You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Ennorwen Signed [Report This]
Date: 14/06/05 - 10:47 pm Title: Sunrise

What a wonderful story-teller you are. The tale of Rowannen and Legolas, of course - but all your other little tales woven throughout are lovely. The story of Snowmane & Ganlerain I've told you I loved and now this ending. Superb. No only like L&R, but also like Amroth & Nimrodel. Oh yes, myths upon myths. What a well-woven world Tolkien subcreated for us - and you have expanded upon. Again, a nicely compressed version of Helm's Deep. Interesting. Yavanna's sacrifice. Hmmm, she thinks, wonderingly. That was SO Eomer. Quick anger, but he will think about it. He has so much on his mind and his reaction is visceral. See? I told you Haldir didn't die. Glad you listened. God Bless You. Same old haughty elf, too. Will he show up @ the coronation or A/A's wedding? Or are you doing movie verse there also? It was the voice. I love it. The meaning of a voice and the hearing of one's name upon the lips of the beloved is so Tolkien. Much praise. Thanks again for such a terrific story.

Reviewer: Ennorwen Signed [Report This]
Date: 14/06/05 - 10:40 pm Title: Darkness And Light

I have always loved the thought of the meaning of the different braidings, though I don't think Tolkien every addressed it. I have ever appreciated fanfic authors who had added their own thoughts to the patterns used. Yours I like very much. Nothing too elaborate and also subtle. It is easy to picture them. Once again, you make me love Hama and mourn his loss. "Ocean calling the dew wet" - Nice Rohirrim type turn of the phrase. I've not heard this one specifically before - is it yours or a UK thing? Seamless insertion of your character into these scenes and your collapsing of events is also well done. My favorite moment in Two Towers (and strangely enough, because I know it is rare, TT is my favorite of the three movies), is when the elves appear at Helm's Deep. I know it is not canon, but if I could pick one thing to like about PJs changes, this is it. The relief it gives Aragorn, the look of wonder in the eyes of the Rohirrim and the pride in Legolas' eyes is wonderful. Haldir didn't die there, though. I'm telling you! and you stopped your re-telling as just the right moment. I wasn't going to review 11 today, but now I have to. I love this chapter.

Author's Response: 'ocean calling the dew wet'... that type of remark is definitely a Northern England type of gently sarcastic retort I think, there are perhaps many instances of this. The most famous and old fashioned one being. "The pot calling the kettle black." Have you heard that one or is that very English too? I have also read another similar instance in a fanfic 'the river calling the rain wet' There are several things I think PJ did really well that may have offended some book canon enthusiasts, the warg battle and the elves at Helm's Deep being 2 of them, both very dramatic and adding something to the tale I think.

Reviewer: Ennorwen Signed [Report This]
Date: 14/06/05 - 10:27 pm Title: Away with Sorrow

That was a good re-telling of the battle with the wargs. It read as urgently as it was portrayed in the movie. I appreciate the research you must have done or knowledge that you have to make things so realistic. One must be an engineer or an herbalist or a medical professional - a keeper of birds of prey, a military officer, etc, etc, etc, to write a good piece of fanfic. Or else take care with reading and research. I appreciate the time you take to make it right.,i.e., the way the water works, what effects various herbs have, etc. I very much like the silence of the next scene. Fitting. She channels all her love and thoughts through her fingers. That he allows her to do this without a word speaks volumes. He does lover her and trusts her and lets her hold his soul in his hands. I again praise you for allowing their sexual relationship to unfold slowly. There are so many new and different things they have yet to explore. A chapter that is beautiful with the reaffirmation of life. Sigh.

