Reviews For Taming The Wild
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: EldarinPrincess Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/01/11 - 08:33 am Title: Regrets

Once you are involved with someone like that, it's hard to draw a line. Wonder what will happen when Legolas arrives in the Golden Wood and sees her--if she stays that long. And referring to women and sacrifices, it seems Rhav has to do the same soon. Everything has a price, you just have to figure out the cost you are willing to pay.

Author's Response: You are right. Rhav has paid a price so far by not following her heart and soul. Now that she is finally on her own, she's finding out that not all is easily claimed. A warrior's life is not easy and this new discovery complicates things.

Reviewer: AmberRoseEm Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/01/11 - 08:44 pm Title: The Battle-Lust

Wow. That was *amazing*. The chemistry between Rhavaniel and Haldir is palpable. I wonder what will happen when Legolas shows up...

Author's Response: Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Things might get difficult when Legi gets there. How could it not?

Reviewer: Lucia Rayne Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/01/11 - 07:15 pm Title: Game Over

This is the first story I have read on lotrfanfiction.com I believe I will not be disappointed with the stories, if the rest are just as entertaining.

Are there ways to get alerts for chapter additions?

Author's Response: Hi Lucia. It's nice to meet you and welcome to the site. There are a lot of great stories here. It's easy to get updates. Just log in, click on the story you are reading. Click on 'add story to favorites'. Click on Account Info on left hand side. Go to 'edit preferences' and check the box labeled 'contact when favorites are updated'. This also works for favorite authors, when an author responds to your review or (if you post a story) new reviews for your story. You can also contact an author privately by clicking 'contact' next to author's name in their bio. An email will be sent directly to them. That's how I have met so many great people here. Hope this helps. So glad you are enjoying and hope to keep you entertained.

Reviewer: regaliaria Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 04/01/11 - 03:56 pm Title: The Battle-Lust

Wow! That was some scene! Got the fan going here and it still is not helping. Whew, it is warm in here! hehehe. Like a menage e trois? Okay, maybe not yet.LOL. I would not mind being the "Middle of things" Or "Two hunks!"
Well Legolas is going to get a run for his money. Will he let lose and let her be all that she is meant to be or will he reign her in like a trained horse and break her. I doubt with her wild ways and very high determination, that he will get anywhere. It might even backfire on him. But then, maybe he will realize that finally that this is her destiny and chosen path. Will he give her the respect she deserves? I hope so or he can kiss her goodbye and let Haldir have her...if he wants her. "Wake up Legolas and get on board before the train leaves!"

Author's Response: You have so many questions and I can't answer a single one. I will say this, Legolas too has changed after seeing and experiencing everything on his journey with the Fellowship. I think that after Gandalf falls in Moria, Legolas looses some of his youth, like any young soldier sent to war. They see things that change them and they are never the same. So you'll just have to wait and see where it all leads, but keep that fan handy.(don't forget the ice and towel too).

Reviewer: EldarinPrincess Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/01/11 - 04:00 am Title: The Battle-Lust

Whooo boy....I woke up cold, now I am quite the opposite. I was glad to see that Rhav didn't let Haldir completely dominate her.

Author's Response: Haha... you're too funny. Yes, Haldir might have met his match with Rhav. She won't give in too easily.

Reviewer: Domestic Duchess Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/01/11 - 12:44 am Title: The Battle-Lust

