Reviews For The Last Wood Elf
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/12/13 - 01:36 pm Title: Chapter 25 The Entwood

Oooh intriguing! I can't wait to find out why a Galadhrim was so far from home and how on earth she fell into the hands of the Southrons!

I love Beechbone, he reminds me of Quickbeam :D

Another twist in the tale and the excitement continues! ~ Iri

Author's Response: This is the part where I get to branch off from canon and do my own thing for a while. It's difficult trying to stick to the original story line while putting my own twist to it. And now, as Legolas journeys away from Rohan, he'll begin to understand his heritage better. He's getting into his element now, Ents and forests and all.

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/12/13 - 01:22 pm Title: Chapter 24 On Open Plains

Oh my gosh what an intense getaway! Legolas copped just about everything that could possibly have been thrown at him! And hooray for Arod coming to fight for his master like that.

A wonderfully intense action packed chapter L8. Poor Legolas seems to be constantly being chased from his homes :( and now for the first time he's truly out in the cold by himself. I hope his journey gives him some reprieve at some point! ~ Iri

Author's Response: It's always darkest before the dawn, and Legolas is on some very dark times. But there is a change coming, as well as more challenges.

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/12/13 - 02:17 pm Title: Chapter 23 From Darkness Into Flight

All I could think about during this chapter was screaming RUN LEGOLAS RUN at the top of my lungs! A daring rescue coordinated by Eowyn! And the beginnings of Dernhelm, what a clever inclusion of her alter - well done once again :) ~ Iri

Author's Response: Like I mentioned before, I just love Eowyn's character. I knew it had to be her who helped Legolas escape. She'd never let him rot in a dungeon. Eomer won't be too happy to learn that his sister put her life in danger, but he'll get over it. She's one damn tough chick!

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/12/13 - 02:06 pm Title: Chapter 22 What Lies Beneath Edoras

Ugh poor Legolas trapped like a caged animal! The description of the cell makes my skin crawl. I hope Grima gets what's coming to him sooner rather than later! ~ Iri

Author's Response: Yea, it was tough torturing Legolas, but someone has to do it. Grima will get his eventually.

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/12/13 - 01:56 pm Title: Chapter 21 The Blacksmith

Wow. Not at all what I was expecting when I suspected Rota was up to something. What a way for her treachery to be revealed!

I'd write more L8 but I have the next chapter to devour! ~ Iri

Author's Response: Legolas' loose ways are getting him in trouble, and Rota is just the one to put the nail in the coffin. He's met his sexual match, I think.

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/12/13 - 01:33 pm Title: Chapter 20 Keeping House

Well Legolas is certainly becoming flavour of the month isn't he? :P

Oh the plan sounds good and should work but I'm so anxious for this trio. And it think it's a great decision to keep Legolas in Rohan for now.

Your depiction of how Theoden deteriorates and Eowyn's reason for abandoning her training is fantastic and again not one we've seen often. I love your talent for finding the blank spots and loopholes in the tale we all know back to front and giving it a entirely different and fresh perspective! ~ Iri

Author's Response: Lol, 'flavor of the month'. He's the ice cream man, and the girls all stop him as he's passing by, hahaha!!!! Oops, David Lee Roth/Van Halen, I'm showing my age. Anyways, Legolas is having some fun, for now anyways. Thanks for your comments about Theoden. I've always imagined the transformation would have been slow enough that people would think he was just getting on in years, but quick enough to work with Saruman's plans to destroy Rohan.

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/12/13 - 01:15 pm Title: Chapter 19 Eye for an Eye

Oh my gosh what an intense battle! And I would not have had the patience Legolas had - that orc would've been beaten to a bloody pulp the minute he confessed. I'm very glad Eomer understood Legolas' wrath in that moment.

I really loved Eomer's uniting of the men and it gives a really great moment to the young Captain, the start of the time his men became loyal to him above the King.

A wonderful chapter, L8, this story is just evolving into an absolute masterpiece! ~ Iri

Author's Response: Thanks Irial. I'm glad you're liking the story. Knowing what we know will happen in canon, I wanted to touch on that moment that Eomer transforms from a soldier, to a captain, to a real leader of men. It was said that the people of Rohan loved Eomer, especially after he became king. That wouldn't have happened overnight. He had his men's respect long before that. He's my favorite male human character from LotR, a very honorable man.

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 28/12/13 - 01:00 pm Title: Chapter 18 Winter's Chill

Who wouldn't want Legolas for their first kiss? How sweet that Eowyn gets to experience it, like she said, with a friend not a stranger.

