Reviews For Scarred Fate
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/11/11 - 11:47 pm Title: Chapter 33: Lalaith's son

Good update. Did not see that coming till just before it actually came out! Boy is Brandon in Trouble!!

Author's Response: Too right! Now he has literally two realms against him (Greenwood not even included as Thranduil is not aware of the situation yet) and a very angry Maia, not to mention the great eagles...
And I am delighted that I managed to surprise you! Not only because it's good to stay at least a little bit unpredictable, but also because I was somewhat afraid that I'd overdone it or that it was too clichéd or far-fetched.

Thanks for the review!

Massanie

Reviewer: CherieMaria Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/11/11 - 09:26 pm Title: Chapter 33: Lalaith's son

I love it! That's an excellent plot twist; I didn't see it coming by a longshot. I can totally see Erestor as part Maia :)

Author's Response: Thanks! :D

You wouldn't believe how glad I am that you don't think it too far-fetched. But I think the past happenings in Scarred Fate should be more clear now. Especially Erestor's healing ability and gift of foresight.

I hope you'll enjoy the next chapters! And I hope your work for NaNoWriMo progresses well.

Reviewer: Melda Signed [Report This]
Date: 14/11/11 - 08:44 pm Title: Chapter 32: Duty

Yes, I'm still reading! Sorry I haven't been on for such a long time! I really apreciated the little graceful nod you gave me for my suspicions! I would like you to know that as soon as I saw that, I did indeed do a bit of a Yay-me jig...just a bit. :D I still love the story, I just have a lot of..real-world probs, you know how that place works ;)

Author's Response: Welcome back then ;-) Don't worry, I know how that is. Life just has a habit of getting in the way. Glad that you are still reading, and that you still like it even though it is getting more brutal with every other chapter. Anyway, I am currently writing your happy end and have now just finished the first well deserved NC-17 chapter that did not earn that rating due to violence ;-) It's the first slash scene I've ever written and I find myself nervous to send it to my beta, let alone post it ... I am not going to reveal the pairing, though. Want to make a guess in hope of getting the chance to do another 'Yay-me jig'? :D

Reviewer: CherieMaria Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/11/11 - 07:05 am Title: Chapter 31: Vows

I'm glad the twins weren't upset when they found out that Erestor loves Glorfindel and Elrond. I can totally see the madness in Fiondil, but it also seems like he genuinely care for Erestor. I can't think the other elves in their company appreciate that, though.

Author's Response: Correct at all points! ;-)

It is a special situation for the twins I guess. They have firsthand evidence of Erestor's devotion for their family and furthermore they somewhat pity him and at the same time they respect him greatly. And after what happened in "The Bitter Glass" between Elrond and Glorfindel it is probably easier to accept Erestor's love for their parents.
And Fiondil loves Erestor with all his heart, as much as he is able to love someone. That doesn't mean that he is not obsessed with him to the extend of madness or that he is not cruel. And for the other Mirkwood elves Erestor is merely a weapon. Not thinking of Erestor as a being with feelings placates their conscience and facilitates the justification of their deeds. That Fiondil cares so much for their captive so openly makes that impossible.

God, so many words for what you already stated so clearly ;-) Sorry for my rambling...

Thanks again for your review!

Reviewer: CherieMaria Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/11/11 - 05:58 am Title: Chapter 30: Mind Games

I have to admit that Erestor's cousin is really creepy, especially while he's sitting there, caressing him--eew! As someone who writes on a regular basis, I can totally see the potential to further the plot if they really do bond, but I hope they don't. I hope Elrond hurries...

Author's Response: creepy, yes, I guess that is the best one-word-description for him. He is not evil, you know, not really. He's a madman and ruthless and selfish and certainly cruel, but not evil in the true sense of the word. He merely has no ethics whatsoever...
And before bonding comes marriage ;-) so here I go again, as long as my laptop is still among the livig...

Thanks for taking the time to comment, and I hope your work is progressing the way you want it to!

Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/11/11 - 04:08 am Title: Chapter 30: Mind Games

If You had better have a REALLY GOOD plan if Erestor actually bonds with that slimy sorry excuse of an Elf! Great chapter though...liked the length as it kept the story flowing. Looking forward to more!
~G

Author's Response: I am working on it! I promise I have a plan, and it IS starting to get to it's end: finally the knots start to unravel and I am getting all my chess pieces into their proper positions.
For me as a writer the really fun part has just started. Some of the following chapters have now been waiting for months to be shown to another pair of eyes...

And I am really glad: my cockatrice seems to get the reaction I wanted him to get. Just wait for the next chapters...

