Reviews For Ancient Wounds
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 14/05/11 - 11:27 am Title: Sunsets of the World

It is so sad that Thranduil finally opens up when it is the end of her life. It is quite a life lesson though isn't it? You don't know what you've got 'til it's gone. His grief will be great, maybe even more so than his anger that he held for so long. I just wanted to tell you your very last line here was absolutely beautiful and just summed it all up. I started reading your story only because of Thranduil, but I've been pleasantly surprised with everything. Wonderful job. Wonderful story. I can't say enough good things about your writing and look forward to the continuation.

Author's Response: It is exactly as you said, you don't know what you've got until it's gone. Thranduil has realized this not just in terms of VanimŽ, but also about his own son, Innas, Aranel, and finally Galadriel. His grief will be very great, and it could surpass his anger, yes. Not only does he grieve the things he lost in terms of relationships, but also the decline of the Elves. I am very flattered you remained steadfast through all this. I hope this story has not failed in your eyes because it was not the typical Thrandumance (how's that for a new word!); perhaps that's not what "sells" but that is not my point. I wanted to explore deeper, darker issues, the real story-in-a-story, if you will. But it seems you were pleased, and I appreciate your warm reviews and thoughtful insight. I just pray the continuation will delight you as much as this first installment did. The first chapter is now up. :)

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/05/11 - 06:05 pm Title: Sunsets of the World

Victory at last, but what a price. Beautiful, moving story Well done!

Author's Response: Yes at long last Mirkwood has been cleansed, though the damage will take time to be repaired. The burning of the forest by the Orcs is most grievous, as is the lives lost. Thranduil must now face the apparent loss of his VanimŽ. Only now at the very end does he value her. I want to extend my sincerest regards and appreciation for your lovely support in your reviews. I hope the next installation is as good, if not better.

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/05/11 - 03:46 pm Title: The End of All Things

I think you did very well with both the battle depiction and the emotions of the two warriors. No worries there. :) Now let us hope the entwives awaken soon!

Author's Response: Thank you Mel! I am more about emotions and exploring thought processes than writing out battle/action scenes. I have just uploaded the next chapter; hope you like it :)

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/05/11 - 04:16 pm Title: The End of All Things

You did an awesome job with the battle scene. It seemed very true to life. I loved Thranduil's speech before engaging in battle. How kingly he must look going off into the fight. Innas' thoughts and feelings all came through wonderfully, especially when he was faced with one last decision to fight with or against the King. I could feel the pull at his heart, thinking of protecting the very person that brought such desolation to his love and unborn child. Again, the battle was great. It showed the gruesomeness of war. And the scene of Thranduil seeing twin brothers die together must have really brought it all crashing down. Thranduil's reaction was very real. As mighty as he may seem, he is not too much so that such horror would not affect him. Great job on the whole chapter.

Author's Response: Thank you, Moe! I must confess my hesitation at writing any sort of battle scene, and it's not long, but I felt I had to put some action. Thranduil wanted the men to know that he fights as one of them, not as a figurehead disconnected from everything as he previously was. His past haunts him, and he is seeking redemption. He is reminded of the Last Alliance, when the world then was at a close, and he feels all the losses he has endured because of this Evil. His lone charge is the proverbial taking the bull by the horns. He also wanted to instill pride in his men, show them that he will not cower. Both Innas and Thranduil are still trying to deal with their own emotions regarding each other. It is so easy to give into vice, so hard to hold onto virtue. And yes, war is gruesome. Sometimes with the modernity of things people forget that real lives are lost. It's why I interjected the twin brothers, and the Elves dying from being burnt even as they jumped. They were doomed either way. And yes, Thranduil's queasiness is from seeing the wholesale slaughter of his people, as well as the fact that as Innas pointed out he has been in the palace for some time, away from all these scenes. I'm happy you liked this chapter :)

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/04/11 - 06:44 pm Title: The Final Task

I do hope this works. Looking forward to the next.

Author's Response: It shall work :) Thanks for your support, as always :)

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/04/11 - 12:03 pm Title: The Final Task

I was so glad to see you posted. I loved the story telling of this chapter. Very exciting and great descriptions of the girls in Amorith's room as they look over her bookshelf. I can't wait to see what happens and just where they will find this secret place. You have quite a knack for fantacy writing. Great job again.

Author's Response: Thank you; I apologize for the lengthy time it took me to post. Things have been busy for me, and my creativity has been coming in spurts. Again I appreciate your kind words and your review. This chapter took a slightly different turn than what I had in mind, but I think it will work. Always randomness when I write :) I think this story still has a few more chapters before it is finished, but I am enjoying it and hope you are too. Soon things will be revealed, and others will remain mysteries ;)

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/04/11 - 12:53 am Title: Pleas for Help

Ah, okay. Another interesting twist there. Very interesting indeed.

Author's Response: Thank you :) I am trying my hand at "interesting twists". Hope it's not shabby!

