Reviews For Taming The Wild
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: EldarinPrincess Signed [Report This]
Date: 26/02/11 - 07:04 pm Title: Not This Day

This is a sweeter side of Rhav, the "new" Rhav if you will. I know she was dying to go battle, but it is very comforting and more noble to sit with someone who is dying. This I have experience from my profession, during my time as an RN on an onocology unit. People are always afraid of being alone at the very end; I am glad she stayed. Would have liked to know her thoughts about the sitatuion, since she is an Elf and Faramir is a Man.

Author's Response: I guess I hadn't really thought of that since we all know Faramir doesn't die. But I think the experience would have humbled her even more. When I wrote this chapter, I was so tired after writing the previous battles. I just didn't have it in me to write another one. That's where Faramir came in. He was my 'out' I guess you could say. And Rhav really needed to be calmed. Battle would only get her excited again.

Reviewer: Signofthetimes Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/02/11 - 08:35 pm Title: The Ambassador Returns

Sad, mad Denethor, I'm glad he makes an appearance, one of my favourite characters but not one that turns up much in fan fiction. I like Rhav's introspection in the prison cell, let's hope she turns the corner soon!

Author's Response: I think Rhav has no choice but to change at this point. It may not be easy but it's necessary.

Reviewer: aur Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/02/11 - 11:36 am Title: The Ambassador Returns

You have really defined Rhav as an ambassador in her words and actions here. Her skill is evident as she pleads with the steward. I could think of no better word for him than deranged. Rhav in the prison cell is one of the best pieces of introspection and epiphany I have read. It is a really human (ok Elvish)moment. It takes a mature, strong individual to come to this kind of self realization, and more maturity to act on it to change.

I see Rhav’s story as less about a warrior and more about a young woman discovering herself. She lost her mom too soon. She struggles to please her father as well as herself. People need to remember that Elves, like humans, are born with an empty mind that needs to be filled with teaching and life experience in order for them to become the wise, placid beings they appear to be. One of the tasks of adolescence is to establish one’s own identity apart from parents, of course. The rebellious “I’m right no matter the issue” attitude is almost necessary to make this break. Imagine Rhav and Legolas 5000 years from this story. As much as they have changed, more change for the better is in store. I wish I had 5000 plus years to grow and learn!

Author's Response: I guess I haven't really shown Rhav as a mediator. She is much different from the warrioress. She is able to stay calm so as to resolve problems. And that was just another factor to her demise, another failure. So by the time she contemplated everything during her lockdown, it seemed like she was striped of everything. No matter how rebelious she thinks she is she finds out that it can all be taken away if she's not careful.

Reviewer: haldirsbaby Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 22/02/11 - 03:12 am Title: The Ambassador Returns

Bad BAD girl. you killed off Haldir...Traitor!...My heart aches....

Great story..is there anyway you can add alternate chapter where Haldir does not die?

Author's Response: I know, I know. I'm sorry. I know how much you care. Leggi says he will punish me later for doing what I did and he won't stop until I learn my lesson (which I don't think I'll be learining any time soon,lol). But just remember, no elves were actually harmed in the making of this story. Hal is still alive somewhere and if I know him, he's standing right behind you.

Reviewer: AmberRoseEm Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/02/11 - 01:17 am Title: The Ambassador Returns

I'm a little confused by this chapter, it feels rushed within it compared to the timeline of the movie. I thought the beacons were lit before Denethor brought Faramir to be burned. If she arrived at that point wouldn't there be a huge army out front? I was otherwise able to follow her story and I'm glad she found her hope. Until the last chapter I wasn't sure where she would ultimately end up in the battle!

Author's Response: I may have changed it a bit just to get it to fit a little better. I'm following the basics of the movie but not strictly. I needed to get her there after Gandalf but with the purpose of meeting Denethor. Having her trying to intervene with the burning of Faramir needed to happpen in order for her to be thrown in jail. Like I said, I'm not following too close on the timeline, but we all get the general idea.

Reviewer: Domestic Duchess Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/02/11 - 10:27 pm Title: The Ambassador Returns

Nice way to keep the action and story moving forward. I can definately see all the story lines clicking into place and everything falling together. I hope she gets to meet Eowyn. I think they would have alot in common!

