Reviews For Scarred Fate
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Melda Signed [Report This]
Date: 16/12/11 - 02:47 am Title: Chapter 42: A Trial of Strength

Oh, finally! I was getting kinda worried that Erestor wouldn't get out of this! :) By the by, I just sent the letter for the autograph. Thanks so much for your help (I know I must have said it thousands of times by now, but I just had to say it once again). Happy Holidays!

Author's Response: But I promised I'd save him :D and I always keep my promises!
Anyway, I'm not finished yet, some chaos is still on the way, but I'm working on saving everyone ;-)

And you're very welcome, I am glad I was able to help and I hope your friend is going to like your gift.
Happy Holidays to you, too, and thank you very much for the review, Massanie

Reviewer: CherieMaria Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/12/11 - 10:10 pm Title: Chapter 42: A Trial of Strength

Yes, rescue comes at last! I really hope that no one manages to warn Fiondil before they get there. I can't wait for the next update!

Author's Response: ;-) you know, I'm not commenting too much now, don't want to spoil anything, after all!
In the end everything will turn out all right, I did promise a happy end.

Its shrewd somehow: in this story I've put so many elves in harm's way and at some points I felt like I needed to keep a check list on people to save: Elrond, the twins, Glorfindel, Erestor, Landroval, the people in Imladris,...
now I'm pretty close for the first time in this story ;-)

Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 13/12/11 - 11:37 pm Title: Chapter 41: Rage

Ah! Please do not get me wrong! The chapter was well written and concise which scenes like this aught to be. You did a great job to remind us what a psychopathic bastard he is. My only creative point is this: With what Erestor experienced--especially as a virgin or nearly one--it is highly unlikely that he would have felt any pleasure there after. The pain would have been to great in that area. He might have found some pleasure in other forms of touching, though. Just a author to author note.

Non con is very tough to write and equally tough to read. You did just fine but it will darken your out look. I even had problems writing the abuse in Captain's Daughter because of how it affected my mood.

Author's Response: You're so nice :)
I really wasn't too contrite about the feedback. I am glad you find that the writing was appropriate for the content but I myself think that someone can be the greatest of painters but still the result will be worth nothing if the subject is offensive, if you get my meaning ;-)
Still I somehow didn't want to delete this scene - for reasons I do not understand completely myself. I can only repeat that it just felt wrong to do so.

And you're probably right with your remark. I don't know, I didn't really think too much when writing this and later on I kinda didn't feel like changing anything. It's usually not like me to leave obvious crudities just like this but ... well ... I don't know. I guess it's a black and stained page in the history of The Bitter Glass series and it's as if it is supposed to be that way. The little dark side of me that I brought out in morbid fascination before I adjudged it as being ugly and locked it away again for good. Changing it would be like denying it and I probably wouldn't want anything to be altered even if someone volunteered to do it for me.

... ;-) Gods, that was an awful amount of self-reflection, sorry (*sheepish grin*). Uhm, but yeah ... that's me.

I never had too much problems about reading abuse in fictional stories and I was somewhat surprised that it is so different when one writes it. One cares much more for the characters then, I guess. So I really understand your trepidation when writing the abuse of the captain's daughter.
I myself am just glad now that I can move on to the other chapters and leave this one behind.

Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 13/12/11 - 08:49 am Title: Chapter 41: Rage

Almost mised this chapter (although it sickened me) It was well written and I felt Erestor's terror! A bit of a cliffy, too. Just remember...we have a deal... ;) ~G

Author's Response: Thanks, Gwaelinn.

I knew that this chapter would not be ... well-liked? And I mean that's ok, it is non-con after all. I had some problems with it, too, though somehow I didn't want to delete it once it was written, it just didn't seem right.

Honestly, I had no problems at all to write it but somehow could not edit it later on - usually I'd write a chapter and then practically rewrite it after a few days of thinking, going over language and correcting errors and generally embellish it, which somehow didn't work here. This chapter only made me lose my muse and I needed more than a month to complete the chapters that lead to this scene and this chapter itself ("Welcome Home", "Like The Dove Against The Falcon" and "Rage").

