Reviews For Ancient Wounds
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: AnitaBrunette Signed [Report This]
Date: 23/02/11 - 03:35 am Title: Mourning Mirkwood

First, I must apologize for not reviewing lately. I have been busy trying my hand at this writing thing. However, I am finally caught up and I must say, this is my favorite story. You work magic with every chapter. It is unpredictable which is what makes it so intriguing. You are just such a wonderful author and a great example. Now with that being said, where is Thranduil? My heart is racing to know what happens next. All in good time I'm sure.

Author's Response: Anita, firstly, there is no need to apologize. Everyone has their own lives and schedules. I am merely flattered that you take time out of your busy life to read my story. Secondly, I wish you the very best in the writing! It always appears easier than it seems. I myself have taken a break of about 5 years from this story, and even so certain chapters still drive me insane. Sometimes I stare at the screen for about an hour with just one sentence written, less even. So just be patient :) Now, thank you ever so much for still reading this story and enjoying it! I must admit myself when I sit down to type out a new chapter, I always have random new ideas coming into my head that I have no notion of their origins. Keeps things interesting, and so far it has worked. That's where all the little side stories have come from. As for Thranduil, fear not, the mighty King will re-enter soon.

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/02/11 - 02:21 am Title: Pride and Prejudice

Oh dear. How sad. They have made it to Mirkwood but not in time. Thranduil's realization of all his faults is very well-written.

Author's Response: Yes, a very sad chapter indeed. My fingers were trembling as I spelled out the doom of Celemirė and the other fallen Elves. Thranduil is in such a state now; he has finally realized what he has sown himself for all these centuries and is now reaping the rewards. Thank you for your kindness regarding my writing about his feelings. I've read somewhere that Thranduil was always trying to go back to the old days in Doriath in Menegroth, that his own cavern-palace was an attempt at that. In a way I see the Elven-king as trying to restore former glory days, while trying to maintain a sembelance between Elu Thingol and uphold the laws his father initiated.

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/02/11 - 01:02 am Title: Mourning Mirkwood

This whole concept is absolutely wonderful. I can just see Amorith/Vanime infront of the people, holding the king's crown and glowing like the Noldo she is. Makes me want her to be so proud of her heritage no matter what crimes her ancestors committed. And it is so true that you can't have a king without the people. They need each other and just needed to be reminded of that. What a suspenseful build. I can't wait to see the outcome.

Author's Response: Thank you for your kind review; I am glad you are accepting my story and it's different take on things. She is starting to realize it is no sin of hers that she was born a Noldo, into a troubled lineage, and that she is without fault. Her greatest fault as she said was that she decieved everyone and inadvertently caused a schism within Mirkwood. So she is trying to repair it now as best she can. And truly, there is no kingdom without a leaderless people. Hope you enjoy the upcoming chapters. Several more and then the story is over, but I am planning a second installment.

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/02/11 - 11:35 am Title: The Rescue

That was a close call. I'm glad Innas found her.

It's sad how Thranduil's court has fallen apart, how he has fallen apart and Legolas is gone too. I guess there's just too much prejudices to overcome yet.

Author's Response: Yes, Vanimė needs a strong backing now. She has truly fallen into despair. I wanted to write a story using the old cliché that Thranduil is a firm and somewhat cold father, that he and Legolas were apart, that Legolas' mother was dead---all from an entirely different perspective. We hardly know anything about Thranduil, and even slightly more about Legolas, who is to say that none of this couldn't have happened? I wanted to show the effects of a strong prejudice, built on an arguable good cause, but taken to the extreme blindly. Again, thanks for still reading, Mel! :)

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/02/11 - 01:21 pm Title: Mirkwood's Shadows

It must be difficult to live with two identities. This is getting darker and darker. I do hope both Amorith/Vanime and Thranduil can sort themselves out.