Ugh! This Haldir fella makes me all melty on the inside! You're right, he's like that older than you sexier man with experience that for some reason you just find irresistible. But there's also that tender side of him that is pleased to find his "one" and he's not afraid to show her a little bit of it, like when they cuddle after. Doing a scene like this is a no no in romance writing, especially if Leggy is the "hero" but I love it. You're breaking the rules, and that, I think, separates stories from bland formula fiction. I also think that means you're confident in your own writing and story to do it. This love scene was well written and tasteful, not at all trashy, I don't think. Like real sex, for women, the foreplay is the most arousing. Once you get down to the screwing, eeehh.. it's all just in and out, not alot of detail required. If so it's all feelings and sensation. Can't wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: You write your reviews like you write your story, just throw it all out there. Yes (and I laughed out loud here) it is all just in and out. We know what happens. Do we really need to explain everything? You give me so much encouragement, but I have to be honest. If I'm breaking rules it's because I didn't know there were any and where you see confidence is actually lack of knowlege. I only write what I feel and what I would like to see happen. I've taken no course, studied no books. So for you to see this in my writing really boosts my confidence. I can't thank you enough for your reviews. Every single one has helped me in some way. I respect your writing talents and think yours is among some of the best. And I have to laugh at how I took someone who knows 'squat' about elves and now finds them (or at least one of them) sexy. You know what I'm talking about. I've seen your idea of the elves, flashy and flighty dressmaker. (rotf over that one.) Anyways, thank you again and I'm glad you are still enjoying it.

Reviewer: Celebelleth Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/01/11 - 10:22 pm Title: Misfortune

I'm finally starting to catch up! I haven't reviewed your story yet, so I do it here. Again a great story! I love many things, including that you dig in secondary characters like Antien and Glandur, I guess their role is just not only "en passant"; ok, for the rest, I read and wait :)

I can't disapprove Rhavaniel's choices. A free mind and a free body. So many women suffered and still do from the dominion that some males like to put upon us. Sometimes done for 'our own good', without bad intentions, and maybe sincerely devoted to this 'own good'. Yet you do not need anyone telling you how to live your life. "All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us", Gandalf's told Frodo, and told all of us too. This is just a personal choice. So as far as it goes, love+golden cage or freedom+uncertainty, well, I'd take the later. I think that this is what she'll do as well. And knowing you, I can see some bumps on the road as well (you evil ways... hehe)

An interesting thing I've noted is the age of Legolas. He seems quite young at the arrival of Gollum. Indeed, we do not really know his age. Only certain passages suggest he might be as old as Arwen (around 3000 year old) and still young for an Elf in their standards (lucky ones! I see my first wrinkles..). Personally, I tend to think this way. But your younger Legolas is totally in phase with his behaviour. He is quite an immature fellow! He's got a naive way to see life, love, everything should be right in place and good things will last forever **sounds of the birds**. Well, boy, even for Elves, it does not go this way, ask Galadriel! So altogether, he has much to grow. I bet that his participation in the Fellowship will be a good kick.

Altogether, another great story! I will keep the next chapters for tomorrow, it is a bit late in the night here, but I can't wait for the next :)

And for you it's still the 3rd of January! so still the Professor's 119th birthday! houhou! Just a litte thought like this :)

Author's Response: You are about the third person to point out Antien and Glandur. I think I will write a little piece just for them, about how they met and nothing more explicit. I think the whole "for our own good" thing is out of love and need to protect, but some do not realize that it can harm also. We should all be free to make our own decisions and hopefully have the support of our loved ones. Gandalf was one smart cookie (lol). As far as Legolas' age, some think he was around 3000 and some think 500. But like you say, there is really no solid proof of either. I have always thought of him as being the older but in this story I think he might be the younger. It just seemed to work better and I'm not the best with times lines (don't have the time - hehehe). I also like to think that Legolas matured a great deal on his journey with the Fellowship, though I think he never completely lost that playful youth with his joking about finding the sun and his singing. Don't you just love a Wood elf? Thanks for the heads up on the Professor's b-day. As someone mentioned to me, he would have reached his majority at 119 (if he were an elf). It's so good to hear from you again and remember to take a little time for yourself every so often.

Reviewer: EldarinPrincess Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/01/11 - 01:16 pm Title: Training and Battle

I think Haldir is the better choice for Rhav in that he allows her the freedom she so vividly desires, but sometimes too much of a good thing is deterimental. Legolas only said what he said out of protectiveness, I hope he doesn't become too crushed. And Rhav is still young, so that her heart may shift in different directions. Can't wait to see what happens.

