You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 25/01/14 - 03:45 pm Title: Chapter Forty-Four - Bittersweet Tears

I think this chapter shows a great example of how the elves grieve. It is something much deeper than that of a human's grief. Gandalf was a friend and his death caused deep despair. It really makes one realize how and why the elves could fade from the death of a loved one. Elves are immortal and sometimes are portrayed as indestructible, but this shows us just how vulnerable they are. Great writing and I must apologize for taking so long to review. But as you know, life sometimes becomes hectic. Hope you are settled in and you get time to gift us with another anticipated chapter.

Author's Response: Aww L8 you know how much I love your reviews no matter WHEN they're written!! I'm glad to got to portray this grey area in a well conveyed manner! I really struggled with the wording and trying not to make my head (or Raine's) explode. She's feeling so much at this moment with her own personal issues and then suddenly the death of a close friend so it was hard to figure out what to concentrate on first. Hopefully next chapter will be up in the next week or so! Thanks for the review :D

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 26/12/13 - 06:46 am Title: Chapter Forty Three - Deep into the Darkness Peering

Ugh!! Come on Galadriel, what is going on? What is this secret everyone is keeping from Raine? What do these dark dreams mean? That was a very prominent reaction when Galadriel recoiled from her touch. I can't wait to find out the story behind the story.

Author's Response: Hahaha frustrating isn't it? Unfortunately for you (and Raine) it's about to get a whole lot worse before it gets better but don't worry - the answer is going to be revealed sooner than you might think! Hope it plays out well for everyone! Thankyou for taking the time to review L8 and hopefully I won't leave you hanging for the next chapter as long as I have in the past!

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 26/12/13 - 06:27 am Title: Chapter Forty-Two - The Land of Light

Your description of Lorien is very good, and I like how you have labeled the different officers (Warden and Marchwarden) and compared them to the ranks within Imladris. That's one thing I'm never sure of, how to address the elf military. But here, you've made it very clear that Haldir is like a Captain or a Commander. Well done.

Author's Response: I'm also not really sure what the go is with their military, it's never really explored is it? I just kind of based it on what I know of modern day military. Glad you like it though! Thanks for reviewing :D

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 26/12/13 - 06:05 am Title: Chapter Forty-One - Familiar Faces

This was a pleasant surprise. I like seeing Khan back in the story. He's one of those 'when you least expect it' characters. I wonder if these chance meetings and rescues will come into play somewhere down the line. That's twice now that Raine has helped Khan. If they meet again, and the tables are turned, I think he'll help her, even if he is grumpy and she is irritated by dwarves. I like it and this was refreshing, especially after that miserable time in those nasty waters.

Author's Response: Hello L8! He might be 'when' you least expect but certainly not 'where' haha Where else to find a dwarf than in a cave? And yes there are glimmers of an unexpected friendship (no where near the depth of Legolas and Gimli) that'll rear it's tentative head here and there throughout the story. Thanks for the review and continuing to read along xx

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/02/13 - 02:57 am Title: Chapter Thirty-Nine - Disaster on the Mountain

I'll give you a dollar, and keep the change, lol. You are doing a wonderful job with this. It's a bit of a tenth walker through this part, and you've managed to keep it interesting and flowing. Raine really fits in well, and does not take away from the canon story. She's very like able, not overbearing. Her thoughts and feelings are very realistic. I also like the fact the she and Legolas are not slobbering over each other. You pick their private moments carefully, and they are sweet and steamy. I really like that. It's just enough to remind us of how in love they are. I enjoyed both of these last chapters. It's such a treat to have something entertaining to read.

Author's Response: Hi L8Bleumr and thanks for reviewing!! I'm trying to make Raine and Legolas' relationship as realistic as I might believe it to be given their natures (though how does one define an Elven relationship without copying and pasting YOUR work?? hahahaha!!) And as for her dark and gloomy thoughts I just figured it's how bad I would feel... I think. Well I might feel worse but I'm not a seasoned warrior who's seen death a million times. *shrugs* Yes, the tenth walker part... it was getting *very* tenth walker for me but I couldn't back out having already posted chapters up! So how to I get Raine away from the Fellowship for a while? Why, drop an avalanche on her of course!! *grins evilly*. Thanks for being ever so patient and encouraging and just all around wonderful L8Bleumr. More to come soon! xxx Iri

Reviewer: Anairia Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/02/13 - 12:13 am Title: Chapter Twenty-Two - What Could Possibly Go Wrong?