Author's Response: Yes, Vanimė is starting to become unraveled at her core because she can no longer survive while supressing one half of herself. Things will get darker before they get better, if ever. Thanks for reading! :)

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 16/02/11 - 05:59 pm Title: The Return

You've got me spinning once again. I don't think I saw any of this coming. Well, I knew it was not textbook stuff. I am so reminded of Galadriel when Frodo offers her the ring. This is her test. Will she try to take over Mirkwood or resist and become a balanced version of both Amorith and Vanime. I know Thranduil fits in here somehow but I can't even begin to guess how. How do you do it? This story is one of the most mature and intriguing one's I have read. In your bio you say you're a nurse by trade. My best friend is a nurse too and she comes up with some of the most imaginative ideas. It must be a nurse thing, LOL.

Author's Response: Here's a secret: I never saw this coming either! I sat down to type, with a vague idea of what I wanted, and this happened. I like when my imagination takes over and not the limited set ideas of my mind. Very encouraging that it worked out and you liked it :) Yes, I wanted to show just how deeply the schism is within her own self. She is at conflict now with everything around her, and in her. And tough choices lie ahead. Thranduil will come along shortly. As for how I do this...well sometimes I get stuck on a chapter for a long time. Case in point, 6 chapters ahead, I've been working on it for about 3 wks and still not done. Sometimes it comes easily and other times not. No idea if it's a nurse thing, but very well could be. We do have to be imaginitive at our jobs ;)

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/02/11 - 12:30 pm Title: Desperate Call

Slowly catching up on this. Looks like Thranduil is losing it. Interesting!

Author's Response: Thanks Melusine for reading. Yes, he definitely is. He surrounds himself with his doubts and fears, and this is the result. Add pride to that, and you have a terrible mess. Hope you continue to read and enjoy :)

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/02/11 - 12:16 pm Title: The Resolution

I love the touch with the note. It is just what Amorith needs right now. And I have to say, the part where she is reminiscing about young Legolas touched my heart. My daughter used to play with my hair all the time when she was little. I can just see Amorit holding little Leggi, his arm snaked up around her neck and twirling her hair. It's nice to get a glimpse into her past with the royal family. What a beautiful family they made. I fear for what is to come but I'm anxious to find out also.

Author's Response: Thanks. She needed the extra push forward. All these little touching stories about baby Legolas I stole from my little cousin's mannerisms. He spent a few days with me. As you said, a little glimpse into their life, as you requested as well. Hold on to your seat. We're almost there.

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/02/11 - 05:57 pm Title: The Task

You know, when you said you were flying back I wondered if you would be affected. Of course, I don't know where you're flying to but with such a big portion of the US getting hit by this storm I thought you might be delayed. Well now, you have completely left my head spinning with this one. Everything I assumed has just been tossed out the window. I gotta tell you, I love Galadriel here. It's very true to her personality. Loved how you had her seem cold and threatening as she spoke of the rings and then returned to that motherly figure once more. Just the picture you painted of the three women-elves speaking together was very inspiring. Another great chapter. I hope you are not delayed too long and that you have a safe trip home.

Author's Response: Yup, out of sheer foolishness made it to the airport and found out our flight was cancelled. We're hoping to leave tomorrow but who knows with the weather. And flying into JFK during horrid weather isn't fun. Just keep praying for good weather and a safe arrival home, please. As for this chapter, I'm glad it spun you around. That was my intent. Playing Galadriel is hard; she is such a fierce character. Glad you loved how I portrayed her. She is a strong lady, and even Tolkien wrote that she strove against Sauron in thought and knew much of what he was planning. Plus being Noldo adds to one's machness ;) I wanted Forfirith to have some part in the story as well. If you think this is all the twists and turns you can handle, get ready for more.