Reviewer: Ennorwen Signed [Report This]
Date: 13/06/05 - 09:29 pm Title: Wolves in the Hills

Very clever, intertwining the Aragorn/Arwen with Legolas/Rowannen in Aragorn's conversation with Eowyn. She sees again that she lives in a very small world. As Sam would say "a real eye-opener and that's no mistake." It was a touching binding ceremony also. So simple. Just as I picture such things to be in a war-torn Middle-earth. And whether Hama dies in a warg battle (movie) or at Helm's Deep (book), it is always a sad moment for me. That in your story he is fleshed out as brother, husband and father makes it sadder still. Such a beautiful/terrible description of childbirth. I guess that's the first and about only thing about living in Middle-earth that I couldn't abide. Thank God for epidurals. I think the face of my anesthesiologist (sp?) is right up there next to the face of God. Another fine chapter and the circle of live continues...

Reviewer: Ennorwen Signed [Report This]
Date: 13/06/05 - 03:08 pm Title: Flight

As much as I love the "first time" in Chapts. 5&6, I would be dishonest if I didn't tell you I liked this one even better. As a matter of fact, I think this is my favorite piece of love-making in the whole story so far (yes, of course, I've read ahead - we'll get to the other Chapts. later). There are some lighthearted moments also that allow your characters to explore their friendship as well as their passion. Once again, your inclusion of animals is wonderful. Do you know Falconry? It was a very nice and necessary moment when she let Feannim go - a metaphor, perhaps? The conversation between them about what he must do and their mutual give and take was as much as a "marriage" ceremony, I thought. The reapproachment between Rowannen and Eowyn was welcome too. True friends may have their disagreements, but in the end truth and love will out. Nice touch having Legolas and Aragorn discuss elf-human relationships. Another bonding moment for our Ranger and Prince. Ahhh. And of course, your description of their coming together (heh) again is marvelous. Yikes! Maybe it is the "publicness" ofthe place, maybe it is the "have to be quick," or "have to be silent" aspect, but really it boils down to "I mean to play this way!" and the hand over her mouth concurrent with the driving thrust. Oh My. I laughed at his "do not bite them off" line and oh, the sucking of the fingers. I've almost reached my own peak thinking of that one - and of course all that came before. "just the tip, back and forth." Big Sigh. Aragorn's last quip was appropriate. I too say, "Gods!". I think this is one of my favorite chapters.

Author's Response: *smile* yes this seems to be a popular chapter. I think it is the publicness and the need for silence that strikes a chord with everyone. I LOVE his fingers too. I have spent many a happy hour at an Orlando Board studying his fingers in pictures. 'God,' they are beautiful. About the animals, I do not own a falcon myself but knew someone who did once and have visited falconry centres. I once bought as christmas present for my husband a day at acentre flying owls. We have a great pic of a snowy owl spreading it's wings in his face, and I live in the country and am very familiar with horses and especially dogs. I have 4.

Reviewer: Ennorwen Signed [Report This]
Date: 13/06/05 - 12:35 am Title: On into the Dawn

I had thought initially to send you a private email with my review of these past two chapters. My responses seem too personal to share with the world. But then I rethought. My dear, if you have the fearlessness to throw your heart out there for all to see, then I can do no less. This is such a beautifully done "first time." I cannot image what it is to be cared for and loved with such reverence. On both of their parts. From the initial reassurance of "You are beautiful", through the unwinding of his hair (I like how you have each of them refer to it differently), to the initial tentative touches, it is simply exquisite. Thank you for taking such time to unveil this slowly. As I've mentioned in previous reviews, I react strongly to voices and luxurious long hair and now you have hit on another - hands and fingers. You more than adequately described his hands, "and my fingers are long." - and what he does with them - an usually too quickly passed over aspect of love-making, in my opinion. I love the words you give to our fair elf. "I am initially surprised and then astonishingly glad." - another sentence that runs through my mind at odd times. His continuous concern for her, guiding her, asking her leave before he proceeds - how gentle and thoughtful he is. Your description of her first orgasm rings so true. It is hard for me to remember that far back, but surely "not knowing how far pleasure could be followed" was at one time the stepping off of the cliff for all of us. How cleverly you portray her first forway into being the initiator, and his understanding of what she is doing. The whole "Look at me" sequence brought me to edge for sure. Such intimacy is almost painful. And then to help her wash afterwards - So beautiful. This entire episode is so leisurely done and lanquid. All I can say is that I am grateful that you shared such a gift with us. "Amin harmuva onalle e cormanin." Indeed.