My dear Skip, this tale is truly a joy to read! I started it last night and I have hardly been able to stop (even reading during my downtime at work). Your writing style has truly developed into a fluid and enticing read, full of the good humour and colourful descriptions I love! I am thoroughly enjoying what you have done with the characters and your undoubtedly rich and intricate plotting... and I look forward to reading what happens next! I'm just glad there's more chapters here than the version you sent me a while ago... so there's more to read! :D

I love the depth of your grasp on not only the characters but the surrounding environments and world. It really adds depth when you can describe such variants in terrain and obstacles that they encounter... I can sense a well developed world abiding in your head! And as always, your gowns and outfits are so vivdly described (and so beautiful to picture in my mind), I swear you should become a fashion designer (I'm not kidding). Gorgeous ideas.

So to summarise this review: Praise, praise, praise, you're amazing, keep going, praise, praise,

Author's Response: Oh my dear Anairia thankyou for your wonderful words!! I'm so glad you're reading and enjoying it! There's plenty more to come, I'm just waiting on a laptop crisis to be fixed and then I can continue to post more and more and more. This is very high praise seeing as you've witnessed my writings and ramblings for years!! You should let me know if you post anything on this site, I'd be so keen to read it!! Much love xxx

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/01/13 - 07:40 am Title: INTERMISSION

YES, I hate technology at times. Sorry to hear about your troubles, and I hope they get resolved soon. I keep all my work backed up on a flash drive, and then keep that tucked away in a safe place. Come back soon, Iri. Yours is one of my fav stories, and I don't read much fan fic any more. Good luck with the fix. L8

Author's Response: Hello again! I'm assured that the problem is soon to be resolved, which is great for me because I have nearly the rest of the story in my head!! All I have to do is put it in words and put it up for your viewing pleasure. Soon I promise. Thanks for sticking with me as always. I miss your lovely words!!

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/10/12 - 10:30 pm Title: Chapter Thirty- Seven: Keeping digging Legolas, keep digging...

It really has been a while hasn't it. Glad to see you posted. Raine is just as strong-headed as ever, but I'm definitely on her side. It will be interesting to see how her and Legolas work through their differences. He's gonna have to give her some room and not be so over protective. Clearly she can fend for herself, but I think she might be good at getting in trouble too. RIP Rosco. I still miss you.

Author's Response: Yes sorry! I'm now stuck in Writer's Block, I just can't seem to make the next chapter work for me! But I'll get there I promise. Yes Legolas is about to learn that he can't control Raine and Raine is about to learn the meaning of compromise! Thanks for reviewing!

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/04/12 - 07:44 pm Title: Chapter Thirty Six - Too Soon Returned To Earth

I hated to see Rosco's fate here, but I know it must happen. It's difficult to extinguish a character, isn't it? As I've told a friend of mine, once you name them you get attached. I've had to do this with a story I'm working on right now. Anyways, I thought your death scene was very appropriate, esp for an elf. I liked that you focused on Rosco and what he was seeing, feeling and smelling rather than the hideous injuries. You put Raine aside and let us experience his passing instead. I think knowing he did not feel the pain made his death easier to accept too. Nicely done. Now I wonder what the fellowship and esp Legolas will think of her sudden appearance. I'm also wondering what Elrond is going to think when Tavis returns with a deceased guardian. This will not look well for Raine I'm sure. So much to wonder about. That's what makes this such an interesting story.