Author's Response: She does meet Eowyn, though it's not really a part of this story. I imagine Rhav and Legolas becoming close friends with them, especially after Ithilien and Osgiliath are rebuilt. Actually, I can see Rhav and Eowyn becoming great friends leaving Faramir and Legolas to wonder if they've created some kind of estrogen monster, lol.

Reviewer: Eldarwin Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/02/11 - 10:18 pm Title: The Ambassador Returns

I love that Rhav and Legolas are able to communicate this way now. It's romantic. :) I want to turn this story into a movie! It's heart warming to see Pippin again. Oh, how I've missed him!

Author's Response: I think it's a sign of things to come for Rhav and Leggi. Their faith in each other is strong enough that they feel one another during desperate times. Glad you like Pippin. It just a small part really, but just where he needs to be at the right time.

Reviewer: EldarinPrincess Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/02/11 - 03:32 pm Title: The Ambassador Returns

Despair is the worst thing. Poor Denethor; I do pity him.

Author's Response: I always did feel for him in a way. His mind was so clouded that he didn't even have faith in Faramir anymore. His was a tragic story for sure. Rhav was luckier in this aspect. She had Legolas to lift her from a similar fate. And it's because of this that she sees what has been in front of her the whole time, his love and devotion.

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/02/11 - 03:19 pm Title: The Ambassador Returns

Ah, the wake-up call from hell. Good. Even Katherina and Beatrice knew when to heed it, and Legolas is definitely more worthy than either Petruchio or Benedick. Finally she *gets* it. :) Now I can root for her.

Author's Response: You make me laugh. Well, she has to get it sooner or later. This kind of a rock bottom moment is the best way to slap someone into a change. But even through it all, Legolas is devoted to her. He just won't give up on them, even when it seems that she has. So root away my friend.

Reviewer: EldarinPrincess Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/02/11 - 03:14 pm Title: Foresight

I always wonder what I would do if someone gave me a premonition of my future; I think it's best that I don't know. And here Legolas is faced with the very thing. He is very sweet in his message to Rhav. I wonder how he will feel when he sees her in Gondor.

Author's Response: I for one would not want to know. I deal better if I don't know as apposed to knowing and sweating it. And Galadriel's warning was kind of vague. It could have meant just about anything. So now begins a change in these two lovers.

Reviewer: ziggy Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/02/11 - 02:42 pm Title: The Ambassador Returns

Great chapter- really caught the excitment of the battle and all that is going on above the city. Pippin's character comes across espeically well though you write him sparsely, but maybe that's why- because there is nothing wasted in this chapter. I really liked the bit when she connected with Legoals and felt the sea, he was distracted, she couldnt work out what it was but of course, we nkow- great bit of writing Mo!

Author's Response: Pip only has this short piece so I didn't spend too much time with him. He was there to do his part though. Glad the sea longing came across. Like you, I think that is an important side of Legolas' character. It would have affected him maybe more than other elves. For me it is his Mirkwood heritage and being so close to the natural vibe of the forest. He changed to the point that he could no long just here the call of the trees. Now it is partnered with the call of the sea and I imagine the battle might have been tough at times.

Reviewer: EldarinPrincess Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/02/11 - 02:26 pm Title: Stolen Moments

LMAO (laughing my ass off)!!! How utterly awkward that moment was to the two friends! And Antien is a fiesty Elf who I still love dearly! How they can go on seeing each other without that scene going through their minds is going to be tough. Nice distraction for Rhav though. And the scene with her and Legolas is touching. He is still so amiable towards her, and she remains somewhat reserved. But a good start for them both.

Author's Response: I'm glad you got a kick out of this. Think of all the laughs those two will have over the years. "Hey Rhav, remember when you grabbed my..." "You know you liked it Antien." Antien is fiesty and if you want a good read, please check out the author 'aur'. She has written a piece for my two favorite oc's. It is perfectly Antien/Glandur. She is a very good friend and has done justice to these two. It's called 'A day or so in the life of Antien and Glandur'.

Reviewer: EldarinPrincess Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/02/11 - 01:57 pm Title: Severed Bond

Haldir's death was very saddening. I like at the very end how he slips in that he loves Rhav, could be his last laugh eh? Because she can't really follow him now. Legolas' hurt at her not taking comfort in his arms is understandable, but right now Rhav is in a mess. Hopefully she can fix her wrongs with the Prince. Like how you summarized the battle nicely.