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 30/03/11 - 05:41 pm Title: Pleas for Help

What an absolutely wonderful and mysterious twist here with the Entwives. Your portrayal of Galadriel, Vanie and the mirror are so vivid and very true to the attitude of the Noldo, almost insulting at one point. This is understandable though, which I am learning as I read Silm. Just when I thought this tale was told, you manage to take us in a new direction. Excellent and still enjoying this very much.

Author's Response: This chapter was difficult to write; took me quite awhile. And again the twist with the Entwives was such a surprise even for me. I'm glad you liked my portrayal of the Noldo women; Galadriel is such a challenge to write. She's so multi-faceted as well, a very ambitious woman. I meant to put that insult there---as the fierce and defiant lady she is Galadriel is having a hard time restraining herself and not directing things in Mirkwood as she wishes. To quote Tolkien from Unfinished Tales "Galadriel saw that Lůrien would be a stronghold and point of power to prevent the Shadow from crossing the Anduin ... but that it needed a rule of greater strength and wisdom than the Silvan folk possessed." That's the point I was trying to get across. Glad you are reading The Silmarillion; it is a bit diffcult to digest at times but it's really rewarding. Once more, I am happy you are enjoying my drabbles :)

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/03/11 - 06:40 pm Title: The Shadows' Calls

Nice flashback and such a sad one too. It is interesting to see a glimpse of the sisters' childhood, no matter how unfortunate it is. Now, the ending has me thrown a little. Is Vanime really gone? Is this her ghost? An out of body experience? Another dream? And even with all these questions, I'm glad to see Celemire again. I have been wondering how she was and what happened to her. Can't wait for more.

Author's Response: A quote from the movie "Mr and Mrs Smith" will be borrowed to reply to your first statements: "I guess when you're at the end you start thinking about the beginning". With her head trauma and the massive bleeding she began to think of the reason she came to this point. Again, I cannot say anything more regarding VanimŽ other than that keep reading :) I have even surprised myself with this one. We will see where my creativity (or lack thereof!) takes me. And yes, CelemirŽ has returned. She will play a rather important role. I think this story might have a few more chapters before it officially ends. Thanks again for your support and hope you enjoy the rest to come.

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/03/11 - 11:04 am Title: The Shadows' Calls

Well that's a relief to know she's okay. :) There's still a lot of work to be done to save the kingdom though.

Author's Response: I will start off by saying that not everything is at seems...And yes, the kingdom of Eryn Galen needs some quick thinking to save it or all the work of rekindling King Thranduil's spirit will be lost forever. Hope you like the next few chapter(s).

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/03/11 - 10:55 am Title: Final Battles

Oh dear, it's almost as if she is possessed and not just having two warring personalities here.

On to the next part. . .

Author's Response: Yes exactly, she was possessed by the Darkness of Sauron. She already had a dark foreboding outlook about her meeting with Thranduil, and now that she knows the outcome she's increasingly become wrapped up in her hurt and fears. There is nothing now left for her anymore she feels, and she is frightened. However, some of the things that have risen to the surface needed to be exposed.

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/03/11 - 11:49 am Title: Final Battles

Great self-doubt and conflict in this chapter. And I love how you brought back Haldir's words. I remember reading that earlier. I didn't know then what a significant part it played later on. With all the wonderful characters in this story, I never pictured it being Haldir that would give her the one thing that would bring her back from the edge of despair. Very well done. I'm hanging on the edge again. Who will find her and help her? Can't wait for more!

Author's Response: Thank you. VanimŽ has reached the point of no return now. All her inner fears/doubts have risen into this new form to confront her. She had hidden many things away even from herself, but she can no longer hold them back anymore. Depression, self-denial, and repression are never good things. Haldir is her rock now; he was from the beginning. He knew how to handle her angry outbursts and short bursts of temper; he knows the true lady inside is wanting to be saved. VanimŽ is realizing he is the one person who can love her now; he is free from other entanglements, unlike Thranduil. And it was the fact that she unconsiouscly connected with Haldir rather than Thranduil that surprised her as well. But as Galadriel warned, "Not all is well between Sindar and Silvan...". At any rate, the ride is almost over! Keep hanging on a bit more, and then we fold this first installment and begin the second. Thanks for your continued support, Moe! :)

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/03/11 - 11:24 pm Title: Lingering Doubts

Thranduil still has so many uncertainties. He still believes her capable of anything. This was a very sad chapter too, but a nice break from smashing my head into the keyboard. :)

Author's Response: Yes, he will never be rid of his uncertainties. He is full of remorse for what he has done to his people. He still cannot wholly forgive VanimŽ for what she has done, which is where his second thoughts about her come from. I am glad you enjoyed this chapter. I am interested to know what caused you to smash your head into the keyboard before? I welcome honest constructive critiscm so I can learn from my mistakes. :)

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/03/11 - 04:52 pm Title: Lingering Doubts

This is so heartbreaking, but Vanime is so strong. She does not want Thranduil to suffer as she has, divided. I love Innas' reaction. He wanted to see them together once again and I feel for him. As I read this I was feeling their rekindling and then despair. It's just so sad that they cannot be together now. And then Thranduil's doubt returns in the very end. Oh, and the hawk and dove part is a very nice touch. I am so glad that you will be writing more. I really enjoyed this story and can't wait for more.