Author's Response: Oh I really, really didn't want to do this but poor Rosco had to go. It's terrible and I love him and I hope that readers grew to enjoy his character as much as I did. I'm very happy that you're satisfied with his send off I tried to make it as much about a passing of a friend rather than a fallen soldier in battle. The next chapter (which I'm halfway through) has got Raine answering a LOT of questions. And as for Elrond...well Raine's in trouble. BIG trouble. But the worst is still yet to come! Thankyou for continuing on with me. I really enjoy your reviews and appreciate all advice that you give me ~ Iri

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/04/12 - 07:34 pm Title: Chapter Thirty Five - The In-Between

I like the easy flow of this chapter. I can feel the tension lingering in the background, but this is like the calm before the storm.

Author's Response: Hi again L8Bleumr and thanks once more for taking the time to review! I'm glad you felt the underlying apprehension and the structure of this chapter. I was worried that because Raine does so much travelling all these chapters were going to start sounding the same! I'm glad you're still enjoying the journey :D ~ Iri

Reviewer: silvermoonwolf Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/04/12 - 07:39 am Title: Chapter Two - Say that Again?

Completely and uterly beautiful

Author's Response: Thankyou again! I hope you continue to enjoy the journey :D ~ Iri

Reviewer: silvermoonwolf Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/04/12 - 07:27 am Title: Chapter One - Unsteady Beginnings

That's awemazingly good

Author's Response: Thankyou! I'm glad you enjoyed it ~ Iri

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/04/12 - 07:38 pm Title: Chapter Thirty-Four - A Farewell to Imladris

First of all I LOVE your twins. It is refreshing to see them so carefree and lighthearted, playful. And oh what mystery behind the dream. Something is brewing here and I'm anxious to know more. You do such a wonderful job with your wording. It's very colorful and draws a vivid picture in my mind. And the dialog is so authentic. It's always a pleasure to read your story and I'm glad you were able to update. I hope it won't be as long before the next, but I understand how real life gets in the way. As far as the italics, I have the same problem. For some reason, this site does not recognize it. There are a few other punctuation problems too, esp. Eomer's name. But your use of the asterisk is not confusing. Like you though, I wish italics worked here and if anyone else has an answer to this please let us know.

Author's Response: Oh wow! Ummmm this is high praise coming from an author I admire so much!! A million thank yous for your kind and ever-encouraging words!! Yes, these crazy dreams and visions and feelings are going to start driving my readers and Raine nuts but stay with me, it's all going to come to a huge, nasty, messy head! Oh and I enjoy writing my twins as they are. I know about their tragedy with their mother etc but I like to think mine are beautiful and lighthearted. I think I might cry if they were blue all the time wouldn't you?? ~ Iri

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/04/12 - 07:25 pm Title: Chapter Thirty-Three - The Countdown

Great tension between Elrond and Rainier. You've given her another excuse to want to carry out her plan. Elrond seems very true to character here. Such a sad parting from Legolas too, although not too sad since I know she's going to follow him.

Author's Response: Thanks! Yeah I feel guilty about leaving poor Arwen by herself and knowing that Raine is going to be much closer to Legolas very quickly! But oh well! :D Thanks for the review my lovely, always appreciated! ~ Iri

Reviewer: Lisse Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/01/12 - 09:53 am Title: Chapter Thirty-Two - The Long Goodbye

This is beautiful and worded perfectly. I struggle fiercely to produce something of this quality and still fall short. Your scene was sexy and loving, all that it should be.You can be very proud to post this!

Author's Response: Hi Lisse and thankyou for your review. You're a very encouraging person!! ~ Iri

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/01/12 - 03:25 am Title: Chapter Thirty-Two - The Long Goodbye

First off, your rating of NC-17 is appropriate for what you have done in this chapter. Secondly, for this being your first time writing a love scene, it was very well done. Nothing confusing about positions or who was doing what. It was very passionate, but also very sweetly written. The dialog was just enough and very loving. Your Legolas is so alluring. Raine is a lucky girl and she knows it too. Overall, just a really good job for their first time. I'm very impressed. And lastly, again I am taken aback by your song. Nicely done lyrics and appropriate for the moment. 'To live in the hearts we leave behind
Is not to die, but Eternity'. Great wording. I was a musician for a long time before I settled down and discovered writing. One thing I could never do was write lyrics. I think I'm too long-winded, lol. I can't seem to say what needs to be said in just a few words. However, I can appreciate a well written song and you have done that here. Keep up the good work Iri. I'm getting excited to see what happens once Raine, Tavis and Rosco leave Rivendell.

