Reviews For Scarred Fate
You must login (register) to review.
Title: Chapter 28: Greenleaf Reviewer: CherieMaria Signed
I'm fond of your Legolas; perfect mix of diligent prince and dutiful son. I hope they find Erestor and company soon...

Author's Response: Thanks!
I wanted to keep Legolas in character. And in the books and the movie as well he seemed always to respect his elders but at the same time intelligent, rational and independent. I wanted him to be like that and I hope I have achieved that.
And I have still some twists and turns up my sleeve, but I'm finally starting to solve everything out, promise ;-)
Date: Oct 31 2011 05:28 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 28: Greenleaf Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed
No worries...Hesgar is safe (at least from me).


I would really love to see this become an Elladan/Erestor fic--imagine how they could heal each other! Of course, I understand what that change might take so what ever you decide is fine...but Ell does need some love *puppy eyes*


~G

Author's Response: You evil, manipulative thing, you! (Not that this is necessarily something bad ;-) ).

By the way: I am used to puppy eyes since my mum is a Labrador breeder ;-) ... still I find myself not entirely immune ...

... all right: since you so nicely indulged me in my wish to see Hesgar happy, I'll see what I can do about Elladan. I promise he is going to be well taken care of, okay?
Date: Oct 31 2011 05:06 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 28: Greenleaf Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed
Great chapter and Legolas is very well written! Just remember our little arrangement...You don't hurt Erestor (too much) and I won't let Hesgar have an accident...agreed?

Looking forward to more!
~G

Author's Response: uhm ... yeah, well ... there'll be that ... kind of ... finale where ... you know ... *nervous laughter* ... it HAS a happy ending, though ...


Hmm.

DON'T HURT HESGAR, PLEEEASE! I'm not above using dubious tactics on you like ... puppy eyes?
Date: Oct 31 2011 12:40 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 27: Interesting Developments Reviewer: CherieMaria Signed
Yay :) I'd suspected as much, and I'm glad I was right. Only, I wonder how it will work out? No matter, I'm sure it will! I love Glorfindel/Elrond/Erestor pairings because they're all so different, but work so well together. There are far too few stories with them together, though. Keep writing, you've got me on tenterhooks waiting on your next update!

Author's Response: I love that pairing, too. But it's so hard to find good stories with Elrond/Erestor, let alone with Elrond/Erestor/Glorfindel ... and then those are mostly very short stories, so I decided to write one, myself ;-)
And the next update is coming soon, I just need to put a little time in between the chapters so I have a chance to write "Gates of Dawn"
Thank you for your revieew, I am glad that at least someone likes the pairing ;-)
Date: Oct 28 2011 03:31 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 27: Interesting Developments Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed
Okay, so he loves elrond and Fin *snicker* I think elladan is a better match so I'm going to root for him--even thought I know you already have it all mapped out and I am wrong.

Loved Arwen in this chapter (and to be honest, I'm not a fan of hers--at least as depicted in the movies) cute chapter and waiting for more :}
~G

Author's Response: Yeah, I know. When I wrote The Bitter Glass I was determined to have an Eresor/Elrond/Glorfindel pairing. And then Scarred Fate changed everything. I never intended for Elladan to get so damn close to Erestor. But then it just so happened that he was captured along with the advisor (and that's really the way it was, I tried to change it, but couldn't find a logical possibility).
You know, I am contemplating to rewrite it to an Elladan/Erestor pairing. Haven't decided yet, though. If enough of you would prefer Elladan, I guess I will
I am glad though, that you like Arwen. She is a little brusque sometimes in my story, but a good person.
Date: Oct 28 2011 02:29 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 26: Guardian Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed
Sometimes it just takes something more important or someoneelse's pain to bring focus and balance back to a spirit. Very nice up-date; glad to see Elladan's tender side....though I will be happy to brew some Belladonna tea for those damn mirkwood elves...that should do the trick!

Author's Response: Thanks! Yes, I guess Elladan has so much to do right now, what with Erestor and his brother injured and depending on him, that there is not much time left to concentrate on his hate. And Belladonna poisoning would actually be a rather good/nasty idea ;-) just looked up the symptoms. Seems to be a rather uncomfortable experience, when the dosis is non lethal ;-)
Date: Oct 23 2011 07:21 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 26: Guardian Reviewer: CherieMaria Signed
I'm just glad things are kinda sorta starting to look up. I do like the way Elladan is caring for Erestor, it's really sweet :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much. I so hope that this makes up for all the terrible things I did to all of them, at least somewhat. I'm really rather fond of the twins and to be honest: when I wrote this part of the story it all seemed so ... right somehow and I started playing with the idea of an Erestor/Elladan pairing, even though in all previous chapters I hinted quite openly to another pairing. Well, the pairing stands firm now at least for me, but maybe I'll rewrite the Bitter Glass Series someday depending on wether you guys want a different pairing ;-) So: What do you think?
Date: Oct 23 2011 04:34 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 25: Tress Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed
It was sweet and I loved the little "name" thing. Especially since I, like many others, often call him Fin and never really take into account that there is a meaning to the syllable.