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 31/01/11 - 01:14 pm Title: Despair and Failure

This was just heartwrenching. Everything seems to have fallen apart. I can feel that Amorith is torn between despair for Celemire, hate for Thranduil and her hate and guilt for herself. Emotions were running high in this chapter. I am so fearful for Celemire. If an elf can fade over the loss of a love, I can't even begin to imagine what will happen over the loss of a child, especially in the manner it was done. I just want to cry for her. I am literally on the edge of my seat. As tragic and desolate as this chapter is, it is wonderfully done. You have not sugarcoated anything and that makes this very realistic. I've stopped guessing which direction you will take us next. You just keep doing what you're doing 'cause I'll follow you anywhere at this point.

Author's Response: Thanks, I am truly humbled by your review! It is so hard to portray emotions in words, especially the depth I am aiming for in this story. You definitely hit upon the self-hate Amorith has for herself, as well as towards Thranduil. Her despair over the plight of Celemirė is another blow. I am still unsure as to which direction myself I want for Celemirė's future. I do not want to sugarcoat, as you said, but rather to remain realisitic as best to my abilities. I want to let you know that the next chapter will be a bit delayed as tomorrow I am heading back home and may be jet-lagged for a few days. Since I have your faith, I will keep leading you onwards. Enjoy.

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 26/01/11 - 01:53 pm Title: Pride and Prejudice

Wow! I could almost cry. Such tragedy. Poor Celemire. Isn't it true to life that the most innocent are hurt or taken before steps are made to prevent such tragedy. Thranduil will suffer deeply for this. His pride was his downfall. It always was and he took his people along with him. Now he's responsible for so much sadness. It was inevitable and anyone on the outside looking in could see it coming, but could do nothing about it. I'm angry with Thranduil but at the same time I want to cry for him. Mostly for Celemire though since she is really the most hurt from all of this. Wonderful, excellent, heart-stopping chapter.

Author's Response: Yes, sad times indeed for Mirkwood and her King. As I was reviewing this chapter, the exact statement that you wrote in your fourth sentence passed through my mind. Thranduil is already starting to suffer; there's nothing worse than being the cause of your own defeat. And my own heart goes to Celemirė as well. I am glad once more that you enjoyed this chapter, even though it was quite tragic. I beg you to hold on, for there are more twists coming soon. Not everything is as it seems.

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 23/01/11 - 07:09 pm Title: Into the Darkness

You have me so revved up for this return to Mirkwood, I can't stand it. Between Vanime and Amorith, something's going down. I don't think it's gonna be pretty. And now Celemire is thrown into the mix. And Innas and... I'm so excited. It's a good thing I already keep my nails cut short or I would have chewed them off by now. Poisoned or not, sparks are gonna fly that's for sure.

Author's Response: I hope I don't disappoint you! There are definitely going to be many turns and twists in the upcoming chapters before the truth is revealed. I suggest you keep those nails short then ;)

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/01/11 - 01:06 pm Title: The Dinner Proposal

I have always wanted to know what it was like when Thranduil and Amorith met. This is just a speck of a glance. I don't normally make requests because I know how busy most people are, but if I may... I would love to see a side piece with these two, how they met, what events might have been taking place at the time, how they fell in love. Yes or no it's fine with me. That being said, the part that moved me the most was this last section with Amorith's thoughts. The paragraph that starts with 'Love, the bane of every Elf and Man.', truly touched me. Your words are so passionate. This is what makes you such a wonderful writer. The last sentence however leaves me wondering what is about to happen.

Author's Response: Thanks Moe. I am planning on writing a piece about how Vanimė and Thranduil met, whether as the fourth part of the series or a seperate piece as you indicated. A kind of prelude to all this perhaps. And now that I have your support I may very well do it! I am glad you liked Vanimė's perspective. It was meant for you to be left with a wondering sense. I feel that love is a huge factor that really makes people's minds spin, and makes you do crazy things you might otherwise not have even dreamed of thinking about even. I appreciate your kind words. :)

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 17/01/11 - 11:40 pm Title: A Divided Court

Some great tense moments here. It really is a shame to see Mirkwood divided like this, especially with evil so close. I love how you are portraying everyone as defecting from Mirkwood, unable to support Thranduil's decisions or lack of. And who is left, the last one to stand with her king? Celemire. She has really developed in her character from her original self. It is wonderful to see this growth in her. You are also doing an excellent job setting things up for Amorith's return. Great work as always.