At some point I thought of deleting it completely but after I put so much time in it, that just felt wrong; and I think it is important, especially after I had Fiondil behave so nice and caring and sweet and dare I say lovable; I wanted to remind everyone who Fiondil really is, what he is: cruel, ruthless and insane.

Anyway, if that reassures you: this will be the only non-con scene in Scarred Fate and I don't plan to write something similar in the next stories that I'm maybe going to write, seeing as I didn't really enjoy writing it.


I hope you'll like the coming chapters better.

Greetings,
Massanie

Reviewer: CherieMaria Signed [Report This]
Date: 13/12/11 - 02:12 am Title: Chapter 41: Rage

Well, I can't say that I liked this chapter because--poor Erestor!--wow. What I can say that it was really believable. And again, I say poor Erestor! I hope whoever is entering the cave is helpful. I also hope that there won't be any further non-con; Erestor's been through enough!

Author's Response: Thank you very much for the honest review! I am glad to say that I can reassure you: this is the one and only non-con scene that I planned to write in Scarred Fate.

Personally I found it interesting that I didn't have any problems writing this scene, but that I found it extremely difficult to go over it again and again, correcting errors and mending irregularities in language and generally embellish it, like I used to do with the other chapters. I would almost immediately lose my muse over this and not write anything for the next days. In the end I was glad to move on to different parts of the story rather quickly and leave this chapter in a state that otherwise I would call 'unfinished'.

It seems that I like to write angsty and adventurous stories, but not rape. Therefore I don't plan to do it again in the near future - maybe not ever again - and definitely not in this series.

Still, I am at least glad that you found it realistic. I could have discarded this scene, but somehow I found it important, maybe to show Fiondil's unpredictable side again, to remind everyone that - even though he was so nice and sweet in the previous chapters - he is cruel and ruthless and insane, and shifting from those extremes in the blink of an eye; maybe for other reasons. It just felt wrong to delete it.

Well, I certainly hope that you'll like the coming chapters better.

Greetings,
Massanie

Reviewer: CherieMaria Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/12/11 - 09:30 pm Title: Chapter 40: Like The Dove Against The Falcon

I understand what Erestor's trying to do, but I also knew that he wouldn't be able to stifle who he really is in order to chase some dubious happiness. I'm glad he didn't go along with it as readily as he thought he might; he's a strong character. I really like the way you wrote this; Erestor's dilemma and confusion really come through clearly.

Author's Response: Thank you very much! Erestor is indeed torn between his logic and his pride: on the one side he knows that it is plain stupid to defy Fiondil when the only thing he could possibly achieve is pain, humiliation and a loss of the few privileges Fiondil might have given him. On the other side his pride demands of him not to give in, to stand his ground so that his family won't prevail over him.
And Erestor is priding himself so much on his logic that he would never have thought that in the end his pride would have been the victor between the two. I guess that's what is causing his confusion.

I am glad you like it still, I am always trying to keep Erestor realistic, and I guess everyone in his situation would have wavered for a moment.

Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/12/11 - 08:44 pm Title: Chapter 40: Like The Dove Against The Falcon

hmm...I swear I left a review when I read this yesterday...Well I'll try again! Now some one need to burst in and stop the damn bonding and take that slimey piece of orc....sorry--got carried away. Now, since I would hate for the twins to become kinslayers and Erestor already has more guilt than he can handle, I happily offer my Erkenbrand or better yet, Lady Cynwen to do the job. You know how they feel about creepy, perverted, abusers of the young and innocent!! Now there had better be some happiness coming around the bend or....well, I don't know...I will think of something! *wink*

Author's Response: ;-) great idea! I'd take Cynwen ... much scarier ;-) if only she was born yet ... *sigh*

And keep in mind that Fiondil is no sane elf, not really. In his eyes he was trying so hard all evening and Erestor simply ignores all his efforts, repaying him with contempt. If anyone asked him he would deny that he ever abused his husband and he would *believe* that to be true. Yes he sometimes punished him, but that was all for Erestor's benefit in the end, his husband is much younger after all and still needs to learn his place.
I guess that's what makes him so creepy, you never know what triggers him and when he'll let an infringement go (like he did when Erestor blackmailed him into letting the twins go).