looking forward to more!
~G

Author's Response: I know, most people use that abbreviation and I never considered the meaning behind that either and was just about to use it as well. I think it was when I started to search for a nickname for Erestor (which ended to be rusc and tôr and then later pen idhren) that I got the idea of looking for the exact meaning of the other names. This is my little satire about the fact that many people use the elven languages only to mix up Sindarin with Quenya, get the grammar all wrong and don’t consider the meaning of names, just using those that sound nice (I don’t exclude myself in that, I am sure there are mistakes in the few elven sentences or words I use and I only just started digging deeper, but I find it funny nonetheless). Anyway: I am glad you liked it and I hope you’ll like the coming chapters as well.
Date: Oct 21 2011 01:56 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 24: Orc Attack Reviewer: CherieMaria Signed
Yay, update! Great chapter made better, I have to say, by the long wait. I can't wait for Erestor to wake up(?).

Author's Response: Than I am glad. I was afraid that many would lose interest because of the long wait... And Erestor is going to wake up soon. But only for a short moment as he is really badly injured. Thank you very much vor your review by the way :-)
Date: Oct 20 2011 11:53 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 24: Orc Attack Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed
Great to see an update! Out of the frying pan and into the fire? More like into the fires of Mt. Doom! And that Eagle had better live and the twins and Erestor and...oh, well you get the point!! (otherwise, something might just happen to Hesgar.......) ;p
~G

Author's Response: Thanks! Yeah, I know. It's like everything that can go wrong is going wrong in this story. But don't let anything happen to Hesgar! I have a sweet little chapter to appease you ;-) I think you’ll like it. And don’t worry, I couldn’t kill Landroval. He is needed to carry Frodo and Sam into safety in the future ;-) Furthermore I promised everyone a happy ending and I’ll stick to that!
Date: Oct 20 2011 11:20 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 23: An Error Of Judgement Reviewer: Melda Signed
How about 'Diary of a mad darkling'? It's a parody of Diary of a Mad Black Woman an is still relevent since it concerns the diary. :) Whew, I really had to wrack my brains for one this time.

Author's Response: ;-) Yeah, for this chapter it was really hard to find a suitable title, wasn't it? I wanted something that had to do with both parts of the chapter and when I couldn't find anything I chose to take one for the second part because it is more relevant for the story line. But I like the idea and remembering his mad expression from just before the avalanche, that really made me smile. Do you have an idea for the whole chapter? Maybe something concerning Arwen & Galadriel? I don't know ...
Date: Sep 01 2011 08:55 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 23: An Error Of Judgement Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed
Poor Mel!! Arwen is so...convincing! Well written and I like the chapter title...I often pull it from mid to end of the chapter. You are writing Galadiel very well...like the doubt she now faces as most think her so powerful. Looking forward to more!

Author's Response: Thank you very much, though I might have to postpone the next chapter ... I'm currently having it betaed and it would be impolite to continue posting now while she looks it over. But I will continue this, I promise! And I hope you won't desert me until then ;-)
I am glad that you like Galadriel, I somehow grew on her and her husband during the writing process and wanted to portray that she depends on Celeborn the same way that Celeborn depends on her; now without him for the first time in millenia she is a little bit insecure but determined...
Date: Sep 01 2011 08:19 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 22: Wolves Are In Disguise Reviewer: Melda Signed
Hmm. This is getting complicated again. I wonder if the knots will ever untangle themselves. And really? You're not a native English speaker? I am, and I've noticed very few mistakes. If I may ask, what was your original language? I love languages, I'm studying German and Italian and I've got a bit of Spanish under my belt right now. The Latin languages are easier to learn if you know a little of some of each because they are so similar. :)

Author's Response: As I said when uploading the Timeline chapter, the complicated part starts just now ;-) . But the knots will untangle all in time, I just hope you're not getting irritated by the continuous turns, I was wondering if maybe I overdid it... I'm actually German, but I have close family in the United States and I started to learn English at the age of 9, which is rather early in Germany. But I admire you for learning it, compared to English, German is rather complicated. I found Spanish rather easy ;-) . It is right though, the Latin languages are rather similar, although never learning Italian, I can understand the written words just fine. Hope you keep it up, I love languages, too and even considered learning Sindarin... ;-)
Date: Aug 31 2011 08:55 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 21: Found Reviewer: Melda Signed
Erestor! He's finally back!