Author's Response: VanimŽ is the one who has to sacrifice more because Thranduil must remain King; his sacrifice is to sunder himself from her, this time officially. Poor Innas is devestated. He loves the Noldo as much as he loves his King. Life isn't always about what you get; at times you reap what you sowed. And VanimŽ realizes this and is accepting her fate slowly. As for Thranduil, his desire to redeem himself before his people and to himself as well is making him think everything through from all possible angles. Mirkwood is now at war. I am glad you liked the part about Maeglin (the hawk) and the dove.

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/03/11 - 01:49 pm Title: Reconciliation

So I'm finally caught up. The last few chapters were very moving and sad. To be forgiven, and to be told to stay away, how cruel.

Author's Response: Melusine, once more thanks for reading and reviewing! These final chapters are indeed as you said, moving and sad. VanimŽ realizes she can't hide behind her front as a victim, and that she needs to do something before Eryn Galen is destroyed forever. Meanwhile, Thranduil is having a hard time seeing things objectively. I know it may seem cruel, but there is always a price. And the Elven-King sees this as the best way for his kingdom to continue. He has the Resolution to uphold, and he is truly nothing without his people---they are what keep him going.

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/03/11 - 11:58 am Title: Reconciliation

Beautifully written chapter. Some tense moments, saddness, longing. My favorite part was the end when Thranduil lays his head on her stomach and embraces her. It was just such a wonderful and sad moment. He still loves her but it can not be. He must be king. He is Thranduil. I am happy but heartbroken at the same time. Simply wonderful writing!

Author's Response: This chapter was a challenge to write. So many emotions running high; I had a soundtrack playing in the background for inspiration. I do believe at the very end I even shed a few tears. Thranduil is so overjoyed to see her, and he is thankful for her choice. They are both starting to acknowledge their mistakes. But with the impending doom upon them only the most serious matters must be dealt with. So many dynamics at stake here, VanimŽ is trying to take the higher, harder road. Thanks again for your review and continued support :)

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/03/11 - 02:07 am Title: The Task

What an interesting turn of events!

Author's Response: I wanted to show the weak side of Amorith, the part that is giving up, and not even caring anymore. She is obsessed with her hurts and being wronged with Thranduil, yet refuses to see that she is part of the problem. Also, she is not as welcome as her kindred Galadriel because of her family ties, and I wanted to expose that aspect too. Just because she is in the Golden Wood doesn't mean everything is sunshine and roses. Her depressed state worries her sister and Galadriel. She has been doting too long and needed that extra push. More turns up ahead. Again, thanks for reading :)

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/02/11 - 02:24 pm Title: The Awakening

Again, I didn't see that coming. Thranduil was there the whole time. I wondered where he was. This also shows how disconnected they are, to a degree; if it's true that when elves love each other they can sense each other. Here he was literally beneath her nose, yet they were still very distant. Thranduil is still very untrusting of her, but I think I see it from his point of view now. There was a time when I just thought he was being stubborn, but now I see him as being a great King. He is worried more for his people. Oh, and the poem really sums it all up for Amorith/Vanime. Very well done. I can hardly wait for more. I'm anxious for those first words spoken between Sindar and Noldo and hope they can once again see each other as Thranduil and Amorith.

Author's Response: Glad I am keeping you on your toes. I didn't see that coming either ;) Yes, you picked up on the degree of disconnection between them. They shared the exact same waking dream-memory and didn't even realize it. Also, am happy you picked up on Thranduil's point of view. The story starts out depicting him as blind because of his prejudices, but The Resolution shows that there was more to him, as well as his history in Doriath. Of course, he still is stubborn and proud, but those aren't the only factors. Yes, that song is so touching; it loses it's meaning when translated, and I did my best. Hold onto your seat, we're almost there :)

Reviewer: AnitaBrunette Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/02/11 - 03:35 am Title: The Awakening

Reading this is like waiting for a tsunami. You know it's going to happen and it won't be pretty when it does. You want to turn away, but there is too much going on, you don't want to miss a thing. Great writing. Can't wait for more.

Author's Response: Anita, I love the way you described your feeling of waiting! This chapter was hard for me to write because I wasn't sure at first how I was going to weave Thranduil into all this. Then it just flowed, slowly. I am glad you are enjoying it :)

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/02/11 - 11:03 pm Title: Despair and Failure

So much heartbreak and despair. I fear it is not over yet. Wonderful writing!

Author's Response: Thanks! Yes, everything seems to have crashed down around Amorith, and for Thranduil as well. She made it back, only not in the nick of time. And the King fears he has lost his kingdom already. Glad you are continuing reading :)

You must login (register) to review.