You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Lady Leia Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/10/11 - 02:38 pm Title: 27 In Dreams

Those two. They always get so close and then one of them pulls back. In moments like this I am not a very patient person.
I like the idea of Feredir being Terr's personal hero. I believe he already is in a way, and deep down inside both of them know it. But we all know, realizations can take a long time to hit someone.

Author's Response: LOL. I know, that is one of the things I hear a lot of in most of my stories, but like Lisse says, the payoff will be worth the wait. I think Fer strives to be the hero in anything he does, but never for a woman before. And again, he feels the need to prove himself. That part of his personality is strong and maybe Terrwyn is the one who will even him out.

Reviewer: Farawein Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/10/11 - 07:51 am Title: 27 In Dreams

oh pretty please with a cherry on top continue. I love this story

Author's Response: As always, there will be more to come. Thanks!

Reviewer: Domestic Duchess Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/10/11 - 06:33 am Title: 26 The Healer's Wife

No doubt about it, I can actually feel the tension there between Fer and Terr. It's electric, crackling.
The banter between the Master and Limil was great. They're like an old married couple, bickering, and nagging each other, but it's all for show. You can see that they are still in love after all these years.
Fer isn't a complete a-hole. There is some bit of gallantry to him. There's something sexy about a man chopping wood too. I don't know what it is, though. The conquoring of nature? I'm not sure, but I liked the image of Fer's sexiness, rawness, sheer power or strength (?) that I don't see written in elves much.
I really do like your more progressive view (again, progressive here is forward thinking and not the liberal progresive-ism that's normally associated with the word) of Middle earth in the Fourth Age. It is a different world, a different time, with lots of changes... for some reason it makes me think of the Enlightenment.
Lots of other things I liked, good similies, and oh! I like that part where they're discussing his scars and he pauses and says, Ex lovers! LOL We haven't see much of his playful side. He has a sense of humor!! And he gave her a pet name. You don't do that to someone you don't care about!
Terrwyn is so stoic. She has a heavy cross to bear for one so young.
I wonder if the Master and his wife will play any sort of role in Terr's life once she has to return to Rohan.
Sorry about my earlier rambling email... I had all day to think about it while I was working.

Author's Response: Curuven and Limil are fun to write for. They just seem to have this romance that never stopped, and the bickering is never serious of course. As for a man chopping wood, it's not hard to figure out what's so sexy about it. Iron muscles moving beneath smooth skin, definitely strength and wanting to know just what it would feel like to be surrounded by all that power. I could keep going on but then I'll end up taking a cold shower, lol. I'm glad you like what I'm doing with Middle-earth as a look into it's future. I don't want to veer too far off track and some of the things you mentioned in your email made me think. I knew you would be a wealth of information and it was a big help so thank you thank you. Feredir is finally relaxing some and we are just now beginning to see different sides of him. He's proud of all of his accomplishments, and I do mean all. Ter is finally beginning to worm her way into his heart, but don't tell him that. He'll just deny it.

Reviewer: Lady Leia Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/10/11 - 12:11 am Title: 26 The Healer's Wife

Hello there!
I am still following, I am always waiting for something new about Terrwyn and Feredir.
I liked Terrwyn's typical behaviour to work herself to exhaustion only to (unintentionally) bring out Feredir's caring side. I hope he will at least visit her while he has free time and she is healing.
I also like Limil and Curuven. They are so sweet together and so nice to Terrwyn as if she was the child they never had (seems to me like that).
On to the next one, if only for me =)

Author's Response: Always good to hear from you Lady Leia. Ter does seem to be just as stubborn as Fer at times. I guess that's what draws them to each other to a point. Of course, it couldn't have anything to do with a sexy shirtless elf, lol. More to come as usual and thanks for your kind reviews.

