the best and most reviewers have written about that. Yes- Elrohir has been overwhelmed for a long time and been able to keep it all buttoned up until now... and Legolas has unravelled him and now he is just slowly breaking down.

Reviewer: ebbingnight Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/06/11 - 04:25 pm Title: Chapter 31 Confession

This marvellous, moving chapter has made me reflect more deeply on that familiar phrase, "the choice of Men." For us who have no choice in whether to be mortal or not, that choice also involves choosing how one *lives* one's life, and living with the choices one makes, over and over again, whether for good or for ill, knowing that each choice has consequences and that each choice may be one's last. In fact, Elrohir does seem all too human here: but, were he truly human, he might realize that there is almost always a chance to choose to be better than one has been. And sometimes one does need help for that.

Author's Response: Yes- interesting thoughts. I will have a mull over that. Elrohir is, as you have seen, not mortal ...yet. He is on the brink though and it only needs for him to actually KNOW how to do that to make the change right now. But Tolkien doesn't tell us so we have to guess.

Reviewer: Spiced Wine Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/06/11 - 06:52 am Title: Chapter 31 Confession

Elladan and Elrohir were truly grueling to read, in the best possible sense. (I also think you have nailed Gandalf better than any author I have read.) That was an amazing look into his thoughts, and his hearing the song.
Elladan and Elrohir...this is taking us into the depths indeed, exposing their thoughts and emotions and sparing us nothing. Nor do we asked to be spared, though it leaves us raw. This was a painfully powerful and magnificent chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you for the comment about Gandalf in particular- I worrked really hard on him and Elladan, how he thought, how in spirte of his inner calm, his inner conflict over Elrohir finally spilling out. It hasn't finished yet of course.

You must login (register) to review.