You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/07/11 - 07:02 am Title: Traveling Partners

Something tells me she won't find what she's really looking for in Gondor, definitely not brother, and as for the one who brings her peace, we shall see, I suppose. I haven't commented on your descriptions, but they're very helpful from a reader's perspective to know how these people look. And from the narrative I can understand a lot about Terrwyn.

Author's Response: Thanks, glad they are clear. I'm really working hard to be more explanitory with people and places.

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/07/11 - 03:09 am Title: The Firien Wood

So sweet there at the end, but how sad for Taldred.

Author's Response: Thanks Mel. I think Taldred will be fine. Great things in store for him.

Reviewer: AmberRoseEm Signed [Report This]
Date: 26/07/11 - 06:08 am Title: 11 Flowers For Sale

Oh you and your cliffhangers! I loved the interaction between Terrwyn and Legolas.

Author's Response: Thanks. Legolas is always so wonderful to write for, but in this, I can let him be himself without Rhav interfering.

Reviewer: Domestic Duchess Signed [Report This]
Date: 26/07/11 - 03:21 am Title: 11 Flowers For Sale

I love cliff hangers! But I want the next chapter right now!
It seems you worked your last story into this story and I think that's great!
I'm really hoping this chapter will lead into a separate Taldred Lindiel romance!
Half the fun of writing fanfiction is coming up with your own characters and populating the world with them to interact with canon characters. Personally, I think the other half of the fun is coming up with cool dresses for the heroine to wear... or possibly the sex. I look forward to this story soo much!

Author's Response: HAHAHAA!! You remind me of Veruca Salt from Willi Wonka, "I want it now!" I promise not to make you wait long. And yes, I have worked a lot of characters from Taming into this one. When I first started writing it, the timeline just seemed to match up really well, and I love some of those guys from Taming. I just couldn't let them go yet. Just so you know, I do have ideas for Taldred and Lindiel. I really want to write their story as well as some others that you have yet to meet. My best friend and I always say that there were more than the 30 characters or so that Tolkien invented that made up Middle-earth. They all have stories and adventures of their own and it is fun to come up with them. Writing the sex it great too, though I have to admit, I hate having to come up with clothes descriptions. I know it's important at times, but it is my pet peeve. Care to be my costume designer? LOL

Reviewer: luthien85 Signed [Report This]
Date: 25/07/11 - 11:39 pm Title: 11 Flowers For Sale

Wonderful! I have just begun reading this story. Though u left me confused lol..i thought surely the hero would be Legolas, and i see u picked up where u left. Legolas is married to rhavaniel :) i eagerly await more of this fine story

Author's Response: luthien, oh it's so good to hear from you. Hope all is well for you. It's been so long. Well, as you can see, I'm taking a chance with this one, writing oc's instead of canon, but I'm really having a great time doing it. Yes, Legolas and Rhav are married now after a long relationship. Other characters from Taming the Wild will find their way here also, though I don't know if you've read it yet. Well, one might think Legolas would have been her hero, but you know me, gotta keep you guessing. Some things never change. I hope you'll continue to read this. There is so much more to come and one very hot OMC elf too. Thanks for reviewing. It's always good to see you here.

Reviewer: Domestic Duchess Signed [Report This]
Date: 23/07/11 - 06:27 am Title: 10 Finding Home Again

I really like Rosloch and Lindiel. Such genuine, kind hearted people. I like your descriptions of the city. We must think alot alike because my visions of it are very similar to yours.
The whole description of the interior of the house tells me alot about Lindiel, probably more than if you would have just said "the house was neat and tidy." I gleen alot about her through those details.
It's kind of a relief that Terr trusts Ros. And I'm still sad that she lost her butterfly. :(

Author's Response: Rosloch and Lindiel are good people and I hope to give them stories of their own some day. Isn't it funny how personal we as writers get with all our characters, even the second and sometimes third ranked (I guess that's what you could call them)? Taldred knew what he was doing when he handed Ter over to Ros. He would not trust her to just anyone. I had fun describing the house. I think it is the most I've put into something like that before. I put on some mood music and I was off and running with it. I'm glad you see Minas Tirith the same. Hey, great minds think alike right? lol

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/07/11 - 02:20 am Title: Escape

That was a close one! You're so very good at writing these action sequences and just keeping the flow going. Lots of interesting threads to weave together too. Hopefully her luck will change when she reaches Gondor.