But I'm working on the rescue-thing ;-), just give me some time! And *please* don't do something you'll later regret after the next chapter ... it's not worth killing off some of your wonderful protagonists to get back at me! I promise!!!

Reviewer: Melda Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/12/11 - 10:54 pm Title: Chapter 38: Welcome Home

And you should be :D Stories get so boring when they're no longer fun to write, don't you think? That's why I usually do comedies, they're entertaining for both the reader and writer.

Author's Response: Very true! A story won't be worth reading if the author didn't find it worth writing.
But I found that I suck at humor... my attempts at it have been nothing but pitiful at best, so I stay with angst and my awkward attempts at romance for the moment ;-). I love to read it though...

Reviewer: CherieMaria Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/12/11 - 09:28 pm Title: Chapter 38: Welcome Home

Wow, I really like this scene :) Fiondil is really messed up, and this chapter shows it well. He loves Erestor, enough to defend him against his father, but he doesn't care what Erestor himself wants. It's really interesting, and I can't wait until the next update!

Author's Response: Thank you very much, chérie!
You know, that was exactly the reaction I was hoping for: that certain understanding of Fiondil's love for Erestor paired with the knowledge that this love is twisted in a sickening way, making him disregard everything about Erestor that doesn't fit into his future plans for him.

So glad you liked it :). But I'm sorry to say that I won't update before Tuesday as I need to stall for a little bit of time ... my beta still has the last chapters of Scarred Fate and I need more time to write Gates of Dawn ;-). So it's only two updates per week for now, sorry about that...

Thanks again for the nice review CherieMaria!

Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/12/11 - 07:05 pm Title: Chapter 38: Welcome Home

You are making almost hard to hate that elf! Almost! Though it would be interesting if he did in fact have a change of heart and learned to honestly love Erestor and they stayed married---just a little twist thought, but I know that wont be the case---perhaps he will sacrifice himself to save Erestor? hmmm...things to ponder....
~G

Author's Response: That would indeed be interesting. But I guess it wouldn't work out. I had a friend once who had no conscience whatsoever in regard to people who were not part of her inner circle of friends. Such behavior shows in the mimic, inflection and gesticulation even when the person manages to not openly voice his or her indifference towards the feelings of others.
I found it hard to bear after a while. I don't think Erestor could.

And you probably don't know how happy you make me: I so tried to portray Erestor's conflicting emotions towards Fiondil and make them comprehensible!

Thank you for the nice review, Gwaelinn!

Reviewer: CherieMaria Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/11/11 - 09:24 pm Title: Chapter 37: Havoc In The King’s Halls

Gandalf: he's more than meets the eye. I love this chapter; Thranduil is reasonably skeptical, what with the lack of an explanation, and his relationship with the Noldor. Very realistic :)

Author's Response: Glad that you think that way. I really tried to keep Thranduil in character. And to be fair: the story that he is being told is more than a little bit unlikely...
I just had so much fun writing this chapter: imagine how frustrated Thranduil must feel :D

And Gandalf is certainly more than meets the eye, but I always thought it was part of his charm and part of his strength. He is constantly underestimated ... he killed a Balrog, for crying out loud! ;-) ... or at least will kill (that's still a future event after all in my AU).

Thank you very much for your nice review!

Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/11/11 - 09:23 pm Title: Chapter 37: Havoc In The King’s Halls

Hot Damn! Thran is in trouble (as is everyone else) Awesome chapter and I loved how Gandalf tried to be diplomatic but finally had enough. So cannot wait for more!! *smirking the rest of the day from this* ~G

Author's Response: Yeah, the whole incident is just on the brink of becoming a political disaster what with the fragile relationship between Greenwood and Rivendell. Ah, but I love a good chaos! ;-)

And I am glad you liked Gandalf in this chapter. I guess his behaviour is the result of 400 years of pent up grief that is suddenly transformed into boiling rage, added to the shock of being a father without knowing it and the instinctual protectiveness towards his son... that is a huge amount of energy channeled into one single goal ... quite frightening with him being a Maia and all...
;-) Thranduil had no chance.

Thanks for the review!

Reviewer: Melda Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/11/11 - 03:51 am Title: Chapter 36: The Mad Scene 2

I'm more than happy to have helped you once again! You know that saying 'Great minds think alike'? That's probably what's happening here:D By the way, this chapter really showed how desperate and unselfish Erestor is, which is really great. :) Oh, I was wondering....have you ever heard of the band Tokio Hotel? It's totally off-topic, but my bestie Amy is a huge fan (I've heard a few songs and agree that they're really good, but I'm not majorly into them) and I was hoping to get her an autograph for Christmas. If you come across anything on the net, could you please tell me? I'd really apreciate it!

Author's Response: Hey Melda,
Thanks for your review. Erestor is really desperate right now, never having anyone to tutor him in the ways of prophecies he made some major mistakes that now cost him dearly...
And it's right: you seemed to somehow guess the finer mechanisms behind the personas and relationships in this story all along, which kinda made me wonder sometimes if I was too obvious. But maybe it's just "thinking alike" :D

And as for the autograph, I sent you a mail ;-)

Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 26/11/11 - 06:32 am Title: Chapter 36: The Mad Scene 2

Awesome chapter!! And no, the twins are not behaving dishonorably--for the life of an inocent is more important than a vow made under durress and blackmail!

I love erestor's cousin--his rather dememnted warped sence of love...he truely loves Erestor (at least in his mind)--sick! Looking forward to more and remember our deal...Sons of Rohan is not done yet so Hesgar is not entirely 100% safe.....*wicked wink*

Author's Response: I am very glad you see it that way. I normally dislike it when the protagonists in a story value honor more than a life. To me it seems like a highly *wrong* way to set one's priorities.

And I really am honoring our little deal: I saved Landroval and the twins! ;-) Now it's only Erestor who is in dire need of saving and I am coming to that ... in time. But don't do something rash, okay? Because it's going to get worse before it gets better ... ;-)

And the cockatrice (I love that nickname ;-)). Yeah, I like him, too, in that rather strange way ;-)
I guess with Brandon as a father he never really had a chance to turn out right. And there is no doubt about him loving Erestor, with everything in his being - body, mind and soul. They are just not soul mates and the cockatrice is too egoistic and ruthless to be understanding towards Erestor or not hurt him when it is meant to keep Erestor in line or when he thinks it would benefit himself.

Thanks again!

Reviewer: CherieMaria Signed [Report This]
Date: 24/11/11 - 10:46 pm Title: Chapter 35: The Mad Scene 1

What sort of seer isn't at least a little bit mad? Loved the chapter, and I particularly loved Erestor's bout of protective crazy :) He's no victim, our Erestor

Author's Response: So true! I always tended to pity the seers in mythology, always thinking that it must drive you crazy to see the catastrophs that are still lying ahead. Much easier to take them as they come, I guess.
And "bout of protective crazy" is a really good description of what happened here ;-) Erestor certainly is very protective of the half-elves and Glorfindel and would go to great lengths (and use insane methods if necessary) to protect them. I think someone headstrong enough to become Elrond's chief advisor could never be a willing victim, let alone let his lord's family take on that role.

Thanks for your nice words!

Reviewer: Melda Signed [Report This]
Date: 24/11/11 - 10:23 pm Title: Chapter 35: The Mad Scene 1

That was really action-packed! Oh, and by the way, Happy Thanksgiving!