Author's Response: Thank you so much. Yes indeed, if only first times were really like that, or even any time! My imaginary Llegolas has rather spoiled me for reality I am afraid.

Reviewer: Ennorwen Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/06/05 - 09:50 pm Title: Two Hearts are One

I appreciate that you didn't "downgrade" the children's mother in favor of Rowannen. I also see this in your dealings with elves and men. While your protagonist has a clar preference, it is not at the expense of the qualities of "men". You point out differences surely, but don't lose sight of the fact that she is a human. You made up the story of Snowmane & Ganlerin? Very nice. Your affinity for animals really shows and thinking of the dogs left behind made me sad, but I'm glad she remembered and at least did what she could for them. I can just picture Legolas dancing with his knives and I approve heartily of your description of the Rohirrim. I've often thought of Eomer, and by extension other folks of that realm as a practical, clever and knowing people. Close to the land. Rather more like hobbits than say, men of Gondor. I have great love and respect for Theoden. "Swiftly has this happened and I was taken by surprise." One of the lines that rolls around in my head quite often. I find myself repeating it just for the shear sound. And, I especially enjoyed the little Gimli -Aragorn exchange. The dwarf is starting to know his elven friend better and sees a lot more than he lets on. Sometimes dwarves are portrayed so crudely. I like your Gimli.

Author's Response: Yes Snowmane and Ganlerain and any other horse myths I made up. Glad you liked it.

Reviewer: Ennorwen Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/06/05 - 09:45 am Title: Willows in the Stream

Sorry about the redundancy in the first line below. I was stupid and didn't reread the review before I pushed the button. Won't do that again!

Reviewer: Ennorwen Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/06/05 - 10:27 pm Title: Willows in the Stream

At first, I must say, I thought some of the writing was a little choppy, but I must say as a first-person accounting the style is exactly correct. We do think in short burst and sentence fragments and sometimes move quickly from thought to thought. I really think this style, applied to your story creates an urgency that is unique in the fanfic world. I feel as if I am there, with them and am very much enjoying the voyeurism of it all. This chapter is so cathartic. After the grief, sorrow and general despair of the first two (well-evoked of course, and necessary) - this, I think, as intended, was a breath of fresh air. Love the stuff on Falconry. A nice, and very original touch. Your portrayal of Rowennan's awakening passion/sexuality is superb. Wanting it - feeling it- and not quite knowing what to do with/about it. Legolas' understanding and conscious care of her feelings is so heartbreakingly poignant. Again, well done.

Author's Response: This is still my favourite chapter, even more than the later love scenes. This one is special and real to me. Burned into my brain for some reason. Maybe for the sense of freedom again after oppression as you mentioned, maybe because from this point (although nothing really earthshattering has happened) in a way it has and there is not turning back.

Reviewer: Ennorwen Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/06/05 - 10:13 pm Title: Evermind

Your description of Eomer's room made me laugh- I thought it true to his character - just wait until Lotheriel gets her hands on him! I am glad that you consider the "practical" in your writing - What did they wear and how did they get their clothes. You delve into the the small things and make them meaningful. And I love your erotic and exotic use of hair - Elven hair is so luxurious, isn't it? It's one of the things that absolutely attracts me to elves. You made me feel Rowannen's exhaustion and confusion acutely and the little glimmer of hope provided with the promise of the ride with Legolas relieved it in such a gentle way. Oh and to just picture her finally giving out and being comforted by the elf. Lovely. I like the way you are building the romance slowly with a glance here, a slight feeling there - the loving touch of selecting the clothes. And ah- the foot massage. A wonderful way to begin the physical relationship. Moving on now to Chapt.3. now.