Author's Response: I'm very glad you are enjoying this story. I'm really having a great time with this one, more than any other. Sorry for taking so long to get back to your other reviews, but I was on vacation and in a place where internet was not good and sometimes nonexistent. I haven't written in almost 2 weeks and my fingers are twitching with ideas. Thanks for reviewing.

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 19/07/11 - 05:46 am Title: Trapped

It didn't take long for Terynrw to get in a bad situation. I hope she can get out of it just as quickly.

Author's Response: This will definitely be a life altering moment for her.

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 19/07/11 - 05:38 am Title: Last Wish

How lucky she was to have a protector for a few years, and a safe home. But now she's on her own, I hope she'll be safe. Somehow I doubt that though. ;)

Author's Response: She had the right influences when they were most needed during her young life. Alric was not only a father figure. He taught her what she needed to know to survive.

Reviewer: Domestic Duchess Signed [Report This]
Date: 16/07/11 - 01:16 am Title: 9 Shadow Man

Oo! What an intersting development! I always like the tension you build in stories. Tension is one of those things that's had to define in words, but when you feel it, you know what it is.
That's kind of sad that she lost the flutterby. It meant so much to her... I hope she will get it back.
I like the name you called the Haradrim leader. Shadow man almost sounds like some kind of fallen super hero or something. lol
This is so interesting I always look foward to a new update. Actually, it kind of made my day considering how rude one of my writing group memebers was last night... Make me wish I could be in a writing class with more people like you! You know, those who are creative and open minded and write because we have a passion for our characters, the craft and the human condition and not psuedo intellecdtuals who look down there nose at unsophisticated romance writers. Let's all give ourselves a pat on the back!!

Author's Response: Haha!! I never thought of it like that. Shadow man, I guess it is kind of fallen hero-ish. Well, I'm glad I could cheer you up. You know, real writers write from the heart. Screw rules. Everyone needs romance. Everyone wants to feel their heart pound in their chest when two people realize they love each other. Our characters are more than just a name, more than just letters on a page. They are real to us. We love them, we want to protect them, we want them to shine and make others feel good. I think you are right. We all deserve some credit for what we do. It's not easy, frustrating at times, but we do it because we have to. Just like music, there are all kinds, classical, jazz, rock and roll, heavy metal death punk (whatever). But it is all music and it is how we express ourselves. One is not better than the other and anyone that thinks that way is shallow. I'd much rather read you than many published authors who are supposed to be best of the best. We romance writers gotta stick together.

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/07/11 - 09:18 am Title: Life As She Once Knew It

Poor girl, to lose her mother twice and now her brother is gone. Very sad chapter.

Author's Response: Sad, yes, but it will shape her of course.

Reviewer: Melusine Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/07/11 - 09:09 am Title: Memories

You know, I don't usually read fanfics with all oc's as the main pairing, but I'm sure you'll tell an intricate, passionate tale here, as you usually do. Whatever her journey will bring I'm sure it will have more bumps and rocky paths than not. Compelling beginning!

Author's Response: I understand that you and many other's don't give oc stories a second thought. I have been that way myself in the past. However, after reading a couple stories like that, I have come to realize that there is a whole other side to fanfiction and I enjoy reading oc's, sometimes more than canon. Anyways, thanks for giving it a try. I'm very proud of my characters in this one and it is fun coming up with new personalities.

Reviewer: AmberRoseEm Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/07/11 - 05:12 am Title: Traveling Partners

I'm playing catch up with the past few chapters. Her attack wasn't unexpected but the end result was to me. I'm looking forward to more chapters!

Author's Response: Thank you for following along. There are many more chapters to come. I'm always glad to see a review from you. I originally had many worse things happen to Terrwyn, but I just didn't feel right about it. The end result here was how it had to be and I'm happy your were still surprised. More to come.

