Reviews For All I Have Left
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Ansileran Signed [Report This]
Date: 15/07/12 - 04:54 am Title: Epilogue

Hi!

I've been longing for a story about the twins for some time, as I too can't accept they would just die...

I think your story is well written and covers what could have happened to them quite thoroughly, but I cannot say how accurate your facts are... I have yet to read the Silmarilion, not to mention HoME...

I hope you will keep writing, I'd be interested to know what happens to the twins during the second and third age!

Author's Response: Wow, I'd all but forgotten I had this account! I loved writing this story and I loved the twins, I truly did. I tried to make the background fit in as well as possible with the canonical Silmarillion/HoME information although in the end, I took the twins rather off the beaten track and everything that happened to them after they were left in the forest was speculative so I'm not sure facts come into it ;) I still get the urge to write sometimes but to be honest I'm so busy these days it never really happens, so I can't promise any new fics in the foreseeable future I'm afraid. Thank you so much for the review - it's lovely to hear there are still people reading and enjoying my stories 9 years after I started writing fanfiction!

Reviewer: tinara Signed [Report This]
Date: 22/01/10 - 10:14 am Title: Epilogue

A great story. It's great how the twins changed and developed over time. You gave them true personalities and let them find their way.
I like you story, as you let them be found only after they have grown and found a life for themselves - so they couldn't be used by others for whatever purpose. On the other hand it's good, that at least some people know they survived.
Tinara

Author's Response: Thanks for the review! I'm glad you enjoyed it and felt the twins really come alive for you - it took me years to write this (what can I say? I'm slow!) and over that period they really did develop from frightened children into self-assured adult Elves in my mind as well, and it was wonderful getting to know them over the course of the story.

Yeah - I liked the idea of one pr two of the powerful, ancient Elves of Middle Earth secretly knowing what did become of them, and it's good to think that the way things turned out suited both the twins well! Thanks again!

Reviewer: Amaranth Signed [Report This]
Date: 23/03/09 - 07:52 am Title: 12

Oh wow, this is great, I love it. I read all in one go, so the review is for all chapters. The way you describe their relationship, how caring for each other turns into love, as they have no one but each other. Many see incest critical, but you described them so beautifully, it does not seem wrong at all. I like the way you pointed out their different personalities, as even though they are twins, they have different characters. I like the thought that they tried to restore Doriath and made good progress until war made them move on. I a thrilled to know to what end you will bring the story, as you already mentioned there will only be one chapter and an epilogue, hope you update soon. ~ Amaranth ~

Author's Response: Argh! I sincerely apologise for not responding to this right away! Must have slipped my mind during a very busy month!

Thank you very much for the review and I'm glad you enjoyed the story! I wanted it to be more than just a twincesty smutfic, examining the reasons why they would turn to each other for comfort - because there was no one else, because they had learned no one else could be trusted, etc. - and how this affects how they relate to the world.

I'm pleased you felt their personalities were suitably different! I think it's a trap it's all too easy to fall into with twins fics to write them as too similar, to the point where you could swap the names over and no one would even notice!

Restoring Doriath just seemed an obvious thing for them to try and do once they found it...perhaps a futile plan, ultimately, but a desperate attempt to reclaim some of the innocence and warmth of childhood. Well...it worked for a while at least!

As I've now posted the last chapter/epilogue I guess you probably saw that, so I hope it was to your liking! Once again, thanks for reviewing the fic!
Eni

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/12/08 - 06:06 am Title: 12

I just found a fic I can't even remember starting. This one, I must finish...it's a ficlet about Glorfindel and Ecthelion as children. The things I have tucked away... *giggle*

This sounds excellent! I hope you do find yourself inspired to finish some you already have, or write more.
Take care!

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/12/08 - 05:09 pm Title: 12

Such a pity it's coming to an end. Do you have any other Muses tapping you on the shoulder?

Author's Response: I've been a bit dry this last year or two, unfortunately - as I'm doing a lot of work-related writing it's kind of stifled my ability to write for pleasure. I've been focusing on writing *anything* at all recently, which has meant I've produced large amounts of self-indulgent and entirely unpostable tripe!
I did a recent audit and found about 4 fic-starts that I thought had enough potential to be worth continuing and finishing. Most of the other stuff I'm working on is original fic... There's a fic set in Gondolin that is probably worth a second look, and one or two other things, some of which might need a rethink but may eventually go somewhere. If only I thought I could get away with writing slash at work!
Oh god! I just found a fic I can't even remember starting. This one, I must finish...it's a ficlet about Glorfindel and Ecthelion as children. The things I have tucked away... *giggle*
Sorry, just rambling now! (And apologies for the fact that paragraph breaks seem to get eaten by the interface so all my replies come through as ugly blocks of dense text.)

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/12/08 - 02:37 pm Title: 12

This is a truly wonderful story, and I love the relationship between these too. I was so glad to see an update.
The description of their seeing the battlefield was so very real, very sad and disturbing.
Wonderful stuff!