Author's Response: It seems the Marchwarden is making a good impression. He is in a position where he can't say no. The Lady Galadriel allowed Rhav to fight and Haldir has no connections to her... yet. And of course, Legolas loves her and any male wants to protect the one who holds his heart. They are two different elves, Hal and Leggi. It's a good experience for our young Rhav.

Reviewer: Domestic Duchess Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/01/11 - 11:02 pm Title: Training and Battle

I was glad to read this during the Rose Bowl since my Wisconsin Badgers were losing. This is my favorite chapter so far. I really like Haldir. He's charismatic and powerful. He has a much stronger personality i think than Leggy does. Much more of a warrior personality, too. I don't really think he's a bad boy, but he has that male magnetism that women can't resist... that virlity that men emit that women can sense. Frankly, I think he is a better match for Rhav than Leggy. I think you made that chemistry between haldir and Rhav clear from their first meeting. Cant wait to see what happens next!

Author's Response: Sorry your team lost. I don't watch college football but I follow pro. My Dolphins aren't doing so hot either. Anyways, wow... for you to say you like one of the elves says a lot. I like to try and keep my elves real and try not to follow too many rules as one might think. Haldir I have always seen as having a strong personality. He knows what he wants and he gets it. He can be rather irresistable, at least I like to think so. In a way you are right. Haldir matches Rhav's personality a little better for now. Legolas is more tame and maybe that is because of his position as Prince. Haldir has been around much longer and seen his share of war. He's more fiery and he and Rhav will feed off of that energy. I'm so glad you like him this way. I really didn't want him to come off too disreputable. He's just ambitious, especially when it comes to the opposite sex.

Reviewer: EldarinPrincess Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/12/10 - 05:26 pm Title: At Home In Lorien

I like how you are pointing out some of the differences between the Golden Wood and Mirkwood. Whereas the Silvans of Mirkwood are more "native" and the Galadhrim are more refined since they've been assimilated with the Noldor and Sindarin ways of their Lady and Lord respectively. Interesting developments with Haldir, can't wait to see where it goes with him. Can't yet determine if I like him or not.

Author's Response: Glad you are getting the differences. I like the idea of the two elf races being so different. As for Haldir, I like to think of him as a refined Lorien elf who deep down wants to be more "native". I'll leave it at that. Soon things will heat up again.

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/12/10 - 12:32 pm Title: At Home In Lorien

I wonder if Rhavaniel will succumb to Haldir's charms. Certainly things are getting interesting. Looking forward to more.

Author's Response: Hi Mel, hope you had a nice Christmas. Rhav is in for some interesting twists pretty soon. And of course, Haldir will be involved.

Reviewer: ziggy Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/12/10 - 07:24 pm Title: At Home In Lorien

Oh yes- VERY convenient that Haldir trains the new recruits... in exaclty what I might ask?!! And he is just a tad slimy. And anyway, she is already spoken for as Orophin says (lord, listne to me ranting on like some fangurrrrrllll!

Author's Response: Hehehe. Nothing wrong with that. Haldir could train me any day *wink*. And Rhav could use a good training *wink wink*. Now who's the fangirl. lol

Reviewer: AmberRoseEm Signed [Report This]
Date: 24/12/10 - 03:09 pm Title: To The City

Ah I see you have brought the love (or is it lust!) of Haldir into the mix. I wonder who she will choose...

Author's Response: Hi Amber. I guess I am partial to the naughty Haldir. He's good for stirring up the mix. As for Rhav, her discoveries may not leave her much choice.

Reviewer: regaliaria Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 22/12/10 - 03:10 am Title: To The City

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you! Legolas might have a run for his money if he does not straighten up. Although she loves him and can feel him every so often, The sparks between Haldir and her, small that it is, can blow up into a full grown feelings of love. But who knows. We will see what you come up with. Hot Dang, that Haldir could melt me like butter!!hehehe!

Lets also hope that Rhavaniel can keep her sarcasm in check to.