Glad to see Legolas is on the mend! Hope he's not as moody in the future or an injured hand is going to be the least of his worries if he tries to take on a Rohirrim again! ~ Iri

Author's Response: I think Eowyn has been crushing on Legolas for a while. And what better teacher than an elf. She's one lucky girl.

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/12/13 - 01:15 pm Title: Chapter 17 Gone

I was totally cheering for Legolas, hoping he'd squish that snake forever! But then I knew you had more angst in store for us and more devilry for Grima to dabble in and so it wasn't to be. But by god I was definitely rooting for Legolas! I just hope between them Eomer, Theodred, Eowyn and Legolas can sort this out before it's too late!

Also I felt crushed when Luta said all those things to Legolas. My heart felt heavy and I was very sad for both of them. Very well written and well played with all the lead up and doubt. Poor Legolas, I can completely understand why he thinks people just keep leaving him all the time. I hope that he and Luta can make amends one day! ~ Iri

Author's Response: Well, all these things that keep happening to Legolas are just forming him and strengthening him, molding him into the elf we all know and love. He never falls into despair, but remembers and learns from these lessons. Luta, though she was under Grima's influence when she said these things to Legolas, knew deep down that it could not be. Legolas has not been around his own kind, therefore he's not thinking about his future. And don't girls seem to mature faster than boys? Losing Luta will make Legolas realize that he has to be more careful with his heart.

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/12/13 - 01:02 pm Title: Chapter 16 Changes Taking Place

I LOVE the grand declarations of Legolas and Eomer and Theodred sitting there shaking his head at them - very sweet. And Eomer I'm sure is in for an ear bashing if not a physical bashing from his sister when he finally confronts her!! (My money is on Eowyn!)

I wonder how this conversation will go with Luta's father?? ~ Iri

Author's Response: You know, I imagine Theodred being the leader, Legolas going along, but putting his own twist on things, and Eomer running to catch up to the other two. If it's good enough for the elf, it's good enough for him, whether he's thought it through or not. But like you said, my money is ALWAYS on Eowyn.

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/12/13 - 08:18 am Title: Chapter 15 Part of the Plan

Grima makes my skin crawl! He's so malicious and conniving and...and...well evil! I really want to just punch him and watch him cry like a little girl!

A marvellously composed chapter. These ones are getting a bit darker, leading into what I'm guessing will be some challenging times ahead for Legolas and his friends! ~ Iri

Author's Response: Oh yes, many challenging things coming from here on out. Your review made me laugh, imagining Grima sobbing away, lol.

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/12/13 - 07:41 am Title: Chapter 14 Lies and Love

Grrrrrr! Grima is such a snake!!

And there goes Legolas again with the unconventional way of doing things! Sneaking out the window to avoid being caught - that had me in stitches! Very clever!

I loved the back story for Grima, we never really do find out how he becomes so twisted do we? I think you've filled in the blanks very adeptly! Great chapter! ~ Iri

Author's Response: Isn't that the great thing about fanfic? There's always some story that leaves things open for us ff authors to add our own touches to. Grima's story is very mysterious, leaving lots of room. Actually, I had a really good time writing such a slimy character. Unlike Legolas, who needs to make sure he is not offending anyone and following the rules, you can make a bad character do anything you want, and they'll not complain. They just smile evilly and say, what's next madame writer, lol.

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/12/13 - 07:30 am Title: Seeking Advice

Good on Miss Level-Headed! I'm glad Legolas had the sense to speak with Eowyn as well, rather than just taking the advice of the two boys haha. Another beautiful chapter about growth and maturity. I just hope it all turns out okay for Legolas and Luta... this father seems like a huge obstacle to get through! ~ Iri

Author's Response: Legolas is very lucky to have Eowyn to go to. She's always the voice of reason, and these two have become very close friends. As far as Luta, she's his first true love, but the obstacle even bigger than her father is their heritage. Poor Legi isn't considering that just yet, but he's still young.

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/12/13 - 07:10 am Title: The Foaling

Awwwwww Arod!! So cute! And what a way to get a girl's attention huh? I think Legolas needs to write a book on all this hahahaha

Lovely to see the boys all grown up - sort of :P And you've painted Theoden as very warm which is nice. A very intriguing reference to Grima as well. I can't wait to see how you spin his story with Legolas in the thick of it now :D Another great chapter L8! ~ Iri

Author's Response: Well, I thought if Rohirrim are bonded to their horses, then an elf and his horse would be devoted for life, so why not bond from the start. Legolas and Grima are wound together for a time, especially while Legolas is living in Rohan.