Reviewer: Domestic Duchess Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/09/11 - 04:03 am Title: 25 Punishment

Channeling your inner Diana Gabaldon, I see! I don't know what your talking about in the way of descriptions. You've got some great ones here. son of an orc, Terrwyn looking very dwarf like holding the ax, winded chatterbox
That whole bit about the horses and the elves and Rohan was lovely. Almost poetic.
These two sentences:For a moment, the two countries mingled together within their stare, grass plains and lush forests, the smell of open dry air and humid forest decay. They were two very different places, but both with the same feel of home.
They are wonderful! Perfect showing, wonderful description. I smell the plains of Rohan and the deep heart of the woods with the layers of leaves and damp dirt. What is it that's said about smell? It's the best trigger for memory. Smell always conjures a picture with it, so it's great for descriptions.
The tension here, their relationship, their behavior, is all very believable, very real. They feel like real people. Fully developed.
Usually the men are the pig headed ones, but Terrwyn is kind of pig headed herself.
That part where Fer comforts the baby and we see that other side of him...that tender compassionate side pulls at a girls heart! Makes me feel tenderness in return for him. That's what makes him well rounded and therefore I can't help but fall in love with him too. Which is, after all, the point of a reading a romance.
Reading your updates it always the highlight of my day!!

Author's Response: I can't thank you enough for turning me on to DG. I've been slow in finishing her book because I've been using my spare time to write. But whenever I need a break or can't write, I read her and she inspires me so much. I understand what you are saying about Fer showing his compassionate side and making the reader swoon. That's how I feel about Jamie. Fer is trying, though he's not good at it yet. He wants to give in to Ter, but like you said, she is bullheaded too and not making it easy on him. I'm glad you liked my descriptions here. It's what I try to do, though I don't think I do it as often as I like. Every once in a while, something strikes me. It's great having you along for the journey and I look forward to your reviews as much as you do with my updates.

Reviewer: Lady Leia Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/09/11 - 11:03 pm Title: 25 Punishment

Yay, a new chapter, and a nice one at that.
Well, I have to say, Feredir is kind of an idiot, but we all knew that already. Can't they be nice to each other for one whole day?
Maybe they figure out that they belong together before she has to go back to Rohan (if she ever has to)
But to be honest, I don't think their relationship would have fire if there weren't these little banters.

Author's Response: I like conflict for a build up. I've always liked reading it and enjoy writing it too. It does seem to add to the fire and makes the pay off that much more enjoyable.

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 26/09/11 - 06:30 am Title: 24 One Last Fling

Geeze, take some time for workshops and a knitting frenzy and here I am behind again on my reading. Anyway, interesting developments. Terrwyn and Feredir seem like a good match, but I'm sure it will be a long hard road yet.

Author's Response: Hey Mel. Long time no see. Looks like you've been busy. Yes, the story is moving along. Fer and Ter are getting their act together even though they are taking the long way. More to come as usual.

Reviewer: Domestic Duchess Signed [Report This]
Date: 24/09/11 - 07:08 am Title: 24 One Last Fling

OMG! This chapter was fabulous! It was like a little love story within the love story. Not to toot my own horn, but I thought I was good at making up good supporting characters, but you're easily just as good! It amazes me how these secondary characters just evolve and develop on their own.

Feona is such an easily likeable, sympathetic character. The first time we met her, I don't want to say she wasn't likeable... but, hell! she was sleeping with the hero! She made me jealous and sort of uncomfortably wiggly in the backbone for Terrwyn! Feona is a very complicated person who has had alot of disappointment in her life, but she is very strong, resilient, not willing to mope about and feel sorry for herself, doesn't want other's pity. Her story is great! I would like to know more about her!

When she was telling the story about the man she loved and lost, i thought for a second it might be Rosloch. I totally didn't expect it to be Eomer and just about fell out of the chair when I read that! Although, I can see Eomer doing this kind of thing! lol It made me feel very sad for Fe and gave me that pang in the heart. Maybe that's because starcrossed love or whatever you want to call it is the hardest to accept. You know what I mean...that you can love someone and know that they care for you in return, but it can never be. Eomer does strike me as the duty before all else kind of guy.
I felt like you were writing that part just for me! lol But that's what a good writer does! Makes the reader feel like you're writing directly for or to me.