Author's Response: Thanks! I hoped to pep up the story a little bit while everyone is journeying to Mirkwood and at the same time I kinda thought that Erestor was not the type to just give in without a fight, especially when those he cares about are at stake. Both reasons added together and resulted in what I had originally called "The Last Ruse". But then I remembered your proposed chapter title "Diary of a mad darkling" and realised just how mad he must appear during this scene and changed the chapter title to "The Mad Scene". So it really is inspired by you once again, thanks for that ;-)
Makes me wonder, though, how you realised so early that Erestor is somewhat insane...

And: Happy Thanksgiving to you also!

Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 23/11/11 - 11:20 pm Title: Chapter 35: The Mad Scene 1

Well done my dear, well done! Love the tension, the deception, the challenges! Hoping for more soon!

~G

Author's Response: Thank you very much, Gwaelinn! And I am going to update soon, probably on Friday, so hang on! ... and give me another chapter in the meantime, will you ;-) ?
It seems to me our stories, yours and mine, keep a very fragile balance of angst and romance to my current (re-)reading hours ;-)

Reviewer: CherieMaria Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/11/11 - 09:24 pm Title: Chapter 34: Bring Them Down

Yes, vengeance is in sight! All that we need is for Erestor to survive without further harm coming to him or the twins while reinforcements arrive. Although, I'm wondering if that is at all likely with the way this story is progressing--not that its a problem; angst with a small side of fluff, that's how fanfiction should be :)

Author's Response: Hehe... just wait. I am not there yet, though the final showdown is fast approaching now. It really feels like getting all your pawns into the right position for a final masterstroke. I hope that does not sound conceited, it's not meant to ...
And about further harm ... ah, well ... you know me ;-) they are going to survive ... most of them at least; I don't enjoy killing protagonists ;-)

And in regards to your last sentence: thank you very, very much! That really means a lot to me. And I really, really hope that you'll think the same once this story is finished.

Massanie

Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 18/11/11 - 10:08 pm Title: Chapter 34: Bring Them Down

Don't I know it! The only one's not directly pissed at those Silvan elves are the Valar though I am sure Manwe will be pissed about the Eagles. Now I have no such pledge to protect the first born, so I would be happy to bash a few elvin sculls together!
Nice update ;)
~G

Author's Response: Yeah, Erestor's abduction did not go quite as planned. They sow the wind and reap the whirlwind, as the saying goes ;-)

For elves such a situation is even more dire as they quite literally forfeit their life. They might not even be allowed to return to Aman when the elves finally leave for the west. It is a bit shortsighted, I guess, but history shows us that greed makes people act that way...

Thanks for the review, I am glad you liked it!

PS: you are welcome to do some bashing, it's nice to see that I'm not the only one tending to violent "head-cinemas" ;-)


Author's Response: Yeah, Erestor's abduction did not go quite as planned. They sow the wind and reap the whirlwind, as the saying goes ;-)

For elves such a situation is even more dire as they quite literally forfeit their life. They might not even be allowed to return to Aman when the elves finally leave for the west. It is a bit shortsighted, I guess, but history shows us that greed makes people act that way...

Thanks for the review, I am glad you liked it!

PS: you are welcome to do some bashing, it's nice to see that I'm not the only one tending to violent "head-cinemas" ;-)

Reviewer: Melda Signed [Report This]
Date: 16/11/11 - 08:19 pm Title: Chapter 33: Lalaith's son

As for the pairing..hmm...I think Haldir and Lindir should be up next. And, as for this plot twist. I'd have to say that it wasn't unbelievable. I mean, there has been a pairing of an Elf and a Maiar before in Canon, so who's to say it can't have happened again? I thought it surprising, but not absurd. :D

Author's Response: Thanks! You're right, there was still Melian ... I have to admit that I didn't really think of that ... still it's not that common in the LotR fanfiction world and I was not sure how you all would react to that. So I'm glad about the positive feedback!

And your guess is duly received, you'll see in time ;-)

You must login (register) to review.