Author's Response: Yes, you could say that. Haldir got the last word in. And she would never admit to it (and would kick my butt for saying this) but I think she had feelings for him, somewhere buried deep. Though I would not call it love. And Rhav could not have gone to Legolas. He is a part of her mess as you say. Only Antien can comfort her right now.

Reviewer: Eldarwin Signed [Report This]
Date: 20/02/11 - 08:26 pm Title: Foresight

Oh thank goodness! He finally understands her! I pray that this brings them closer, although, I miss Haldir. :(

Author's Response: Well, all I can say is that there are a couple future chapters that will make you say 'Haldir who?' *evil grin*

Reviewer: Eldarwin Signed [Report This]
Date: 20/02/11 - 08:04 pm Title: Severed Bond

I cried through this whole chapter.. It's so sad! :( Fantastic story.

Author's Response: Well, you can borrow some of my tissues. It was a hard thing to do. Glad you're still enjoying.

Reviewer: aur Signed [Report This]
Date: 20/02/11 - 03:51 pm Title: Foresight

A chapter filled with intrigue! So many questions this brings up! How will each character fare? Every chapter leaves me waiting for the next very anxiously. I do hope everyone will make it thru alright. They each have so much to live for. All of your characters seem like old friends to me by now. I’m becoming very attached to all of them. Another beautiful job! I loved the scene with the pin belonging to Legolas’ mother. I can somehow imagine this is not unlike Thranduil, and most certainly like Legolas to leave a simple memento of love. No one better to trust than Antien with this treasure. I am enjoying this story so much. Keep up the good work!

Author's Response: Thanks aur. I know how much you like these characters, especially Antien. He really is like a comfortable pair of jeans. I'm glad you liked the brooch scene too. It really is the simplest things that have the most meaning. I love to think about Thranduil and how proud he is of his treasures, jewels and fine wines. But he is not blinded by this wealth and can still see the beauty in something very simple and basic. And so those are the qualities he made sure to pass on to his greatest treasure, his son.

Reviewer: luthien85 Signed [Report This]
Date: 19/02/11 - 04:41 pm Title: Foresight

Dear Moe..its has been a while but i finally managed to read up to this point. i must say i missed your stories and i'm glad to see you are still as wonderful as ever. I love legolas in this story of yours and how the two met and bickered and then fell in love. I look forward to the next chapter :)

Author's Response: Hello my dear review buddy. It's been so long. Glad to see you back here again. Just like old times. I appreciate you taking time out of your busy schedule to read this tale and I'm so glad you are enjoying it. There's more to come and some yummy stuff too, if you know what I mean. *wink wink*

Reviewer: Domestic Duchess Signed [Report This]
Date: 19/02/11 - 12:15 am Title: Foresight

Wow! there is alot in this chapter! I think this is some of the best stuff you've written. this chapter just flooows. I think there might be alot of foreshadowing in here too. You can actually feel the progression of thier relationship here again to something that will be satisfing and fulfilling at the end. This is how loving lasting relationships are built, slowly over time. They finally understand each other, but that doesnt meam their journey is over! And the whole Leggy, sea longing thing is forboding! I can't wait to see what happens about that!

Author's Response: Things are starting to come around now for both of them. For sure they have always loved each other even though it may have been buried at times. Rhav is on her way to making some realizations about her life. Legolas is experiencing his own changes too and I think eventually this will help him relate to Rhav even more. Their journey is not over by far and I see it continuing on long after this story is told.

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/02/11 - 11:01 pm Title: Foresight

Well I hope she's making the right decision here. Galadriel is as fallible as anyone, and so many of Rhavaniel's choices have not turned out well.

Author's Response: Everything happens for a reason, but sometimes she just needs a little push in the right direction.

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/02/11 - 11:55 am Title: Stolen Moments

Re-reading this chapter I do feel a softening toward Rhavaniel; at least she admits to herself that she would go with him if he asked--though I don't think really deep down she's ready for that. But these two still need a 'someone's got to wake up and make the damn coffee' moment, as my Shakespeare prof called it. Though in this case they need to go from their contest of wills and pain infliction to well, actually *doting* on each other. I hope that makes sense. :)

Author's Response: Well, being that I know what's ahead for these two I'll just say this, someone will finally break out the Folgers, LOL. Like I said, Rhav is on her way to making some changes, though in her own good time.

You must login (register) to review.