Reviewer: Domestic Duchess Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/07/11 - 03:31 am Title: Traveling Partners

Honey, this is what storytelling is. You have the storytelling natural abiltiy. How long have I been reading your stuff now? A little while and I can see the progression in your style and your voice. I think your voice is becoming stronger and more confident. This chapter was a great example of showing rather than telling. You've got some good descripters in here... he shot down the ladder... said in a more serious tone... and there were other ones. Just by adding a a different action word, you totally change the tone and how I picture the scene.
Did you make up that story about the Whispering wood? If so it was great. That's what's great about fiction...eh... i'll just make some shit up and just roll with it, you know!! And that whole paragraph where he describes what Minas Tirith is like is wonderful, really setting us up for what you envision the city like and from a first hand account through Rosloch instead of just the narrator telling the reader.
Personally, I love supporting characters. They can make a mediocre story great... Look at some tv shows. And I love to know their stories too! I mean, they are real people, or at least we should treat them like real people instead of just cardboard cutouts. So, yah, I like that you told us a bit about Rosloch. He's so much more three dementional that way.
One thing you are excellent at is creating believable, real, flawed characters with yearning. There's a lot of good stories out there with good storylines or plots and uninteresting people just sort of playing their parts. It never seems like you play god with your people; forcing them to do something they don't want to do.
I've said before, whatever "it" is... I think you have it. and the only way you will be a better storyteller is to keep writing!!
Very good job!
I was on DG's website and found this link really interesting. Was good and helped me understand things from a different perspective so i'll post it here if you want to read it.

http://www.dianagabaldon.com/other-projects/the-cannibals-art-how-writing-really-works/

got to other projects and click on Cannibal's Art. It's really good

Author's Response: Sorry for taking so long to respond, but I am still on vacation. If you want to know where, look at my bio, lol. If you read the review above from Lisse, she tells me this all the time. So to here you say these things too just makes me feel doubly good. Her encouragement and support have a lot to do with my advancement (though she would say no), and so have you. Your reviews have helped me so much and your reading suggestion also. So I just have to say thank you for your constant support. Now, as far as the Whispering Wood, I found as much info on Firien Wood as I could and found a mention of the close growing trees by the Mearing stream. It really was nicknamed the Whispering Wood because of this. I also found that the beacon-wardens lived in huts in the trees, but no description of them. That part I envisioned the best I could. I'm glad Rosloch is growing on you. He will play an important part for a short while. As far as my other characters, main or secondary, they are all important to me. They all have a voice and if they are important enough to mention them in a story, they should be as real as they need to be to push the story forward. I also went to the website you suggested and loved what she says. I don't know how, but everything she said seems just naturally the way it should be when writing. I was so excited to see that because I just love DG. If I could write like anyone, it would be her. I also see her influence in your writing as well. I don't think I'll ever stop writing. It is a part of me, too deeply embedded in my blood to stop now. And with friends like you and Lisse to keep pushing me forward, it makes this even more satisfying. Thank you so much.

Reviewer: Domestic Duchess Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/07/11 - 09:48 pm Title: The Firien Wood

Ugh! The tension here is tangible. I got a little tight in the throat here at the end. If there's one thing I hate, it's manufactured tension between characters. You know, when the author tells you there's tension between the characters, but you just can't feel it. Dude, you can write pages and pages of flowery prose, but if I can't feel the tension, the emotions of a character, you've got nothing.
Poor Taldred. Such a genuinely good man. Seriously, I don't think guys like him exist anymore. (Maybe I'm just cynical, but I don't think many real men exist in our culture anymore. Call me crazy but Emo's are not attractive)It must be hard for both of them knowing they will likely never see each other again, you know. It's nice that she allows him that one kiss and that it's given willingly, without regret or any undo pressure.
You've set the scene here really well. The place, the people, thier relationships. Rosloch...eh, he's just a typical guy. NOt a bad guy, but just maybe lacking female companionship. I suppose so, being all alone up there for so long.
Your last paragraph here is an excellent summary and transition into what one might call Part Two.
You're a very good writer and storyteller. Whatever the "it" is that makes a good writer, you have it. Creativity, prolific, lots of different ideas, you have perspective, which I think is the most important quality ar writer can possess. You're able to convey thoughts and feeling and capture the readers attention. DRag the reader in to feel what the characters are feeling.
I enjoyed this chapter, especially your use of showing versus telling. It seems every story, every chapter, you keep getting better.
You really kick these out don't you!
Have a good weekend!

