Reviews For Scarred Fate
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Melda Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/09/11 - 01:55 am Title: Chapter 23: An Error Of Judgement

How about 'Diary of a mad darkling'? It's a parody of Diary of a Mad Black Woman an is still relevent since it concerns the diary. :) Whew, I really had to wrack my brains for one this time.

Author's Response: ;-) Yeah, for this chapter it was really hard to find a suitable title, wasn't it? I wanted something that had to do with both parts of the chapter and when I couldn't find anything I chose to take one for the second part because it is more relevant for the story line. But I like the idea and remembering his mad expression from just before the avalanche, that really made me smile. Do you have an idea for the whole chapter? Maybe something concerning Arwen & Galadriel? I don't know ...

Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/09/11 - 01:19 am Title: Chapter 23: An Error Of Judgement

Poor Mel!! Arwen is so...convincing! Well written and I like the chapter title...I often pull it from mid to end of the chapter. You are writing Galadiel very well...like the doubt she now faces as most think her so powerful. Looking forward to more!

Author's Response: Thank you very much, though I might have to postpone the next chapter ... I'm currently having it betaed and it would be impolite to continue posting now while she looks it over. But I will continue this, I promise! And I hope you won't desert me until then ;-)
I am glad that you like Galadriel, I somehow grew on her and her husband during the writing process and wanted to portray that she depends on Celeborn the same way that Celeborn depends on her; now without him for the first time in millenia she is a little bit insecure but determined...

Reviewer: Melda Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/09/11 - 01:55 am Title: Chapter 22: Wolves Are In Disguise

Hmm. This is getting complicated again. I wonder if the knots will ever untangle themselves. And really? You're not a native English speaker? I am, and I've noticed very few mistakes. If I may ask, what was your original language? I love languages, I'm studying German and Italian and I've got a bit of Spanish under my belt right now. The Latin languages are easier to learn if you know a little of some of each because they are so similar. :)

Author's Response: As I said when uploading the Timeline chapter, the complicated part starts just now ;-) . But the knots will untangle all in time, I just hope you're not getting irritated by the continuous turns, I was wondering if maybe I overdid it... I'm actually German, but I have close family in the United States and I started to learn English at the age of 9, which is rather early in Germany. But I admire you for learning it, compared to English, German is rather complicated. I found Spanish rather easy ;-) . It is right though, the Latin languages are rather similar, although never learning Italian, I can understand the written words just fine. Hope you keep it up, I love languages, too and even considered learning Sindarin... ;-)

Reviewer: Melda Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/09/11 - 01:51 am Title: Chapter 21: Found

Erestor! He's finally back!

Author's Response: ... and gone again. So sorry ;-) but at least Elladan is with him now. Thank you for your comment, Melda ;-)

Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/09/11 - 12:49 am Title: Chapter 22: Wolves Are In Disguise

You are such a tease!! Making us think Erestor is safe an then...just remember--what goes around comes around ;p
Excellent chapter- really felt Elrohir's thought process

Author's Response: ;-) Awww, you're evil. But you've already written the next few chapters of your story and just got them back from your beta, so you can't do something drastic, right? And thank you for the comment about Elrohír. Actually I first had Landroval fly to Imladris and Elrohír hunting for the kidnappers on his own. I then wrote the next chapters and later, when reading this again noticed how irrational that was. I had to delete 40 000 words, got some kind of writing depression and did not do anything on this story for 2 months. So I am glad, that anyone thinks this a good thought process now and mentions it ;-)

Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 31/08/11 - 06:20 pm Title: Chapter 1: Leave Me A Lie

You are most welcome! I remember being a new writer...and the feedback really helped me along (got me hooked, too!) years and numerous fics later...here I am, still enjoying feedback and the world of fan fiction! Keep going :) P.S. if you are ever over in livejournal, look me up!

Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 31/08/11 - 04:47 am Title: Chapter 21: Found

Tough to read as far as it pained me...but your discriptions were wonderful and provoked revultion and sympathy. Sometimes as writers we must write things that a re difficult to read (I know!) but you handled it and the warning very well. If someone is not comfortable with it, they can skim through and get the jist. I, for one, am--as always--anxious for more :)
~G

Author's Response: THANK YOU! Wow, I'am relieved ... anyway, it really was the only direction the story could go, the explanation comes later ;-) Thank you for always being so supportive; this being first fanfiction, I am quite nervous concerning the reaction of my readers and you were always so perfect in saying exactly what I needed, you're wonderful!

Reviewer: CherieMaria Signed [Report This]
Date: 30/08/11 - 07:13 pm Title: Chapter 20: Two Things...

Poor Elrohir! I'm just glad the twins have a chance to fix their problems now.

Author's Response: Hey, chérie! Thanks for your review. I know, I almost felt bad for putting him in that situation, but both were hurting, Elladan not less than his brother, just in a different way. But a fault confessed is half redressed, and as you said: at least they have addressed their problems now and can tackle them together. Anyway, Elladan's good intentions will be put to the test in the following chapters ;-)

Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 30/08/11 - 05:50 pm Title: Chapter 20: Two Things...

Oh thank you, thank you, thank you!! From tears to smiles :) Will patiently (if I must) wait for more and to pass the time I will return the favor as I have a couple more chapters back from my beta...off to post something for you :)
~G

Author's Response: Then thank you very much, my friend! Already read and enjoyed it ;-) I wanted to make Lindir somewhat excentric: he is very understanding, empathic and judicious but his alter ego is very spontaneous and ... very ill-tempered as soon as he or someone he loves is attacked. I hope I managed to portray him like this.

Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 30/08/11 - 05:42 pm Title: Chapter 19: Gwenyn

You made my eyes tear!! How beautiful...poor Elrohir, all that on his shoulders; very glad though that he is willing to give Elledan a chance! Thank you :)
~G

Author's Response: You're welcome, Gwaelinn! I never dared to hope for that reaction, though thinking of what I am going to do in the following chapters, I am really relieved: Maybe it pacified you enough so that you won't lynch me ;-)

Reviewer: CherieMaria Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/08/11 - 07:53 pm Title: Chapter 18: The Stormcrow

Yay, Gandalf! On the other hand... Goblin town? Erestor, I have to say, is one of my favorite characters, so I hope everything works out well for him in the end.

Author's Response: ;-) Just remember: Erestor does nothing without a reason and he certainly is intelligent enough to know the cardinal direction he is walking in...

Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/08/11 - 04:38 pm Title: Chapter 17: Parting Ways

Of course I will still read! I just liked the little ray of light you gave with the Lindir/Haldir thing :)
~G

Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/08/11 - 07:35 pm Title: Chapter 17: Parting Ways

For as many part as this story has, you do a wonderful job at keeping it all in order and it reads smoothly :)...There is only one part I hope to see more of soon and that is of our dear Lindir (and of course...Haldir) ;)
~G

Author's Response: Thank you, I spent weeks on this part of the story so far and reread it countless times to get it into shape, so I'm very glad that it paid off somehow! And Haldir and Lindir will get some chapters as well, although this story really focuses on the happenings surrounding Erestor, not on the relationships between the involved elves ;-) Hope you'll keep reading nonetheless, the next chapter about Lindir and Haldir is due on Tuesday, so it's not too long ;-)

Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/08/11 - 05:06 am Title: Chapter 16: The Ringbearers

What a sweet moment between Galadriel and Celeborn! And what is up with Elrohir? As always, curious to see where this leads so again I patiently wait for more...
~G

Author's Response: Thanks! Galadriel is so often misused as the villain or portrayed as cold and heartless and their marriage as on the rocks or only forged for political reasons, just so that they can throw Celeborn into a relationship with anyone they want ... I wanted them to really love each other. The same reason why, in The Bitter Glass, Elrond and Celebrian really loved each other but simply were no soulmates. Anyway, with Elrohír? You'll see the day after tomorrow, if there are no further reviews that make me update sooner ;-)

Reviewer: CherieMaria Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/08/11 - 07:45 pm Title: Chapter 1: Leave Me A Lie

Does this mean Eresetor's okay? Please, with cherries on top? I can't wait for the next update!

Author's Response: well ... he still lives ... thank you for the comment, by the way, and as you can't wait anymore, I'll give you the next rightaway :-)

Reviewer: Melda Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/08/11 - 02:43 am Title: Chapter 14: Isn't Someone Missing?

YAY! Another pairing...I hope. Keep on truckin' my friend, I predict good times ahead. :)

Author's Response: I thought you would like that ;-) Just give me some time to get to the happy ending :D It's darkest just before dawn...

Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 26/08/11 - 08:51 pm Title: Chapter 14: Isn't Someone Missing?

Haldir's got a crush *gleeful smile*
~G

Author's Response: :D yeah, it seemed a perfect match somehow ... and I thought you all needed a little silver lining in this dark story.

Reviewer: Melda Signed [Report This]
Date: 26/08/11 - 02:20 am Title: Chapter 13: You Always Meet Twice

Nice. Loved these last two chapters! Hmmm. I wonder if they'll get to Erestor in time. Oh, and I have recomendation to make. I read a Glorfindel/Erestor fanfiction a few weeks ago and I really liked it. It was called By the Grace of the Valar. Check it out. :)

Author's Response: Thank you very much, glad you enjoyed it! I read By the Grace of the Valar some time ago and loved it, too. They just are one of my favorite pairings ... My absolute favorite so far was "No Remedy" by LittleMouse. You can't find it here but in the Library of Moria. It's really great, so angsty and hilarious at the same time... just brilliant!

Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 26/08/11 - 12:52 am Title: Chapter 13: You Always Meet Twice

Didn't see that coming! Nice update but poor Lindir! It looks like it's going to get a little rocky.
~G

Author's Response: ;-) Yeah, me neither ... I was already some chapters ahead when suddenly I realised that if I wanted to abduct a seer I would have to have spies everywhere and for a long time to know how and when to catch him unawares. So I had to rewrite everything ... actually that did happen a lot ... So I'm really glad you liked it!

Reviewer: Gwaelinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 24/08/11 - 10:10 pm Title: Chapter 12: Dearest Friend

Well done again! Now I am beginning to suspect a potential father for our dear counselor...and by the way--I love Thalion :)
~G
P.S. a curse on Erestor's Uncle *pfut, pfut*

Author's Response: I'll join you in that: Fie upon Brandon! (I love that word since reading some of Shakespeare's works... ;-) ). But to be honest, when first writing this part I had Lindir have a burst of temper over Erestor's stubbornness and because he accepted his fate so easily. I was kind of angry with him for that myself... that sounds so weird, being angry over the behaviour of a fictional character which I have made behave that way in the first place. hmm ... anyway, I got over it and deleted the temper-tantrum ;-)

You must login (register) to review.