Author's Response: Thanks, Moe. Things are definitely escalating for everyone, and now that Thranduil has decided to take charge there are tough times ahead for all. However, not everything is as it seems. When Amorith comes the situation will be even more muddled. Celemirė is also changing because there is no other option for her. I don't envy Amorith's return at all.

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/01/11 - 11:34 am Title: The Fears of All

Such turmoil she is in. I guess I never realized how much suspicion and animosity there was from the Lorien elves, even from Mirkwood. Yet she is the one who has to make things right. Her anger is apparent. She is the one who can save them all yet they distrust her. Most would say 'fine then, do it yourself and see how far that gets you.' I really feel for her. None of this is going to be easy. But I am so glad Innas is with her now. I really like his character. He stays true to his heart. Celemire is very fortunate, even if they are seperated at the moment.

Author's Response: Yes, Amorith's turmoil is definitely growing now that she has gone into Mirkwood. The Lórien Silvans were known to be fierce defenders of their land according to Tolkien, and even though the Lady Galadriel is Noldo, it does not mean they welcomed Amorith. Amorith, as direct descendant of Fėanor, will always be under suspicion and prejudice--the immortal Elves never forget. As for their Mirkwood counterparts, they are even more withdrawn from the world, led by a formidable King who mistrusts his southern neighbors. Already Amorith doubts her decision, but now that she has gone this far there is no going back. If Innas was not present I do not think she would have lasted long. I am glad you are enjoying him, he is a personal favorite of mine as well. He is exactly as you described him. In a way I am slightly jealous of Celemirė for lucking out with him ;)

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/01/11 - 06:59 pm Title: The Rescue

Yes, you answered my question. Thanks. I think the last sentence sums it up. I'm sure going to Mirkwood, facing Thranduil, facing her own demons is the hardest thing she has had to do. Wonderful vision of Innas following Maeglin to find Amorith. And not a moment too soon. Patiently waiting for the next chapter ; - )

Author's Response: There, glad your question was answered; pleasure of mine to do so. When I read back through the earlier chapters, I realized in chapter 7 I had written he was going to Dol Guldur, but that was 12 chapters ago and who would remember (I didn't!)? Just hoping my mini-stories aren't too much. Yes, going into Mirkwood is the toughest thing for her, and already she feels herself starting to come apart. Vanimė is not strong, she is relying on Amorith. Glad you enjoyed the little bit about Maeglin and Innas; I've always had a fascination with birds, and since all Elves (Silvans perhaps more so) are connected with nature I thought I'd throw that in. Strap yourself in, it gets bumpier.

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/01/11 - 12:38 pm Title: Doomed Departures

Dark developments. I think Thranduil's unwillingness to aid Lothlorien is understandable, given the history, but I wonder if he will regret it later on.

Author's Response: Dark developments indeed, and as is always the way of things, they will get worse before they get better. I have been doing research since returning to this story, and it is definitely noted by Tolkien that Thranduil mistrusted the Lord and Lady of Lórien because of the history Amorith noted in the chapter. And I agree with you that it is understandable; imagine having all the time in the world to hold a grudge! As for regrets, there is a time and place for everything. Thanks for your continual support, Melusine! Hope you enjoy the rest of the chapters.

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/01/11 - 01:50 pm Title: Descent into Darkness

I think secretly I have been longing for this chapter. I have a picture in my mind of Legolas laying next to Amorith, his head in her lap and she stroking his head. Such a beautiful motherly moment. Their relationship is so special that it touches my heart. I am hoping Celemire can make good on her lie about being wedded. This story is just as interesting as the main one. I so want Innas to know about his child. Where has he gone if you don't mind my asking? And now Amorith is injured. Good cliffy.