You draw our attention once again to Feredir's age. He's young--reckless, and impetuous. Sexy! He's got those rough, jagged edges but there's a tenderness to him too, in that masculine kind of way. Women are expected to be tender and loving, but is there anything that makes a girl's heart flutter more than a man in a moment of vulnerablity? Especially when that man is in bed, naked, right after...um, yeah...
If more elves were written in the way you write Feredir,troubled, brooding, edgy, sexy, dark, imperfect, I might be able to stomach reading more elf stories.
At first, I was wondering what relevance this chapter might have to further the story. I was a little worried--if only slightly, mind you since I know you don't do this--that this might be going no where. But it was an interesting and unexpected way to move along the Fer/Terr love story. (Would they be called Ferrwyn?)How often do you get to read about he Hero's lover telling the Hero that he's in love with the Heroine?
I really liked the chapter alot. So much layered tension, so many emotions, heartache, angst, regret. Feelings that were real and relatable. Each sentence made me want to read the next and the next. I was sad to see it end!

Author's Response: I wanted to show a bit of Feredir's life before Terrwyn and even during his realization of his feelings for her. Of course there were other women and Feona just happened to be his current one. She's not the type to steal someone's man, she has plenty of her own lovers. But she did feel a special connection to Fer. I really like Feona and she definitely has a story to tell. I think hers will be my next project. I'd like to go deeper into her life, esp. with Eomer. No worries though, she will find someone she's meant to be with. Thanks for your nice comments about my elves. I was just telling a friend of mine that this is my idea of new elves in a new age. They are influenced more by men and being that Fer is half man himself, there is even more grit and brawn. They are not perfect and make plenty of mistakes, maybe don't even live by the same rules anymore. It's almost like they are removed from the ancient elves, evolved into something a little more compatible with the times. Of course this is just my own personal outlook on it. Others may not agree, but this is how I make them more believable.

Reviewer: Sakuras Signed [Report This]
Date: 24/09/11 - 04:01 am Title: 24 One Last Fling

I really like your story, L8Bleumr. It's darker than usual ff and not fluffy, which makes it more realistic. I can't wait for the future chapters and more characters' development.
P.S.: Dreamy image of Feredir could look like this: http://www.orgsites.com/wa/maeglin/maeglin4.jpg
Maeglin wasn't Peredhil but as a blacksmith, he could have a similar body figure.

Author's Response: Hello there Sakuras. Nice to meet you and thanks for your kind words. Hey, I checked out your image and OMG, you so have it down. I am gonna send you my inspiration through this site so you can see how close you are to seeing the same Feredir as me. Love your pic and thanks so much. Fer is not your typical lithe elf. He's got some brawn, I guess from his human half. Thanks so much and hope to keep you entertained.

Reviewer: Lady Leia Signed [Report This]
Date: 24/09/11 - 02:16 am Title: 24 One Last Fling

wow. I never expected Feredir to give up his easy and enjoyable lifestyle so easily. And for Terrwyn nonetheless. I think he already knew that his heart was in it, but he didn't want it, so why now? I look forward to his own struggle and his struggle with his "lag"

Author's Response: I think Feona is very convincing, but I also think Feredir knows deep down his feelings for Terrwyn cannot be denied much longer. However, Feona wasn't gonna let him go without one last taste *WinK* It's nice to have you come along on this Journey Lady Leia. Thanks for your support.

Reviewer: Lady Leia Signed [Report This]
Date: 20/09/11 - 01:54 pm Title: 23 Simple Lives of Elves

Alright, yet another wonderful chapter. I feel so sorry for Terrwyn for just about everything she already went through and now this. But I cannot wait to see how it continues with Terrwyn and Feredir when they (hopefully) find the same path =)

Author's Response: Well, Terr kind of brought it on herself this time. She's very lucky to have someone like Glandur and the elves who are more permissive towards their prisoners. Even Fer went easy on her, though he's not happy about it, but they'll come around.

Reviewer: Domestic Duchess Signed [Report This]
Date: 20/09/11 - 07:10 am Title: 23 Simple Lives of Elves

Wow! Not alot of action in this chapter, but it's still very deep. It's good stuff like this, examination of a character's thoughts and actions that make stories more rounded, characters grow. It's also what makes chapters blow up into ten thousand word diatribes!lol
You did a good job of telling us through showing about Feredir's elvish side and the battle that he wages within himself.
Great, great descriptions, not just of actions and places and people, but of motivations. Your writing is positively popping off the page. They are alive and real.
So much tension and struggle, both internal and external for both Terr and Feredir.