Thank you again!
Massanie

Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/11/11 - 03:50 am Title: Chapter 29: Stratatgem 2

now you know what I think of twists and turns! Just keep it all organized :) You're doig a great job...just remember our deal...;}

Author's Response: Thank you so much! It's just: I am getting somewhat nervous again as my little showdown approaches and I am not sure if I overdid it and I find myself constantly worrying if I overburden my reader's patience... (you can just ignore my little rambling attack again, you know, I get them once in a while ;-) )

And our deal: I will see to it that Erestor and Elladan are happy in the end, so you'll see to it that Hesgar comes out happy, okay? I'm afraid I can't promise something else. But I'm not above begging for him ;-)

Reviewer: CherieMaria Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/11/11 - 10:00 pm Title: Chapter 29: Stratatgem 2

I'll wait as long as necessary as long as this story eventually gets finished. Right now, I'm using it as a sort of reward: if I finish my daily wordcount, I'm allowed to check for updates:) As it stands, my work won't be published yet, but I hope it will someday... sigh But I remain hopeful!

Author's Response: My best wishes for you, then!
And I am very honoured that you use my story as a reward. I will finish it as promised, though I'm somewhat stuck with the sequel at the moment. I'm still thinking about how to make Elladan happy for Gwaelinn's sake ...

Reviewer: CherieMaria Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/11/11 - 04:29 am Title: Chapter 29: Stratatgem 2

I have to admit that I didn't see that one coming, though looking back I suppose it should have been more clear :) I really look forward to the next chapter and any more twists you see fit to throw our way. For now, I should probably get offline; I still have a lot of writing to do for NaNoWriMo, and I seem to be procrastinating :D

Author's Response: Then I am very much relieved. I hoped to achieve that very mixture: giving the chance to see it but not making it too obvious. Though the seven weeks of waiting probably didn't work in your favour. You would have seen it coming then, I'm almost sure
I wish you success for NaNoWriMo (I have to admit I didn't know that, had to look it up ;-) ) and I really appreciate it that you took the time to comment, especially on such a short chapter.
Will your work be published somewhere?

Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/11/11 - 12:07 am Title: Chapter 28: Greenleaf

*smiles contentedly* Thank you :) Of course it goes without saying that I want Erester happy, too but I am guessing that is a given~

Author's Response: You are very welcome! And yes, I will see all of them happy before Gates of Dawn is over. Promise.

Reviewer: CherieMaria Signed [Report This]
Date: 31/10/11 - 10:28 pm Title: Chapter 28: Greenleaf

I'm fond of your Legolas; perfect mix of diligent prince and dutiful son. I hope they find Erestor and company soon...

Author's Response: Thanks!
I wanted to keep Legolas in character. And in the books and the movie as well he seemed always to respect his elders but at the same time intelligent, rational and independent. I wanted him to be like that and I hope I have achieved that.
And I have still some twists and turns up my sleeve, but I'm finally starting to solve everything out, promise ;-)

Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 31/10/11 - 10:06 pm Title: Chapter 28: Greenleaf

No worries...Hesgar is safe (at least from me).


I would really love to see this become an Elladan/Erestor fic--imagine how they could heal each other! Of course, I understand what that change might take so what ever you decide is fine...but Ell does need some love *puppy eyes*


~G

Author's Response: You evil, manipulative thing, you! (Not that this is necessarily something bad ;-) ).

By the way: I am used to puppy eyes since my mum is a Labrador breeder ;-) ... still I find myself not entirely immune ...

... all right: since you so nicely indulged me in my wish to see Hesgar happy, I'll see what I can do about Elladan. I promise he is going to be well taken care of, okay?

Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 31/10/11 - 05:40 pm Title: Chapter 28: Greenleaf

Great chapter and Legolas is very well written! Just remember our little arrangement...You don't hurt Erestor (too much) and I won't let Hesgar have an accident...agreed?

Looking forward to more!
~G

Author's Response: uhm ... yeah, well ... there'll be that ... kind of ... finale where ... you know ... *nervous laughter* ... it HAS a happy ending, though ...


Hmm.

DON'T HURT HESGAR, PLEEEASE! I'm not above using dubious tactics on you like ... puppy eyes?

Reviewer: CherieMaria Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/10/11 - 08:31 pm Title: Chapter 27: Interesting Developments

Yay :) I'd suspected as much, and I'm glad I was right. Only, I wonder how it will work out? No matter, I'm sure it will! I love Glorfindel/Elrond/Erestor pairings because they're all so different, but work so well together. There are far too few stories with them together, though. Keep writing, you've got me on tenterhooks waiting on your next update!