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/12/13 - 06:53 am Title: Tour of Edoras

It's nice to see these poignant moments in Legolas' maturity. In just a few days he went from being a mischevious Elf drinking and sneaking into places he shouldn't be going to standing on the cusp of being a fully mature Elf-warrior. And it's great to see the bond forming between him, Eomer and Theodred!

Also you nearly lost me at the line 'No time to consider that now, he had panties to steal'. Seriously I laughed so hard I couldn't breathe! :D :D ~ Iri

Author's Response: When I decided to write this story, this was the part I couldn't wait to get to, these three boys getting into all kinds of trouble.

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/12/13 - 06:09 am Title: Rohan

Hmmm young Theodred and Eomer just smell of trouble don't they? I love how headstrong Eowyn is at a young age too! A very suitable introduction into Rohan for young Legolas. ~ Iri

Author's Response: Eowyn is my all time fav female. She's everything all rolled into one young shield maiden, and the basis for many of my own female oc's.

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/12/13 - 12:21 pm Title: Opportunity Arises

I can't believe she climbed the tree hahaha good on Sefa! And at last, the dreaded chapter I knew was coming :( Very well constructed and I think everyone's reactions were just as they should be.

Oh and the way you had Legolas remembering his father through the smell of the trees was so beautiful!

I hope Legolas one day wanders back to visit them all! It may be many years away but I'd like to think he'd make time to see them again. Another fantastic chapter L8! ~ Iri

Author's Response: I like Sefa, and I'm glad she was able to be a mother to young Legolas, especially since she could have no children of her own. I think her and Legolas would have had a strong bond. They were each missing something, a mother without a child, and a child without a parent. Folvar, too, was important in this way. Another chapter in Legolas' life has come to an end, and a new one is just beginning. Off to Rohan.

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/12/13 - 11:58 am Title: By Moonlight

Your description of the shifting is fascinating! I've never thought of it like a ceremony kind of affair, I've always just envisioned teeth, claws and fur exploding out of jerkins and coats Wolfman/Hulk style. Loved it!

And I had to giggle at Legolas' first kiss. It was very much how one would expect - just two curious children, not some grandiose romantic gesture like we see in many stories (I say raising my hand guiltily). That said - if the first boy I ever kissed stood in front of a charging bear to allow me to escape I would have married him immediately without question. Legolas sets the bar high for romantic gestures on that front ;P ~ Iri

Author's Response: LOL, your review made me laugh. Yes, Legolas defending Katala against the bear would be hard to top. I imagine the man she will marry one day will always live in that shadow, haha. I'll tell you, writing this scene with the first kiss was a little difficult. I had to keep reminding myself that Legolas is just a young boy here, not the grown up sexy elf that I usually write about, and I had to keep myself in check. But there will be a time and a place for him to be more of a romantic once I get him older.

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/12/13 - 11:47 am Title: Grimbeorn

Katala and Legolas have become fast friends haven't they? I can't help but melt at their cute innocence.

How very sad that Folvar and Sefa (Sefa especially) have to say goodbye to Legolas after all this time.

I like that you've come up with a very valid reason to move Legolas into a new chapter and what a spin - Legolas in Rohan? This should be VERY interesting! (Mind you not that you EVER don't come up with a great plot or twist or reason for doing something, which is all part of why reading your work is so amazing) ~ Iri

Author's Response: Legolas in Rohan ... that's what started it all. My friend and I were talking one day, and she said something to the affect of 'What if Legolas grew up in Rohan.' We were talking about Eomer and Theodred and Eowyn I think. Anyways, as soon as she said it, this plot bunny exploded, and well ... here we are.

Reviewer: Irial Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/12/13 - 11:38 am Title: Friends Along The Way

A beautiful and simple farewell for our friend. The talisman was a nice gesture and a nice symbol of Legolas growing up a bit more. It's great to see Legolas making friends, especially having just lost the closest person to him.

How cute is little Katala? And another important step for Legolas in the growing up phase.

L8, you write Legolas as beautifully as a child/teen as you do an adult! I love how you can just get into the heads of your characters. I can see traits of him from your other stories but portrayed much more youthfully. Quite the talent as I've said before I'm sure, but it always deserves to be said again. And again :D ~ Iri

Author's Response: Thanks so much, Irial. I really hoped little Legolas would be believable. And in having Elhadron die, it kind of forces Legolas to take a few steps closer to adulthood. He's still with the woodsmen, and they will take care of him now, but as far as being an elf, Legolas is on his own now.

You must login (register) to review.