Author's Response: Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you too. Rhav is already curious about Haldir but it may be more suspicion. She's no groupie if you know what I mean. But Hal will prove to be a challenge. Good to hear from you regaliaria. Have a wonderful holiday.

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/12/10 - 02:15 am Title: To The City

Yes, Haldir is definitely going to be a complication. Now we'll just have to see what happens when the Fellowship arrives.

Author's Response: It's what he does best. Things are going to get a litte problematic that's for sure.

Reviewer: Domestic Duchess Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/12/10 - 09:34 pm Title: To The City

I know exactly jack zero about elves, but I like this Haldir guy! LOL! I thought your writing in this chapter was very good. It for some reason seemed much looser, or relaxed or free flowing... But that could just be me too. But i though the writing in general was very good. But you also have a very consistant voice. You're doing an excellent job of keeping the story moving and keeping the reader interested. my favorite paragraph is the one were Haldir's loins ache! lol!

Author's Response: Thank you so much. This means a lot to me. I think it might seem more relaxed because Rhav is being a little more like herself. This chapter flowed as I wrote it as I thought about how she would act finally on her own, without her father or Legolas hindering her. Glad you like Hal. Where Legolas might be sweet and romantic, I like to think of Haldir as the bad boy that every girl loves. I guess we all see then in different ways and Haldir, for me, has always been good at making things complicated (but in a good way) *wink*

Reviewer: EldarinPrincess Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/12/10 - 05:45 pm Title: To The City

Haldir is definitely an enchanting character. Love how you are playing up the refinement of the Goldwen Wood Elves versus the Mirkwood Elves.

Author's Response: Glad you like Haldir. As for Lorien vs. Mirkwood elves, I owe that to ziggy. I always knew there was a difference but couldn't explain it. She makes it very clear in her stories and I completely agree. Tolkien wrote (using Gandalf) that Mirkwood elves were in a word savage. I like to compare them to a native people who live off the land where Lorien is more civilized like city folk. At least that's my interpretation and it would explain Rhav's wild ways a little better.

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 20/12/10 - 01:48 am Title: The Renegade

So now she's in Lothlorien. I wonder what Legolas will say or do when he arrives with the Fellowship. And will Haldir be a complication? Looking forward to more!

Author's Response: You know me, I always take the long way 'round ; - ) Another tangled web to weave.

Reviewer: ziggy Signed [Report This]
Date: 19/12/10 - 03:42 pm Title: The Renegade

I love her passionate defence for Mirkwood, and hmm, Haldir's reaction is interesting. A budding comlication I think?

Author's Response: Complicated? Definitely. She has no idea what she's getting herself into once she discovers something about her warrior side. Thanks for taking the time out of your busy schedule. I really appreciate it.

Reviewer: Domestic Duchess Signed [Report This]
Date: 19/12/10 - 02:16 am Title: The Renegade

The love note was very beautiful!I could feel the passion and felt very bad for Leggy's loss. He's tough, he'll not let it get him down but i'm sure the not knowing will bother him. Isn't that always the worst, the not knowing what happened to someone you love. You've done a great job in keeping your characters in characterand not deviating from their tendancies as eveidenced the latter half of this chapter. She's got balls and doesnt' let Haldir or his brothers intimidate her. I was very glad to see you posted a new chapter as I was having an attack of writer's insecurity and needed the distraction and the chance to bolster someone's confidence. Looking forward to the next chapter

Author's Response: I completely agree, it's the not knowing that can eat away at your conscience. Legs will be fine. He's got that whole... fellowship gig... you know. Anyways, thanks for noticing Rhav's she-balls. Wouldn't want to run into her in a dark alley. She's going to have to get used to Haldir. Their stubborn attitudes just might clash. Thanks for the boost and I was glad to be a disruption for you. I do the same thing when I want to write but my muse wants to sit on the couch and eat bon bons all day. And being that my muse is Legolas, he also likes to steal my flat iron and lock himself in the bathroom. *laughs at own joke... pitiful, I know.*

You must login (register) to review.