Author's Response: Yea, this is one of those filler chpts, but a good time to give the characters time to talk things out in their own heads. Fer is in denial and Ter just wants to get on with things, but they'll have some time to discover what's happening while she serves her punishment, and Fer too.

Reviewer: Domestic Duchess Signed [Report This]
Date: 14/09/11 - 11:34 pm Title: 22 Deep in Ithilien

Your prose in this chapter is wonderful! The scene is well set and described in a way that is thorough but overdone, you don't go on and on about the flowers and stuff. Just enough to set the stage and give me the feeling for the place. I can see the passion you have for the story and its characters when you take to time to set the scene where they will be acting. I really haven't seen too much of that passion in your other works.
You've really got something here with these two. They're really jumping off the page! It's simple stuff like this:
Terrwyn traced his lips with her finger, so full, so soft
It's those last four words that make me feel him, see him, make him real and pop off the page. You could've left them out, but it you did, the action and the romance wouldn't be as good.
There's so much tension here and you choose the right words to build the tension too.
At the begining we see alot of Feredir's elven side, talking to the squirrels, communning with nature (like some sort of middle earth hippy lol)
But at the end I like seeing his Gondorian side and that you brought our attention to that fact.
Those paragraphs were they're making out...far and away the best psuedo love scene you've written. I feel the passion, the tension, the romance, the deeper connection between two souls. Anybody can write a sex scene. But it's so difficult to show the passion or desire between two people.
Loved that second to last paragraph where she tells him off.
I love Feredir's human side...but then again, I love men... not just, like, men but like, Men. They're not like elves, they're weak, vulnerable, brutal, passionate (like capable of, revealing, or characterized by intense emotion or easily roused to anger; quick-tempered... that kind of passionate).
He's so mysterious! I have a feeling he doesn't feel so hot about his human side. You've already told us he grew up in Mirkwood, so he thinks of himself as an elf and not as a Man. Is that what irks him at the end... that she points that out to him?
Seriously, I was wishing you would post yesterday while I was lying there in the ER! I was desperate for something to take my mind off everything else! I kept checking and checking on my phone!
I was pretty excited to read it today, though!

Author's Response: First of all let me say, I hope you are doing better and so sorry to hear you were in the ER. Secondly, I wish I had known. I would have posted right away or sent you the chpt. I am flattered that you think my prose is good. One thing I have learned is that the background and setting is just as important as the characters and is a character itself at times. Itís hard to remember that in fanfic because of the books and movies. If someone says Helmís Deep, everyone knows what it looks like. But to me Ithilien is open for options. Not much is known about it in the 4th age and it is almost like a blank canvas. These descriptions may not be correct, but itís how I see it. I think I have more passion for this story because it is my own more than any other. Iím not following the books or any specific timeline during the war years and that make me more attentive to details. As for Feredir, he is in a constant struggle with himself. For so long he has had things under control. Heís an elf, plain and simple. The half elf thing is just a term. At least thatís how he sees it. Then along comes Terrwyn who easily brings out his other side and then she tells him heís more human than anything. I think it was a big blow to his ego. What he doesnít realize yet is that he is very unbalanced, turning to one heritage or the other depending on his situation. Ter is the one who can balance him out and stop the conflict. Of course he is too blind to see it that way right now. Iím so glad you like these characters. They are very special to me too and I want them to move people with their thoughts or words or even looks. Again, my passion for them is much stronger because they are mine and I want to portray them in the best possible way. Feredir is absolutely my fav by far. There will be others and I hope they make as big an impact as Fer/Ter do right now. And I see you updated. Yea! Canít wait to get started on it. You know, I spent the better part of an hour writing this response this morning and forgot to copy it before I sent it because the freakiní sight logs you off if there is no activity after a time. I hit submit and nothing happened. Whole darn thing was lost. Pissed me off. Anyways, I am just so excited anything I see your reviews. Your encouragement makes me want to keep doing better. The things you point out tell me that Iím heading in the right direction and I try to focus on them for future chpts. I always say, if Duchess likes it, I must be doing something right.