Author's Response: I love that pairing, too. But it's so hard to find good stories with Elrond/Erestor, let alone with Elrond/Erestor/Glorfindel ... and then those are mostly very short stories, so I decided to write one, myself ;-)
And the next update is coming soon, I just need to put a little time in between the chapters so I have a chance to write "Gates of Dawn"
Thank you for your revieew, I am glad that at least someone likes the pairing ;-)

Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/10/11 - 07:29 am Title: Chapter 27: Interesting Developments

Okay, so he loves elrond and Fin *snicker* I think elladan is a better match so I'm going to root for him--even thought I know you already have it all mapped out and I am wrong.

Loved Arwen in this chapter (and to be honest, I'm not a fan of hers--at least as depicted in the movies) cute chapter and waiting for more :}
~G

Author's Response: Yeah, I know. When I wrote The Bitter Glass I was determined to have an Eresor/Elrond/Glorfindel pairing. And then Scarred Fate changed everything. I never intended for Elladan to get so damn close to Erestor. But then it just so happened that he was captured along with the advisor (and that's really the way it was, I tried to change it, but couldn't find a logical possibility).
You know, I am contemplating to rewrite it to an Elladan/Erestor pairing. Haven't decided yet, though. If enough of you would prefer Elladan, I guess I will
I am glad though, that you like Arwen. She is a little brusque sometimes in my story, but a good person.

Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 24/10/11 - 12:21 am Title: Chapter 26: Guardian

Sometimes it just takes something more important or someoneelse's pain to bring focus and balance back to a spirit. Very nice up-date; glad to see Elladan's tender side....though I will be happy to brew some Belladonna tea for those damn mirkwood elves...that should do the trick!

Author's Response: Thanks! Yes, I guess Elladan has so much to do right now, what with Erestor and his brother injured and depending on him, that there is not much time left to concentrate on his hate. And Belladonna poisoning would actually be a rather good/nasty idea ;-) just looked up the symptoms. Seems to be a rather uncomfortable experience, when the dosis is non lethal ;-)

Reviewer: CherieMaria Signed [Report This]
Date: 23/10/11 - 09:34 pm Title: Chapter 26: Guardian

I'm just glad things are kinda sorta starting to look up. I do like the way Elladan is caring for Erestor, it's really sweet :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I so hope that this makes up for all the terrible things I did to all of them, at least somewhat. I'm really rather fond of the twins and to be honest: when I wrote this part of the story it all seemed so ... right somehow and I started playing with the idea of an Erestor/Elladan pairing, even though in all previous chapters I hinted quite openly to another pairing. Well, the pairing stands firm now at least for me, but maybe I'll rewrite the Bitter Glass Series someday depending on wether you guys want a different pairing ;-) So: What do you think?

Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/10/11 - 06:56 pm Title: Chapter 25: Tress

It was sweet and I loved the little "name" thing. Especially since I, like many others, often call him Fin and never really take into account that there is a meaning to the syllable.

looking forward to more!
~G

Author's Response: I know, most people use that abbreviation and I never considered the meaning behind that either and was just about to use it as well. I think it was when I started to search for a nickname for Erestor (which ended to be rusc and tôr and then later pen idhren) that I got the idea of looking for the exact meaning of the other names. This is my little satire about the fact that many people use the elven languages only to mix up Sindarin with Quenya, get the grammar all wrong and don’t consider the meaning of names, just using those that sound nice (I don’t exclude myself in that, I am sure there are mistakes in the few elven sentences or words I use and I only just started digging deeper, but I find it funny nonetheless). Anyway: I am glad you liked it and I hope you’ll like the coming chapters as well.

Reviewer: CherieMaria Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/10/11 - 04:53 am Title: Chapter 24: Orc Attack

Yay, update! Great chapter made better, I have to say, by the long wait. I can't wait for Erestor to wake up(?).

Author's Response: Than I am glad. I was afraid that many would lose interest because of the long wait... And Erestor is going to wake up soon. But only for a short moment as he is really badly injured. Thank you very much vor your review by the way :-)

Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/10/11 - 04:20 am Title: Chapter 24: Orc Attack

Great to see an update! Out of the frying pan and into the fire? More like into the fires of Mt. Doom! And that Eagle had better live and the twins and Erestor and...oh, well you get the point!! (otherwise, something might just happen to Hesgar.......) ;p
~G

Author's Response: Thanks! Yeah, I know. It's like everything that can go wrong is going wrong in this story. But don't let anything happen to Hesgar! I have a sweet little chapter to appease you ;-) I think you’ll like it. And don’t worry, I couldn’t kill Landroval. He is needed to carry Frodo and Sam into safety in the future ;-) Furthermore I promised everyone a happy ending and I’ll stick to that!

You must login (register) to review.