Author's Response: ... and gone again. So sorry ;-) but at least Elladan is with him now. Thank you for your comment, Melda ;-)
Date: Aug 31 2011 08:51 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 22: Wolves Are In Disguise Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed
You are such a tease!! Making us think Erestor is safe an then...just remember--what goes around comes around ;p
Excellent chapter- really felt Elrohir's thought process

Author's Response: ;-) Awww, you're evil. But you've already written the next few chapters of your story and just got them back from your beta, so you can't do something drastic, right? And thank you for the comment about Elrohír. Actually I first had Landroval fly to Imladris and Elrohír hunting for the kidnappers on his own. I then wrote the next chapters and later, when reading this again noticed how irrational that was. I had to delete 40 000 words, got some kind of writing depression and did not do anything on this story for 2 months. So I am glad, that anyone thinks this a good thought process now and mentions it ;-)
Date: Aug 31 2011 07:49 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1: Leave Me A Lie Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed
You are most welcome! I remember being a new writer...and the feedback really helped me along (got me hooked, too!) years and numerous fics later...here I am, still enjoying feedback and the world of fan fiction! Keep going :) P.S. if you are ever over in livejournal, look me up!
Date: Aug 31 2011 01:20 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 21: Found Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed
Tough to read as far as it pained me...but your discriptions were wonderful and provoked revultion and sympathy. Sometimes as writers we must write things that a re difficult to read (I know!) but you handled it and the warning very well. If someone is not comfortable with it, they can skim through and get the jist. I, for one, am--as always--anxious for more :)
~G

Author's Response: THANK YOU! Wow, I'am relieved ... anyway, it really was the only direction the story could go, the explanation comes later ;-) Thank you for always being so supportive; this being first fanfiction, I am quite nervous concerning the reaction of my readers and you were always so perfect in saying exactly what I needed, you're wonderful!
Date: Aug 30 2011 11:47 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 20: Two Things... Reviewer: CherieMaria Signed
Poor Elrohir! I'm just glad the twins have a chance to fix their problems now.

Author's Response: Hey, chérie! Thanks for your review. I know, I almost felt bad for putting him in that situation, but both were hurting, Elladan not less than his brother, just in a different way. But a fault confessed is half redressed, and as you said: at least they have addressed their problems now and can tackle them together. Anyway, Elladan's good intentions will be put to the test in the following chapters ;-)
Date: Aug 30 2011 02:13 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 20: Two Things... Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed
Oh thank you, thank you, thank you!! From tears to smiles :) Will patiently (if I must) wait for more and to pass the time I will return the favor as I have a couple more chapters back from my beta...off to post something for you :)
~G

Author's Response: Then thank you very much, my friend! Already read and enjoyed it ;-) I wanted to make Lindir somewhat excentric: he is very understanding, empathic and judicious but his alter ego is very spontaneous and ... very ill-tempered as soon as he or someone he loves is attacked. I hope I managed to portray him like this.
Date: Aug 30 2011 12:50 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 19: Gwenyn Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed
You made my eyes tear!! How beautiful...poor Elrohir, all that on his shoulders; very glad though that he is willing to give Elledan a chance! Thank you :)
~G

Author's Response: You're welcome, Gwaelinn! I never dared to hope for that reaction, though thinking of what I am going to do in the following chapters, I am really relieved: Maybe it pacified you enough so that you won't lynch me ;-)
Date: Aug 30 2011 12:42 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 18: The Stormcrow Reviewer: CherieMaria Signed
Yay, Gandalf! On the other hand... Goblin town? Erestor, I have to say, is one of my favorite characters, so I hope everything works out well for him in the end.

Author's Response: ;-) Just remember: Erestor does nothing without a reason and he certainly is intelligent enough to know the cardinal direction he is walking in...
Date: Aug 29 2011 02:53 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 17: Parting Ways Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed
Of course I will still read! I just liked the little ray of light you gave with the Lindir/Haldir thing :)
~G
Date: Aug 29 2011 11:38 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 17: Parting Ways Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed
For as many part as this story has, you do a wonderful job at keeping it all in order and it reads smoothly :)...There is only one part I hope to see more of soon and that is of our dear Lindir (and of course...Haldir) ;)
~G

Author's Response: Thank you, I spent weeks on this part of the story so far and reread it countless times to get it into shape, so I'm very glad that it paid off somehow! And Haldir and Lindir will get some chapters as well, although this story really focuses on the happenings surrounding Erestor, not on the relationships between the involved elves ;-) Hope you'll keep reading nonetheless, the next chapter about Lindir and Haldir is due on Tuesday, so it's not too long ;-)
Date: Aug 28 2011 02:35 pm [Report This]
Title: Chapter 16: The Ringbearers Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed
What a sweet moment between Galadriel and Celeborn! And what is up with Elrohir? As always, curious to see where this leads so again I patiently wait for more...
~G

Author's Response: Thanks! Galadriel is so often misused as the villain or portrayed as cold and heartless and their marriage as on the rocks or only forged for political reasons, just so that they can throw Celeborn into a relationship with anyone they want ... I wanted them to really love each other. The same reason why, in The Bitter Glass, Elrond and Celebrian really loved each other but simply were no soulmates. Anyway, with Elrohír? You'll see the day after tomorrow, if there are no further reviews that make me update sooner ;-)
Date: Aug 28 2011 12:06 am [Report This]
Title: Chapter 1: Leave Me A Lie Reviewer: CherieMaria Signed
Does this mean Eresetor's okay? Please, with cherries on top? I can't wait for the next update!

Author's Response: well ... he still lives ... thank you for the comment, by the way, and as you can't wait anymore, I'll give you the next rightaway :-)
Date: Aug 27 2011 02:45 pm [Report This]
You must login (register) to review.