Reviewer: Lady Leia Signed [Report This]
Date: 14/09/11 - 02:46 pm Title: 22 Deep in Ithilien

Hi, I just happened to find your story and have to say I like it very much.
I like your OCs and the relation they have.
I can't wait to read how this develops between Feredir and Terrwyn.

Author's Response: Hello Lady Leia and so nice to meet you. Thank you for reading my story. There's lots more to come so I hope you will continue to read and I hope to keep you entertained. This is the first time I have used oc's as main characters and I have to say they are one of my favorite couples. I'm glad you like them too.

Reviewer: Branwyn Signed [Report This]
Date: 14/09/11 - 09:54 am Title: 22 Deep in Ithilien

I'm enjoying this story immensely! More please! :-)

Author's Response: Why thanks! Glad you like it. More coming soon.

Reviewer: Domestic Duchess Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/09/11 - 05:15 am Title: 21 Tired and Fed Up

Got a little philoshpical here at times. I thought the old lady in the apothecary shop was great. I liked the way you wrote that part where he thinks he's under the old lady's spell. Writing that kind of magical stuff, stuff you've never experienced is kind of hard to do.
Feredir can be charming when he wants. That's sexy! The mystery surrounding him is building tension!
This is my fav fan fic ever!
You should really think about adapting this in to a historical romance or historical romantic fantasy. The storyline, plot, and characters are exciting and compelling. This is a book that I would buy!

Author's Response: I wasn't quite sure the magic spell came across so I'm glad you mentioned it. One of these days I'm gonna try my hand at writing a fantasy romance. I have thought about it a lot and I would love to try something, but I feel I'd need to brush up on historical facts. Medieval is my favorite and would probably be the genre I'd use. Something to keep tucked away for later. It is so nice to have your support, Duchess. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Reviewer: Farawein Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/09/11 - 02:31 am Title: 21 Tired and Fed Up

Oh! please for God's sake continue!

Author's Response: Mwwaaahaa...haaa...haaa! Another chapter soon.

Reviewer: Lisse Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/09/11 - 02:31 pm Title: 20 Ruined Berries

I would be frustrated too. That beautiful half elvish male is just too rough on her.


As she worked, she thought about his background. He must have quite a story to tell. Half-elves were rare, even in the Forth Age when there were more elf/human couplings. Most did not have children because of the elves that were sailing into the West. Unfortunately for her, Feredir’s parents did not abide by that fact and now she was stuck with their horrid offspring as her guard.

This made me laugh. I love how you incorporate humor into a serious drama. I have never seen any one do this better than you

There are so many things to love about this, I love the moment they share after they both fell. Are your sure Fer did not plan this? The way you have described him I would never push him away ruined berries or not.

You always add such rich detail to your work. Every single chapter is like watching a movie.

Thank you for this wonderful and awesome story.

Author's Response: Yea, I don't think I would have pushed him away either. As a matter of fact, I would have grabbed onto him and not let go. The word 'awkward' comes to mind, lol. Thanks so much for the kind review, my friend.

Reviewer: Domestic Duchess Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/09/11 - 05:16 am Title: 20 Ruined Berries

Wow! What a fantastically well written chapter! The descriptions of the places, the people and the actions really brought it all to life!
What great humor and banter! They're both so strong willed, the I can cut the tension and conflict with a knife.
I can tell you put a lot of time and effort into character development. These two really pop off the page. They are well fleshed out.
Terrwyn reminds me a bit of Brianna Randall, Jamie Fraser's daughter.
Excited to read more!!

Author's Response: Ahhhhhhh! Don't tell me! I'm about 70 percent done with Outlander, according to my Kindle. I haven't read anything about a daughter yet. It's ok though. As much as those two go at it . . . Fer and Ter really speak to me, especially when they are together. He's being an ass and, prisoner or not, she won't listen to it. But he also has a soft spot for her, even if she drives him nuts.

Reviewer: Farawein Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/09/11 - 01:17 am Title: 20 Ruined Berries

I like how you tied in Master Curuven's story of how he met his wife into their day, but with a slight alteration. I like it a lot

Author's Response: Thanks Farawein. I wanted to give the reader a little insight into Curuven's personality and thought the best way to do that was to let him tell a story. It was also a good way for Terrwyn to get to know him too.

You must login (register) to review.