Author's Response: Awww thanks L8Bleumr! I was very nervous about this chapter!! But your kind words have put me at ease, especially as you are one of the authors I admire so much :D I'm jealous of your musical tendancies. I'm the opposite. I can write the words but can't put a tune to it. Team up?? :D Raine, Rosco and Tavis are not far away from departure! They'll be off in the next chapter, when I finish it up haha.

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/01/12 - 08:40 pm Title: Chapter Thirty-One - My Prince and I

Wow, either you did a lot of research or you have personal experience in fighting with a stave. After reading this, I think even I could take on an orc and win, lol. I liked your take on Sam and Boromir, very much what I would expect from the timid little hobbit. And it's nice to see Raine starting to warm up to the other races. She's taking her own advice, learning to get along in order to be successful. I hope you'll be able to update sooner. It's good to see you posting again.

Author's Response: Thanks for reviewing! I hope this chapter doesn't offend anyone who actually knows anything about stave fighting because honestly I just kind of made it all up! But I'm glad it looks professional and Raine looks like she knows what she's talking about. The vision I had of Sam taking on Boromir actually came from the movie when Boromir is training Merry and Pippin. I wondered how it would be if Sam tried to take on someone bigger than himself and this is what I came up with! Hopefully it lends to the growth of the characters. And I love Pippin, he's my little star haha. I'll try and update more often than I have been, especially now that the journey is about to begin. Thanks for sticking with me, L8Bleumr, your reviews always mean so much to me! xx

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/01/12 - 08:09 pm Title: Chapter Thirty - In the Company of Men...and Elves, Wizard, Dwarves and Hobbits

I love the dialog between Raine, Rosciel and Tavis. I get a real feel for the development of their relationship. They respect each other still on a professional level, but there is something deeper between them now. The guys are loyal to her and a real sense of friendship has developed between them all. I'm also glad to see this is not the typical 10th walker, girl joins fellowship cause Elrond thinks they cannot survive without her. You brought up a good point here as to why she feels so compelled to follow them. Three of the most important people in her life are going off into the heart of danger. And Raine is not the type of woman to sit at home twiddling her thumbs and hoping they will return safely. I really like her and as you know, I'm a sucker for a strong lead female. Great job!

Author's Response: Hello again and thanks for the review! I figured Raine better start practising what she preaches haha. I had to find some way to get her along for the ride and I figured this was as good as any! I'm glad you're enjoying my other OC's, coming from someone who creates unforgettable characters it's nice to know you understand mine! xx

Reviewer: L8Bleumr Signed [Report This]
Date: 19/06/11 - 03:50 pm Title: Chapter Twenty-Nine - Home Returning

I have to agree with iggybaby about your song. It is very nicely written and elvish in style. I also like the way Rainier is developing. You put her in some unique situations that coincide with the fellowship, but not directly ( like the horses in the river. There are just so many places where we can fill in the blanks aren't there. You're doing a fine job. The eagle was a great choice and one I have not seen often. If you're gonna have friends in high places, there's none better than an eagle, lol. I can't wait to see where you will take us next, hopefully a little quiet time with Legolas? I like how you've written him and I look forward to a little more interaction with these two. They are very sweet together.

Author's Response: Hi again L8Bleumr and thanks once again for the review! Yep, Raine is home now so definitely some one on one time with Legolas is in order! I'm having much more fun filling in the blanks than writing strictly to the story and I hope everyone is having fun reading it! I love Eagles and they can talk so I figured why not? Anyways, thanks a million, as always. More coming soon!

Reviewer: iggybaby Signed [Report This]
Date: 13/06/11 - 11:58 pm Title: Chapter Twenty-Eight - The Elf among the Eagles

The song was very nice! It is really hard to write Elvish songs that sound like they would come from an elf but you did very well I think :D ~iggybaby

Author's Response: Thanks so much. First attempt and I liked it, but I leave it to professionals like you and L8Bleumr to judge : ) I'm glad you liked it! - Iri

You must login (register) to review.