Reviewer: Ennorwen Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/06/05 - 03:14 pm Title: West Wind

I very much like this first chapter. Your descriptions are evocative and I think you've captured the general despair surrounding these events so well. I very much like that you had Rowannen *hear* Legolas' voice before she saw him. It makes her feelings all the more real - ah that the face is as beautiful is just icing on the cake. (I too have discovered that a voice captures my attention almost more than a countenance. - Most of my favorite actors - Orlando, Johnny Depp, Jeremy Irons all have voices that are just exquisite to my ears, but I digress.) I love your description of Legolas - it shows great thought and that you seem to have an affinity for this sweet elf. That your protagonist is Hama's sister is also a master-stroke. She has a purpose and is not just "some girl." My favorite part however, is the voice you give to Legolas. It sounds so like what I have imagined and you have brought it to vivid life. That he is loathe to take advantage of Rowannen is so sweet. What a wonderful beginning!

Author's Response: Thank you. I agree with you on the actors voices, I ,love your choices too. I have a thing for accents and I love Sean Bean's Yorkshire accent as it reminds me of my roots. Legolas' voice is gentle and considered but so pure, powerful and beautiful. "A lament for Gandalf... I have nor the heart to tell you. For me the grief is still too near." GAH. in fact all his lines in the movie have the same effect on me. :)

Reviewer: Adoralyna Signed [Report This]
Date: 29/05/05 - 03:57 pm Title: Ride To War

Your description, as always, is absolutely lovely. You really make your readers feel exactly what your characters are enduring emotionally. Excellent work! One small aside- "Sylvan" should be "Silvan". Can't wait to read more soon!

Author's Response: Thanks for bringing this to my attention. I did look up the word in my huge Collins English Dictionary and the primary spelling was Sylvan and silvan was listed as meaning the same but the definitions were recorded under the word spelt with a Y. Obviously another case of England and America spelling a word differently, colour/color grey/gray and so on, but as I found silvan with an I mentioned in Unfinished Tales I will change it when i next add/edit. What is good for Tolkien is definitely good enough for me. Thanks :)

Reviewer: Ennorwen Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/05/05 - 11:46 am Title: Ride To War

Thank you, thank you for updating this story. As usual, the words are wonderful - I love the voice you give to Legolas and your use of the word "also." Thank you also (heh) for NOT having Rowenna captured. Yea! You're back!

Reviewer: emmanuella Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/05/05 - 01:20 pm Title: Pathways

I love this story! It's one of the best from this site. Please update

Reviewer: solitaryserenity Signed [Report This]
Date: 14/03/05 - 02:47 am Title: West Wind

Absolutely amazing! Wonderful imagery. I can't wait for the next chapter!

Reviewer: Ennorwen Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/12/04 - 11:44 pm Title: Pathways

This is the first NC-17 LOTR story I ever read and it lead to oh, well, many many more, but still -yours is the one I keep in my ahem, bedside table. I generally avoid Legolas stories, even though I do think he's gorgeous, but yours is so well written. I love his formality, way of speaking and feral gentleness. The two POVs are excellent. Only problem is you don't update often enough. PS. I bought Ned Kelly just so I would be able to read your other fic with knowledge. Please don't stop & update soon. Thanks.

Reviewer: presnieboer Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/10/04 - 12:57 am Title: West Wind

I LOVE this story! Your descriptions are so vivid and I DON'T think I have to talk about the LOVE scenes. Unbelievable writing, you are quite gifted.

Reviewer: unplugged32 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/10/04 - 02:57 pm Title: Pathways

What a beautifully written and emotionally charged chapter! You never cease to amaze me with your talent:) Please update soon!

Reviewer: Punklovgrl Signed [Report This]
Date: 25/09/04 - 02:49 am Title: Pathways

WOW! This is truely a great chapter,keep up the wounderful work! ~Brittany~

Reviewer: oblotr Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/09/04 - 03:41 pm Title: Games

Once again, you know how to write really good elf sex. I am loving the different ways you are having them make love...please keep it coming {um yeah that did sound wrong didn't it?}

You must login (register) to review.