Author's Response: You're not the only one that was pulling for these two, but Terrwyn would never give something away unless it came from the heart. I think Taldred knows this. He just couldn't let her leave without making his feelings known. You might be right about men today. Society has changed much over the decades and maybe none of us are the same anymore. As for Rosloch, I hope you give him a chance. You are correct that he is not a bad guy. He's just lived his life a certain way for a long time and enjoys it. Thank you so much for all your comments and know that I take everything to tell me into account. You have a great weekend too.

Reviewer: Domestic Duchess Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/06/11 - 06:32 am Title: Into The Night

Uh! This is such a lovely story! Taldred is the perfect gentleman that every girl wants! You should really write a story centered around him. I do feel sorry for him cause he really does like her, she just doesn't feel the same in return. He is a true friend though and understands her dreams and desires.
This really was a nicely written chapter. Just enough description so I can see the movie going on in my head with out getting bogged down inthe minutia. You've done good varying your sentences wordings so everyone doesn't start He or She. Maybe some foreshadowing? You keep moving the story forward, wanting to make me read more right now! If this were a book, I don't know if I could put it down. I always look forward to reading the next post!

Author's Response: As I told Lisse, I think there is a story within a story here with Taldred. I really enjoy writing his kind of character and I kind of feel I owe it to him to have his story told. I'm so glad the descriptions and wording seems to be working. One thing that has influenced me is the book you recommended. Love her writing and I'm learning a lot by reading it. It's taken me a while to read, but with summer in full swing, my kid home for summer vacation and my writing time greatly limited, I've been able to catch up on my reading. It would be a dream to be able to write like her. Thanks for your recommendations. I never knew how inspiring it would be.

Reviewer: regaliaria Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 28/06/11 - 10:06 pm Title: Into The Night

I am enjoying reading this so far. Although I have not reviewed until now is not because I did not want to, but that I have been extremely busy trying to study for a coming math test. I am trying to get into college this year and need to pass my math. I am suppose to get a student loan, if I pass this test. Wish me luck. But in the meantime please keep up with this wonderful story. I like to read when I take a break from this school stuff and yours helps me relax a lot, besides being a great read. Another one slotted to my "Favorites."

Author's Response: Thanks regaliaria and good luck and best wishes on that test. Sounds like an important one and the fact that you took the time to read my story is satisfaction enough. I really appreciate your support ever since my first story and especially being you were my very first reviewer . . . ever.

Reviewer: Domestic Duchess Signed [Report This]
Date: 20/06/11 - 10:35 pm Title: Escape

I like this Taldred. He seems like a good guy and a loyal friend. Sort of pig headed like I imagine Rohirric men might be.
I like Terrwyn. She's resourceful and she's got skills!
You do a good job of advancing the story line. This is a really unique idea!

Author's Response: Taldred has really grown on me too. Terrwyn is lucky to have someone like him to watch out for her. And he just adores her. Terrwyn is slowly coming into her own. As I write, I get to know her better and I hope the reader will too. She is no wimp and when the situation becomes difficult she can cowgirl up. But like any young girl, she is looking for love. Still, she will not go with just anyone. She is looking for someone special, someone worth giving her heart to. I'm glad you like how things are going so far. Lots more to come.

Reviewer: AmberRoseEm Signed [Report This]
Date: 20/06/11 - 10:25 pm Title: Escape

Yay! I'm so excited for another of your stories! I'm very interested so far and I'll be watching for updates.

Author's Response: Hello again AmberRoseEm. It is so nice to see you again and I'm very happy to have you along on another adventure. As you can see, I'm trying something different here. I was a little worried about people responding to a story like this, so it is nice to see a familiar face/reviewer. I truly hope I don't disappoint.

Reviewer: EldarinPrincess Signed [Report This]
Date: 19/06/11 - 03:57 pm Title: Trapped

Of course she wouldn't just take the jewels and marry Taldred (I hope I got his name right). Then she would be a boring nobody like the rest of us. I just hope she doesn't come to too much harm.

Author's Response: Yes, you got the name right. Poor Taldred, he would make a wonderful husband and not to mention young and good looking, but then where's the fun in that. Besides, he'll be alright. I've got other plans for him. Terrwyn has too many adventures to experience yet before she settles down, and somewhere out there is an elf waiting for a feisty red head. Thanks for the review!

You must login (register) to review.