Author's Response: Thanks! There's one chapter and the epilogue to go, so it's nearly over, I'm afraid. When I thought about the wars in the First Age I just couldn't help but imagine how truly horrific they must have been, the extent of devastation and destruction. It must have been heartbreaking to see. At least the twins have each other to see them through it!

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/10/08 - 05:13 pm Title: 11

tricky subject. I know it's not something everyone can deal with reading about, and I can understand why.
It is, but there are some instances I can imagine it, and some which are irresistible to me d;-)
This one had not occurred to me, but the way you write these too, I shall forever more, now.

I love to plug and recommend good authors, I don't go for awards myself, but I am enthusiastic about good fics and shamelessly plug them wherever I can. :D

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/10/08 - 03:50 pm Title: 11

...but I wrote this fic because I quite simply adore my Elves!

I know exactly what you mean. :)
The joy of writing of them is why I write, although obviously, if some-one likes a story, that's such a thrill too. I'd write offline anyway, as I always used to -- it's all creating a story and feeling it open around you in the end, and living within it, watching as the characters grow and become so real they exist beyond you.

I also love the complexity of incest when it is dealt with well, and write of it myself, so both the characters and the mention of that interested me.

Giving up is so very simple. The greatest act of true love is not to die. It is to live for the one you love. In spite of the sorrow, in spite of the despair. Very beautiful, very sad, and very true.

I would have liked to nominate this for the MEFAS had I known about it. Not that my search skills are wonderful, but I couldn't find it on this years noms. Still, there is next year.

Author's Response: Incest...yeah, tricky subject. I know it's not something everyone can deal with reading about, and I can understand why. This was one situation where I could imagine it, perhaps, emerging due to circumstance - get two lonely adolescents together who have no one else in the whole world, and they might well turn to each other. I figure they're not hurting anyone else, so who can really judge them? As far as I know, this fic hasn't been nominated for the MEFAs - not least because it's still not posted anywhere in its entirety. I'm not all that big on awards these days - I think they're a great way to publicise good fics, certainly, and to encourage authors, they're just not my cup of tea!

Reviewer: xFanarix Signed [Report This]
Date: 21/10/08 - 07:13 am Title: 11

I love your writing. The Elder Days is much neglected, although it's my favorite time to read of and write in. ( Such incredible characters! How can they be so ignored! )

You really have a talent. Do you also post on the Silmarillion Writers Guild? It is an excellent site with some super authors ( the best, in my humble opinion, since Silmarillion lovers tend to be intelligent, mature-minded and write beautifully ) and hosts Silmarillion-based stories. ( I don't post there now, but I read there )

I touched on Elurid and Elurin, myself but not what happened to them, just within the story of the attack on Doriath. I like what you have done with their story very much.

I am not surprised you have not many reviews - and I mean that as a compliment, lol, strange as that may seem, since Silmarillion-based stories are not read as much as LOTR-based ones, although they are invariably written with marvelous skill and detail. It's a great shame, but those who do read them appreciate them. They tend to draw a more serious and mature readership in general. A lot of Silmarillion lovers read on the SWG, but it wouldn't hurt to have your work here and on there also; other authors such as heartofoshun, Kenaz and Ignoble Bard post on both sites, and you definitely belong with those writers.

Take care

Sian

Author's Response: Yes, I love the Elder Days too - the Elves of that time are so fascinating, both flawed and incredibly stubborn and determined, and so...busy! I haven't got round to posting anything to SWG yet - I admit I'm a bit lazy and am not terribly good at keeping up to date on more than a couple of archives! But yes, there are some excellent writers and wonderful pieces of work there. I wanted to write a story with hope. It was never going to be a happy story, considering how it started, but I like there to be a bit of light at the end of the tunnel! I guess I didn't post this fic in anticipation of reviews - it's always lovely to hear someone read and enjoyed it, but I wrote this fic because I quite simply adore my Elves! If I post it and one person reads it and enjoys it, I guess that's all I can ask for - and it sounds like you're one such person, so hooray! Thank you for the lovely feedback - it means a lot that you've enjoyed reading it, as I really have enjoyed writing it. The fic is actually 100% written now - I just need to run the final chapters past an additional set of eyes before I post. Best wishes (and apologies if the paragraph formatting plays up when I post this!) Enismirdal

Reviewer: Gemini_Elf Signed [Report This]
Date: 27/05/07 - 05:27 pm Title: 9

Wow, this story is amazing! I love it! Please update soon!

Author's Response: Thanks! It's great that you're enjoying it - it's been a lot of fun to write, a real adventure that's taken me about 3 years (yup, I'm a really slow writer!). It's 13 chapters and an epilogue in total and I'm aiming to post one chapter a month from now until it's all up, so the next update should be in a couple of weeks when my beta has had chance to look over it. Thank you for taking the time to read and review!

You must login (register) to review.