Author's Response: I wrote this chapter with the purpose of showing the relationship between Amorith and Legolas as exactly what you said--a motherly moment. She came after the death of his birth mother, and so he clung to her just as desperately, and how could she refuse him? So young and innocent...in need of matronly guidance. Amorith truly fell in love with him as if he were her own son. And seeing him then after all those long centuries, she saw him mature, yet still felt the part of him that was yet an elfling. But the part of him that resembled his sire--the resentment, anger--made her want to erase the harshness away as best she could. As for Celemirė and the child she carries within her, their story will come in due time. I can only say that in the next chapter your question about where Innas went will be answered. All the little side stories lead into the main one, and I really do believe this story is the first of three installments. And yes, Amorith has finally set out to Mirkwood, and now she has a fatal injury to boot. Hold onto your seats, things will get a little more complicated before they resolve. I just hope I won't disappoint you.

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/01/11 - 03:44 am Title: Stirring the Embers

In Tolkien's work, it seems that all the women or females have sacrificed themselves in some way. Galadiriel did when she refused the ring and agreed to sail, leaving the Golden Wood unprotected. Arwen sacrificed her immortal life to be with her true love. Even Eowyn sacrificed a part of herself. You have followed a theme here with mother and daughters. It's funny, what drew me to your story originally was Thranduil, but it is about so much more than that. And I get it now. A few months earlier I may not have. I don't know how to explain it but your story has touched me. Certain emotions and other events have seemed to coincide with my own recent life. I won't go into it here. It is just the strangest thing and the most enjoyable at the same time.

Author's Response: It's so true what you said about females' sacrifices in Tolkien's work. While I haven't read anything but the Lord of the Rings trilogy, The Silmarillion, and The Hobbit, that's more than enough to get the idea. I didn't really think of that when I wrote this chapter, but to me it seems that anyone who wants something, or more than one thing, very dearly has to give up another thing. It just seems like the natural course of life, fiction or real, otherwise general stability is overturned. Compensation to survive. I am not good at writing love stories, and while this is a romantic story (and fret not, Thranduil will definitely be on the horizons, with some *ahem* as you say!), I want to show a depth, try to portray what life could have been if any of this had been real. I guess in a way I am a bit pessimistic about love and such, but I don't entirely dismiss it. It's real, it's present. I am attempting to show the effects of a love gone sour, of the intricacies of lying for the cause of love, and of loving in the midst of a lie. Okay, that came out somewhat philosophical and maybe I lost you...so sorry! I just hope my vision hasn't become too complex to contain in words! To tone it down many notches, I am really happy you are enjoying the story, and that it has touched you, and especially since it appears you are relating to it. I do apologize if it has caused some unpleasant things for you to be revisited. I appreciate your honesty, and hope you continue reading.

Reviewer: AnitaBrunette Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/01/11 - 10:24 pm Title: Mirkwood's Shadows

Legolas is so passionate here yet so sad to see father and son seperate. My favorite is the memory of little Legolas and Celemire. I can just see her standing there shivering in the cold. Amorith seemed so loving. Thranduil had to be very angry to send her away like that, knowing that his son and Celemire loved her so. But I think with his realization he will also redeem himself, eventually. Great chapter once again.

Author's Response: It is sad when a father and son seperate, and neither can bring himself to forgive the other. Both are hopelessly stubborn. Am happy you enjoyied the little memory--it was something that came to me so suddenly as I was reviewing the original chapter's content, and it felt so natural. Poor little Celemirė just wanted her share of the fresh syrup and to join the fun! Through these flashbacks I am showing how Vanimė really is. And yes Thranduil was beyond anger when he found out who she really was. He had loved her with every fiber of his being. He is starting to awaken now, though.

You must login (register) to review.